We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect gem of a hotel right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect gem of a hotel right on the beach”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I had a lovely 5 day break in San Jose del Cabo. Casa Costa Azul was the perfect setting. It's a fabulous boutique hotel right on the water with spectacular views, and the waves lulled us to sleep every night. The hotel is very clean, well appointed, and well run, with Annabelle and Carlos ensuring we were comfortable, and seeing to all our requests. The chef Guillermo and his son 'Memo' were a joy to chat with every morning, and you must book a dinner with them while you're there - the food was divine! There is no elevator, so you must walk up the stairs if you're staying in the upper floors (we had a king room on the 3rd floor facing the ocean - perfection!), but for us this was perfect as we could work off the wonderful food! The pool is lovely and cool, and the gardens are incredibly well maintained. This hotel is the perfect intimate get-away for those (like us) who dislike the huge 5-star industrial hotel chains further along the beach. Away from the maddening crowds yet close to some restaurants and a 5 minute drive to the downtown area. We can find no fault with this little oasis.

Room Tip: King rooms are more expensive, but have gorgeous views. But the double bedded rooms seem to have go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizbetJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    18
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
91
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Me and my wife went down for a week in early Nov. This was our very first time in the Cabo San Lucas area. We were attending a wedding at the one and only palmilla. We were looking for a small intimate place on the beach. What a surprise we found. Casa Costa Azul is a small but fabulous hotel right on the beach and very close to San Jose el Cabo. With a rental car from dominic we had no trouble getting to any destination we wanted to in no time at all. Our room was a king room with ocean view. Wow it felt like paradise. Breakfast by Guillermo every morning was truly amazing. We had dinner on the beach prepared by Guillermo on our last evening and it was outstanding. It really was a pleasure staying here and If we go back we will only go to the Casa Costa Azul. They made us feel like family and was the perfect place to relax and truly enjoy our vacation. Jorge and his staff have a great hotel !!!

Room Tip: King ocean view is the way to go. Dinner on the beach was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

What a perfect escape from reality. This is beautiful tiny hotel on a gorgeous and nearly empty beach, far from the party crowd. Impeccably clean, well maintained grounds, a friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfasts. If you want to rest and recharge in the sun, there couldn't be a better choice than this.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the four rooms on the front directly overlooking the ocean. There is one on each floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel was amazing and surpassed anything we were imagining. The hotel is clean, beautifully maintained, has gorgeous furniture, and was built with love. The beach is so peaceful and we saw the most amazing moonrises. Guillermo, the chef, is the nicest person ever. He'll cook whatever you want. We did dinner on the beach and it was very romantic. : ) The hotel owner has poured his heart and soul into this place, over 11 years in the making. He really cares about the guests. He even took my husband for a ride in his VW bug race car. I honestly can't wait to go back. Dreaming of it already.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor facing the ocean. AWesome... But there is no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddurling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My husband and I spent four nights here over Easter after visiting Todos Santos and La Paz. The hotel was absolutely impeccable in every way - so tasteful, so beautiful. We LOVED our third floor, ocean-facing room (#33, highly recommended). The rooms are appointed with gorgeous Mexican furniture and have beautiful tile work in the bathroom. The breakfasts are lovingly made to order by charming Guillermo and his incredibly talented chef. Every breakfast was delicious. The Costa Azul beach feels very private - even over a very busy holiday weekend the beach felt very mellow and uncrowded. My husband surfed, and we went stand-up paddle boarding one day (renting boards from Zippers, right down the beach).
We had a rental car, which was very helpful, because we drove to historical San Jose in the evenings for dinner, and we drove to explore some of the other beautiful beaches in the area. One night we ate dinner at the hotel and they set up our own private table, right on the beach - we had an absolutely phenomenal meal, and the setting was truly exquisite - really a night to remember forever. The staff are friendly and eager to please (they gave us beach chairs and an umbrella to take to a beautiful neighboring beach one day, called Chileno Bay). I absolutely cannot wait to return to Casa Costa Azul!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katiedub0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We just got back from a 5 day stay here and everything about the hotel was first rate. The room was spotless and roomy with a table and a small deck, and the bathroom newly tiled and exceptionally clean. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and you can ask them for anything. Breakfasts on their upstairs deck were out of this world! We booked through Expedia so they were part of our plan -- artful fruit plates, yogurt, granola, toast, a huge variety of egg dishes -- and the chef made me pancakes one day on request. The waiter is so, so nice -- a real gentleman. (You can have dinner up there as well, as long as you let them know before 1, and then you're pretty much alone, with candlelight and great food.) Gorgeous saline pool and hammocks and a nice garden. THE place to stay in San Jose del Cabo if you like small family boutique hotels. And we too saw whales from the patio! We went down to the Cabo scene one day and couldn't wait to get back to this quiet place. (My only complaint is that it's right off a busy highway, and there are no sidewalks, so you can't really walk into town.) If we ever go back to Cabo we'll stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravenhurst, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We spent 3 days this past week at this beautiful hotel. The owners have put their heart and soul into creating a very special place. We stayed in an ocean front king room. The attention to detail with beautiful and authentic Mexican artwork and furnishings is evident.
The beach is clean, wide and lovely walk on and there were whales in the bay to watch every day!

We had breakfast and dinner at the lovely little restaurant run by Guillermo. Each morning we had delicious fresh fruit and he was happy to prepare any kind of hot entree for us. The dinners were absolutely amazing, cooked with fresh local ingredients to perfection!

If you are looking for a quiet and tasteful place to stay, I highly recommend it! We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ocean front! The view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethProsser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cabo Surf Hotel
Cabo Surf Hotel
#26 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,690 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mar Adentro Cabos
Mar Adentro Cabos
#27 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Cabo San Lucas - San Jose del Cabo Km 28.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on the beach, only 14 rooms, steps away from the best surf in Cabo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing