We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel. Great Value. Clean. Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We used to stay at the original Barceló which is now a Hyatt.
This hotel is a little smaller and less options for restaurants but still delivers the same excellent service, great food and relaxing atmosphere.
Great value considering how cheap it is, but doesn't have any cheap feel.
If you are looking for a cheap getaway without staying in a dive, this is worth it.

Positives: Upgrade to the Premium and upgrade to a Ocean View Room. Room 2339?
Great Buffet's. Always cooking something fresh. Amazing fresh fish and seafood.
Sushi is the same as Edo.... Italian has amazing mussels and scallops, best waiter Jairo. Mexican is Mexican..
Hornitos tequila is a must. shaken over ice.
Premium Lounge. They have 2 ladies in there that are amazing. Katherine and Maria. Both friendly and beautiful. We had one horrible guy named Arturo. He was very rude to my wife upon checking in. He couldn't find our reservation and thought we weren't supposed to be in the Premium Lounge.
Spa is amazing service and great price. $120 gets you a serious massage.
Buffet at the pool all day

Negatives: Beds are too firm. I woke up with a sore back every night. WiFi- is free with Premium, expensive if not. Some bad spots in the hotel but generally great. Main pool would get pretty nasty after all the sunscreen and alcohol from the swim up bar. But 80% of the time great.
TV's are outdated. aren't interactive and connected like the old Barceló/new Hyatt.

All in all, the negatives are easy to live with for the cheap price.
If you have the money, go to Hyatt or Zoetry or Melia.
If you are on a tighter budget but still like a relaxing resort with above average food.
The new Barceló is a steal of a deal.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view in the corner. bigger rooms. 2 patios. sleep hearing the ocean waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SukiKeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear SukeKeo,

We do appreciate you took the time to write a review following your last stay at Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

We are pleased to read you noticed the high levels of service were are known for as Barcelo company. It is great to hear you enjoyed the fresh food that our chefs cook for our guet and to know you tried the Hornitos Tequila, you absolutely choose a good one.

We are sorry for this inconvenience your wife has, but foutunately Maria and Katherine were able to change this poor impression you had had at the begining in your check in.

We are going to consider your comment about the pool, actually every day we clean it in order to make our guest comfortable and safe.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near feature.

Warm regards,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas/ Sales Assistant
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
grandfaroloscabos.ventas-asist@barcelo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,560 - 1,566 of 2,887 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was a little skeptical about this resort after buying a groupon and reading some of the bad reviews on here. Also because it was kind of a hassle trying to book the room and our requested accomodations with the resort directly. But as i had figured, the people mostly complaining were either a one off situation, or just snooty, uptight, people that complain about anything and everything. And my advice to them would be that if they expected a grand 5 star resort, then cough up the extra money and go somewhere else instead of bashing a resort that would make anyone happy!

Our stay at the Barcelo was absolutely wonderful. My boyfriend and I stayed during the 4th of July holiday weekend which we expected would be a busy time but were told it was only at about 50% capacity which made the whole trip all the better. The hotel grounds were kept clean, rooms were clean, mini fridge always stocked, and even at one point when they did not refill the water bottles in the frigde, they came back later in the day to provide them to us. Just goes to show they dont forget about their guests. The bellboy Jose was absolutely awesome and showed us to the premium lobby (which is a definite recommend to get the upgrade) and also took our luggage and showed us to our room. He always greeted us like if we were long time friends whenever we saw him. The poolside service was fine, but just like any bar, we waited at some points to give our drink orders. They mostly provided sugary-watered down drinks but im sure if you mention a double, they would happily oblige.

The pools were great temperature, though we only really got in the infinity pool as the others were filled with kids and my bf and I wanted a more peaceful setting. The ocean right in front of the resort is unswimmable and had the biggest waves i have ever seen! There was one morning where we had booked massages on the beach and someone apparenly went into the water and never came out. Onlookers were surrounding the beach and talking about a possibly dead person right as we were supposed to have our "relaxing" massages but luckily they had the decency to shut up and realize that 2 people were trying to get massages nearby. One minor negative i have regarding the spa and massages, was that they were an hour late from the time we had our appt.. They were nice enough to bring us out a drink as we were out on the beach waiting for them to set up and luckily we had nothing else planned that morning so we just relaxed some more on hammocks right in front of the beach so it was no biggy to us. The ladies that did the massgaes on my bf and I were very professional and we were very grateful afterwards! They also allowed us to use the spa for the steam/sauna rooms they had and a big jacuzzi tub which my bf absolutely loved for the remainder of our stay.

the only other minor negative i would have to say about our stay would be how we got jipped with the "ocean front" room we were supposed to have. we were in the far side of the resort in the main middle building so the left building of the resort blocked our main view of the ocean. we were able to see it from the sides but i feel we should have recieved a better view since we upgraded to have guaranteed ocean front. We didnt want to make a hassle of changing rooms especially since i read so many reviews about not having a king sized bed even after requesting it so we kept it and in the end it worked out because it was a little more private being in the corner like that. plus the resort grounds were beautiful enough to enjoy the view anywhere you stayed.

i would definitely recommend getting the upgrade to take advantage of the exclusive premium lobby. they always had yummy o'rdourves and fruits and a mini bar whree you can help youself with to any cocktail or beer they had. it is also air conditioned and had sofas and a tv to relax if you wanted to. you also get free wifi anywhere in the resort which we had no problems using at any point. and free room service also which we did take advantage of. the only thing was, it didnt seem like they communicated well between the persons taking the order and the persons delivering. because everytime we ordered the room service and asked for something specific, they wouldnt bring it or modified the request. So that is something the resort can work on.

We only got to try the sushi restaurant and the italian while we stayed there. And i would recommend the italian restaurant only. I read the reviews about the sushi not being that great but being sushi lovers and wanting to see the beautiful view from the restaurant, we decided to try it anyway and sure enough, it was so bland and tasteless that we ended up getting cheeseburgers from the room service afterwards! The italian restaurant was very nice, felt like i was in a real fancy schmancy place. the food was spectacular and i just wish we could have enjoyed more time to try different plates. We had a wonderful time at the Barcelo resort and would recommend it to anyone. all in all, the resort was beautiful and staff was very accomodating and courteous. Thank you Barcelo for an amazing stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Paula A,

Thank you for sharing with us such a very detail review following your last stay at our resort. We ae glad to know besides you read this negative reviews you gave the opportunity to show you the high levels of service we are known for.

We are pleased to read you had such a great time at our property and to know you enjoyed every little detail of our resort from the Club Premium benefits like the amazing Lounge to the relaxing time you had enjoying our Spa facilities.

We are going to share your comment about the Sushi with pur head chef in order to improve the sushi´s quality and provide a good option to the sushi lovers.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you again in the near feature.

Warm regards,
Meredith López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I've been over this hotel a good few times in the past and I considered it an average hotel, food was okay, the view was rather nice, I cannot say anything about the pools and activities around it since I don't exactly enjoy to skin too much, but if there's something I can critique are the drinks, they're bland and bartenders from the poolside and from the bad close to the lobby don't seem to agree at all, you go to one and the drink is either too sweet or too strong to be drinkable. They have a few options of restaurants to eat besides the traditional menu, but they're just as boring, the quality of the food is average and I think I could cook much better at home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Konoto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Konoto K,

We want to thank you for let us know your comments of your last stay at our resort. It is great to hear you are a repetitive guest thank you for your preference.

Your feedback is extremely valuable as they help us monitor our operations. We re going to share your opinion with our Food and Beverage Manager, who is going to focus on the drinks quality and the bartender´s service as well. Also our head chef is going to work on offer a better and varied menu in order to exceed our guest expectations.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you again in the near feature.

Warm regards,
Meredith López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for 8 days 7 nights. Upon check -in, we found the room type we requested was not available.Due to the fullness of the hotel... an immediate solution was not available. After expressing our dissatisfaction, one of the managers (Aldo) came to our room and promised to fix the problem in the morning. The next day he had us moved us to the perfect room. From that point on... everything was bliss. The staff was amazing. It started with the Bellman Jose Leyva. We have traveled to multiple countries and have never met anyone so conscientious about their job. It was obvious excellence and customer satisfaction was his goal. He greeted us by name each day. He made sure we had everything we needed. He helped us in any and every way he could. He even called our room to check to see if we needed anything. He was truly the highlight of the property. And that is saying something when you consider the view was breathtaking, the room was perfect, the food was excellent, our maid (Magdelana Bldg. 2 floor 2) was was incredibly service oriented and efficient. Gabrielle Favela at the front desk helped us with anything we needed. So Jose had to really perform in order to be what we remembered most. We have never had a better hotel experience.

Room Tip: Buy the premium upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Bill B,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us such a wonderful review following your last trip to our property.

It is great to hear we were able to show show the high level of service we are known for. We always care to figure our guest issues out, as you would notice with the solution Aldo gave to you.

We feel really proud of having José as part of our staff, he really makes his best to make our guest feel as important as they are for us. We are going to share your comments with him, we are pretty sure he is going to be glad to know it.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you again in the near feature.

Warm regards,
Meredith López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our family traveled in June 2014 and overall the resort experience was great! First time to an all inclusive and we got what we were after - a break from cooking, cleaning and laundry.

Overall:
- good food, enough variety not to be too boring, but understand that it is buffet, so there are some repetitive mainstays
- always good service at the a la carte, buffets or the pool
- clean, relatively quiet with great pools

Rooms:
- we upgraded to a Club Premium room. I was clean, well maintained and looked down the middle of the resort to the ocean (5th floor). No benchmark comparison to a standard room, so tough to say if the upgrade was worth it
- mini bar was not restocked daily, possibly a result of no daily tips?

Pools
- there are 3: 1 large one with a swim up bar, one activity pool (more party like atmosphere with games etc) and a smaller salt water infinity pool by the beach
- all were clean and well attended
- some umbrellas were broken and that proved to be a bit of an issue

Food & Drink
- as noted before pretty good fro buffet
- only 2 a la carte restaurants open, and they rotated nightly - a visit or two to each and we didn't go back
- food was more Americanized than expected, would have preferred more local fare

Kids Club
- virtually non existent. This was a bit of a disappointment in our eyes. With 2 kids we were looking forward to them having fun here. The hotel provided care givers (Jasmine was amazing), but the kids were limited in the activities and they were mostly on their own.
- kiddy pool did not get cleaned the week we were there

Beach/Ocean
- awesome thundering surf
- windy
- cannot swim anywhere along hotel row - undertow is crazy

All in all, it was better than I had hoped, but expectations on a all inclusive were low. We would go back.

Room Tip: they all have an ocean view, the left and right buildings are farther from the bar located in the ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Collin M,

Thank you for choosing Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos for your first all inclusive experience, we are glad to hear you had a great time at our resort.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed our Club Premium and the marvelous benefits you get when you are a Premium guest like the wonderful view you have from you room.
Your comments are extremely valuable as they help us monitor our operations. All your comments are going to addressed in order to improve our services. Our head chef is going to work on a different menu that offers more local staff. We will have more activities for children who deserve to have a ball as well.

We are glad to know you are considering to come back, please do not to hesitate to contact us if you need any help planning your next getaway to Los Cabos, it will be our pleasure to assist you.

Warm regards,
Meredith López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I just returned with my husband from our honeymoon, Barcelo was great, a very quiet resort , perfect for couples. Rooms are great, we had a beachfront room La Gondola, the italian restaurant is great and premium package worth all the money. Free internet, premium amenities and attention to guest. I really need to mention the premium club and Maria, was absolutely great, always attentive to our needs, fresh and special she made our honeymoon an unforgettable experience. You must try this wonderful resort. For sure we will be back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Lee R,

We are glad to know we were part of such a lovely celebration as your honeymoon was. Thank you for sharing with us your romantic experience at our resort.

We are delighted to hear you had a great time at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos and to know you enjoyed our most exclusive service our Club Premium like the social amenities you had at your room and the kindly attention of María, who is going to be happy to know she was able to create a memorable experience.

It is great to hear you are considering to come back next year, it would be our pleasure to pamper you on your first anniversary, please let me know if you need anything planning your next get away to Los Cabos.

Best regards,


Meredith López
Asistente Ventas/ Sales Assistent
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
grandfaroloscabos.ventas-asist@barcelo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My S.O. and I wanted an impromptu summer vacay, and this hit the spot! We got a LivingSocial deal that was cheap and worked entirely as promised: No additional taxes or fees. Transfers to the airport and excursions were additional, but reasonably priced.

The pools and beach were very well maintained. The rooms with king beds, glass showers, and large tubs were luxurious and made for a very romantic getaway. Food and drinks were very good -- what I would expect of an all inclusive, but the higher end resorts do have stronger drinks and more selection.

We stayed for 4 days, which I thought was the perfect time. I would not necessarily recommend this resort for a longer stay, as they do not have the variety of entertainment and dining options to keep even a couple interested for 5+ days. All the resort bars/pools/restaurants, and all the surrounding restaurants/bars in San Jose del Cabo were entirely closed down by 11pm. But good for couples who can make their own late-night fun.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Elizabeth,

It is great to hear you find this special deal and lived the Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos experienced. Thank you for sharing with us your comment following your last stay at our resort.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed our property and feel this special romantic environment we have.

Please rest assured that your comment about the entertainment is going to be addressed with your entertainment manager, actually right now he is working in a new activities program in order to have more options for our guest.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you again in the near feature.

Warm regards,
Meredith López

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,931 reviews
17.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#21 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
5,787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,369 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#42 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
7,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos

Address: Blvd. San Jose s/n | Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £138 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos***** is a resort situated on the shores of the spectacular beach on the Sea of Cortés. It is a hotel for enjoying the peace and quiet of Los Cabos, the relaxing atmosphere of San José and the gentle whisper of the sea. The hotel boasts 350 luxurious rooms and suites distributed over 3 buildings: Luna, Estrella and Torre Sol. All the rooms have a private balcony with views over the Sea of Cortés and are equipped with a number of first class details to ensure your stay is a memorable occasion. The most discerning guests can enjoy the Barceló All Inclusive programme on offer at the resort. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is well-known as one of the best All Inclusive hotels in the area thanks to the quality and added value it offers its guests. There are 5 restaurants and 3 bars in the hotel offering a wide-range of gastronomy, including an extraordinary selection of international, Mexican and Italian cuisine. Its on site convention and meeting centre boasts 2,620 m2 of space to accommodate all types of events. Plan your corporate meetings, conventions or weddings in the best facilities on offer in Los Cabos. And not forgetting the youngest members of the family, who can have fun in the hotel's water park or in La Tortuga, the children's club. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is the perfect choice for enjoying your trip. If you are travelling for business, or spending a holiday with your partner or family, don't hesitate in visiting us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Grand Faro Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Crown Plaza Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing