We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent vacations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palapas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palapas Resort
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
“Excellent vacations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had the privilege of staying at this wonderful place, it really has everything you need to make your stay unforgettable; beach is five minutes away by walking, a lot of good restaurants around, and the hospitality of the owner. He is very helpful and friendly. The place is really comfortable and nice, I can't wait to repeat the experience!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zyanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    17
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
22
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Our stay at Palapas Resort was the perfect antidote to stress. A bit off the beaten path. We stayed in the Casa Mango which was nice for a family and had 180 degree windows that opened up to tropical breezes. John was a good host! He provided just enough help but also respected privacy and let us enjoy the grounds as if the whole place were our own. The pool was small and very cold. But it was refreshing.

Just one last thing-we traveled down to Cabo San Lucas and went on a boat to the arch. (Not arranged by Palapas.) They drop you off there. Boat never returned for us as promised and we had to figure out another way "off the island" (peninsula ). Watch out for scams like this.

We much preferred San Jose del cabo over cabo san Lucas. SJDC seemed to have less scams and was not as touristy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maccasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

When you go on vacation all you really want is forget everything, have some fun and get some rest, all problems should be forgotten. This is exactly what you get when you cross the door of Palapas Resort and the best of all, you still feel at home because of the warmth of the place and the owners, who are really wonderful. The relaxation you get is incredible, this is because the place is very quiet and calm, additionally the location is excellent, close to the beach, to the sea and good restaurants.
If you want to have some fun, get rest and have fun, then you need Palapas resort…

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a special place. It is a little oasis on the top of the hill and a 5-minute walk to a serene beach. I enjoyed doing yoga there in the mornings - you are pretty much alone and not bothered by people.

The village itself is small, cute, with a picture-perfect Marina of Puerto Los Cabos and a wonderful dolphinarium Dolphin Discovery nearby. BTW, there is a beautiful bar there, where you can just watch a sunset and drink one of their crafty cocktails. It's good to have a car if you have a group of people, so you can get around easier, go for grocery shopping or to the beaches in San Lucas or other towns. Or, you can ride a bike to town and go to a cute little public beach or restaurants there. Most of the days, I went to the beach near by, or stayed in a hammock all day reading or sleeping, cooking and just feeling "at home".

It was a perfect vacation for me. I picked the economy option - a Tiki hut located in the further corner of the property. I loved, loved it! It was made by John with great love and taste. There is a comfortable bed, a nice wooden closet, a chair and a little side desk with a handmade lamp. The inside is made from wood, and there is this feeling of home and adventure at the same time. You could see a line of the ocean through the windows, and it makes you feel like you are in a shack on the beach. I used bathroom/shower next to Cabana, and it was not problem, as other guests were on completely different schedule. John is a great host, friendly and just a good person. He cares about the guests and treats them as their own, but he respects your privacy. We shared quite a few laughs, and I promised myself to come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlenaKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was staying at Palapas in the beginning October 2013. It was very beautiful and close to the beach. It is landscaped with large coco palms and various flowers. There is a second story swimming pool with panoramic views of the ocean. John was very helpful and there are restaurants close by. The beach is only a short 5 minute walk with save swimming. I love the place and want to visit Palapas again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddy1277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The perfect place to stay close to San Jose del Cabo but still in a tipical fishers town. Close to the beach and near to the brand new Marina of Puerto Los Cabos. You can easily walk to cozy restaurants like The Drunk Sailor and The Container, and prices are also nice! The owner, John, is always willing to help and to make your stay more confortable.

We stay for 3 nights but we' re prettty shure we'll como back for more!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

More Beautiful and incredible

This is the second time I’ve vacationed at ‘Palapas’. John has done an amazing job with Palapas. He is always creating an even more magical place to stay. I have such a great time when I’m there. It’s so easy to go to town because the bus stops in front of Palapas. The beach is only a 5-minute walk away and I love the restaurants that are so close. I also love cooking at Palapas. There are three kitchens in the compound and beautiful coconut trees and palms with flowers growing everywhere. There is even a ping-pong table that is lighted at night. The place is just beautiful and the accommodations are very nice. John has made improvements to the bathrooms and has also made Casa Mango the option of two separate rentals if you just want to rent just the upper or lowers floors with beautiful ocean views! He keeps the grounds very nice and has his helper Mario come in every day to make sure everything is just right. I love ‘Palapas’ and the area where it’s located. It’s just perfect for my friends and me :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
2.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#13 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#7 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,303 reviews
2.4 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#21 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#10 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palapas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palapas Resort

Property: Palapas Resort
Address: Puerto Los Cabos | Delfines Y Pezgallo, San Jose del Cabo 23401, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Palapas Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palapas Resort - an 'Eclectic' Guest Inn. Palapas Resort is a surfer's dream and a fisherman's delight, not to mention ideal for yoga retreats. Great for families from one person to small groups. Palapas is the perfect getaway for those looking for a fun Baja vacation the way it was 20 years ago. Welcome to La Playita, one of the last little fishing villages of its kind. Located in Puerto Los Cabos near San Jose Del Cabo, Baja, Sur, where old world meets new world with one of the finest world class Marinas located in the only traditional fishing village in all of Baja. Go fishing from one of the Panga boats to the hottest fishing spots known as Gordo Banks. Our beaches are one of the few unvisited swimming beaches in all of Los Cabos. Palapas is close to all the finest surfing and just a hop & skip to beautiful downtown San Jose Del Cabo. You will have the best of both worlds at your fingertips. Great for the younger or older world traveler, or anyone that just wants to hang and chill and just have fun. We have beautifully lush landscaped grounds with hammocks and large flat grassy areas that would be perfect for yoga retreats such as Bikram, Hatha, or other. There are several guesthouses, large and small of various sizes to accommodate large or small groups, along with a very unique shared second story Infinity pool with incredible panoramic ocean views! With four main structures, three full kitchens, four bathrooms and comfortable beds, breathtaking ocean views, a short hop to the sand & conveniences and only a five-minute drive to beautiful San Jose Del Cabo---You have the choice to do your own thing in a relaxing and very stylish home-like retreat. Palapas is really cut out of very special cloth. All of our staff loves it, and we know you will too. Give us a call or send us an e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Palapas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palapas Resort Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing