We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for surfers!”
Review of El Delfin Blanco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose del Cabo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Delfin Blanco
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed with Osa at Delfin Blanco for 6 out of 8 nights on our Baja trip and really loved it. It is funky and peaceful, with around six options for cabana, palapa, rooms.... beyond having our own fridge and use of the kitchen, the highlight is the outdoor chill area with palm trees, plants, flowers, fountain, and many choices for sitting, lounging, hammocks...or the roof-top ocean views and picnic areas. Such a different feel being here instead of the busy, touristy Cabos hotel strip.

Also, we spent most of our days driving up the East Cape Road for surf, meaning we were already on that side of town. It was maybe 35 min. from Shipwrecks, 45 minutes to Nine Palms, and about 10 minutes (other direction) from Costa Azul breaks. Seems ideal for surfers who want a low-key, cheap place close to surf with plenty of space to stretch, lounge, party, whatever....

Room Tip: the "cabaña" (cheapest) has windows on three sides for nice air flow, two double beds, and...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osa_12, Propietario at El Delfin Blanco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you Laura for your nice words and important information. We do have many surfers visiting as El Delfin Blanco is in between Costa Azul and the East coast surfing spots. We apreciate that you have shared this with us and other guests dedicated to surfing. Hope to have you back in the fall when the surfing is the very best. Thank you again, Osa anf Flor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for El Delfin Blanco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed at El Delfin Blanco the first 2 and last 2 nights of our Baja vacation in March 2013. Osa is wonderful! She emailed me several times before our vacation. She is very friendly and offers helpful advice. She set up our car rental through Thrifty prior to our arrival. When we arrived at the airport, Thrifty was waiting and all information was accurate. Our family of 5 stayed in a casita with 3 queen beds. The room was clean and comfortable. The Wifi does work. The property is very pretty and on the edge of town. Up the sandy road, on a hill, is a working lighthouse. We awoke early in the mornings and walked past the lighthouse and down the hill to a massive gorgeous beach. While there, we even saw a whale jump and play in the water!
Osa checked in with us daily to make certain all was going well. I can't say enough about how kind and helpful she is! We would definitely stay at El Delfin Blanco again!

Room Tip: Osa provides filtered water for drinking. There is a small fridge and coffee pot in the room. Outsid...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed at Delfin Blanco for 8 days in February of 2013. The setting was very uncommercial which I found refreshing. My thacthed-roof casita with private bath was cozy and comfortable. The owner, Osa, is from Sweden but has lived in Mexico for 25 years. She conversed with ease in either English or Spanish. I enjoyed having her make me Swedish pancakes and strong Mexican coffee in the mornings. Her assistant, Flor, was very sweet and attentive to my needs but only spoke spanish, which was fine by me. My favorite part of the stay was the mirador, lookout situated on the complex, where you climb stairs to comfortable seats where you can watch beautiful sunrises and sunsets along the sea of Cortez and even see an occassional whale jump out of the water. Paloma

Room Tip: choose #4 casita with private bath
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalomaTucson_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osa_12, Propietario at El Delfin Blanco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you Paloma for writing about your stay with us. I am glad that you got to see the whales from the roof top at El Delfin Blanco. Your dream was to go whale whatching and unfortunately you got hooked up with a time share scam and the hotel where you had the breakfast did not give you the promised tour. We are looking forward to have you back next winter when the whales are here again and you can take a small boat from our marina in the village. Your nice comments about El Delfin Blanco warms my heart and makes it fun to run this little mini resort for travelers who love Mexico. Thank you Paloma and all beautiful guests writing to TripAdvisor about their stay in our fishing village Pueblo la Playa and El Delfin Blanco,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We spent our first and last nights of an eight-day trip to the Baja at the El Delfin Blanco. We spent this family trip (five adults) exploring the small towns and beaches of the southern Baja by bus. Osa has a wonderful reputation for helping visitors with shuttle and bus arrangements from the airport and navigating the area. The accommodations were meticulous with lovely grounds, outdoor kitchen and grill and a beautiful beach close by. We enjoyed walking the neighborhood, looking at boats at the small marina and eating some delicious local food. Thank you, Osa, for all you did for us.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank wildflowers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We arrived into El Defin shortly after flying in to San Jose. It was a very relaxing, welcoming and accommodating place. My 2 young children loved the grounds, as they could explore while we could watch them from our door. Without having a car, I was concerned about getting around and into San Jose easily and affordablely. Fortunately, there is a local bus that has a pick-up a block away and was easy to get back and forth to the center of San Jose. Osa was very communicative prior to our trip which helped put any worries to easy. I would really recommend staying outside the very touristy area and get to relax at El Defin!

By the way, don't miss the Drunken Sailor restaurant for a real treat. Also, there is a great beach right down the road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

El Delfin Blanco is a PERFECT getaway location for those looking to steer clear of the all too common gaint resort experience. Perched on a hill overlooking the ocean, it provides its guests great views and access to miles of beach that few people frequent. The grounds are beautifully kept, the outdoor kitchen and grill are perfect for cooking up a day's catch after fishing on a local panga, and the overall feel of the resort definitely enhance the relaxed baja experience. The best part of the resort is the owner, Osa, and her staff. She will go out of her way to make you as comfortable as possible and help with excursions throughout the entire region. The El Delfin Blanco is definitely a home away from home and keeps me returning year after year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank conlanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

El Delfin Blanco provides clean, comfortable rooms and excellent service in a quiet, peaceful setting. This small, well-maintained resort is a great option for travelers looking for a genuine experience off the beaten path. It is right across the street from a beautiful, uncrowded swimming beach and is close to shopping and restaurants in San Jose. Osa and her staff will make sure you have everything you need and will help you plan your trip. We have stayed at El Delfin Blanco three times, and I can not imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
2.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,752 reviews
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#19 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,152 reviews
2.4 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,258 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Delfin Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Delfin Blanco

Address: | Pueblo La Playa, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £41 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Delfin Blanco has Free High-Speed Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Delfin Blanco Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Delfin Blanco Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing