We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The customer service at Secrets Marquis was excellent- from the front desk staff and housekeeping staff to the restaurant & pool cocktail servers and entertainment staff. All of our needs were met- and with a smile. We had a great stay and would definitely recommend this resort to all~

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,268
    327
    91
    31
    26
See reviews for
111
1,255
39
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I had a memorable five night stay at this resort hotel. After two weeks of looking on the internet, I discovered it. I am an avid reader of Trip Advisor, and have submitted reviews myself. I paid attention to what was said, good and bad, recognizing that people have their own agendas when they go to a particular place. This hotel had everything we were looking for, and didn't have what we didn't need or want. I wanted a full oceanfront view, and wanted to go to sleep, listening to the crash of the waves. I was in seventh heaven! The sound was fantastic, and especially so, because there is no ocean swimming at this hotel. The current is too strong. Perfect for us, we aren't beach folks (I don't care for the sand). Additionally, this left the beach view quiet and unencumbered by people. Every room faces the Pacific Ocean, so no extra charges for the view. No children! Ours remained at home ( smile). There was 24 hr. room service. My husband says the drinks were superb, and we is both agreed the food was exquisite. The restaurants were varied, offering a good selection of different types of food (from French to Japanese).We rented a car one day, and drove around the entire island, visiting San Lucas, La Paz, and San Jose. Avis was very conveniently connected to the hotel. The price was great! The spa was very nice, normally pricey, but we got great deals on the car and spa. The staff are soooo friendly, and extremely accommodating. A "Happy Anniversary" banner on the door, two bubble baths in the jacuzzi, a bottle of wine, fresh fruit, turn down service, were presented, all because of our anniversary! So, think about your priorities. This place is mostly for couples, with beautifully staged night entertainment, but not all night partying. Go elsewhere for that. It was the perfect match for us!

Room Tip: High floors are excellent. Try to avoid the central rooms, as they are over the hub of activity, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dolores J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I had an amazing time at this resort. We were there for 10 days and did not want to leave! The hotel staff was very entertaining and also accommodating. The room view was gorgeous and was very clean and comfortable. We would recommend this resort to anyone!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I just returned from SM for some much needed R&R. We've been to Hawaii several times and other parts of Mexico, based on our experience we will DEFINITELY return. We stayed a week and really enjoyed our stay. Despite a few 'cons' that I will mention this is an awesome resort. The pictures on their site and everywhere else are true and correct. The lobby is AMAZING, staff friendly and accommodating as can be. The hotel, bathrooms, pools, rooms, restaurants, beaches etc EXTREMELY clean. The best all inclusive resort we've visited.

We ate at all restaurants and in our order of preference...
1. Canto De Mar (the creamy pumpkin soup and duo of chicken and shrimp were delicious)
2. Dos Mares (our favorites were the quesadilla and combo fajitas)
3. Spice (if you know Benihanas, then you know Spice)
4. Vista Ballenas
5. Coco Cafe (great quick bites if you have activities planned for the day)
6. Barefoot Grill (not a negative that its 6th, just good poolside food)

The bars are great, but make sure to ask for the premium liquors otherwise you'll get the watered down stuff.

No clubs-but the activities planned throughout the day are enough to keep you occupied if interested. The El Suspiro bar stays open till 1am and offers nightly live singing and music for dancing if you choose to partake.

No need to exchange for pesos as you can do all that with the front desk at the current exchange rate just beware of the commission rates (we found it typical at 10%).

THE CONS;
1. the marble floor although gorgeous, can be a hazard when wet. Pay attention to the wet floor signs and walk gingerly
2. DO NOT purchase the Wi-Fi, there is a FREE business center that is open from 8-5. Check and reply to your emails there if you must. We purchased the wi-fi and only had connection in the lobby
3. The excursions are fun, but be prepared to pay for an 'entrance fee', 'insurance fee', and if you plan to pay with a card expect a 'service fee' of 12-16%

Room Tip: No bad rooms, if an unobstructed view is what you're looking for ask for floors 4 and 5. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Rashida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

There are several impressive aspects to the Secrets Marquis.

The service. Our room was serviced several times a day meaning we always had fresh towels after our post-swim shower. Room service was available 24 hours. After a long day in the sun, there is nothing more rewarding then to ring up a late night snack and a couple of beers. The waiters at the pool were constantly by to prevent from ever being stuck with an empty bottle of beer.

The room. Large with an even larger bed. The all important well working air-conditioner after a few hours in the Mexican humidity. A jacuzzi tub to soak in or a shower to wash off the grime of the day. His and her sinks with a splendid selection of bathroom condiments.

Each day there is plenty of events scheduled or you can just relax in one of the many pools. Finally there are several dining options onsite to chose from. The Canto del Mar is my top choice. Spice for the teppanyaki but skip the sushi. And for a more causal meal around the pool, I would recommend the ceviche from Dos Mares.

The biggest downside to staying at Secrets Marquis is its distance from the towns. If you are planning to go out shopping, dining and enjoying the Cabo nightlife, I would not stay at Secrets. However if you are mainly planning to just relax, it is a fantastic spot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freeamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I have been to Cabo several times - each time staying at a different resort. This time we chose Secrets Marqius.

We decided to spend a bit more and upgrade our stay to a Private Pool Casita. This was an excellent choice! It was as if we had a beautiful condo on the resort property! The only thing missing was a full kitchen. However, we didn't need a full kitchen, as there was 24/7 room service featuring the BEST FOOD we have ever had at a resort, as well as FANTASTIC MEALS in all the restaurants! My husband and I are picky eaters, and the food staff went out of their way to accommodate all our wishes. The presentation of most dishes was truly amazing.

I teach yoga, and was so pleased to find the guest yoga instructors were excellent, highly qualified teachers. The yoga classes were outside, which was warm and sweaty, which was GREAT! The gym was clean, modern and always very cool inside. We never had any wait for cardio or weight equipment.

Each day our room service breakfast would arrive exactly as ordered, within a minute of our requested time. Our suite was made up daily with many, many special touches. Our private pool was always cool and refreshing with fresh towels on the lounge chairs. Our room's air conditioners cooled the rooms way, way down, which was amazing in the 90 degree heat. Our patio doors recessed into the walls for an "indoor/outdoor" feel to our suite which was fantastic!

The resort itself is beautiful, although it is not new or modern looking. The beachfront location is marvelous, with the sound of the crashing waves lulling us to sleep each night.

Our private concierges, Noe and Francisco, took fantastic care of us from our first step onto the property until our last day, when we found out our flight was delayed 3 hours. Not only were we welcomed to stay in our suite during this delay time, but we were well fed and our airport transportation was rescheduled for us!

Every member of the resort team was very friendly, polite, and so helpful - we would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: If you can spend the extra money, get one of the Private Pool Casitas. The pool is not "privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DeDeDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara A, General Manager at Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Secrets Marquis Los Cabos. What a joy it is to know you found so much to love about our resort. It is a privilege to serve our guests and make every aspect and every minute of their stay comfortable, special, and perfect. I am delighted to know we were able to accomplish that during your visit. I would like to thank you for all your positive remarks as they offer our entire team great motivation and reward for their hard work. We will be thrilled to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards,
Ankara Angulo
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

First... This is a smaller more intimate resort. To start the views around the resort are very breathtaking. We were very surprised to see how pretty the beach was even though you can't swim in the ocean ( which didn't bother us at all)
We came here for our 6 year anniversary being pleasantly surprise with our room ( the casita suite) diffidently worth the upgrade, and on atop of that you pretty much have an on call concierge any time you need anything in your room. The suite maybe be the nicest room we've ever stayed in, the roof top pool is incredible, and ads to he even better views. The staff and everyone goes above and beyond to make the stay here unforgettable

Food... All I can stay is the food is good not great, breakfast is mainly buffet style they give you a menu but it mostly all on the buffet line it can get a bit repetitive wish they had more options. Lunch again not many options but everything we had was good. The best restaurant we found was Canto Del Mar but it by far was the smallest restaurant being a small restaurant was a lil disappointing that we had to sit outside. Everyone raves about Spice but be found it to be the worst.( greasy Chinese food , and bad sushi ) We've been to one other all inclusive, and have to stay that the quality of the food was better there.

Now some negatives......
Zero nightlife. There is only one bar open till 1 am and it's a pretty lame one, the only night life is every night they put on some type of corny festival ( which we never attended) and closes at 10pm

Beachfront dinner only negative they show on the brochure a but pretty sit up for the dinner and I took us any hour to get our champagne, only one guy working 2 tables you would think things would have run little more smoothly All the being said it is a very romantic evening ( we suggest doing it at sunset )

This place is so close to being great we enjoyed our time but it's a bit chessy and boring for a 4 star resort

Room Tip: Casita suite has a lot more sun time the honeymoon suits and is closest to an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MnsDoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara A, General Manager at Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing Secrets Marquis Los Cabos for your 6th anniversary celebration. I am delighted to know that our breathtaking views, pristine beach and your private Casita all added to your enjoyment. It also makes me proud that my team was able to make your experience unforgettable! I do regret, however, that despite all the positive aspects, there were a couple of areas, where you may not have experienced the best we have to offer. On your next visit, I would like to invite you to explore our a-la-carte breakfast options as I am sure you’d enjoy the variety and flavors. At lunch, in order to savor more of our specialties, I recommend Dos Mares for excellent seafood, Vista Ballenas for Mexican and International cuisine and The Barefoot Grill for casual poolside fare. I’m glad you enjoyed our Award-winning French Restaurant Canto Del Mar, and I’m sure you’ll be able to enjoy this experience in the intimate interior next time (if by any chance there is no availability inside the restaurant, we can deliver you a beeper that will ring as soon as there is availability, I would suggest enjoying an aperitif at the Suspiro Bar while you’re waiting, it does not take that much.). I also hope your future experiences at our other restaurants will be perfect and truly representative of the quality food and service we are known for.
For more late-night options, I would suggest our weekly Pub Crawl that makes it easy to explore Cabo San Lucas’ famous bar scene with plenty of live music and fantastic party ambiance.
We hope to welcome you again one day and deliver the GREAT experience you deserve.
Kind Regards,
Ankara Angulo
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
8.4 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#11 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
13.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa

Property: Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 21.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marquis Los Cabos All Inclusive Resort & Spa offering all of the privileges of adults-only, Unlimited-Luxury(R) for the first time on the scenic Baja Peninsula. At Marquis Los Cabos, guests can enjoy handsomely appointed suites with world-class amenities, 24 hour romantic in-suite dining, exciting daytime beach, land and pool activities, nightly entertainment, gourmet a la carte dining without reservations, complimentary international and domestic brand beverages and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Marquis Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Marquis Los Cabos Hotel
Marquis Los Cabos Resort
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing