We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Smithtown, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“We had a great time!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Half way through the second day we were already tailing about when we were coming back. Check in was quick, bags to the room immediately, free valet parking. The hotel is beautiful in an open air environment. A little hot the third week in August but small price to pay. The rooms are beautiful and the staff first rate. The view from 5037 was over the top beautiful. We did think its was a bit damp in the rooms though. We assumed it was seasonal thing, but we've stayed in the Caribbean many times and didn't experience this. The pool area is very nice and the staff around top shelf. It was amazing how you could look around and not see anyone, then seconds later they were standing next to you asking what you needed. The beach is swim able but at times a bit rough. Umbrellas everywhere if you need them, and we did! The breakfast buffet was excellent, $28 for adults $20 for kids. Vouchers available for gold and diamond that really make it affordable. The restaurants overall served very good food. Typical resort pricing, though if you drink with dinner, it could get expensive. Pool bar was very nice, good food at lunch time, burgers, pizza's (freshly made), tacos. Good drinks.

My only disappointment was with a lack of entertainment. Maybe its by design, or seasonal, but my 15 yr old boy was getting bored after three days of taking it easy. I know there's a million things to do off property, and we did some. (Buts lets be honest, they get real expensive for families real quick). Something on the property, bocce ball, shuffle board, lawn darts, etc. would be helpful.

Would recommend renting a car if you have any plans to travel outside the resort. This was our first trip to Cabo, and figured we would want to check things out. Two trips to Cabo for dinner, highly recommend Marisco Macumbo for really great seafood. We had a whole red snapper, barbecue grilled, that was quite possibly the best piece of fish I've ever eaten. Just my opinion. Two trips to Jose del Cabo for shopping and dinner. Very nice place, old town was really quaint. Just 10 minutes door to door from the hotel. Walmart is close by as well. If you have kids, ask the hotel for a mini frig and stock up on snacks at Walmart, they have everything.

Overall we had a great time and really are planning on going back in March, this time together with another family. This should eliminate the "boredom" and the dampness.

There may be other, better properties in Cabo, but I assure you you won't be disappointed here.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rickups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,320
    658
    134
    60
    40
See reviews for
1,117
1,957
66
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (918)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Loved this property! So beautiful. Great value for what you get. If not for the small incident the first morning I would have rated it an Excellent. They were painting my door with the do not distrub sign at 8am which woke me up to spanish speaking employes an paint fumes. Other than that incident I would say its a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Aida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Pros: Excellent service, excellent food portions when ordering, excellent prices for the foods, excellent restaurant choices, excellent room quality, excellent views, excellent pool/hot tub selections, excellent grounds-keeping, just a wonderful 5 star resort that meets my 5 Star Opinion

Cons: The peddlers on the beach are non-stop and relentless at trying to sell you items, drugs were offered to me a few times on hotel property when they came across the roped off area. My thoughts are this: If you can handle all the local peddlers trying to sell their cigars, jewelry, and marijuana, then go for the beach. Just be ready to say no, over and over again. Next time, I will probably just sit in any of the pools which overlook the beautiful beach and avoid the harassment. I really thought staying way back under the huts would work, but it did not. My advise to Hilton is to enforce that rope barrier with a sign that says if you cross it, your in trouble and will be forcefully removed. One evening some military guys showed up packing M-16 machine guns on the beach. The peddlers disappeared, but they were back the next day pushing their drugs. Come on Hilton! This is a family resort. DO SOMETHING!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

It was our first trip to Cabo and we had actually been avoiding Mexico...no longer! This hotel is definitely one of comfort and excellent service, and makes you feel like "you are away from it all" The rooms are big and almost all have an ocean view. We checked in, only to be situated between an ice machine and the elevator. It was a decent location, but after the 2nd night we couldn't take the late night yelling from people getting off the elevator and frequent ice machine visits. Since my husband is a diamond member and no upgrades were available at checkin, A call down to the front desk, followed by a visit, allowed us a room change. We opted for the 1st floor overlooking the beach. It was a much more quiet location.

Service is definitely 1st class...Manuel at the breakfast buffet was the best we had...unfortunately after our 1st day he only worked afternoons. Buffet is worth it...even the extra dollars it costs to upgrade to the full buffet with the diamond member coupons. Kids under 12 eat free too...which was a welcome bonus...we did not eat there for dinner as we had rented a car ( Definitely hotel guests should consider, as the roads are easy to navigate...definitely worth the extra insurance it costs...and parking in cabo is either free or minimal)...food is much cheaper in town and we never had a bad meal. We had heard that cabs are expensive return to cabo and return to airport...

The only complaint we have is that we happened to "misplace" our child's goggles and sunglasses (at separate locations or were left in the room)and they were not either returned by other guests or employees. But I guess if those items make someone else happy, then by all means keep them. Our child will understand.

At no time did we feel unsafe at or around the hotel The kids club was quiet while we were there...but if you do happen to go, pleasure remember to tip these ladies as well... They were ecstatic that I dropped off a tip for each of them after they entertained our child for several hours. They are friendly and well equipped with games, movies, and other activities or the kids.

We were always able to locate a lounge chair by the pool, cabanas are free and are on a first come first serve basis.

This hotel is a great experience and would not hesitate to recommend to any one or return for our next vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2PrincessesandaFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corona, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

delightful stay - Would definitely stay at the Hilton but its mostly a family resort-there were way too many kids but my husband and I didnt really mind :) employees are so nice - food was delicious I def recommend the Fenecia Restaurant - food and service are phenomenal! Wish their swimming pool was bigger and cooler

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 441carola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We decided somewhat spontaneously to head to Los Cabos. The Hilton seemed like a good fit to bring our kids. The hotel layout was lovely-modern colonial. We reserved an ocean view room. Was a little bummed that we were on the bottom floor but the hotel was booked solid so no chance for upgrades. The room was a little smaller than I'd expected but the bathroom and balcony made up for it. For a hotel chain, I expected the food to be mediocre. But, in fact, the food was excellent including the breakfast buffet which was part of our package. I even asked for a tortilla one morning since none were out and they cooked it homemade. it was delicious. And I have to say the staff was excellent. At breakfast, super professional and on the ball to make sure you have everything you need. During the day, we'd hang out by the pool and down by the ocean. The waiters working by the pool nearest kids club and down at the beach were really funny and fun. Our favorite was Juan Carlos. He was excellent! Smart, professional, and witty all rolled together in one. Overall, it was a great trip. I think it helped that for the first time, our kids used the kids club which actually gave us some time to enjoy together. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you have a family, make sure you get a jr. suite. We reserved through a family package so I assu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We traveled to Cabo for 6-days in August 2013. We booked our trip with costco.com, it included airport to/from the hotel/airport, flights & hotel room, with $200 hotel credit & kids 12&under eat free!

Hotel:
We had a fantastic vacation. No issues. The airport to/from the hotel/airport was reliable, clean & friendly. It was a shared mini-van/bus, the driver offered us water & beer. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were offered a welcome drink, our room wasn't ready (not a big deal to us) we went thru our luggage & found our swimwear & sunscreen, changed in the bathroom & headed to the pool/beach. It was less than an hour and our room was ready. The rooms are stunning, clean & cold (love that the a/c is very effective). We shared a 2-queen bed room with our 2-sons (8 &11 years old). They shared a bed which we thought they will protest but the didn't, if they didi we could have requested a roll-away bed, but our room would have been very cramped if we added a roll-away. We did request a mini fridge, and went to wal-mart (we took the local public bus there and a taxi back) and we filled the fridge with beer, gatorade, cokes and waters (this saved us $$$$ as the drinks are pricy at the hotel) we still ordered drinks & food by the pool but having our own saved us a lot of money, plus we would take our cooler to the beach so the waiter (who works his butt off didn't have to run up to the hotel for us). The Beach is wavy but nothing my 8 & 11 year old couldn't manage, I should add, they LOVE being knocked down by the waves, but they would swim beyond the break and it was much calmer. Bring rash guards as they get scraped off the sand - also should add they would play in the wave for hours and that why they get scrapes from the sand/waves. You can walk 2-minutes to the right to the calmer water. Both restaurants are wonderful. Recommend both, and we didn't order the buffet (it's over $30), we ordered al la carte ( cheaper) and the kids-eat-free so our kids ate from the buffet.

Vendors/Day trip to Cabo:
On the beach in front of the hotel the vendors are a little annoying but are very polite & will not push their stuff on you too much. We went into Cabo, to meet friends at the beach in front of Mango Bar (their suggestion and they didn't have kids!! this bar is pretty adult but we went at 11am, and left at 1pm but it was getting a bit adult when we were leaving). But the vendors are 100 times worse there than at the hotel beach! We took a water taxi from the beach at the mango bar to Lovers beach, it was very cheap, and the driver & his helper were very informative & friendly. They stopped & left kids & adults jump off the rock (you'll see it if you go there) I didn't do it but my 11-year old went with our friends. If there wasn't an adult up the top of the rock already I don't think they would have been able to get up on their own. Our water taxi arranges a time to come back to pick you up from Lovers beach, and dropped us back to the Pier where we walked around the shops & stalls, kids loved shopping for nick-knacks. Great day.

Horseback Riding:
Another evening we went horse back riding on the beach. It too was reasonably priced, maybe $30 per person for an hour. The cowboys spoke perfect english and were very informative. My kids LOVED it. This was our final night and it was perfect. It was very hot on the ride so wear sunscreen & bring water.

Have fun & it's a great choice if you decided to book!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trailersrfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
10.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
895 reviews
9.1 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
600 reviews
10.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#11 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
2,291 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km. 19.5, San Jose del Cabo 23447, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover award-winning hospitality at Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort-only 25 minutes from San Jose del Cabo International Airport (SJD). Our Cabo San Lucas resort is located on a tranquil swimming-allowed inlet bay between the towns of Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo, and provides the action of the city and a soothing escape from the hustle of daily life. Relax in the sun beside our signature infinity pool, where our Pool Concierge attends to your every need, whether it's a fresh towel or a tasty fruit pop to help you cool down. With an excellent Kids Program, there are specially designed activities for guests aged 4-12. Choose from a wealth of dining options at this Los Cabos resort's four restaurants. Indulge in innovative massage treatments at Spa Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hilton Los Cabos Beach And Golf Resort
Hilton San Jose Del Cabo
Hilton Los Cabos Beach Resort
San Jose Del Cabo Hilton
Hilton Cabo
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing