We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing get away:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
1 review
“Relaxing get away:)”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Barcelo May 4-9th. We had a great time. We stayed in room 2516, great view but the downfall was we wanted a king size bed and we got two doubles , that's all they had available with a view. So make sure you remind them at check-in what you paid for. Beds were stiff. The food was excellent, especially the breakfast buffet, our waiter was Cario and he was the best one!!!He knew every morning what we wanted to drink and was very helpful when we needed anything. He was worth giving him a good tip! The area was very quiet and you feel safe walking to the shops. Having a better selection of English channels on the television would be a recommendation. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Kevin E,

We appreciate you took the time to share your feedback with us, your opinion is really important for us.

We are pleased to hear you had a great time at our resort, that you enjoyed the food and the kindness of our staff, we work very hard to make feel our guest as special as they are for us.

We will take a note about your recommendation of having better English channels, we always share our guest´s comments with our entire team in order to improve our services.

We are glad to know you are considering to come back, you will be more than welcome at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos.

Best regards,
Meredith López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,183
    835
    379
    146
    152
See reviews for
832
1,057
64
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was my first time in Mexico and my first time at an all-exclusive resort and the Barcelo Grand Faro was a lovely introduction to both.

I was there for a wedding and, I must say, if you are looking for a venue for a destination wedding the Barcelo Grand Faro would be a great option. The setting for the wedding was lovely. There were around 80 people at the wedding and the resort fit everyone comfortably for the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. The food was simply amazing, the service impeccable, and the DJ kept everyone dancing all night. It was by far one of the most beautiful and fun weddings I've ever attended and I give a good amount of credit to the resort for that.

As far as the resort goes beyond the wedding, it was very nice. The grounds are lovely and the pools are very nice. The employees were extremely accommodating and kind. The restaurants have fine food except the dishes were a bit under-seasoned in my opinion; though, I was told that is quite often the case with all-inclusive resorts and cruises.

The location of the resort is perfect. You are right on the water and a short taxi drive to the center of San Jose del Cabo, which is a very cute town with a lot of nice shops, art galleries, and restaurants.

There were two hiccups with the experience, though. First, my traveling companion and I were unexpectedly upgraded to a higher-level room when we arrived (we did not request the upgrade) but were repeatedly assured that we would not be charged the higher room rate. However, when we went to check-out we were charged the higher room rate and it took about 30-45 minutes to get the issue rectified. Second, another room in our party had a pretty significant leak in their bathroom that was covering the floor in water and the hotel maintenance crew did not seem in a rush to fix it. In fact, it took two days of wading through water and a call to a supervisor to get it fixed.

My four-star review of the resort is based solely on my experience as a guest of the resort and does not take into consideration the wedding, which was a five-star affair. I would stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metrocoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Metrocoyo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your last vacations at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos.

We are pleased to read you had a great time at the wedding that took place at our resort, we always make our guests' feel as special as possible, especially those celebrating special occasions like their wedding.

We are sorry for any inconvenience that may caused by this wrong charge, we are working on avoid this kind of situations in order to provide the best service to our guest.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back once again in the near future and we are confident that on any future stay we will surpass your expectations in every aspect.

Warm regards,
Meredith López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was my second stay at Barcelo. I had a great experience the first time, explaining why I went back a second time. During my stay in March, over $400 was stolen from 2 separate wallets. I take fault in not locking my money, but the safe in the room was broken. I didn't have problems last year, so I assumed there wouldn't be problems. We notified the manager and security. They "appeared" to start a formal investigation, but it was all just for show. After 3 days, we met with the hotel manager who accused us of being liars, despite the maid being caught in a lie. He was derogatory to us as woman, and would not apologize for questioning our integrity. I've never been so disrespected in my life. We never expected to retrieve our money, but we had hoped there would be repercussions for the maids caught lying. There are plenty of nice hotels around this location. Please don't waste (or have your money stolen) from this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Kate O,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that may caused by the situation you described at your review. Please rest assured that we did everything to help you. We do have a manual for this kind of situation and we did step by step in order to provide you the best solution, as you said you filled this missing report and we made the properly investigation.

We truly hope that despite these unfortunate incident, you have enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future and give us the opportunity to change this pooor impression you have from us.

Warm regards,
Meredith López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our first time to Los Cabos. The hotel was amazing! The service was wonderful, all of the staff were very helpful! Ricardo, Benjamin, Karen, Idele & all of the others made us feel very welcome. We will most definitely go back. Thank you for the fabulous holiday!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Carol M,

It was a pleasure for us to have had the chance to host you at your first time in Cabo, thank you for choosing Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos.

All our staff will be more than pleased to hear through their service made your vacations such a great experience, please rest assured that your comment will be shared with all our team.

We are glad to know you are thinking on coming back, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Meredith López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have now stayed at 3 Barceló resorts in Mexico and they have all been fantastic. We just returned home from a 7-night stay at the Barceló Grand Faro and it was wonderful. The service was outstanding, the food was delicious, and the view was amazing. We truly enjoyed our vacation and would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Cheri B,

We are glad to hear that you have been lived the Barcelo experience at our sister resorts thank you for choosing Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos. We appreciate you took the time to share your feedback with us.

We are pleased to hear you had a great time at our resort and to read we were able to show you the high levels of service we provide to our guest.

We are delighted hear that you would recommend us and we hope to have the pleasure and honor of welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Meredith López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have traveled to Cabo many times staying at many different resorts. The major thing I noticed about Barceló is the managements regard to the employees. They had a respect for them and even gave a Mother's Day lunch for the employees that are Mothers. They also offered the days prior food to employees to make sure they are feed and happy. This is unique in Mexico or any where else for that matter. The employees make your stay a step above and they did. Agripino and Luz went above and beyond as bartenders even compared to my local bar in Seattle. The food was always good... I prefer the breakfast buffet as everything was fresh and you could see it being made. The Mexican and Italian were superb with service like any fine restaurant. Sushi not up to my liking but I am a sushi snob Sushi plus should offer Sake but you don't go to Mexico for sushi unless you caught it. The dinner buffet I'd suggest Mediterranean and Mexican which was my favorite one my best ever at any resort. The VIP extra available is well worth it if you like alcohol since they carry Top Shelf to rival any American fine establishment. Our room was very nice with sweets and Champaign on arrival. The VIP room with concierge was a nice change from the resort lifestyle giving you a place to make your own drinks and snack or use their high speed internet. If you never stayed in San Jose de Cabo it is a much slower pace of Cabo San Lucas but offer a stay without the push to make you drunk so you don't notice the food and service problems. If you want to experience fun local party try AY AY AY in town for live music a great Karaoke between breaks plus lots of dancing. Likes above... I was not paid for this and can contact me at westseattle.ws

Room Tip: As said use the VIP service you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Jasper D,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderfully review following your recent vacation at our resort. We are pleased to hear that you all enjoyed every aspect of your time here with us.

As you noticed our staff is really important for us, and when we have the time, we celebrate this memorial occasions, as the Mother´s Day, they absolutely deserve the best.

We are glad to read you liked the breakfast and all the food, and that you lived the Club Premium experience as well.

It will be an absolute honor and pleasure to have you all back here with us.

Warm regards
Meredith López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I were there for a week at the end of April and early May...the room was quite comfortable...food was good...the only draw back was we did not have access to premium alcohol...but otherwise it was fun and we would do it again...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Don L,

Thank you for choosing Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos and for sharing your comment with us.

We are pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed our services, that you like the food and the rooms. All our team work very hard to contribute to the enjoyment of your time at our resort.

It will be an absolute honor and pleasure to have you all back here with us for a second time.

Warm regards,
Meredith López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
7,731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#20 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5,440 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#32 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
6,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos

Property: Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. San Jose s/n | Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos***** is a resort situated on the shores of the spectacular beach on the Sea of Cortés. It is a hotel for enjoying the peace and quiet of Los Cabos, the relaxing atmosphere of San José and the gentle whisper of the sea. The hotel boasts 350 luxurious rooms and suites distributed over 3 buildings: Luna, Estrella and Torre Sol. All the rooms have a private balcony with views over the Sea of Cortés and are equipped with a number of first class details to ensure your stay is a memorable occasion. The most discerning guests can enjoy the Barceló All Inclusive programme on offer at the resort. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is well-known as one of the best All Inclusive hotels in the area thanks to the quality and added value it offers its guests. There are 5 restaurants and 3 bars in the hotel offering a wide-range of gastronomy, including an extraordinary selection of international, Mexican and Italian cuisine. Its on site convention and meeting centre boasts 2,620 m2 of space to accommodate all types of events. Plan your corporate meetings, conventions or weddings in the best facilities on offer in Los Cabos. And not forgetting the youngest members of the family, who can have fun in the hotel's water park or in La Tortuga, the children's club. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is the perfect choice for enjoying your trip. If you are travelling for business, or spending a holiday with your partner or family, don't hesitate in visiting us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Grand Faro Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Crown Plaza Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing