We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 25 to August 1, 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“July 25 to August 1, 2014”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Barceló is always a great place to stay and this resort was great, as well. The grounds are lovely and well-maintained. The pools are fabulous! The food was good. The room was clean and the a/c in the room was great!

All of the rooms are ocean-view rooms. We could see the surf, sand, and all the pools from our second-floor balcony. Our balcony faced east which I loved!

The staff was friendly and very accommodating. Communication was not a problem.

Shade shelters and palm trees provide shade on the beach. Umbrellas and palm trees provide shade around the pools. Get there early to claim your spot in the shade!

The beach:
We were so disappointed that we could not swim in the sea. All the reading I had done on the Sea of Cortez and I never realized how violent the surf is. The red flags are out all the time. The surf coming in can knock you down and the surf going back out can also knock you down.

The beach venders are relentless. Apparently, they are required to stay on the public side of the beach on not come onto the resort property (marked with black flags) unless invited, but they will peddle their wares up close to the shade areas if they can get away with it.

The pools:
We only got in the Infinity Pool. It is a salt water pool that overlooks the sea, so you get the saltwater feel and the surf sound. It was great.

The other pools on the resort were crystal clear.

The room:
The bed was hard - very hard. I first thought that it was a box spring without a mattress, but looking further, it was a mattress. It compared to sleeping on the tile floor. But, at the end of each day, we were always so tired from activities or hanging out on the beach, that we slept like rocks.

The sheets on the bed are wonky. Some days the mattress cover pad was exposed at my feet and other days it wasn't.

The shower is a rain shower head. So nice! The spray from this shower is so gentle on sunburned skin.

Buffets, restaurants, and bars:
Bottled water is available everywhere on the resort.

The buffets have themed cuisines that change each day. Breakfast and dinner buffets are in the Albatross and lunch buffet is in the Las Olas by the beach. The selection of food was always exceptional and everything was tasty.

The bar drinks were always well-made whether they were alcoholic or non-alcoholic. Most alcohol drinks can be made without alcohol. =)

While you're there, be sure to go up in the Sky Bar. It's open 18:00 to midnight. The view is fabulous while the sun is up and just after sunset! The view could be fabulous at night if the lights were not so bright at the windows. The bartender serves up the best drinks there!

The lobby bar is a nice place to relax and shoot some billiards.

Entertainment - We were only able to catch one evening show at the theater. It was the 70's show. The dancers were awesome and entertaining!

We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jax_Gal6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Jax_Gal6,

Firstable we want to thank you for your preference with Barcelo Hotels and Resorts, we are pleased to know we were able to show you the high levels of service we are known for.

We are pretty sure that the view you had from your room was completely breathtaking as the Sky Bar as well. We are delighted to know you were happy with all our services and with the kindness of our staff, we do make our best to provide the best service ever.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you again in the near feature, we will be ready to pamper you.

Warm regards,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas / Sales Assistant
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,183
    835
    379
    146
    153
See reviews for
831
1,058
65
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 days and it was just ok. It wasnt all that but for the price it was good. The food was delicious and the people working there were very friendly. Specially the ones working in the lobby. I have beem to other resorts and they have bee better so thats why i give it this rating. Oh, the rooms' not very clean but not a dumphole. Overall we had a good experience in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yermalis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Yermalis,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments following your last stay at Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos.

We are pleased to read you liked the good, our head chef is going to be glad to know it. It is great to hear you could notice the friendliness of our staff, this is something we are distinguished for.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you again in the near feature.

Warm regards,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas / Sales Assistant
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We visited Barcelo Grand Faro in July 2014. The property was beautiful and the room were very nice and air conditioned. I cannot say enough about the service. Everyone was very nice and ready to serve us. The food was great! We ate at the Mexican Restaurant one evening, but the rest of the time we dined in the buffett restaurant. The selection of food and dessert were great every day. The ocean is beautiful. It is not swimmable, but you can still get in and get wet. The infinity pool was nice and calming. There are vendors on the beach, but they are very respectful. They approach you once and then they leave you alone. We had not been to Mexico in a while and it was our first time to San Jose. We were impressed. The people from San Jose are lovely people. We took the local bus (the Urbano) into town and felt very safe. We also took a shuttle bus in to Los Cabos, which was about a 30 minute ride. Take the Urbano (stops in front of hotel) to catch the shuttle. The Urbano is $1 and the shuttle is $3 per person. We enjoyed the all inclusive package. We only spent money on a few souvenirs and tips. We never felt like we needed to tip, but the people at the hotel and tours were so wonderful that it was our pleasure to tip them. It is hot in July, but you're in Mexico and you can go cool off in the pool. We enjoyed reading on the beach, and I especially enjoyed a message on the beach. One thing that I would have appreciated is free wi-fi, surely that can be included in with the all inclusive package. I would recommend that management install air conditioning in the lobby. I heard several people complaining at check in about the lack of AC in the lobby, would help with first impression. Although as soon as you arrive at the hotel, the view is breathtaking. We definitely recommend this hotel and will be back.

Room Tip: We had a view of the pool and ocean, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Gracie R,

We appreciate you took the time to describe and share with us your first experience at San Jose del Cabo, we are pleased to read you had a great time at our resort since you arrival with our breathtaking view.

Every time we read our guest notice how we make our best to create the best experience to our guest, we feel proud and happy to know we are doing well !! We are glad to hear you liked the food and the kindness of our staff.

Please rest assured that we will share your comment about the AC, actually we are working on it, because as you said, this is something our guest let us know constantly and we really focus on our guest suggestions.

We are looking forward to welcome you again for your second time at San Jose del Cabo, it would be our pleasure to pamper you.

Warm regards,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas / Sales Assistant
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our first time in Cabo and our first time at an all-inclusive resort. For the money, I thought it was a great deal. We did take the upgrade for the club premium and we both felt that it was worth it. For around $50 extra dollars a night you get a better room (tubs are a must for me), free wifi, and dinner at the nicer restaurants more often... among other things. The service was hit or miss. Since this was our first time we had lots of questions. Some people were happy to help, and some were not. Our favorite restaurant overall was the Italian, the service there was the best. I will say that this is the first time in several trips to other regions in Mexico where I didn't get sick! One annoying thing is that all the action is a far and pricey taxi drive away. We did utilize transportation from our excursions and the bus, which made it cheaper. They also have a new strip right across the street that has a couple good restaurants and a bar. Overall I was happy and we had an excellent trip.

Room Tip: Get the premium upgrade. Our room was premium, but we had a corner so there was a very obstructed vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Audrey R,

Thank you for choosing Barceló Grand Faro for your first time at Los Cabos, we are glad to hear we were the first to show you the beauty of this destination.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed our Club Premium Services and the benefit you get with this exclusive service we offer to our guest. It is great to hear you liked the food, as you could notice all our meals are safe and ready to be enjoyed.

Please rest assured we are going to addressed your comment about some staff attitude, we do have training session focus on service, we are going to make sure everybody takes it, in order to provide the service all our guest deserve.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you again in the near feature.

Warm regards,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas / Sales Assistant
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked an oceanfront room but their interpretation of oceanfront is not the same as ours. We were expecting to be in a room with the beach right in front of our room but we got a room with the pool in front of our room and then the ocean is somewhat in view beyond the pool. The room was nice with a nice big tub. The food was good in general. The buffets were better than the sit-down type restaurants. We caught one of the shows they had one night with dancers and entertainers singing Broadway tunes and they were surprisingly gvery good! The spa was just ok. The walls in their treatment rooms did not go all the way up to the ceiling so you can hear conversations/noise from the adjoining treatment rooms - not a very relaxing experience. All in all, it was a nice property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbarredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Ramon,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review following your last stay to Los Cabos. We are sorry to hear the view you got was not the one you were expecting, however at the room you stayed you still have a great view of the Sea of Cortes. As you described on your review we have a beachfront view and it is just right in front the beach, we are sorry for this confusion, at the same time we do appreciate you made this recommendation to our future guest, your opinion is always helpful.

On the other hand we are glad to hear you liked our buffet and that you enjoyed your night entertainment.

We hope to have the honor to welcome you in the near feature, we could offer you a good deal for the beach front on your next get away to Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabo

Warm regards,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas/Sales Assistant
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our first time on the Pacific side of Mexico and we were pretty excited to see what it was like. The property and the room itself was very nice. The people were friendly upon arrival and they brought us to the "preferred status" lounge for check in. Everything seemed great at first. When we got down to the pool it was just after 7 pm and the poolside towel service was closing down. They had one towel to offer us. Apparently we were supposed to have some pool towels in our room but we didn't. So we went to the platinum lounge to inquire about getting towels. We waited down by the pool and after about 10 minutes we got some towels. It seemed silly to have a pool open till 10 but no towels available past 7. Not too big of a deal but interesting. The second thing we found was it was a smoker's paradise. We didn't think about that when we booked so something to note if you are sensitive to smoke. The third thing that was a surprise was that the ocean was not swimmable due to the undertow there (probably our fault for not researching that ahead of time) but noting for those thinking of staying here. Beautiful beach though! Unfortunately there were pushy vendors all over it wanting to sell you this and that...they would actually follow you up and down the beach AND while swimming in the infinity pool, they would come up to the edge and show you their goods like you carried your money in your swimsuit. The food was okay. After two days of the restaurants it felt like all the flavors were running together. There was not a lot of variety from day to day. ALSO, we were not informed that all the restaurants were closed on Friday night so that all the staff could put their attention to an outside Mexican Fiesta...we checked it out and it was sweltering hot so we opted to try out the room service which came free with our package. We waited, I kid you not, over two hours for our order and had to call a couple of time to see if it was coming. Finally the man in charge learned of our poor service and made a great effort to make it up to us. He made special smoothies for us after bringing us our dinner. We were grateful for his efforts but sad that we had been stuck in our room waiting for two hours and we were pretty dang hungry. The final night we had a Spanish dinner and the food was excellent! However, the next morning...our travel day heading home, we both came down with diarrhea. No bueno.
Cabo--we did venture out on a city tour to see Cabo San Lucas and more of SanJose Del Cabo. It was a 6 hour tour with a tour guide and we are glad that we did it. Our only complaint about that tour was that we stopped at a lot of high end shops and had to wait around "in case someone wanted to buy something". WE did find out a good beach to go to on our glass bottom boat tour (which came with the city tour)...Lover's Beach. We ventured out on the local bus (choose the air conditioned ones...purple) and were successful at getting to swim in the ocean. Be ready to tip left and right because if someone helps you on and off the boat they will demand a tip for their service whether you ask for it or not. Just a heads up on that.
WEATHER--It is hot in July...be prepared to be soaked in sweat and bring lots of extra outfits. Oh and that brings up another thing we found interesting...the water in the bath and shower at Barcelo is either hot or warm...never a soothing cool. Thankfully, the AC worked though.

All in all, it was a good vacation with a few things that could have been better. Know before you go is always a good policy.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Get the platinum or preferred status so you can get a more all incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Natasha K,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments following your last stayed at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos.

We are glad to read since you arrived you got in love with the property and with thekindness of our staff, however we are also concern about the inconveniences you had at our resort. We are going to double check with our housekeeper the towel service, in order to avoid this kind of situations. We are going to intensify the communication around the hotel in order to all our guest know the restaurants we do have open.

We are sorry to hear you had this bad experience at our Spanish restaurante, however we want to let you know we do have standards to guarantee that all our meals being safe, anyway we are going to let our chef know just to double check.

We hope you give us the opportunity to change this poor impression you had from us and welcome you again in the near feature.

Warm regards,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a 74 person wedding on the beach at this hotel July 2014. Everything was perfect and we would recommend it highly. The wedding planner Cynthia is the best and the whole event ran without any problems. My daughter got her dream wedding and we gave a hassle-free and reasonably priced three day party. Thank you Barcelo for your value for the money and the "perfect" fun wedding.

Room Tip: Beachfront or middle of the tower building are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edjomeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Edjomeyer,

We are pleased to read that your daughter ´s dreams wedding took place at our resort, as you said we do have the best wedding planner, she always make her best to make the brides´s weddings dream comes true, in adition she has a great team that supports her, this is the perfect mix to make the event the best ever.

Thank you for sharing this experiencie with us and for recommend us, we hope we could still make the dream´s bride come true.

We are going to share your gratitude with Cynthia!!!!

Warm regards,

Meredith López
Asistente Ventas
Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
7,736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#20 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5,442 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#32 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
6,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos

Property: Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. San Jose s/n | Seccion Hotelera 1 Zona Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos***** is a resort situated on the shores of the spectacular beach on the Sea of Cortés. It is a hotel for enjoying the peace and quiet of Los Cabos, the relaxing atmosphere of San José and the gentle whisper of the sea. The hotel boasts 350 luxurious rooms and suites distributed over 3 buildings: Luna, Estrella and Torre Sol. All the rooms have a private balcony with views over the Sea of Cortés and are equipped with a number of first class details to ensure your stay is a memorable occasion. The most discerning guests can enjoy the Barceló All Inclusive programme on offer at the resort. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is well-known as one of the best All Inclusive hotels in the area thanks to the quality and added value it offers its guests. There are 5 restaurants and 3 bars in the hotel offering a wide-range of gastronomy, including an extraordinary selection of international, Mexican and Italian cuisine. Its on site convention and meeting centre boasts 2,620 m2 of space to accommodate all types of events. Plan your corporate meetings, conventions or weddings in the best facilities on offer in Los Cabos. And not forgetting the youngest members of the family, who can have fun in the hotel's water park or in La Tortuga, the children's club. The Barceló Grand Faro Los Cabos hotel is the perfect choice for enjoying your trip. If you are travelling for business, or spending a holiday with your partner or family, don't hesitate in visiting us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Priceline, Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hola Grand Faro Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Crown Plaza Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing