We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Little Resort on the Baja”
Casita 1, Enjoy your morning beverage while enjoying the flora and fauna, listen to the birds sing.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casita 1, Enjoy your morning beverage while enjoying the flora and fauna, listen to the birds sing.
Lounges by the pool Casita 3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Casita 1, Enjoy your morning beverage while enjoying the flora and fauna, listen to the birds sing.
Lounges by the pool
Casita 3
casita 3 bedroom
Full size fridge in Kitchenette
Casita 3
O'Ceiba the lab waiting for the guests to arrive
Two very comfortable single beds
Complete kitchenette
Outdoor swimming pool
Sunrise on Picacho San Lazaro
Complete Kitchenette
Your hostess Britta the cowgirl
Lounge chairs......ready for a Margarita!
Colorful private bathroom with shower
Natural desert landscaping
Natural desert landscaping(after the rains)
White winged Dove
Flycatcher
Noonday Moon
Turkey Vultures taking flight
Owl nesting in a Cardon cactus
Crested Caracara
Sunset over the mountain
Picacho San Lazaro
coyote melon flower
Cottage one patio (colour of pillars coyote melon)
the gardens in front of the cottages
Baby Humingbird in nest.
Firepit
The firepit
Pool at night
ready for a pinata fiesta
night time poolside
moon reflection
Taco Feast for a Real Mexican Party
Hire a Private Chef to cook your evening meals
Take in a Mexican Rodeo during your stay
Marlin Fishing
Marlin Fishing .San Jose del Cabo
Surf Fishing and picnic lunch on the beach
horse rides thru the mountains
Beach fishing
June Sunset
December Sunrise at Rancho de la Sierra
The famous Arch at Land's End, where the Pacific Ocean meets the Sea of Cortez
Tropic of Cancer Monument on Hwy 1 just past Miraflores
Airport welcome .With a Nice Cold one!!
Solar Lights at Night
Vendor at Off road races Santa Anita
Enjoying a cold one while Watching the Races
Your Hostess With Rancho de la Sierra's Mascot O'Ceiba...The friendliest Lab ...
Gardens Between Casita 1 and Casita2
Casita 2
The Pathway to Casita 2
Beach area around swimming pool
Swimming pool and palapa area
pathway to casita 3
Casita 1
casita 1 patio
casita 1 lounge chairs
casita 1 bathroom
casita 1 kitchenette
casita 1 bedroom
casita  2 patio
casita 2 bathroom
casita 2 bedroom
casita 2 kitchenette
casita 2 lounge chairs
casita 2 patio
casita 3 patio
casita 3 patio
casita 3 kitchenette
casita 3 bathroom
casita 3 kitchenette
casita 3 bedroom
casita 3 patio
casita 3 patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos, Baja California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
IdealImag...
Parksville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Little Resort on the Baja”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Travelled the Baja from one end to the other and can attest that Minimountain Resort at Rancho de la Sierra is the one place I will return to year after year. Wanting to unwind before tackling the 5 Stars or Condos this is the place. Wonderful reception from Brett and Britta to the casitas which were crisp and clean to the crystal clear pool everything was magnificent. I've never relaxed more in Mexico. I don't give out 5 Star ratings often but this place needs to be experienced to be believed. Just breathe!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Thank you for your comments and rating. It was great having you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B
Rocky River, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in January 2017

What a wonderful place to rewind - the cottage was super clean and included a little kitchenette. Britta & Brett (the owners) are very knowledgeable about the area and things to do. We were there in January, and the evenings were a little bit cool, so make sure you take a jacket. You can't get enough of the scenery, it's gorgeous! Relax by the pool, take a dip, and enjoy the view of the mountains and the sandcastle that Brett built near the pool.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review, it was great having you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spilaurie
South Padre Island, TX
2 reviews
“Beautiful property, Outstanding hospitality!”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Totally relax at this off-the-beaten path hide-a-way. It seemed so remote, just us and the sky and that wonderful mountain, but its just a short drive to town, the beach and Los Cabos airport. The casitas and pool palapa are so clean and well conceived and very private. The owners will even shop for your groceries - definitely buy one of the ranch's organic chickens, there are non better!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
muchas gracias for your review, it was great to have to stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeloresK2...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A picturesque location in the peace of the desert”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Our third time to stay at Rancho de la Sierra. We enjoy the contrast of feeling like being in the "real" Mexico rather than the hubbub of the tourist areas. Brett and Britta are wonderful hosts. Plenty of privacy or assistance if you need it. We have enjoyed the swimming pool and barbecuing under the palapa. They have also added a great fire pit for the cool winter evenings. Not easy to get to but well worth it. We'll be staying there for a few days next time We are in Cabo..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EBerryW
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great hosts and a lovely desert location with three delightful little houses”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Brett and Britta are experienced, skillful and thoughtful hosts. Communication was excellent in advance of the trip. They have a lovely quiet location in the desert: the very natural landscaping blends right into the surrounding natural areas. Everything is simple, neat and peaceful. The colorful, charming casitas are so perfectly equipped that they are indeed more mini-houses than cabins. Each has its own pleasant outdoor sitting area, but there is also the large palapa for gathering in a group to cook and eat by the pool and look out at the desert landscape. At night the lights along the well-groomed pathways are pretty, practical, and it's still easy to see the stars... Brett and Britta are so kind (and wise) to escort their guests from the airport to the ranch the first time: the entrance road is long and mostly unpaved, but it is an easier drive than it appears (still, do it the first time in daylight if you can). We too were treated to a dinner the first night which was delicious and so very relaxing at the end of a long travel day...all of us would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: our gracious and kind hosts
Liked least: lack of internet in the cabins (can't be helped) but internet is available on the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine...
victoria, bc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A private and perfect slice of heaven”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I stayed here with three friends and it was a perfect location to relax, unwind and have complete privacy. Brita and Brett were great hosts, very welcoming and helpful. The casitas were great, clean and well appointed, and the palappa by the pool was perfect for hanging out for most of the day; we cooked and ate all our meals there, except breakfast. A truly beautiful spot away from the business of San Jose, yet close enough that it was easy to pop into town for a bit of shopping, and then quickly rush back to our little haven in the mountain. It felt like our own little secret....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The privacy and the quiet location
Liked least: A bit difficult to get to and from, so we were dependent on the goodwill of our hosts (who had it in spades), but I would probably rent a 4x4 car next time
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall B
Bologna, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing and gorgeous desert get-away.”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our casita was clean, organized, and contained everything we could possibly want for our stay. Britta and Brett are terrific hosts and we couldn't have felt more welcome or cared for. Definitely a quiet place away from the crowded resorts and hotels and a fantastic Baja experience. The birds kept us company while we were lounging by the pool and the resident dogs are delightful. The authentic desert grounds are beautifully maintained and the dusty trip up the mountain is VERY worth it!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing