We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose del Cabo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Fonda del Mar Bed & Breakfast
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2005

We just spent two nights there and really enjoyed it. It is in a great location for doing nothing. The food is very good and you are only 15 minutes from San Jose if you want to be more active. We had the newer room with its own shower and it was very nice. There is no place to swim here because of the undertow and the sand it difficult to walk in without shoes but we took pictures of one of the best sunrises ever and we have taken quite a few.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caribbeanfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    5
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2005

La Fonda's must be the quietest place in the Los Cabos area. Three cabinas and one suite make up this quaint B & B. You can lay in bed in room 1 and look out over the white sand beach and the blue Sea of Cortez.
A night you can almost feel the waves as they pound the beach. In the winter you can sit on the beach and watch Humpback whales breach. During the winter you can swim and snorkel over the rock reefs immediately offshore. From late spring to mid autunm wave action can make swimming dangerous, however this is a good time of year to fish off the beach. I've seen Dorado chase bait fish up onto dry sand.

Probably the best part is no T. V. and no phones. A word of caution, no air conditioning either, however there are ceiling fans in each room.

Buzzards the resturant and bar is excellent. Great Margaritas and mas frio cervezas at reasonable prices. You don't need to worry about eating there because the kitchen is run like an american kitchen.

Denny and Judie are great hosts. Riley, Weta and Harley just add to the charm.

Helpful?
13 Thank 2surfriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2005

Couldn't have asked for anything better!! Great hosts, amazing setting, fun, clean, well appointed rooms. Stayed 3 nights, wished we could have stayed longer. Such a nice change from all of the all inclusive HUGE hotels in the area. If you take a trip down to the Cabo area, save a few days for this relaxed, toes in the sand, quiet spot 10 minutes from San Jose del Cabo.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank steedfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2005

Buzzards B&B is a great place to get away to. With its thatched roof cabanas, it's rustic and charming, very comfortable and friendly. I live in New Zealand and try to make time each year to visit Buzzards, chill out and go game fishing. Much nicer than going to a big hotel!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2005

My wife Joy and I have stayed at La Fondas twice now. Once on our Honeymoon and then on our Thanksgiving vacation. First of all, you couldn't ask to be any closer to the beach (uncrowded) which is great for sunrise and sunset walks.

The rooms are well maintained, beds are confortable and the nights are quiet, except for the sounds of the surf. There is a small restaurant on the property and the food is fresh. It is a great place to eat and have a few drinks (breakfast was included with our room nights) but it's not a big party spot. That's the way we like it.

Denny and Judy (the Owners) are great people and really go out of thier way to make you feel comfortable. They respect your privacy and are full of suggestions for cool things to do around the area.

My wife and I will always stay here, its our Margaritaville!

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2005

My husband and I lead stressful lives....but the stress melts away the moment we pull up to La Fonda del Mar...the restaurant/bar under the palapa, with a view of the sea is an oasis of great food prepared by Lupe and great conversations peppered by a constantly changing cast of international characters....we are always made to feel at home, invited to join other guests and the ex-pats who throng to the palapa for special "diner nites" and the freshest seafoods and salads....

The 4 bungalows are clean, comfy and well-priced...the water and electricity are limited, as water is trucked in and solar power is the set-up...so don't expect to use a blowdryer or watch t.v. You won't be bored, as the beach is lovely, there is no one trying to sell trinkets and town is just a short drive....

Judi and Denny, the hosts, welcome us like family....it won't be long until you'll feel like family, too.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank theflyingcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2005

We loved staying at the La Fonda del Mar Bed and Breakfast (aka Buzzards) just 4 miles east of San Jose del Cabo on the East Cape. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and the owners were very accommodating. Being right on the beach among the beautiful plantings and surrounded by bright colors and chirping tropical birds was such a refreshing change from the wild hub bub of Cabo. We loved rolling out of bed and onto the beach to whale watch and then sit under the palapa to sip margueritas and dine in quiet comfort. What a wonderful secret spot. We and our family and friends will always stay at La Fonda. A true jewel of the Sea of Cortez.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
785.2 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#25 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
786.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
785.4 mi away
Hotel Tropicana Inn
Hotel Tropicana Inn
#21 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
786.2 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
786.3 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
786.2 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda del Mar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda del Mar Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Fonda del Mar Bed & Breakfast
Address: Laguna Hills | 23400, San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Fonda Del Mar Bed & Breakfast Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing