We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”
Review of Hotel El Ganzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Ganzo
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Quite honestly one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. The friendly and professional staff, expert attentive service, dreamy pool and jacuzzi, and comfortable rooms... My review can't do it justice. You need to experience it for yourself. Try to go on a weekend when there's a musical event, too. The resident artistic director, Mark, does a fantastic job bringing in only the finest, and the entire hotel is buzzing with artistic flare. Whether you catch a show or not, you could spend hours by the infinity pool just soaking up the view, and the private beach club - just a quick shuttle boat away - is also worth spending at least a few hours. DO NOT leave this area without dining at Flora Farms, nearby, and if you want a more casual but delicious meal, the Drunken Sailor with its tasty tacos and fresh ceviche is just a walk away. Seriously, though, try this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtour2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    85
    18
    18
    23
See reviews for
34
263
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

for a little girls' weekend escape from los angeles we wanted a cool, hip, fun, classy hotel where like minded adults gathered. this is the place! the rooms are excellent. minimalistic décor with concrete floors and beds with crisp/soft white sheets and 4 huge pillows. rain shower. love the roof deck pool and hot tub.

we adore the music scene. Friday night the singer was excellent - acoustic. Saturday night we were treated by a terrific duo on the guitar and baby grand piano!

what's missing.,,, the food pretty much is a big disappointment and doesn't reflect the vibe of the hotel or the clientele. How hard can it be??? No wine, cocktail or tequila list! you'/re pretty much at their mercy. ate at The Container - a restaurant in the marina and was very pleased. the wifi is sporadic which doesn't help with work!

Instead of sunday brunch here head to flora's farms.

i'd come stay again. hopefully, they will fix things. shouldn't be that difficult!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleLabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

I live pt on the East Cape and visit this hotel several nights a week. . .it is the only place for me to go now. Avery unique,wonderful artsy hotel with great views of the Marina and Sea of Cortez. not touristy or noisy. . I most enjoy the Wednesday Movie Club on the rooftop. . the wonderful music venue. . and outdoor extra large firepit where i have met a lot of new friends. Staff is very friendly and helpful. . and oh what good SUSHI¡

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yodydody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The grounds were terrific. The staff was courteous and helpful throughout our entire stay. We were there for a total of 4 days and felt as if we were in paradise every second of every day. After visiting the for more popular and party driven, Cabos San Lucas, getting back to San Jose was like a breath of fresh, ocean air. Thank you to ALL of the staff!!!! Especially "Jerry" who made it possible for my wife and I to enjoy a last second boat ride out to the Arch and also arranged for us time in the late evening for our very own private beach. I will remember this forever and will ONLY visit El Ganzo when visiting Cabos.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAMbo314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We hired a boat from the marina for sport fishing, and returned with red snapper to eat. Our boat captain suggested we have the restaurant inside the hotel to cook our fish for lunch, so we did. There is a wonderful outdoor deck with plenty of shade and a great view of the marina. The service was very very good, not slow. Very friendly staff, all smiles, speaking good English. They took some of our fish and grilled it as we requested. Served it with soup and a very tasty salad, plus tortillas of course! They marked down their regular price because we provided the fish, which made it very reasonable for such a fine location and service. They also filled our cooler with ice for no charge.
We did not stay at this hotel, so my review is only for the restaurant, which I highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCTravelerandskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this property. You know you have had a great vacation when you are figuring out when you can return.
I have stayed at some pretty exclusive luxury $$$$ resorts in Cabo & San Jose but you can't top or beat what we got for our $$ here.
The hotel is located at a new marina in Puerto Los Cabos. It is a dirt road leading up to the hotel. I paid extra for transzip to pick us up at the airport. They were waiting for me outside of the terminal has promised with my name nice and bold - no confusion!
Upon checking in, I realized that this is a truly mexican owned and run property. They have only been open for a couple of months and with all new hotels - some kinks to work out but they bent over backwards for us. I paid for a king jacuzzi balcony room but due to low census they upgraded us to a LARGE suite. Our room was posh, modern and romantic. Our suite had two rooms, with a large balcony that faced the marina & ocean. We also had the daily breakfast included - I recommend this. Yes, service is on the slower side but who's in a rush on vacation. Our breakfast was delicious everyday - try to chile releno - I ordered this everyday YUM!
Also, our suite had a coffee machine and I got to enjoy coffee out on my balcony while the man slept in a little - so peaceful.
We always do spa on vacation, so we both had an 80 minute massage at 50% off regular prices - what?! We couldn't believe how affordable the spa services are!
They have 2 pools, one off the spa on the ground level and a roof top pool. The roof top pool is so decadent - we spent some serious time up there - pool service was great.
I think one of the greatest points of this hotel is LOCATION. You are off the beaten path but you can walk to so many activities, bars...
There is a bar down the street, "the drunken sailor" - we went everyday for lunch for coronas and fish tacos.
Another don't miss activity is the bike tour. You can rent bikes from the hotel and there is a designated bike path that you will spend all day sightseeing. There is a bar/restaurant on this tour (The Container Restaurant) that you can stop and have lunch at also - so cute. Don't miss the cactus gardens - millions of plants. There is also a fun beach club across the marina that is part of the hotel has well - awesome!!
I'm so afraid that this place will become so popular that the prices will go up but they deserved a great review for the wonderful time we enjoyed!
Oh yeah, the best thing about this hotel is no kids under 16 allowed! This means a lot if you want quiet & relaxing - which is what we were looking for.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karavalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife & I recently stayed at Hotel El Ganzo for 3 nights and had a great experience. This adults-only property is small with minimalistic trendy styling and enjoys a quiet location on the marina overlooking the Sea of Cortez. The grounds are quaint and very nice. Rooms are clean and very comfortable with amazing views from the balcony. We had delicious satisfying breakfasts everyday on the outdoor deck overlooking the marina. But the unique aspect of this hotel is definitely the (Charlie Sheen owned) rooftop! The rooftop is equipped with cabana and lounge style seating, artistically designed swimming pools along the perimeter of the rooftop, a swim-up bar, a sushi/vodka bar and dramatic views of the marina, the sea and the beach. Service was personable and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only downside is the location. A bit hard to find and only dirt road access. I would recommend it highly for romantic occasions and/or if you're wanting to spend some quiet time near San Jose del Cabo.

Room Tip: Most rooms have this but make sure you get a balcony overlooking the marina and the Sea of Cortez.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alv63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
1.7 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,732 reviews
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
600 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,202 reviews
18.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
895 reviews
0.9 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#11 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Ganzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Ganzo

Property: Hotel El Ganzo
Address: El Tiburon s/n | La Playita, San Jose del Cabo 23403, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Ganzo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Ganzo is Los Cabos' hippest and most unique luxe boutique hotel, often described as a place of experiences. With its very own Cultural, Art & Musical program, it is a member of 'Preferred Lifestyle' and offers 60 deluxe ocean view rooms, three Master, four Large and two Very Large suites. Expansive views of the Sea of Cortez and Puerto Los Cabos Yacht Marina set the tone. Perfectly situated between the area's natural beauty and modern delights, the property stands at the mouth of Marina Puerto Los Cabos bordered by the fisherman's wharf, and is only a 20-minute drive to the airport or just 5 minutes to the historic town of San José del Cabo and the famous Art Walk. Dining options are multiple on site with the Gachoo Sushi Bar, the Upstairs Bar wrapped around the infinity pool and signature glass Jacuzzi, Ganzo Downstairs Restaurant overlooking the marina, or the private Beach Club Restaurant on our swimmable beach. With a complete spa and golf 5 minutes away at Puerto Los Cabos Golf Course, El Ganzo truly is a unique hotel and experience in Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Ganzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Ganzo Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing