We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Secrets Marquis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay at Secrets Marquis”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I really enjoyed our stay Oct 17 -21 at Secrets !! There was great service from front desk ,housekeeping to all the servers at the pool and restaurants ! We enjoyed all that Secrets had to offer.The activities people were so fun even though we sat on our loungers by the infinity pool most of the time they still tried to engage use in the hourly events! Food was amazing!! Ceviche 7 ways is on my mind right now!!! I will be making it soon !! We will go back again! We had an Oceanfront room and would pay the extra to have a center high floor room that was close to the elevator.! I might want to try a Casita next trip if I could find a good deal !! We met a lot of nice people from all over the US and Canada!! Great trip !!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefdiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,296
    339
    91
    31
    26
See reviews for
115
1,282
40
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We originally booked a stay at Barcelo Los Cabos with cheapcarribean.com. Barcelo is being switched over to Hyatt, which did not honor bookings made with cheapcarribean! =/ We were not disappointed though. We had a nice, relaxing stay here.
Service - Poolside service was good, but slow during dinner. Overall everyone seemed pretty attentive, friendly and helpful. They were especially helpful at the concierge desk and Amstar desk (they helped us contact reps for the excursions we booked with cheapcarribbean).
Timeshare Presentation - ended up doing this and for a couples massage gift certificate and one hour of free jet-skiing. It took place 5 min from the resort at Dreams Resort. We don't regret doing it, but they did go over the 90 min timecap that they promised, and our particular guy was pushy (shocking) and the BF was getting a little annoyed after clearly telling him 'NO' several times. I wasn't too impressed with the Dreams resort, but I could see how it would appeal to families with children. They also haggle you at the airport for other timeshare presentations and then tell you not to tell any Secrets employees about it...so be weary of that!
The spa - lounge area was nice and I liked the pool and jacuzzis overlooking the grounds. Massage was relaxing, but nothing I would consider 'Deep Tissue."
Food - The breakfast buffet was good, had the usual omelette bar, fruit, donuts, scrambled eggs, beans, etc. Like most reviewers have said, Spice was the best. The Teppenyaki tables are fun, esp if you have a good group and chef! We did not like the lunch and dinner restaurants where the breakfast buffet took place (forgot the name). Poolside food was a lot of fried foods, but I'm not complaining because it goes great w/ all the margaritas we ordered! Loved that there was also 24 hour room-service. Overall, I could see how the food could get a little blah if your stay is over 5 days, and I've def had better at different all-inclusives (Palace Resorts Cancun and Cozumel, Veligandu Maldives).
Room - We had the Jr Suite with an Oceanview. Our view was unobstructed (suite 243) and at the end of the hall =) Clean room and bed was firm which I didn't mind. We used the in-suite jacuzzi once (comes w/ candles). Good water pressure in the shower. We liked the 'privacy' box where they stash early morning coffee and pastries (when requested) and without having to knock or wake you up early!
There were shows every night which we didn't get to see, we either had excursions or were too wiped out from pool/sun/drinking all day. We do regret not saving one night to see more of the night shows.
Excursions - we booked our Sunset Cruise with cheapcarribbean.com, lots of drinks and good food. Cruise took us to Lovers' Arch and we saw a whale on our way out there. We also did a snorkel trip and water activities with Cabo Adventure (separate review).
Overall, we would recommend this hotel to couples looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation. The grounds are beautiful, clean beach (can't go swimming of course), great infinity pools. Not too lively, but that was fine with us. Would we go again? Probably not just because there's so many more resorts to stay at and would also like to be closer to Cabo San Lucas.

Room Tip: Liked our corner suite (room 243), great view of the beach/ocean/resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walburg, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Oh my..."WOW"! What an incredible place. We stayed here with two other couples for five days. We all had amazing suites that were upgraded complimentarily. Our suites had private pools, huge, gorgeous, rooms with the most amazing service, mornings & turn down service at night. Coffee, juice, fruit, and pastries were delivered each morning and were enjoyed on our private pool/patio overlooking the beach! What could be better?
The staff at Secrets Marquis Los Cabos was top notch, you just can not find any better! The spa was amazing, we enjoyed one of the best couples massage's that we have ever had. Everyone is incredibly friendly, and helpful. They really go out of their way to please their guest and make sure that you have an amazing stay.
This is an adults only resort. I highly recommend Secrets Marquis Los Cabos.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXTLC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara A, General Manager at Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great comments about our Resort l! We appreciate very much your words, and we look forward to welcome you again very soon!!
Cordially,
Ankara Angulo.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was the third Secrets we stayed at this year and it lived up to the brand and exceeded our expectations in almost every way. We went with some friends who had never been to an all-inclusive or to Mexico before and we made a bunch of special requests in advance of our trip to make sure they had an amazing experience - Vania, the concierge, not only did everything we asked but gave us both the VIP treatment the entire time which will make it hard to beat on another trip. If you go to Cabo, stay here!

The highlights
We arrived to find wine and chocolate covered strawberries in the room (we asked for the wine but the fruit was Vania's amazing touch) and the view from our rooms on the 5th floor were spectacular. The French restaurant has some of the best food we've ever had at an all-inclusive anywhere and the Japanese restaurant was chic, offering the usual fun if somewhat standard food at the Teppanyaki table. The chef's specials were awesome - the filet and shrimp was the best of these. Vania gave us perfect recommendations for where to eat in Cabo and I'll review that amazing night out separately, pointed us to trendy but not pricey pubs in San Jose like the Baha Brewing Company (amazing chipolte wings), and we had one of the nicest spa experiences we have ever had here. The poolside wait staff were friendly, attentive and brought you top shelf-based drinks without having to be asked for it.

The Pool & Beach
The huge beachside infinity pool was simply beautiful - the views over the water to the pounding surf were gorgeous. You never had to fight for a chair with a view because the entire pool offers a view. The beachside chairs were padded and offered you a close-up view of the pounding surf. The vendors were kept largely at bay by the staff and the only negative here was that the pool was a bit cool until midday. The surf is extremely dangerous though so don't near it - one fellow there almost drown after 30 minutes of struggling having been swept into the sea when walking near it.

The Food & Drinks
Great Oho Rojo's, mojitos, and margaritas made with 1800 - can't say enough about the wait service and quality of the drinks - look for Alberto, he's awesome. If you go, get the morning coffee service - they put it in a small cubbyhole outside your room around 6:30 and it comes with a few pastries and sliced fruit - a perfect way to start your day. The breakfast buffet was fairly standard to be honest and could have been a bit better but you could also order off the menu and get special requests without a problem. The poolside ceviche bar was a great surprise, offering you 8-10 choices per day - all good including fresh octopus. The lounge bar was small but also offered great views - the lighting is a bit bright at night but, even the day it rained and was packed, we go fast and friendly service.

The Room
The room was clean, quiet, and always stocked with whatever you need. We could see whales and dolphins in the bay from the balcony and the sunrise was lovely. The only downside was the toilet with glass door and wall to the shower - a bit to "intimate" for us as we like our privacy here but you could always enjoy the balcony at those times.

The Spa
The spa was very nice, offering seaside views from their private, covered deck area including 6 small 2 person jacuzzis overlooking the sea. We did the Welcome to Secrets package and our friends did deep tissue massages - we all enjoyed it very much and found our therapists to be quite skilled. We would not do the full package again and would break it up into different experiences instead but that was just because 3 hours of treatment was quite a lot to take in - perfect for the rainy day though.

Trips
Vania recommended we do the luxury sailing cruise for about $100 each for the day and it was one of the best days at sea we've enjoyed - a 20 person sailboat, gourmet food, great drinks, snorkelling in bathtub temp water literally surrounded by fish, and great full mast sailing on the pacific side. We also went in to the Art Walk on Thursday night and that was really good - packed with people, local artists and good wine and appetizers in the galleries.

In general, this was a great place - we enjoyed the nightlife at Secrets Silversands more and there is no preferred club at this resort but, honestly, we barely noticed that - If we go back to Cabo, we'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator - get something in the mid-520s - great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GarthnKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

From the time we arrived, everyone was great, sometimes we just sat down and all of the staff knew what we wanted , before we even said what we wanted, from drink to food . Juan when out of his way to make sure that we had the best of everything, thank you so much Juan .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Clean, quiet, relaxing.
Steep access to the ocean, swim at your own risk. They don't reccomend it.
Pool lounge chairs fill up quickly.
there was a large group there during my stay, seems like they pulled wait staff to work the group meals and parties, making for long waits for drinks and food service at dinner.
Flies are a main concern here, they are everywhere.
if you want to go to town, you will need a taxi. Most prices are the same as the US.

Room Tip: ask for ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The resort met or exceeded every expectation we had for our honnymoon. Very clean and curtious. We wanted for nothing. The outdoor bar waiter Armondo and Manager Juan went way over the top to please us with their service over and over again. Chef Antonio in Dos Mares prepared mahi mahi we caught and brought in way beyond any expectation we had, truly exceptional. Vista Ballenas breakfast waiter Paul was great and young Leonel is a rising star that we feel is the future of Secrets.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,624 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
8.4 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
13.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa

Property: Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 21.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marquis Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort & Spa offering all of the privileges of adults-only, Unlimited-Luxury(R) for the first time on the scenic Baja Peninsula. At Marquis Los Cabos, guests can enjoy handsomely appointed suites with world-class amenities, 24 hour romantic in-suite dining, exciting daytime beach, land and pool activities, nightly entertainment, gourmet a la carte dining without reservations, complimentary international and domestic brand beverages and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Marquis Los Cabos Hotel
Marquis Los Cabos Resort
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing