We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite and beautiful small boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exquisite and beautiful small boutique hotel”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed here two nights in January. Cabo San Lucas is so overbuilt with huge resorts and feels more like a college spring break place...so noisy and so crowded and so much traffice. San Jose del Cabo (where the airport is) has retained its colonial look and has a lovely, wide, long beach along which there are only a few hotels and condo developments..There is also a wonderful new port and marina and many really good restaurants. This hotel sits right on that beach with the most gorgeous sea views. We had one of the end rooms with a nice balcony facing the water and I actually was reminded of being in the Greek Isles.

The staff was incredible...5 star service....any request was handled with a smile. We also opted to do the dinner served on our balcony....we have eaten at restaurants around the world and I think the food, the wine, the ambiance and the service Casa Costa Azul provided were on a par with any of them. They put candles all along the balcony railing and that along with the crashing waves and starry skies was just the best ever.

The property itself is very tropical...beautiful trees, flowers, walkways and there is a lovely terrace just at the edge of the beach with a nice pool. Breakfast is included with the room and Guillermo will fix whatever you want....just let him know. There is also coffee and tea in the office starting at 6:00AM if you want a cup to take on your early morning beach walk. The rooms are furnished with very nice Spanish colonial pieces, tile work in the bathroom is gorgeous and the shower is great...good water pressure. Also, the free WiFi was quick and dependable.

I guarantee you won't find any other place like this in Cabo.....beautiful, quiet, relaxing in a superb loation.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the end for the best view...right on the beach. The rooms right behind those st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoGoPDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    18
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
91
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Onanole, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel in November 2012. The weather was perfect,sunny and hot for the time of year. We choose this hotel.for its location , just far enough out of San Jose but we did hire a rental car to get out and about. The hotel is set right on the beach and is lovely and clean , this part of the ocean is not rough ,so you can have fun in the waves. We had a ocean front room with beautiful views of the ocean, the house keeper did a excellent job, as so did the other staff. The breakfast was wonderful and included in the price. You had a choice of what ever you wanted cooked to order by the talented chef, and served.by the most friendly waiter, nothing was too much trouble. One night we had a 5 course meal cooked just for ourselves, they did an excellent job which was as good as any top restaurant in San Jose. This hotel was built over many years by the owner himself, his care and attention in the detail really shows. Thank you for a super stay. We would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Front ocean view, as long as we do not want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Celia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We spent five nights here and found it comfortable, clean, well designed, and beautifully decorated, mostly with excellent ceramics. It's a family-run spot and everyone is extremely pleasant and helpful. The restaurant on-site will cook your included breakfast to your specifications and can also cook other meals to order if you let them know early. The beach is probably better for learning to surf or for long walks than for relaxing dips. The pool is small and was quite chilly in December. The location probably works best when you have a car at your disposal. Although we were able to catch a cheap bus to and from Cabo San Lucas easily enough, in order to see more of the area and have more dining choices, we did end up renting a car for three days. Dickman's Restaurant, right across the road from the hotel, is absolutely superb. It was a joy to be able to put in a return visit just by crossing the road.

Room Tip: Higher levels have the nicest views. But there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed in this wonderful small hotel over the Christmas holiday. We give this hotel and our experience there the highest rating because the owners are so deserving of it. Our room looked out at the gorgeous ocean. The room was very nicely furnished and extremely comfortable. The waters of the Sea are very special as is the immaculate beach. One of the best things about the place is that it is NOT a resort with pulsating music all day around a huge swimming pool. It is the kind of place that one visits for a peaceful vacation. The owners are extremely service-oriented--what a pleasure to be treated so warmly and given such good information about the area. We also want to mention that the small restaurant which is part of the hotel is outstanding. We had a special meal fixed for us, and the chef really knows his art. The meal was beautifully prepared and wonderfully presented. Don't hesitate to have a meal there--it is a nice break from having to go out to dinner elsewhere. We are already looking at our calendar for a return trip in a couple of months.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea have spectacular views but we spent one night in one of the other rooms, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 31323Lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Like the other reviewers, we were very thankful for the peaceful stay. The hotel is tastefully decorated and impeccably maintained. Our room was spacious, with an unobstructed view of the sea. The beach was deserted, as was the hotel: We were the only guests both nights! We walked 5 minutes along the beach to dine at Zippers, and were pleased with the food and the live entertainment.

The only reason I am not rating this 5 stars (I would give it 4 1/2 if I could) is that I found it a wee bit expensive for what it is. Their advertised rate is $200/nt which is what the nicer all-inclusives were charging. The "continental breakfast" was a basket of granola bars, bananas and juice. I found that a bit chintzy for such a beautiful boutique hotel.

I would definitely stay here again, as we loved the quiet and intimate feeling, but would see if I could get a better rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laylaymowm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

What an exceptional find! With Annabelle and Carlos seeing to our every need, we wanted for naught. A continental breakfast and a dip in the warm waters of the Sea of Cortez should be how every day starts. Ending the day with a swim in the sparkling pool and a short "siesta", we were ready for the night. With their knowledge of the area, we were directed to world class dining and other delightful pleasures. At bed time the sound of the waves lulled us to sleep. Our room was on the second floor facing the Sea with a most comfortable bed and pillows. On our day of departure, the co-owner Jorge drove me to the "lavanderia" to retrieve our wash and Carlos stayed beyond his shift to help this "gringo" find his keys. We will return because we are now family! Michael and Mary Reid

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Sea. Upper rooms require some stairs to climb. Have dinner at Deckmans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buglove2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

If you're looking for peace and serenity, look no further. Some like lively vacations where you are constantly being entertained by shows, clubs or fancy pool scenes. If that is your preference, this hotel is not for you. It is a vacation from the typical all inclusive resorts of Cabo, and a true get away from noise, American food and an over all fast paced life style. It was the perfect get away for my boyfriend and I in October of 2011. Every bit of our stay was relaxing comforting and "homey". Love the couple who own the place. You can really tell they have placed close attention to detail and the decor is artfully crafted reminiscent of "old Mexico". I would definitely recommend this boutique hotel for a 4-5 day get away to reset, meditate and rejuvenate your life.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
1.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,622 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Los Cabos Hotel
Krystal Grand Los Cabos Hotel
#29 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.6 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Cabo San Lucas - San Jose del Cabo Km 28.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on the beach, only 14 rooms, steps away from the best surf in Cabo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing