We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time, amazing staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great time, amazing staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the Grand Faro in a group of 7. We always got a group seating together, even when we told them it was ok to split us up. The staff is incredible. They are the friendliest group of service people anywhere. The food was good, especially at the 2 a la carte restaurants, Mexican and Italian menus. The buffet restaurants (2 large ones) ad enough variety that everyone always found something they liked, even our picky eaters. The only complaint I would have is that the main pool is very cold and it causes groups ups to overload the activities pool and infinity pool when people wanted to swim. If the heated the larger pool it would spread people out more, the draw back of that, as I contradict myself, is that it made the large pool a very quiet and relaxing place to be.

Room Tip: Go to the Sky Bar for a great view of the surrounding area at night. Drinks and sushi with the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    814
    372
    144
    142
See reviews for
791
1,029
62
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 6 and this was a great trip. The hotel was clean, staff friendly, food was good. It is not five star but with the great service, and great value I would recommend to anyone wanting to take a family.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Facility itself is quite nice and the rooms are fine. Other than that, this is not a good place to stay. The food service rates a litle below average, typical all-inclusive fare with no carving stations. The Buffet is not large enough to handle a full house resulting in a long wait to get a table. Our room service was very poor. Never did have enough towels and several times we had to make the bed because the maid never did come to the room. The entertainment area is uncovered and is very windy. There was live entertainment just one night in the lounge but there were very few places to sit and listen. Very poor management. Quite a boring place to stay at unless all you want to do is lay in the sun and eat mediocre food..

Room Tip: pick a room in a different hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This resort is small and although we were there over Christmas it wasn't overcrowded. We spent nearly all our time at the resort but had a wonderful time, the beach is nice and the section of the beach was beautiful. While it's not a great area for swimming, it was nice to walk on the beach along the waterline. The resort has recently been changed over to the Barcelo chain and may be experiencing some adjustment pains - no clear communication of hours of restaurants or daily activities for example. The major improvement I would make to the resort would be the food it was mediocre even in the a la carte restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Spent a week in late April 2013. After 10 days in Playa del Carmen the year before, when I was counting down the days until we could leave, I didn't want to overstay. We also specifically chose this resort in San Jose as we did not want the noise and bustle of the Cabo strip. We are older and don't do a lot of night life past 10pm. This resort was a totally different experience. You could get chairs at the pool at any time of the day. The food was totally acceptable with enough variety to satisfy everyone. This is an all inclusive so if you expect 5 star menus, you will be disappointed, however my wine glass was always full with a reasonable red wine. The Mexican Fiesta night was entertaining and fun. The room was clean and serviced daily - luxurious, no, but clean and comfortable. We had an upper floor room on the north side facing another hotel. Balconies are tilted toward the ocean for a partial ocean view. It was quiet and even in late April, we saw several whales from our balcony. We are actually considering returning this April if we can book the right deal, and I can't actually say that about any place else we have been recently.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want or want to pay. Seems people with young kids enjoyed the poolside rooms. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The grounds and common areas were spotless and well kept. Fortunately we were in Cabo for a wedding and did not have to each all the days at the hotel, otherwise I think the food would have gotten tired. While we did not try the Italian restaurant, others indicated that it was sub-par.

Arrival was odd, we were treated to a great welcome drink, but at 20 to 3 we were told we could not check in yet. This is the first time we have ever been denied access to a room that close to the actual check-in.

Internet was a joke. $15 for a day for one device. Lost service frequently and the service did not reach the main breakfast area or other locations on the premises.

It was not publicized but the beaches are too dangerous most days to swim in. That seems to be the case along the whole area, not just this hotel.

Washcloths were a premium, at one time we had none. When we called and they said they would deliver some. We left for a walk and came back and had to call again. We were told we had to be there to get a washcloth. Odd that we did not have to be there to have the room cleaned.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRW19008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here for a week in June. We had upgraded to an ocean view room before we arrived and asked about the availability of a suite when we arrived. We were told one price for the upgrade for the week and when we arrived at home we were charged 7 times that price. The charge was charged the day we checked in on the not signed credit card we left for "incidentals". When we first got the room key there was someone else already check into that room. The room was ok but we got no housekeeping the whole week. I had to go down and specifically ask for towel/toilet paper. Two days before we were to check out I received a phone call from the front desk at 11am asking when we would be returning the keys. My husband got food poisoning due to the undercooked eggs at the buffet. Don't waste your time on the ala carte restaurants. The Italian doesn't know how to cook noodles and the Mexican has no flavor whatsoever. The beach is not swimmable due to extreme undertows.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.2 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
17.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
17.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#19 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#40 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos

Property: Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. San Jose s/n | Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos***** is a resort situated on the shores of the spectacular beach on the Sea of Cortés. It is a hotel for enjoying the peace and quiet of Los Cabos, the relaxing atmosphere of San José and the gentle whisper of the sea. The hotel boasts 350 luxurious rooms and suites distributed over 3 buildings: Luna, Estrella and Torre Sol. All the rooms have a private balcony with views over the Sea of Cortés and are equipped with a number of first class details to ensure your stay is a memorable occasion. The most discerning guests can enjoy the Barceló All Inclusive programme on offer at the resort. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is well-known as one of the best All Inclusive hotels in the area thanks to the quality and added value it offers its guests. There are 5 restaurants and 3 bars in the hotel offering a wide-range of gastronomy, including an extraordinary selection of international, Mexican and Italian cuisine. Its on site convention and meeting centre boasts 2,620 m2 of space to accommodate all types of events. Plan your corporate meetings, conventions or weddings in the best facilities on offer in Los Cabos. And not forgetting the youngest members of the family, who can have fun in the hotel's water park or in La Tortuga, the children's club. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is the perfect choice for enjoying your trip. If you are travelling for business, or spending a holiday with your partner or family, don't hesitate in visiting us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Grand Faro Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Crown Plaza Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing