We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat for Baja vacation”
Review of El Delfin Blanco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose del Cabo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Delfin Blanco
Salida
1 review
“Peaceful retreat for Baja vacation”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I just returned from my first trip to Baja, during which I mainly stayed at El Delfin Blanco. I highly recommend a stay in one of the cabanas or casitas for any traveler seeking a peaceful retreat near surfing, snorkeling, swimming, and other adventures. We will certainly be back due to the wonderful location, ambiance, and service!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    20
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
57
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our family had a great time staying with Osa! We came out to stay for the first days of our trip to Baja, and were very happy to have found this spot. The room was lovely and well taken care of, and the courtyard was a great spot to hang out in the evening. The beach and restaurants were a short walk away, and we frequented both throughout the day. We came with our 2 month old daughter, and Osa was very accommodating for us. This was a great place to bring a family, and a fun area to explore outside of the bustle downtown. I can't recommend the hotel enough. We will be going back... when we can get back down to Baja!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This little place in the Marina section of San Jose del Blanco is a treasure for the adventerous traveler, loking to get a unique experience off the beaten path. Run by Osa, the swedish matriarch, who contains both charm and grit, the property is well maintained, with no frills and all the basics, with help from Flor. The property has an outdoor kitchen you can use for cooking, as well as a variety of casitas and a cabana to choose fro, depending on your budget.

I stayed with my boyfriend here on my first night in Baja, and we ended up using the place as our basecamp, traveling down the east cape to camp on the beach and snorkel in Cabo Pulmo for 2 nights. Camping for me was fun, but sleepless without the proper equipment: anyone looking to camp should DEFINITELY bring a tent as the beach is windy at night..we ended up buying one for 20.00 USD at MEGA, which turned out to be a lifesaver the rest of the trip. We ended up using El Delfin Blanco as a base camp, returning from our adventures to Todos Santos, and the La Ribera, etc. camping in-between. Osa helped us every step of the way, from renting a car at an affordable price that came to the property and let us leave the car there on our last day, without an extra fee, to booking a fishing trip and hiring a panga for our last day: we caught 7 bonito tuna and one trigger fish and prepared ceviche in the kitchen on our last night.

We stayed in #2, the cabana, which was really nice and airy ( i remember falling asleep to the sound of the ocean), and #1 the casita (hands down my fav), as well as #5 when everything else was booked. My boyfriend came before me and stayed for a number of days and went surf fishing every morning : this property is really convenient to anyone interested in fishing off the coast and looking to have easy access to beaches further east. Every morning, he took the 5 minute walk down to the marina and fished off the shore, working his way down the coast.

Osa was the best host we could have had, and we really felt at home. Stay here if you are looking for something unique, off the beaten path and if you are adventurous-- also if you are interested in comiung to surf or fish. This would be a great place fort anyone looking to rest up between camping adventures for surfing or fishing, etc. Its right off the beach, with ocean breezes all day and you will not be disappointed. Its a chill laid-back environment and very homey - down near the marina there is a great new restaurant, The Drunken Sailor -- good drinks and great ceviche! One recommendation, as the location is far from the rest of San Jose del Cabo, is to rent a car the entire time you stay so that you can travel around -- we actually started with a Jeep to access the east cape, then switched to a car mid-way through the week to travel up the pacific and down through Santiago and Miraflores, etc.

If you get the opportunity to try Osa's Swedish Pancake breakfast with chutneys and special juices, do not refuse -- this was special treat she served us on my first morning and it was a beautiful spread. Osa is very knowledgeable and is an environmental activist, and has been living in San Jose del Cabo for over 20 years, and she really knows the local people, politics, and landscape. El Delfin Blanco was the highlight of my trip, and I will surely be back!

Room Tip: I personally liked the Cabana the best (#2) but slept best in #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurelleavoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Hello everyone,

I have been visiting this part of Baja for almost 20 years now. I know the area well and I can tell you that this is one of the nicest and quietest locations around. It has great ocean view from the roof-top of your private cacita's with lounge chairs for the sun worshipers and plenty of shade for those who aren't.

A very romantic location, especially at night. You can see the lights of San Jose Del Cabo and the surrounding pueblos. The working light house is a stones through away. You can sit of top of the roof having a cold one while over looking the the city lights behind you as you watching the sun setting / or rising with the slowly spinning light of the light house as the ocean completes your seances with with the sound of the waves washing up on the beach.

Speaking of the beach, it is only a few minutes walk form your front door. The property is very safe and the entire property is enclosed with a nice block wall and high metal gate across the front facing the ocean.

It will be hard to find a nicer owner operated business. Olsa is her name and if you like swedish pancakes you are in luck, Olsa is originally from Sweden and makes the best breakfast for her gust on one of the mornings of your stay. She is awesome, she makes her own jams and chutney from her own local trees like Mango and others that are in season at the time.

She is an animal lover and has rescued several abandoned and abused animals that she keeps at her near by home. If you are a dog lover and would like to borrow one for a walk to the beach or around town to feel safer she is more then happy to do so.

She is a great source of information for most everything you need from restaurants to books stores to that hard to find specialty shop you may want to visit. She can help you save money by using some of the cab drivers that she knows personally. There's also the local bus route that stop on the corner just steps away. You can go anywhere you want from there. You can even get to Cabo San Lucas for a few dollars if you want to check out the the famous part of that area and the wild night life.

I would recommend this location to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation or the fisherman that wants to fish from the shore or even those wanting to charter a boat. The Marina is within walking distance of about 8 to 10 minutes.

If you are a fisherman this is the right place to be. It is some of the best fishing in the world. There is a nice built in BBQ and outside kitchen on the property, Mexican style. Just bring your fish and charcoal, the rest is there for you to use. There are even small refrigerators in the rooms. A real plus for those who like to dine in and do some cooking just outside your front door.

Have fun and don't forget the sun block!

PS. Hello Olsa, Thank you so much for the great breakfast, a nice clean safe place to stay and for all your help and advise. Your the best. And thank you Flor for keeping the whole place so clean all the time.

See you soon I hope, Rand

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rand F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

El Delfin Blanco is the best for travelers who prefer the quiet charm of old Mexico.
I’ve been twice, and will definitely return. The small, no frills casitas are relaxing, clean, quiet, and safe. They are also affordable! My daughter and I paid $71 US per night for a two- bedroom casita. Osa, the Swedish owner, is a gracious host who goes out of her way to make her guests feel comfortable. We loved the Swedish pancake breakfast that she made for us!

There are a handful of local restaurants, including the Drunken Sailor, the Marina Inn, and Ali’s International Grill. All have excellent fish tacos, and great margaritas. For transportation, we rode the local busses to San Jose and Cabo. The beach, which is one block away, is quiet during the week, and has a nice local vibe on the weekend.

My daughter and I look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our stay at El Delphin Blanco consisted of 2 days at the end of our 19-day vacation in Baja Sir. It was a great spot at the edge of the village. Views from on top of the 5 casitas were great. The sound of the waves at night from the Sea of Cortez were a lullaby. The hospitality of OSA WAS THAT OF A FRIEND> WE WERE LUCKY TO BER ABLE TO VISIT OSA A COUPLE OF DAYS BEFORE WE WERE TO STAY> WE HAD A WALK WITH HER AND THER DOGS Around the village, so when we arrived to stay we felt right at home with our surroundings. We at e at the Drunken Sailor (very good), and a few times at the bar/restaurant of the Marina Inn (very, very good). We especially enjoyed the live entertainment of the Marina Inn. Of the 19 days we stayed in Baja, the Marina Inn got the prize in our search for the best Margarita. Captain Tony's of Cabo San Lucas was a close second.

Another vacation to Sand Jose we would definitely stay longer here. Osa is a wealth of information, and is very interesting to talk to. The casitas are kept to perfection by or, Osa's assistant, who has always got a smile on her fact and is humming or singing a tune. We enjoyed the charcoal bbq in the outdoor kitchen. You must check out the pics of the El Delphin Blano to appreciate it. Hope to return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Really cute little place, very calm and relaxing. Perfect to take a break from everyday life. We stayed only for two night after a couple of days in Cabo San Lucas (full, loud, busy) and regretted that we haven't stayled longer here. We had a great dinner at "The drunken sailor" and good ice cream nearby. The rooms and amenities are simple, yes!, but not in a bad way - we enjoyed the easiness a lot.
And, Osa is a really nice, friendly host with good advise for places to eat or trips.

Room Tip: Casitas No. 1 has a nice patio and is more private than the other rooms, but Casitas No. 2 is fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AntoniaBerlin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
2.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,733 reviews
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#18 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
396 reviews
2.4 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#11 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Delfin Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Delfin Blanco

Property: El Delfin Blanco
Address: | Pueblo La Playa, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Delfin Blanco has Free High-Speed Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Delfin Blanco Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Delfin Blanco Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing