We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great hosts and a lovely desert location with...”
Casita 1, Savor your morning beverage while enjoying the flora and fauna, listen to the birds sing.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casita 1, Savor your morning beverage while enjoying the flora and fauna, listen to the birds sing.
Lounges by the pool Casita 3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Casita 1, Savor your morning beverage while enjoying the flora and fauna, listen to the birds sing.
Lounges by the pool
Casita 3
casita 3 bedroom
Full size fridge in Kitchenette
Casita 3
O'Ceiba the lab waiting for the guests to arrive
Two very comfortable single beds
Complete kitchenette
Outdoor swimming pool
Sunrise on Picacho San Lazaro
Complete Kitchenette
Your hostess Britta the cowgirl
Lounge chairs......ready for a Margarita!
Colorful private bathroom with shower
Natural desert landscaping
Natural desert landscaping(after the rains)
White winged Dove
Flycatcher
Noonday Moon
Turkey Vultures taking flight
Owl nesting in a Cardon cactus
Crested Caracara
Sunset over the mountain
Picacho San Lazaro
coyote melon flower
Cottage one patio (colour of pillars coyote melon)
the gardens in front of the cottages
Baby Humingbird in nest.
Firepit
The firepit
Pool at night
ready for a pinata fiesta
night time poolside
moon reflection
Take in a Mexican Rodeo during your stay
Marlin Fishing
Marlin Fishing .San Jose del Cabo
Surf Fishing and picnic lunch on the beach
horse rides thru the mountains
Beach fishing
June Sunset
December Sunrise at Rancho de la Sierra
The famous Arch at Land's End, where the Pacific Ocean meets the Sea of Cortez
Tropic of Cancer Monument on Hwy 1 just past Miraflores
Airport welcome .With a Nice Cold one!!
Solar Lights at Night
Vendor at Off road races Santa Anita
Enjoying a cold one while Watching the Races
Your Hostess With Rancho de la Sierra's Mascot O'Ceiba...The friendliest Lab ...
Gardens Between Casita 1 and Casita2
The Pathway to Casita 2
Beach area around swimming pool
Swimming pool and palapa area
pathway to casita 3
Casita 1
casita 1 patio
casita 1 lounge chairs
casita 1 bathroom
casita 1 kitchenette
casita 1 bedroom
casita  2 patio
casita 2 bathroom
casita 2 bedroom
casita 2 kitchenette
casita 2 lounge chairs
casita 2 patio
casita 3 patio
casita 3 patio
casita 3 kitchenette
casita 3 bathroom
casita 3 kitchenette
casita 3 patio
casita 3 patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos, Baja California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
EBerryW
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great hosts and a lovely desert location with three delightful little houses”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Brett and Britta are experienced, skillful and thoughtful hosts. Communication was excellent in advance of the trip. They have a lovely quiet location in the desert: the very natural landscaping blends right into the surrounding natural areas. Everything is simple, neat and peaceful. The colorful, charming casitas are so perfectly equipped that they are indeed more mini-houses than cabins. Each has its own pleasant outdoor sitting area, but there is also the large palapa for gathering in a group to cook and eat by the pool and look out at the desert landscape. At night the lights along the well-groomed pathways are pretty, practical, and it's still easy to see the stars... Brett and Britta are so kind (and wise) to escort their guests from the airport to the ranch the first time: the entrance road is long and mostly unpaved, but it is an easier drive than it appears (still, do it the first time in daylight if you can). We too were treated to a dinner the first night which was delicious and so very relaxing at the end of a long travel day...all of us would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: our gracious and kind hosts
Liked least: lack of internet in the cabins (can't be helped) but internet is available on the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine...
victoria, bc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A private and perfect slice of heaven”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I stayed here with three friends and it was a perfect location to relax, unwind and have complete privacy. Brita and Brett were great hosts, very welcoming and helpful. The casitas were great, clean and well appointed, and the palappa by the pool was perfect for hanging out for most of the day; we cooked and ate all our meals there, except breakfast. A truly beautiful spot away from the business of San Jose, yet close enough that it was easy to pop into town for a bit of shopping, and then quickly rush back to our little haven in the mountain. It felt like our own little secret....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The privacy and the quiet location
Liked least: A bit difficult to get to and from, so we were dependent on the goodwill of our hosts (who had it in spades), but I would probably rent a 4x4 car next time
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall B
Bologna, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing and gorgeous desert get-away.”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our casita was clean, organized, and contained everything we could possibly want for our stay. Britta and Brett are terrific hosts and we couldn't have felt more welcome or cared for. Definitely a quiet place away from the crowded resorts and hotels and a fantastic Baja experience. The birds kept us company while we were lounging by the pool and the resident dogs are delightful. The authentic desert grounds are beautifully maintained and the dusty trip up the mountain is VERY worth it!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavvyTrav...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Private sanctuary off the beaten path in Cabo”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015

First time visitors to Cabo and this was our first stop on a month trip in Mexico. Hosts were very friendly and provided an excellent orientation to the area. The ranch is a peaceful, relaxing place with amazing views, landscaping and surroundings. Short drive from the airport and San Jose, a wonderful town to visit and enjoy great food, music, art and atmosphere. Cabin was clean with modern bathroom, kitchenette and very private. Will definitely be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: surroundings / landscaping
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
114thelan...
Lindsay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely an incredible experience!”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Britta and Brett are the most gracious hosts. The casitas were cosy clean and well equipped.
The property and it's views were just amazing. We loved and made great use of the outdoor kitchen, palapa and pool everyday. We explored the back roads and small villages that we would have never found without the knowledge of Britta & Brett.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and the dogs
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2True4u
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Get Away...............”
Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We booked our last nights in Baja here and after having a bad experience at our first lodging........we were a bit concerned. That was a waste of energy......Britta and Brett are great hosts. Their ranch is wonderfully designed and is fully functional. A small heated pool, trails to walk at sunrise and sunset, and the quiet of the night make it just plain enjoyable......that is unless you hear the clinking of cow bells or goat bells which reminded me of fairies singing in the wild. What a way to detach and let go! It was an enjoyable time and hard to leave at the end of our stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A kitchenette and grill to make meals, the birdsong in the morning and chatting with the hosts and other guests....we had a lot in common!
Liked least: At this point my back was bothering me and the bed was a bit hard. I used the mattress pad from outside and did fine!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
314dbt
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
“Another enjoyable, relaxing, quiet vacatinn at Ranchero de la Sierra”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is our second stay .
Very much enjoy the remoteness away from the rat race of places like Cabo.
Britta and Brett are great hosts. Nice clean Casitas with your own cooking facilities. Visit to enjoy the remoteness, quiet, walks in the desert,native plants birds and other wildlife
Be sure to talk to Brett about his organic chickens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Noted above
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing