We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class and low class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
british columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“First class and low class”
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Two tier system for guest, club members / time shares and then, the rest of us, who they hope to convince to buy into their fabulous dream. Never consider buying at this hotel or any timeshare for that matter, its a waste of your money.

For the general guest there are some considerations; You're on a no swimming beach. The stinging jellyfish and rip tides make it dangerous.

Its cool at the Solaris in the morning and most evenings (surrounded by cool ocean water) you'll need a jacket and long pants sometimes.

The food varies between average (at the very best) to poor and repetitive, oh so repetitive. Recycling food has been raised to the genius level at the Royal Solaris. Beef, will be beef salad, left over potatoes will be potato soup etc, Every dish has many lives! And, they have a knack of disguising the flavour. We had lamb a couple of nights and could only recognize, bony, fatty, sinewy but not Lamb. Breakfast, however, was always good.

Most of the quality food and alcohol along with special entertainments, were reserved for the time share and club solaris people. Two tier all the way.

Never waste your money on this hotel, its a 2 star and buying into their time share or club is totally unthinkable. There are lots of choices out there don't consider the Solaris a decent choice.

On a positive note, the staff was friendly and helpful and better than at some high end resorts

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,989
    1,842
    911
    423
    346
See reviews for
2,234
1,632
58
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2010

The service is top notch for a 4 star hotel. We enjoyed all the food items. The staff are great. Dont beleive the bad reveiws- the odd sewer smell can be found anywhere. 400 rooms= 3-5 thousand flushes plus showers per day; any system is going to vent. Be carefull in the ocean; those waves have power. It is sometimes noisy at night due to other guests in the hallways- take ear plugs. The mattress is a little less than you are used to and the coffee is different as well. If you take your own can of Tim Horton's, bring #2 filters. Watch for the sea gulls around the pool and snack bar; they will knock a plate out of a child's hand. But remember, you are near the ocean and it has birds- live with it. All in all, we enjoyed our stay very much. Perhaps it's because it was a true holiday for us as we saved our $ for 8 months to afford the getaway. Some complained that it was their 3rd time there and that nothing had changed; um, go somewhere else. The people serving you and cleaning your rooms are working for a living- treat them with respect and kindness and a few tips. Pick up a copy of the Gringo Gazette newspaper to understand how things have changed in the last 3 years, it's very informative.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0maintenance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

** My Evaluation Criteria **

- Friendliness of the staff
- Cleanliness of hotel
- Overall upkeep and maintenance
- Activities / Services available.

Pro's

- Great play areas for children throughout the resort (This was our first vacation with our kids, aged 5yrs & 7yrs)
- Proximity to the beach...4-5min walk from room
- Staff cleaning pool and courtyard 4-5hrs each night in addition to constant cleanup during the day. It was rare to see a plate or cup sit empty for very long.
- Availability of staff....they were everywhere (Dominican, Cuba & Hawaii were no where near this level of service)
- Ability to take food from buffet to deck chair on the beach, by the pool, to your room
- Excellent dining experience at Pancho's and Marco Polo's (booking 9AM day before will most certainly secure a reservation)
- Fishing charters leaving right from San Jose (no need to travel to Cabo for fishing)
- Inexpensive taxi fares to Cabo ($7 US per person) Regular Bus's also an option departing the hotel every 1hr to Cabo ($16 round trip)
- Daytrip adventures through Royal Solaris or Westjet available at reasonable fee
- 15min walk to downtown San Jose ($5 cab ride back to hotel if kids wear out)
- Large Shopping malls close by
- Excellent choice of Buffet for morning & evening dinners
- Friendliness of the Front Desk, Management & Entertainment Staff
- Security present at all times, day and night
- Ability of Security to shut down hallway parties, open door shouting within 5-10min
- Varied assortment of drinks for kids and adults. Bar Staff were great to deal with, ready with a smile and joke.
- Painting your own pottery. The lady running this booth is great. Sit down with your kids and watch them paint, maybe paint yourself....I did.
- Dinner Shows in Theatre were great (different cuisines with each night, varied entertainment is a great idea)
- Availability of Internet (remember to end your session, else time will be used up)
- Family atmosphere of staff (it was great to watch the Entertainment Staff play the Rgular Cleaning Staff in volleyball) These people are happy to work in the hotel and it shows.

Con's

- Seagull traffic in the complex. Low flying birds attempt to knock plates out of your hand (casualty of being next to bird santuary I guess?)
- Firmness of beds (like a rock!!!) I was told the front desk will provide a foamy mattress topper upon request.
- Roughness of the waves on beach (if you have kids, think 2x about letting them play in the surf. At 250lbs (6'4") I was rolled to shore on serveral occassions by the waves, sand burn to prove it!!!
- Lack of selection from pool buffet (more fruit would have been nice)
- Single Ham and Cheese sandwich platter at 5:30AM
- The hotels choice of coffee is unique. It took four days to get over the non-standard flavor. Bringing a bag of our own beans with grinder, filters....worked for us ;-)
- Minimal English TV Channels in the Room
- Front Desk exchanging US Travellers Checks for Peso's only (rate was a bit low)
- The resort is starting to show some sign's of wear and tear. Although this is to be expected, lack of attention in this area will only worsen attractiveness and increase $$ required to fix.

Tips:

- Take down US currency. US Cash seems to go farther & saves you a trip to bank to cash for best rate
- Bring your own beans, coffee grinder, filters (as mentioned above)
- Ask your bank to provide $50-60 in $1 bills (works great for tipping) Our kids were seldom without beverage or a cut arrangement of towels in the room (elephants, birds, dolls) The Staff were always appreciative of a tip, now matter how small or large.
- When putting your towels out on deck chair it helps to leave a t-shirt or shoes to ensure all guests realize the spot is taken. We had two encounters whereby someone took our towels as their own.
- Checkout massage tables on the beach.....this service is on par with resorts massage service.
- Keep children hydrated with water. Bottled water is readily available from any of the bars.
- Head into Cabo and have picture taken with Baby Lion or Baby Bengal Tiger for $25....our kids loved it!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tastey_Pizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

After spending a week at this resort I will say that if you are traveling with your family with children this is the place for you. If you are a party animal, look elsewhere.

The resort is located in the “quieter” town of San Jose Del Cabo and the resort is very quiet. Unless you are trying to enjoy a quiet conversation over a drink at one of the bars (every bar had some form of irritating load music) after 10PM you can hear a pin drop.

The staff is great and they bend over backwards for you.

They have 1 large area dedicated for the kids with water slides and children’s activities.

The beach is large (I’d say about 100 yards from the hotel sidewalk to the ocean) and is kept clean.

The local vendors are kept out of the hotel area and beach.

That is the positive side of what I discovered.
On the negative side . . .

We upgraded to an ocean view room with a Jacuzzi. The room view was great, but the Jacuzzi was located outside on the balcony with no privacy wall between the rooms on this floor. If you look at the picture the rooms with the Jacuzzis are located on the floor with the small continous black railings on the 2nd floor facing the ocean . . . the one with the small Canadian flag on the railing. So if you want to soak a sore leg this works great. If you and your significant other want to share a romantic moment together . . . not so great.

The ocean here is not recommended for swimming. And there are jellyfish present . . . one guest was swept upside down by a wave and was stung right across the face by one. He just about had to be airlifted out to San Diego for medical care.

The pool is heated, but the swim-up bar is located in a spot where there isn’t any afternoon sun so after about 3PM there weren’t very many people using the bar.

They do have entertainment at the resort but compared to other resorts we stayed at in Mexico this was not as good as what we have seen.

This is the 1st time I ever stayed at a resort that had 2 levels of service.
As with a lot of resorts in Mexico you have to run the “time share” gauntlet and this was no different. I sat through the 2 hour presentation and then listened to 1 proposal after another; all the while trying to explain to the reps that in America we don’t make large money decisions on the spot . . . we need time to “think it over”. And even though the last couple of offers did sound very enticing, we had to commit on the spot so we declined to join their “family”.

Ah yes, when you buy a time share at this resort you become one of the “family”. Which means that you are given special dinners, shows, and your own private restaurant for breakfast, ect. And when you only have 5 places to eat to begin with, excluding 1 or 2 from the “common guests” really cuts down your eating options.

And it sure seemed funny to me that when you were trying to make reservations for either Marco Polo or Ponchos restaurants you had to give your room number . . . and if you weren’t a “family member” you never seemed to get a “1st call 1st serve” reservation any earlier than 9PM. So while the “common” guest was wandering around waiting until 9PM to eat there were “family members” being wined, dined, and catered to outside the restaurants even before they started serving.

In another instance, the “family members” were given their own private supper/show outside the main lobby bar one night . . . which I really didn’t give a rats’ a$$ about. But seeing as it was chilly that night, as soon as the “family members’” show had ended where do you think the “family members” went? Yeah . . . they all piled into the lobby bar and made a small bar even more crowed.

My point is this . . . if you want to go someplace where you want to be made to feel like a 2nd class guest, go to this resort and don’t join their “family”. We have been making a winter trip to Mexico for the past 4 years now and we will never go back to this resort.

Based on being treated as a "less desirable" guest at this resort I gave it a "Poor" rating.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 73Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Do not become a member!!!! They are why we purchase the first time. Then promised even more so upgraded. What a mistake. Stay away from this hotel sales people. I have yet to get what I was promised or shown at purchase time.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I'll make this as brief and as helpful as possible for people looking to stay here...

This hotel is geared towards families, which is great. However, it is clearly designed around timeshares. Upon arrival we were "greeted" by a man in a black shirt that wanted to introduce us to the amenities, etc. We were just off of a long flight and stated that we were ready to go to our room. Right away, be prepared for them to size you up for the sales pitch. Outside of that conversation, we weren't bothered. But, we were given colored wrist bands that identify owner, owner guests, and non-owners - interesting.

Annoying stuff first...

1. The beds are great if you are a Benedictine monk looking for a new punishment or a Klingon taking a break from fellow warriors poking them with a pain stick. THE BEDS ARE ROCK HARD. I think they use Ford Super Duty truck springs with a one inch pad to take the edge off or something. In any case, plan on a spinal adjustment once you get home or get a massage on the beach each morning.

2. The nicer restaurants on site require reservations many days ahead of time. Interestingly, we attempted to get some for over a week after are arrival date (after we arrived and had a room) and had difficulty. The first thing they ask you is your room number. If it isn't an owner's room, you're are better off playing Mega Millions or Power Ball as a retirement plan option than your chances are of getting a reservation. Again, everything is designed to appear like there are the "haves" and have nots" in this place.

3. Rooms are smallish. If you have a couple of kids they will be sleeping right next to you in the full size bed...woohoo. I don't think they have suites, so beware of the "Deluxe" room nomenclature as it is not Deluxe.

4. Pool water is warm but very under chlorinated. My wife and I both got some skin rashes that went away somewhat fast, but it was definitely related to the pool water. I recommend showering every night thoroughly with one of those poofy scrubbers just to be safe.

5. The beach is nice, but not a swimming-friendly experience. The waves break right on the steepish shoreline. Little ones can easily get pulled out into the churn in a split second, so watch out.

Good stuff...

1. Kids park area is nice for dropping the smaller tykes off and getting a break. I wouldn't drop off any child under 4-5 though.

2. Entertainment staff are machines. These amazingly dedicated people work 10+ hour days to keep everyone happy poolside and at night during the various shows. It isn't Broadway, but it was fun to watch the little skits and exercise routines they would do throughout the day by the pool.

3. Drinks. The poolside drink huts are nice. Remember to ask for the better rums and tequilas or they will give you the rotgut. Also, bring a few large, insulated mugs for drinks or you'll be stuck with the itty bitty glasses they give you. I just ordered three at a time, but then I looked like a raging alcoholic and fit in even better with the rest of the people at the pool! LOL!

4. Not close to much. If you want the "nightlife" aspect of Cabo, definitely stay in Cabo San Lucas and not San Jose del Cabo. This isn't a surprise really, considering that San Jose is more of an offshoot of Cabo San Lucas. Just be prepared for ZERO nightlife opportunities around the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thuff72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Beautiful Grounds, Fun Poolside, Great Food, All Inclusive!!!

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Car0linaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,237 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#22 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,844 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
7,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,317 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Los Cabos

Property: Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Address: Blvd. San Jose | Campo de Golf, San Jose del Cabo 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Inclusive family beachfront resort with 387 rooms in a Mexican hacienda-style, located in san Jose del Cabo, Mexico. Royal Solaris Los Cabos offers unlimited meal and beverages in our 5 restaurants, Room service (delivery fee), Dinner show at Tehuacan Theater, 4 bars, 3 pools with heather system (including relaxes & kids pools), Business center, Spa and beauty salon ($), Steam room, fitness center, hospitality rooms, on site shops. Other services include 24 hr medical service (on call) ($). Shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas ($). Weekly activities program for all ages. Tennis and basketball courts, also beach volleyball court. Theme parties and dinner shows. Junior's club (video games). Live and ambient music at the lobby bar. Kids club & Mini Water park. Scuba diving demo at the diving pool. Meeting room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Solaris Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Royal Solaris Cabo San Lucas
Los Cabos Solaris
Los Cabos Royal Solaris
Royal Solaris Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing