We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Casa costa azul exceeded all of my expectations, a lovely boutique hotel perfectly located with superb service. The owners have clearly put their heart and sole into this hotel and it shows!
the staff is warm and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast lovely and be sure to enjoy a dinner here as good as it gets!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bcapestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Wow. Such a special place. From the spotless accommodations and absolutely awesome beach to the marvelous food and the charming staff - the Casa Costa Azul delivers a perfect relaxing Cabo beach getaway. This is, as others have mentioned, the antidote to the prevalent all-inclusives and we couldn't have been happier. We come to Mexico to feel like we're in... well, Mexico. Here we got to know the people (Jorge has assembled a very warm and friendly staff), learn about the local area, and feel very welcome and at home. The location is really terrific - the beach is long, wide, and uncrowded. The water was warm even in February, and we even swam with some flying fish one day! We walked along the beach into the center of San Jose del Cabo one day; it was a long-ish walk but so pretty and we weren't in a hurry and it didn't wear us out (we're fairly fit, but 60). Guillermo (the restaurant manager/chef) suggested we try the Marlin machaca tacos at Los Claros and we loved them so much we went back the very next day. We walked back along the road and that was a mistake. There is no sidewalk and barely any shoulder on much of the section of highway we had to take back and as the sun set, we were thinking it probably wasn't the safest thing to be doing (because of the traffic not for any other reason). So the next day we took the bus to town and it was easy (I don't know about the transfers comment by one visitor - we took one bus to a stop on the highway and walked just a few blocks to the plaza). We shopped at the Mega (the local supermarket/shopping center) and that was fun. We let Guillermo make us a very special meal at the onsite restaurant one night - it's a treat not to be missed; we were totally pampered on the little patio with an amazing meal and great company (we were outnumbered by the staff!). This was a romantic little getaway for us and it couldn't have been more perfect - thanks Casa Costa Azul! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelinDadfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had stayed for a week in San Lucas on Medano Beach, which is a fun but very active area, before arriving at Casa Costa Azul. What a treat it was to relax with no hassles for the remainder of our vacation. No time share sales people, no intrusive vendors and no exhaust fumes from jet skies, etc. Pure relaxation. Jorge, Carlos and the rest of the staff were accomodating without being intrusive. I agree this is a ways from town, requiring a rental car or taxi but well worth it to us to be away from the crowds. We had a beautiful view from our ocean front room night and day! There is a small, stocked refrigerator in the room with beverages and snacks for $2 each. We loved the made to order breakfasts in the small restaurant overlooking the beautiful gardens. For us, this was the perfect ending to our stay in Los Cabos.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view put the ones on the ocean front are right over the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank digger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Lovely little hotel on the beach, tucked in among the condos. The views are spectacular, the rooms very basic but comfortable. The place is maintained spotlessly. The pool and lounge chairs are ocean-side, so you really get the best of both, with nothing to block your beach view. We were happy with our breakfasts and the one dinner we had there, although it was the most expensive dinner we had in Cabo by a lot. There was only one menu choice, which was given to us verbally and we never saw any prices, so shame on us for not asking. For dinner, the restaurant is by reservation only for guests and after our first night, we never saw anyone else dining there. The limitations were the following: No bar or public lounge area except by the pool, which is great during the day. But at night, the pool area is not lit and there is no place but your room where you can hang out and play cards or read, if you got back from dinner early. We had one night that was cloudy, cool and windy, and after an early dinner, we were stuck in our room. There is one bar/restaurant about a 10 minute walk down the beach (Zippers), which was fine for some margaritas and chips and live music, also had some great fish tacos for lunch. Because of other reviews, we thought we could get by without a car, but that was not the case. Other than Zippers, there are no stores or restaurants within walking distance. We were discouraged from taking the bus into Old San Jose because it involved a few transfers, and cabs are no longer a bargain. The nice thing is that the hotel arranged to have the car brought to the hotel with all the paperwork ready, so it was much easier than doing it at the airport. We did a nice hike right from the hotel, down a canyon road leading to a zip line company. In five minutes, you are away from the highway noise and feel like you're miles away. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Casa Costa Azul is the complete opposite of all the huge resorts that have sprung up around San Jose del Cabo, so if you are looking for quiet and picturesque, this is it. Just make sure you rent a car.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pattimae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We made a last minute decision to head to Cabo which limited our choices of hotels/condos.
Because of the reviews we decided that this was our kind of place and spoke directly and on line with Jorge, owner/manager. We had a very early flight and were exhausted by the time we got there. Jorge was there to meet us and had us booked and in the room faster than any large hotel that is for sure. What a cute little place. Each room has a view of the beach and was furnished as mentioned with old wood, hand made pieces.
The beach there is calm and pretty much yours. No fighting for chairs, loud noise etc.
Have say that we spend a lot of time just talking with Jorge and he is a wealth of information
So if you go there sit and talk with him awhile. You do get a breakfast with the stay and it is very fresh food including eggs anyway, refried beans, fresh fruit and sausage or bacon. If you have any special dietary needs let them know in advance and they will have it for you the next day.
Dinners are available if you tell them early. Although the little restaurant was good for breakfast I would go into San Jose for dinner as it is a wonderful low key town with great food and shopping.

Room Tip: All end rooms have full balconies overlooking the beach!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great little hotel!
On the beach in San Jose, away from the craziness of Cabo San Lucas. The views are stunning. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff is super friendly, and the chef knows his stuff. Breakfast (made to order) is included in the room rate. Optional evening meals (again..to order) are prepared with care. Although, seriously, just let the chef do what he wants, it will not disappoint. Many good restaurants and bars in the area, if you want to venture out (some within walking distance).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmacpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It took us a lot of time online looking for a hotel just like Casa Costa Azul, and it was worth every second we spent. This hotel is something incredibly special and beautiful. Tucked away from the mainstream Cabo tourist strip in San Jose del Cabo, it's beachfront location is prime and the beach is clean, unspoilt and not full of vendors trying to sell you their beads and carved toys. The staff are divine, helpful and the daily fresh cooked breakfast by Memo was superb. The hotel is spotlessly clean and maintained. The gardens and pool are perfect for lazing, lying and chilling out. The rooms are private, spacious and have wonderful views of the beach and ocean.

We caught the local bus everywhere we went, the stop was right outside the hotel entrance and it was a super easy way to get around. We caught the bus to Santa Maria beach for snorkeling and also caught the bus to 'Centro' for our daily hit of the best fresh tacos at Taquerita's Rossy. If you surf, you can walk right down the beach to the famous 'Zippers' break and catch great waves. There is also a break right in front of the hotel that kept lots of surfers entertained.

We would highly recommend this hotel, especially if like us you didn't want to stay at a massive 'all-inclusive' resort, and are looking for something special, unique, quiet and lovely. It's heaven in San Jose del Cabo. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor, facing the sea and it was absolutely gorgeous. There is no r...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.9 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabo Surf Hotel
Cabo Surf Hotel
#24 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Baja Point
Baja Point
#18 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,755 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#19 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Cabo San Lucas - San Jose del Cabo Km 28.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#24 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £197 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on the beach, only 14 rooms, steps away from the best surf in Cabo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing