We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort with a Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I escaped to Secrets Marquis for a 5 day vacation. We checked in relatively fast and were given an overview of the grounds and facilities by Susana. Here was the main item I would improve at the resort, because next we were thrown a low pressure pitch to attend the time share meeting at Dreams. I would rather not have the pitch, but because it was low key and short there's no harm done.

We were also given a voucher book that essentially discounts some resort services. It's not at all straight forward, so pay attention to the instructions and keep the paper that outlines how to use the coupons. These were the only two resort controlled negatives, and the only items I would urge the resort to improve.

The room was large, comfy, and well furnished. The mini bar was stocked with soda, water, and beer and our fourth floor balcony had a stunning view of the ocean. The shore break at Secrets is severe, you don't want to swim in it, but it makes for a spectacular backdrop. White water crashes on the shore in huge explosions of foam and looks like something out of a romance novel. My wife and I enjoyed sitting on the balcony and just watching the ocean. I love to go in the ocean, but I'll trade the swimming for that ambiance any day.

The pools, restaurants, bars, and staff are all fantastic. In particular, the activities staff of David, Ferr, Fernando, Miguel, and Denise were awesome. They made me feel welcome everywhere I went and I can't say enough about them. The room service staff and our housekeeper, Erika, were also outstanding. You cannot pay someone enough or train them to do the little things to make the experience better, sometimes they just have to know to do the right thing. Erika is one of those rare people that does the little things and makes the day better.

We had a great time a Secrets and I would recommend it to anyone looking for an escape. We're hoping to return sometime soon!

Room Tip: High floors have better views and you can hear the waves better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,550 - 1,556 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Secrets is a beautiful contemporary resort. Very sleek in its look and function. The food was amazing and the service was usually pretty great. Most of the staff speaks English and work very hard to meet your needs.
The rooms are nice size with a huge bed (2 full or queen size beds pushed together), but they are very hard and this is my only compaint. The room is nicely stocked with shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, and lotion and some other supplies. Frig was stocked with some soda, beer and water. Every room has a at least a ocean view and ours was great. We were not in a ocean front room, so we had a very slight obstruction from the building to the side of us, but not a problem at all.
Overall this is a beautiful resort, with a great staff and highly recommended.
Entertainment at the resort is very limited, but most people are there to either relax or do other things outside the resort.

Room Tip: All rooms have a ocean view, ocean front just means you wont have the building causing a slight loss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orca21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just got back from Secrets and can't wait to return. The food was better then a lot of the all inclusive hotels we have stayed out before. The only restaurant you need reservations for is Spice and their hibachi tables. Men need to wear collar shirts and close toed shoes at this restaurant. Our chef Leonard was great and very entertaining. You can get sweet rolls, coffee and fresh fruit delivered to your door every morning. You have a refrigerator stocked with beer, soda, water and coffee creamer. We tipped the cleaning staff and requested more soda/water on the first day. Never ran out of anything. Room service sometimes took a little while. There was a lot of food selection.

The waves are really loud even with the door closed on the 4th floor. Great view of the ocean.

The Entertainment staff was great. If you just wanted to lounge poolside they didn't harass you. David, Ferr & Denise were great. If you want a fun night out go on the Pub Crawl. Just be prepared for El Quid Roe- it was insanely crazy on a Saturday night. They had daily activities if you wanted something to do. Every night you would get the next days activity schedule.

The drinks were strong and very sweet. Pool service was pretty good most of the time. There were times when we did have to ask a couple times for extra drinks or menus.

The resort was 60% filled but didn't feel that busy.

Don't miss the Mexican Night (Saturday). The food was great and there was Mexican entertainment.

The main bar stays open to midnight and there is a singer. Great way to relax, meet others and sing along.

Room Tip: You want a room on higher floor. You don't need to spend the extra money on a casitas as their p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMSJLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This resort took my breath away upon entering. The pics online do not do it justice, although they are beautiful. The infinity pool is beautiful to be in and around. The beach is one of the best beaches I have ever been on. You cannot swim on this beach, nor would you want to as the waves are a good 10 feet and the current is very strong.The resort in general is more quiet and relaxing and does not really cater to wild partying if that is what you are looking for. There was a good mix of ages staying the week we were there. Secrets is adults only, which was exactly what we were looking for, considering we are empty nesters.
Rooms are gorgeous. We were on 2nd floor and had a beautiful ocean view balcony, Jacuzzi tub and a bed that seemed like an oversized king. Bed was firm but very comfortable for us. Air conditioning worked perfect. Room service was very good and our housekeeper really took great care of the room. The staff aims to please and really go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of and comfortable. The guys that wait on you around the pool are fun and extremely attentive. Even though tipping is included, these people work very hard and tips are greatly appreciated. The food at all the restaurants was very good and there was a good variety of offerings. I would absolutely stay at this resort again in the future. My only issue was the house wine. As a wine drinker it did not appeal to me. One area they could work on.
And here's a shout out to staff that stood out during our stay: Briz, Miguel, Salvador, Adrian and Rodrigo and Alain. Thank you Secrets Marquis for making our stay a most fabulous one.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra4750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Great rooms! Beautiful views and awesome infinity pool. The food was pretty good for all inclusive, wish their would have been more Mexican cuisine offered. Drinks were delicious as well.. not much alcohol though. Make sure to make reservationa for the Asain resturant, Spice, awesome food and space fills up quick!

Also, the hotel is geared towards couples/honeymooners, something I did not know (was fine since I was traveling with my boyfriend but saw a few families very confused)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We first came to Secrets last June 2012 to attend a destination wedding. The moment we arrived, we knew that this would definitely be a new vacation spot for us. You cannot go wrong here. It is very close to Cabo San Lucas and accesinle to other locations to visit, but if you don't have the desire to leave, you surely wouldn't be disappointed. Everywhere you go, the staff is exceptionally polite and solicitous of your every need. Staff members regularly go out of their way to make you feel at home. We had a particularly good experience in one fine restaurant that serves dinner only, where Esteban was our waiter. What a delightful person. But beyond that, we had a waiter of all waiters at Secrets' Vista Ballenas restaurant; Elias Anastaccio. He was amazing!!! He waited on us as if we wete the only people there. Elias is a perfect reflection and representation of what the Secrets Marquis Los Cabos is all about. This is a MUST VISIT resort!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LoriTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband and I got married in Los Cabos Memorial day weekend at one of the sister hotels Dreams Los Cabos. So after the stresses of a wedding and spending the week with family and friends, Secrets Marquis was exactly what we needed to wind down. We checked out of Dreams and with a very short taxi ride we were here quite early as check in is usually around 3 or 4 (not sure which one )but we arrived at 11am and our ocean front Castia was waiting for us. Shocked and excited as we planned we would have to wait for our room our personal concierge took us to our Casita and showed us around our beautiful room. we dropped out bags and went in our private plunge pool.

The food and drinks: Did not feel like we were at an all inclusive resort. The drinks were strong regardless of tipping i felt like. Had some of the best Margaritas by the pool. The food was good too. Our favorite restaurant was the asian fusion SPICE. We actually ate there 3 times. My husband loved the teppanyaki. The food was great, service was great atmosphere was great too. My glass of wine was never empty. i pretty much took a sip from my glass and they were back to fill it up again. we also ate at the french restaurant which was very good just hard to get too and confusing. Lunches by the pool at barefoot grill were great too! i Loved the guacamole and seafood tacos! breakfast was always yummy too with a very big selection.mimosas were a great way to start the day!

The pool: BEAUTIFUL! it was so relaxing looking out and seeing the infinity pool turning into the ocean. Countless times my husband and I turned to eachother saying how amazing the veiw was from the pool. Getting chairs was never a problem as the hotel was pretty much empty. We always got chairs right by our Casita. It was very convenient not to have to go on a journey just to go back to the room quick. They also have floats which were nice. One thing i will say that sucked is that the hot tubs are not hot they are the same temperature as the pool. you can not swim at the beach but it is just a short walk if you wish too.

Rooms/Castias: LIke i mentioned we had a castia suite which was completely worth the money if it is a special occasion such as honeymoon or anniversary. It was so big and spacious the bathroom was huge. Actually there were 2 which both were big. The fridge is always stocked with water and alcohol. In the morning they leave fruit and pastries in your nook. which is a original touch. beds are comfortable. the showers however are not so good, there is very little water pressure and i think they were too small for such a bug bathroom. The jacuzzi was very clean. They did a romantic turndown service with flowers and candles our first night which was lovely. The private plunge pool was private since we were on the end and first floor. I dont see how most of them are though because some of the private pools are facing the infinity pool. And i dont know about you but when i am swimming in my private pool i dont want people walking by looking. Just beware when you are booking a castia that you ask for one on the end of the resort or something private. I would of loved to see what the second floor ones look like.

the resort and service: the resort was very clean and service was great. everyone was friendly and accommodating. we found the resort layout kind of confusing at first but that could be that we were so used to Dreams that we had a hard time adjusting. If you are looking for nightlife go to another hotel because there was little to non. they apparently had activities every night but we could never find where they were. except the movie by the pool one night that we watched. mostly everyone we came in contact with was honeymooners which was nice for us or people celebrating anniversaries. Also with the casitia suite you get free wifi!

Overall we had a amazing experience with secrets and i would 100% recommend staying here. We hope to be back. Castia suite is worth the money if you are doubting it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,517 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,823 reviews
8.4 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradisus Los Cabos
Paradisus Los Cabos
#10 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
650 reviews
3.1 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 21.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £307 - £625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marquis Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort & Spa offering all of the privileges of adults-only, Unlimited-Luxury(R) for the first time on the scenic Baja Peninsula. At Marquis Los Cabos, guests can enjoy handsomely appointed suites with world-class amenities, 24 hour romantic in-suite dining, exciting daytime beach, land and pool activities, nightly entertainment, gourmet a la carte dining without reservations, complimentary international and domestic brand beverages and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Marquis Los Cabos Hotel
Marquis Los Cabos Resort
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing