We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay for the family”
Review of El Delfin Blanco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose del Cabo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Delfin Blanco
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We arrived into El Defin shortly after flying in to San Jose. It was a very relaxing, welcoming and accommodating place. My 2 young children loved the grounds, as they could explore while we could watch them from our door. Without having a car, I was concerned about getting around and into San Jose easily and affordablely. Fortunately, there is a local bus that has a pick-up a block away and was easy to get back and forth to the center of San Jose. Osa was very communicative prior to our trip which helped put any worries to easy. I would really recommend staying outside the very touristy area and get to relax at El Defin!

By the way, don't miss the Drunken Sailor restaurant for a real treat. Also, there is a great beach right down the road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

El Delfin Blanco is a PERFECT getaway location for those looking to steer clear of the all too common gaint resort experience. Perched on a hill overlooking the ocean, it provides its guests great views and access to miles of beach that few people frequent. The grounds are beautifully kept, the outdoor kitchen and grill are perfect for cooking up a day's catch after fishing on a local panga, and the overall feel of the resort definitely enhance the relaxed baja experience. The best part of the resort is the owner, Osa, and her staff. She will go out of her way to make you as comfortable as possible and help with excursions throughout the entire region. The El Delfin Blanco is definitely a home away from home and keeps me returning year after year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank conlanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

El Delfin Blanco provides clean, comfortable rooms and excellent service in a quiet, peaceful setting. This small, well-maintained resort is a great option for travelers looking for a genuine experience off the beaten path. It is right across the street from a beautiful, uncrowded swimming beach and is close to shopping and restaurants in San Jose. Osa and her staff will make sure you have everything you need and will help you plan your trip. We have stayed at El Delfin Blanco three times, and I can not imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Well what to say about our experience at El Delfin Blanco.
Affordable, personal, unique, authentic, clean, safe, warm and welcoming, fun, cute, down to earth, humble, honest, accessible, beautiful and most importantly truly mexican, should sum it up.

Go, you wont regret it.

p.s I think I should ad, we left half a wardrobe of clothes there when we checked out. osa, the beautiful owner drove our forgotten items to the next hotel where we were for a wedding. she would not even take any money for the inconvenience.

oh and also the best bar in town is just a short stroll down the road at the marina, 'THE DRUNKEN SAILOR"

Room Tip: they're all good. great rooftop views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beau v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were down in San Jose de Cabo from April 15-22, and didn't want the big flashy All Inclusives, been there, done that, and feel they are land locked cruise ships, so we picked a sweet little resort out of the downtown or hotel core. Osa, a fantastic host, and great story teller, suggested for the 3 of us, Casita #3. The kingsize bed was perfect after the dreadful excercise of getting through customs, and getting out of the hell hole airport. After 2 or 3 days, it was decided by us 3, that our room was just a bit small, so Osa gave our daughter the cabana next door, and we left our door open so she could access it at night. We felt 100% safe and secure with an unlocked door, in this community. Never once, did we see any ratero looking individuals, like we have noticed on our travels all over Mexico. Yes, we have been mugged, and lost many cameras, and oh, been strategically short changed many times but not in SJD or La Playita. All the people in the village are so nice, either on the beautiful beach in what I guess is the village center, the convenience stores, and restaurants. One restauant/pub desrves honourable mention. I think it was called La Marina. Absolutely superb service and honest people. While in the village, we saw many huge yatchs moored, and National Geographic had a ship in the marina.

We rented a car, organized professionally by Osa, for 2 days, and quickly figured out we could see 10 times more with wheels. Flore, the Girl Friday at el Delfin, organized phoning the Thrifty office, and adding an additional day was so easy. The car was delivered, and picked up, so that part of our stay went very slick. We went up to Todo Santos twice, el Pescador and drove through Cabo, 3 or 4 times. Too busy for us.

On Saturday morning Osa organized our breakfast in the communal eating area. Flore, not only being a masterful maid, grounds keeper, and property busy body, is also a great Swedish pancake flipper. We had Mango juice, and filled the crepes with mango, strawberries, and a green melon, smothered in either mango marmalade or mango chutney with cinnamon. Our 16 year old daughter wouldn't quit eating, and Flore kept flipping. Our daughter told us, it was the best breakfast she had ever had.

I can't say enough about our hosts. Both Osa and Flore are professionals when it comes to making visitors welcome.

Room Tip: #3 was good for 2. Didn't really see the others. They all appeared to be different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Reggie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent three nights at El Delfin Blanco and found it comfortable, clean and pretty much just what we expected and were hoping for. We liked being away from San Jose but close enough so driving in each day was no big deal. Our casita was very comfortable and our stay was very relaxed. This is a good choice for people who are looking for something other than a resort experience. We really enjoyed our conversations with Osa and the other guests. Had some great fish tacos at a little restaurant down by the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank portlandnative40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was only our second time to Mexico. The village of La Payta is a "cultural" experience. We did not wish to be in a large hotel; we made a good choice. Though we rented a vehicle & drove a couple of times to Cabo San Lucas, we preferred to stay around La Playta & San Jose. The ocean was a five minute walk from our Casita. One morning, in the distance, we saw a whale rise out of the water. We enjoyed dinners & the company at Ali's, just a short walk away from our Casita, & located right in the village...real Mexican culture. We walked to Flora's Farm where we ate several breakfasts. We drove one evening for dinner. Highly recommend. We rode the local bus several times to San Jose to the market & to search for our "Catrina". It was about a 10 minute ride.
We stayed in Casita #1 which is more private. El Delfin Blanco is like a mini village within a fishing village. Osa is memorable. She made our vacation special & relaxing. She was so helpful when we needed information; she is connected & not only saved us money when it came to taxis and car rentals, but helped us to feel confident in our dealings. Flor made sure we were comfortable each day, & always with a smile. Over the course of the week, we all became more like friends. Osa is well-respected in the fishing village & is determined to keep La Playta from big money & grandiose ideas of development. We hope that her voice continues to be heard.
Most importantly, never did we feel unsafe here. At night, we could hear the village dogs, & in the morning, the roosters crowing. We watched the sun rise from our rooftop and from the beach. It was an interesting time, certainly not as predictable as a stay in "another large hotel". This experience isn't for everyone, but we are so thankful we happened upon El Delfin Blanco on the internet, in our search for something "unique".

Room Tip: Casita #1 was more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dandl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#19 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
455 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
410 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,284 reviews
2.4 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Delfin Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Delfin Blanco

Address: | Pueblo La Playa, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £42 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Delfin Blanco has Free High-Speed Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Delfin Blanco Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Delfin Blanco Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing