We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice alternative to downtown Cabo”
Review of Las Olas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose del Cabo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Las Olas
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I have been to Cabo San Lucas once before, and stayed downtown Cabo at the Bahia Hotel with friends, so for this second trip, we decided to try something different. Las Olas is located about 20 minutes from the airport, its a ten minute cab ride to the quaint little town of San Jose del Cabo, and five minutes south of the Mega Super Store for all of your shopping needs.

We stayed on the first level, B105, a three bedroom, two bath condo. It was great to have all the amenities to make nice meals at the condo, and a great way to save on meals out.

B105 is a great condo, super easy to access the pool or beach. A wonderful spot for chilling on your patio, watching the surfers, or engaging in the fun. This is a great surf spot, nice for stand-up paddle boarding, and calm enough to swim.

The pool was great, the location was ideal on beachfront property, there are stairs down to the beach, easy walking to Zippers, a great restaurant and bar with live music. When the tide is down you can easily walk to Cabo Surf Hotel.

The condo is located very close to the highway, so you will hear traffic and jake brakes. We did not mind the noise when sleeping, but some may find it loud.

One challenge we had was getting a cab. The onsite security guard is not always able to call a cab, especially at night, so it's best to walk to Zipper's, order a tequila shot, and ask the friendly staff to call a cab. You can also call a cab from your condo.

The town of San Jose del Cabo is quiet and a really nice alternative to downtown Cabo. There are many great restaurants, such as Mi Casa and Salsitas.

One last item, curfew for pool hours at Las Olas is strictly enforced, as well as no glass at the pool.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Eunetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

I am day two into my week vacation here and and counting down the minutes until it is time to leave! First, we were told the unit would be unlocked. We arrive after dark and it is locked. We have no cell phone and have no idea who to call. Thankfully, the gate guard called someone who knew the lock box key....why the owner never thought to give us the lock box code is beyond me. Second, the unit is over run with ants. I emailed the owner who told us to call the property manager. There was no card in our unit with any property management information. She finally emailed me the number which is great advice except that the land line phone makes successful calls 1 out of every 10 tries. We email the owner on this issue and she says she never actually used the phone in the unit becuase she has a cell phone. Not all of us that travel out of the country have cell phones that work! We decide to be proactive and go to Mega to get our own bug spray.

On day 2, after dark of course, our lights go out for no reason whatsover. After fumbling around with no success, my husband finally goes to a neighbor's unit to ask where the breaker box is--we find out it is BEHIND a painting. That was awesome. It took 45 minutes to get the internet working again, which in the meantime I tried to call the condo owner--who of course did not pick up the phone.

The phantom "property manager" still has not appeared despite our repeated pleas for help. Whatever you do, do not stay in this unit! Maybe other units in the compex are managed better, but this one is pathetic at best.

I just got an email from the owner saying we can move out and get our $$ back. WHERE ARE WE SUPPOSED TO GO? My flight does not leave for 5 days. Instead of fixing the problems and making the situation right, she wants to kick us out on the street? This lady is a piece of work. Spend your $$$ somewhere else!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
10  Thank iggy5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

My wife and I are both surfers and we LOVE Las Olas! The location and price can honestly not be beat! We rented a cute 1 bedroom condo (A502) and loved the views of all of the surf breaks from the living room and balcony. We really enjoyed having so many surf breaks right in front of our condo. How convenient! And the 3 hot tubs--which also have views of the surf breaks--are so nice to soak in after hours in the water. The sunrises are amazing from the condo balcony as well. The pool and grounds are immaculate and our condo was very well kept. Very nice to have all the pots and pans and cooking utensils you need cook and BBQ in the condo when you arrive. And it's also good to know that the complex is gated and has 24-hour security (especially when you have a rental car). Although we never felt unsafe anywhere in this part of Mexico. Downtown San Jose has tons of fun bars and restaurants. And if you are not a surfer--or if you are visiting on the surfing off-season-- there are still lots of activities in this area to keep you busy. It's pretty amazing that you can get all of this for $75/night! We will be back for sure. We loved the complex, the beach and the surf. And we really loved the price!

Room Tip: We like the A building because it was newer and had good sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ga8er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This place is perfect for surfers. Otherwise, not worth it. Not near much of anything so rent a car or ride the bus. Unless you consider 3 to 5 miles one way walking distance.
Run down is a good description. The pool is shallow so last week when it was very hot, the pool was way too warm. Not at all refreshing. Not really a beach for swimming. Pretty rough and a steep drop off.
The unit we were in smelled like cigarettes. The floor needed cleaning and the blinds to the patio didn't work very well. The toilet ran. We never did get any hot water, even if taking a shower.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sndovale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in the penthouse on the 6th floor and had an amazing vacation. All of the condos have a beautiful ocean view and relaxing balconies/patios with loungers and tables. The pool is great for kids but still a very peaceful pool and hot tub area. The pool overlooks the beach where the surf spots are and there were plenty of waves for all levels. It was within walking distance to restaurants but we mostly cooked our own meals. We loved Zippers which was right nextdoor. Thank you to Cabo Bound Services for setting up our rental for us. Cabo Bound Services rents out many of these condos.

The Wildfongs

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Las Olas only has one draw back and that's the road noise (and only if you let it bother you) as the pluses far outweigh any negative; the PERFECT beach location close to town, on the surf breaks (small, mediium and large) and within walking to dining, entertainment and spa's. We were very happy with our condos B401 (comfy bed and sofas, padded chase lounges and nice patio and chairs, redone master shower, newer BBQ, large TV which we rarely used, WIFI) and B402 (great view, nicely stocked kitchen, Umbrella, Chairs, surflocker) for amenities but they were both very very nice. There are many short and long term rentals available in Las Olas from 1 - 3 Bedrooms. If your unit does not have WIFI it is available down in the common room which also has new work out equipment and a book lending library.
If you don't have enough of an in your face surf picture from the comfy sofa you can always take a chair by the pool or move your party to a umbrella covered picture perfect table beachside. Everyone is so friendly. Just bring your sunscreen and smile. Las Olas is a warm welcoming oasis not to be missed. The kind of place that makes you want to extend the vacation and call it "home."

Room Tip: B building is nosier that A Building. Higher floors have better ocean views but lower units are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank costaazullpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Perfect family vacation location. Two adults and two kids, 9 and 12, just returned and enjoyed the place so much I signed up on tripadvisor just to compliment the owner. We stayed in unit 401b, very clean with great views. The unit was well furnished, big screen, wifi, new furniture and great ocean front view that over looked the pool and ocean. A positive vibe from all locals and other renters, along with perfect chest high clean waves all week. Surfers dream!! Arleady to reserve for next year!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clifford4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
2.2 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,775 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#30 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
365 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cabo Surf Hotel
Cabo Surf Hotel
#26 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
273 reviews
3.5 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
634 reviews
4.7 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Olas

Address: Km 28 | Playa Costa Azul, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Speciality Lodging in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £75 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Olas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Las Olas Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Las Olas Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing