We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do nothing and do it well!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Costa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Costa Azul
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do nothing and do it well!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great little hotel!
On the beach in San Jose, away from the craziness of Cabo San Lucas. The views are stunning. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff is super friendly, and the chef knows his stuff. Breakfast (made to order) is included in the room rate. Optional evening meals (again..to order) are prepared with care. Although, seriously, just let the chef do what he wants, it will not disappoint. Many good restaurants and bars in the area, if you want to venture out (some within walking distance).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmacpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
89
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

It took us a lot of time online looking for a hotel just like Casa Costa Azul, and it was worth every second we spent. This hotel is something incredibly special and beautiful. Tucked away from the mainstream Cabo tourist strip in San Jose del Cabo, it's beachfront location is prime and the beach is clean, unspoilt and not full of vendors trying to sell you their beads and carved toys. The staff are divine, helpful and the daily fresh cooked breakfast by Memo was superb. The hotel is spotlessly clean and maintained. The gardens and pool are perfect for lazing, lying and chilling out. The rooms are private, spacious and have wonderful views of the beach and ocean.

We caught the local bus everywhere we went, the stop was right outside the hotel entrance and it was a super easy way to get around. We caught the bus to Santa Maria beach for snorkeling and also caught the bus to 'Centro' for our daily hit of the best fresh tacos at Taquerita's Rossy. If you surf, you can walk right down the beach to the famous 'Zippers' break and catch great waves. There is also a break right in front of the hotel that kept lots of surfers entertained.

We would highly recommend this hotel, especially if like us you didn't want to stay at a massive 'all-inclusive' resort, and are looking for something special, unique, quiet and lovely. It's heaven in San Jose del Cabo. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor, facing the sea and it was absolutely gorgeous. There is no r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We spent 5 days and 4 nights at Casa Costa Azul for our first trip to the Cabo area. Our main goals were to relax, warm up, have a chance for quiet discussions, and get away from daily cares.

Each of those objectives were met. What we did not expect was the friendliness and helpfulness of the family who owns the hotel and the fantastic food at the restaurant. The family graciously helped us with our questions, kept the hotel spotless, and provided gourmet meals (dinner (additional cost) and breakfast (included)) which were made to order.

The staff treated us like friends. What a treat.

We plan on coming back again. We will stay again at this lovely place.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are beautiful and not much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MusicaColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston,ma
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just returned from spending new year's week at this lovely hotel. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Carlos who also helped us to our room. Our room was immaculately clean and comfortably furnished with heavy wood furniture which the owner had hand crafted from old wooden doors of haciendas.The bathroom was beautifully tiled. The owner had built this hotel over the course of 11 years and his fine craftsmanship shows throughout the buildings. The grounds are meticulously maintained. Cooked to order breakfast is included with the room. Food was always well prepared, fresh and tasty with great service from Guillermo and Hector. The hotel's location is perfect, at the end of the hotel zone on a beautiful clean uncrowded beach yet close to numerous restaurants and conveniences (Mega store barely a mile away). The quiant historic center of town is about a 5-10 minute drive with plenty of good restaurants, galleries (art walk on thursday evenings) and interesting colonial architecture. There is a bus stop immediately in front of the hotel. Our daytrip to Todos Santos (to watch the amazing whale migration from shore) was an easy 1 1/2 hour drive . We really enjoyed our very relaxing stay at Casa Costa Azul!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linglingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Lovely small hotel. Helpful staff. Wonderful breakfasts cooked to order. On a swimmable, quiet beach. And, right up the entryway, you can take the bus into San Jose del Cabo, Cabo San Lucas, and to Chileno Beach for snorkeling. They even provided us with a beach umbrella to take with us!

Room Tip: Rooms with King Beds are right on the ocean. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Metsfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I had a lovely 5 day break in San Jose del Cabo. Casa Costa Azul was the perfect setting. It's a fabulous boutique hotel right on the water with spectacular views, and the waves lulled us to sleep every night. The hotel is very clean, well appointed, and well run, with Annabelle and Carlos ensuring we were comfortable, and seeing to all our requests. The chef Guillermo and his son 'Memo' were a joy to chat with every morning, and you must book a dinner with them while you're there - the food was divine! There is no elevator, so you must walk up the stairs if you're staying in the upper floors (we had a king room on the 3rd floor facing the ocean - perfection!), but for us this was perfect as we could work off the wonderful food! The pool is lovely and cool, and the gardens are incredibly well maintained. This hotel is the perfect intimate get-away for those (like us) who dislike the huge 5-star industrial hotel chains further along the beach. Away from the maddening crowds yet close to some restaurants and a 5 minute drive to the downtown area. We can find no fault with this little oasis.

Room Tip: King rooms are more expensive, but have gorgeous views. But the double bedded rooms seem to have go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizbetJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Me and my wife went down for a week in early Nov. This was our very first time in the Cabo San Lucas area. We were attending a wedding at the one and only palmilla. We were looking for a small intimate place on the beach. What a surprise we found. Casa Costa Azul is a small but fabulous hotel right on the beach and very close to San Jose el Cabo. With a rental car from dominic we had no trouble getting to any destination we wanted to in no time at all. Our room was a king room with ocean view. Wow it felt like paradise. Breakfast by Guillermo every morning was truly amazing. We had dinner on the beach prepared by Guillermo on our last evening and it was outstanding. It really was a pleasure staying here and If we go back we will only go to the Casa Costa Azul. They made us feel like family and was the perfect place to relax and truly enjoy our vacation. Jorge and his staff have a great hotel !!!

Room Tip: King ocean view is the way to go. Dinner on the beach was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabo Surf Hotel
Cabo Surf Hotel
#26 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#12 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#9 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mar Adentro Cabos
Mar Adentro Cabos
#29 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Costa Azul

Property: Casa Costa Azul
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Cabo San Lucas - San Jose del Cabo Km 28.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Costa Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on the beach, only 14 rooms, steps away from the best surf in Cabo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Costa Azul Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing