We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, nice resort, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, NC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, nice resort, but....”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Hubby and I just got back 7-28-12 after a very relaxing week at this resort...and my but...is just that, nothing but relaxing to do at this resort. Don't get me wrong, we love to relax and get away from it all, but when we get ready to break the monotony and see a show, or participate in some fun activity or look forward to a planned event at night besides karaoke or casino nite, it would have been nice to have that offered by the resort. Please don't misunderstand me, this is a very nice resort, I've been to a lot of resorts and I have never seen a more breathtaking infinity pool. I uploaded a photo of it of 1 of the 2 infinity pools. It literally looked like it spilled into the pacific ocean. BTW, the part of the pacific ocean that this resort rests on is absolutely amazing and dangerous at the same time. So dangerous in fact, that they do not allow swimming in it. But for us, as long as we are near and can smell and hear the ocean, we are not bothered by not being able to get in. But, if getting in is your thing, there are areas further up the beach that are calm enough for getting in. The service poolside was wonderful. The waiters were very attentive and you definately felt pampered. Also, realize that the hotel was around 50-60% full all week, so I can only hope that the service is the same when they are at full capacity. Now to the food...for us it was just OK. In fairness and to help you put things in perspective about our opinion of the food...we do not eat beef nor pork, which limits what we can try. I heard from other guests that the steak in the french restaurant was good, but the seafood and the rest of the food that we had was just OK. They go out of their way to make the meals and the experience fancy and high end (which is all well and good), but I would much rather have delicious food. My only other complaints about the food was that the service in all of the restaurants (there were 4, with only 3 opened each night), the service was just toooooo slow. As I said earlier, the resort was at around 1/2 capacity, so we never understood why the service was at a snails pace. I shudder to think about how it would have been if there were more guests at the resort. Maybe they would have had more help, I don't know. Room service was much faster than going to the restaurant getting the food yourself, which is what we did a lot and it was usually good. The rooms are nicely decorated and the bed, while on the hard side, was comfortable for us. The bathrooms were comfortable and nicely decorated (very modern). Housekeeping was very good, thorough and consistent. While we were there, we were told that they were working on opening a Japanese restaurant later this year, as well as a disco (which will provide a little more entertainment). Overall, we had a wonderful time in Cabo. The infrastructure there is a lot better than most Mexican towns that we have visited and we felt very safe there (even riding the public bus, which was 17 pesos (thats less than $2), rather than a $20-$25 cab ride for 20 minutes into Cabo San Lucas). Once this resort steps up the restaurants and the entertainment, it will go from very good to excellent.

Room Tip: Don't let them fool you into thinking that oceanfront is an upgrade...all of the regular (non-ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank XavierNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,351
    349
    94
    32
    26
See reviews for
123
1,332
40
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Took us a whole week of deciding where to pick a vacation place
Finally after many long nights and endless arguments with husband and daughter decided to pick Secrets Marquis
I have to say just WAO!!!!
Never have I seen my husband so happy and content
Service top of the line
Rooms exquisite
Treatment royalty
Food equivalent to having private chef
And not to say that we are not picky but definitely a true luxury

Room Tip: Pick the front beach junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hala n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Secrets Marquis for 4 nights. We were very impressed with the cleanliness and hotel's service, everyone was exceptionally nice. Some of the hotel's architecture and style is gorgeous. We loved the pool. The food was pretty good quality, but for an all inclusive hotel, I believe there should be more options of places to dine. One of the upscale restaurants was closed the whole time we were there. We also wish the wifi wasn't so expensive ($15/day). Other than than we had an amazing time and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

After a nightmare of a start to our honeymoon at another resort (check our other reviews), this place welcomed us with open arms and an open room (thank goodness!).

I can't speak high of enough of a management trickle down effect. The management knows that a place this well put together is a place that will sell itself in the time share market. That's why no one mentions to you about buying some sort of time share, because after a day there, you'll be asking!

Service. The constant questions we got asked was "is there any more that you like?" "what else?" "Another piña colada?". They always sought to offer you more. The staff were the most wonderful people we have ever met.

Food. Oh my goodness. No matter where you went it would be one of the best meals we ever had! The sea bass was my preferred favorite with all their different variations of preparing it. The french restaurant full meal was also an every other night occasion for us. Even room service at 1230 was a hit! They know how to serve you.

Rooms. Whoa! Beautiful room with an even more beautiful view. Twice a day cleaning service. Great utilities! A harry potter door that had fresh coffee, pastries and fruit in it every morning! Great king size mattress that felt cleaner than anything I've slept on.

Obviously we loved the trip. The slight hold back was this place was a lot more than our initial resort, but we didn't look back once. The value is there and above for the price you put down. We've tried other places and talked to others who tried other resorts, and overwhelmingly this place had it together.

The spa was pretty good, not a highlight, but still nice.

Cabo is a great vacation spot, but because of this place and this place alone, we want to go back. We decided we're coming back after being there for about 8 hours. Message me if you have any more questions. I'll recommend this place time and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend. The resort recently became an all inclusive property under the Secrets brand. They have done a marvelous job at the boutique, adults only, all inclusive property. It is not made for the "masses". It is a quiet place for adults to get away and relax at the beautiful infinity pools, spa and fine restaurants without the crowded buffet lines at a typical all inclusive. All suites are ocean view with balconies! The service was very, very good. Sitting by the pool, drinks and lunch are served by the waitstaff. If you want to splurge a little more, try one of the Casitas with a private plunge pool. Really beautiful units! It is very romantic and I saw private dinners on the beach each night for different couples. Looks like a fantastic spot for a honeymoon. If you want the noise and nightlife, Cabo San Lucas is a 10 minute cab ride away.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ateam_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulphur, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was our first trip to Los Cabos. We have been to our fair amount of beaches... Jamaica, Cancun, Dominican, Italy (postanio), and a handful others. I must say that I was very impressed. I went there with my husband, sister and brother in law to celebrate my 50th birthday.
I am going to start with the negative because it will be quite short and not a big issue but may be for others. First the beach is BEAUTIFUL but you cant swim there, there are rocks and the surf is very dangerous. I was not aware of the NO SWIMMING when I went there but again...not a isssue for us because we usually dont get in the water at the beach. Second, a good 20 min drive to get to town and do any shopping or dining. With a resort so nice, you really dont need to go anywhere else!
Now, with that aside....the place was simply amazing. Beautiful property set on a beautiful beach. Being a "all-inclusive" you never know about the food. Usually it is the same buffet everyday with very little changes . Not at Secrets Marquis. The only buffet is breakfast (also can order from the menu). The rest of the dining was off a menu with wonderful selections and as tasty as you would have at any fine restaurant. The French restaurant was out of the world. They go out of the way to make sure you want for nothing. We went in July and it was a slow time for the Resort which meant we never had to wait for anything.
We went to the Fitness area a few times and they have the largest selection of equipment of any fitness room at a "all-inclusive" that I have been to.
My husband had a massage, He did say it was just okay...nothing special.
The pool area is huge and spans the entire length of the resort.
I usually do not repeat a vacation because there is just too much to see in this lifetime, but I will be making a return trip to Los Cabos Secrets Marquis for sure.
Added note: Maricio was the best waiter at the pool area, he made out trip special everyday

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 4th or 5th floor for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank cajun1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed at Secrets Marquis Los Cabos from 7/18/12 to 7/22/12. This was our first trip to Los Cabos, so we had no idea what to expect. We are so delighted to report that Secrets Marquis Los Cabos was simply amazing. The resort is beautiful, the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating, and we would definitely recommend this resort to any potential guests. Our room was cleaned 3 times a day, and the property itself was very clean!!! The Guests Services Staff was friendly, but three representatives stood out. DAVID, VANNIA, AND CARLOS really made our trip special. They went "above and beyond the call of duty" to make sure that we were comfortable and were having a good time throughout our trip. They made our trip memorable, and we are truly appreciative for that. This was our first time booking an all-inclusive trip, and to our surprise, we got our money's worth. The wait staff was friendly, and the food was delicious at all of the on-site restaurants (our favorite waiters were Josimar, Alberto & Antonio). There were scheduled activities throughout the day and night for hotel guests, and we hated to leave the property when we went into town to shop. On your first day of arrival, you need to make sure that you contact the Concierge’ to make dinner reservations at Zoetry and Dreams (Secrets sister properties). The food at Zoetry was excellent, and we were served dinner on the beach by candlelight (very romantic). Our experience at Dreams was nice, but we were not thrilled about eating outdoors at Oceania Restaurant. It was just too hot for that (95 degrees). The food was okay. Dreams was a nice hotel, but we did not like the fact that there were unsupervised children running around the property screaming and playing at 10 o'clock at night. We are so glad that we decided to stay at Secrets Marquis Los Cabos over Dreams. Secrets was an all-adult resort, and we did not see any children throughout our stay. Don't get me wrong, we love kids (we have some ourselves), but while on vacation, we wanted to be able to relax without them, and our wish was granted. Trust me when I tell you that Secrets Marquis Los Cabos is the place to stay, and while in the city, you must make dinner reservations at EDITH'S RESTAURANT (http://www.edithscabo.com/). The ambience, the wait staff, and the food were excellent!!!

Room Tip: Book at Oceanview room. You can see the pools, and the ocean from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,876 reviews
8.4 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,183 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,214 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa

Property: Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 21.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marquis Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort & Spa offering all of the privileges of adults-only, Unlimited-Luxury(R) for the first time on the scenic Baja Peninsula. At Marquis Los Cabos, guests can enjoy handsomely appointed suites with world-class amenities, 24 hour romantic in-suite dining, exciting daytime beach, land and pool activities, nightly entertainment, gourmet a la carte dining without reservations, complimentary international and domestic brand beverages and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Marquis Los Cabos Hotel
Marquis Los Cabos Resort
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing