We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end service and design without the pretentiousness....”
Review of Hotel El Ganzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Ganzo
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Where to begin? My boyfriend and I just returned from our week in paradise, courtesy of Hotel El Ganzo. I'll start by saying if you want to stay a little off the beaten path, are looking for quiet and relaxation, and appreciate service and superb interior decorating, this is the place for you. If you want to do the tourist thing and party your face off in Cabo San Lucas, this is NOT it. Guests are a good mix of tourists and Mexicans, which we liked because we felt like we were actually traveling and staying in a foreign place, unlike some of these large all-inclusive places.

Our stay was peppered with lots of extra perks: 20% off spa services, free continental breakfast, soups sent out courtesy of the chef during dinner, and surprise chips and guacamole while lounging at the pool deck. We also seriously appreciated the complimentary bottled water, soda, and beer in the rooms. Housekeeping was AMAZING. They came twice a day, and our room was BEYOND immaculate when returning from a long day in the sun. The pillows in the room were like sleeping on clouds. Giant, fluffy clouds.

I've gotten used to eating pretty damn good food in San Francisco, and I have to say, the food was AMAZING. Service can be a bit slow, but you're on vacation, so I say just chill and enjoy your wine and the superb weather while you wait. Our waiters remembered us and many of our preferences when we dined with them. Fidel at the Downstairs restaurant was so welcoming and helpful, he really completed our dining experience. 24/7 room service will also basically make you whatever you want, just call the downstairs desk. Don't be afraid to wander offsite as well. We ate at The Container (same owners, they will give you a ride over there) The Drunken Sailor, La Marina Inn, and a little side road taco stand. Everything was excellent and cheap.

We used the gym (small but very nice equipment), had a couples massage (ahhhhhhhhhhh), hung out at the rooftop pool (AMAZING playlist on the weekends, no IPOD needed), went to the beach (water was clean, warm, and SWIMMABLE) and rented bikes (super fun way to get to the beach and see the cactus gardens). We also went on a tour to Cabo San Lucas one day, which was really all we needed to see of that area.

Overall we were incredibly happy with our stay. The staff speaks great english, and is always available for help. The only issue we had was a bogus charge to our room, from someone who signed a bill incorrectly. The hotel was very quick to correct it and apologetic, which I greatly appreciated.

I will leave you with this:
Take a chance on Puerto Los Cabos and Hotel El Ganzo. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El_Ganzo_GM, Manager at Hotel El Ganzo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hola Janine V,

I was very pleased to know that Hotel El Ganzo was able to live up to your expectations and more.

We pride ourselves in our services and take every step necessary for our guests to feel at home and relax.

Your words gives me security in knowing that the path that we are taking is the right one.

It will be an honor to host you again at su Casa El Ganzo, when your travels bring you back.


Sincerely


Enrique Turcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Ganzo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just spent a week at the Hotel El Ganzo and had a great time. This is a small boutique type of hotel with an open kitchen, dining room and bar.....so much so that it feels like you're an guest in someone's home. If you're looking for peace, quiet and no time share harassment, then this is for you. We had a great time with the staff, and received personal Spanish lessons from Daniel, Frances and Alex. The staff is attentive to everything and very friendly. The rooftop hot tub is all glass and pretty amazing. The hotel is right in the marina so you can watch the private yachts coming and going...quite a site. San Jose is about a 10 minute taxi ride from the hotel where everything is at your fingertips.....the art walk, restaurants, etc. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drernie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El_Ganzo_GM, Manager at Hotel El Ganzo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hola Drernie 2001,

I was pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were delighted with our decor, but most of all pleased to know that Daniel, Frances and Alex provided an outstanding service. Thank you for sharing your comments.

Your words evidence that we are on the right path and that our goals of achieving guest satisfaction and providing pleasurable vacations are being successful!

It will be a pleasure to host you again in the not too distant future, here at El Ganzo.

Best regards,

Enrique Turcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great hotel in San Jose del Cabo. Off the beaten path, which makes it quiet and very pleasant. Wonderful employees and great scenery. Rooftop pool has a great view and the private beach club is relaxing as well.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. No real need for a balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 279AlexS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Visited Hotel El Ganzo from 10/25-10/29 and loved it! The hotel was beautiful and clean, although the rooms were a bit small. Rooftop Infinity pool was stunning, included the glass-sided hot tub. We sat on our balcony overlooking the marina and Sea of Cortez every morning and watched the sunrise. It was a little quiet there--they did not seem to have many guests.
Private beach was clean, had a bar and great chaise lounges.
Our first night I went down for a drink and ended up listening to live music on the porch--awesome! Day 2 we went up to the pool and walked into a pool party with DJ and shots.
Day 3 we went to the private beach via boat and I got a 15 minute stand-up paddle board lesson.
Standouts were Fidel (thanks for suggesting El Toro!) and Romano who remembered my name from the first minute and greeted me everytime I walked in the hotel. Drunken Sailor Tacos were THE BEST!

Room Tip: Get a Marina view Balcony room!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcnuttholler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El_Ganzo_GM, Manager at Hotel El Ganzo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hola McNuttholler,

It was a real pleasure to read your review, it lets us know that our hard work and enthusiam has us in the right path.

Every day we strive for betterness.

It will be our pleasure to host you again and be able to live up to your expectations one more time.

Best Regards


Enrique Turcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Staying at El Ganzo was wonderful. They thought of every little detail and the view is lovely. The staff is very sweet and attentive and the food is lovely. We renewed our vows on the beach there and Amelia and the staff helping that night was incredible in helping us creating our vision. They even decorated the boat that takes you from the hotel to the beach and our room. It was a great surprise! The rooms are really nice and spacious, rustic chic style. The place is quiet yet there is a lot going on there, concerts, films, etc.
We shall definitely come back!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the ground floor and had a double jacuzzi room. Very quiet, lovely view of the marina.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at the El Ganzo for our honeymoon in early September. We absolutely savored every moment of it--from the excellent staff (we especially loved Alex at the rooftop bar, Raphael the concierge, and Isaac at the front desk) to the beautiful EVERYTHING! The sushi upstairs is incredible. The breakfast (included fruit, coffee and jams) were fantastic. This hotel offered everything you could ever imagine! Everyone is so helpful & you could easily spend weeks on end here. It's so cool that there are working artists and musicians here. This hotel offers something different than all the other boring american-esque hotels in the cabo san lucas/san jose area. The private beach is a must-visit too! Thank you for the best honeymoon experience ever!

Room Tip: Choose the California king bed and balcony options. The higher the floor, the better!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were actually driving from Cabo San Lucas to Cabo Pulmo which was our target, but then we stopped in San José del Cabo to have eat something and have a ride around the Marina area, where we found the "Hotel El Ganzo" and our surprise was that it was a totally different concept hotel, they have an Art environment, a place for musicians and they also have a the "El Ganzo Sessions" which is a space for events where they brought artists to play in the hotel. They also have a private beach which is really nice, the service and food are excellent and of course the place is very peaceful. Is a please where you want to stay several days!!.

Room Tip: Room with the Marina and Beach View are really nice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celeste D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
1.7 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,757 reviews
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
611 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
920 reviews
15.9 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,221 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Ganzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Ganzo

Address: El Tiburon s/n | La Playita, San Jose del Cabo 23403, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £171 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Ganzo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Ganzo is Los Cabos' hippest and most unique luxe boutique hotel, often described as a place of experiences. With its very own Cultural, Art & Musical program, it is a member of 'Preferred Lifestyle' and offers 60 deluxe ocean view rooms, three Master, four Large and two Very Large suites. Expansive views of the Sea of Cortez and Puerto Los Cabos Yacht Marina set the tone. Perfectly situated between the area's natural beauty and modern delights, the property stands at the mouth of Marina Puerto Los Cabos bordered by the fisherman's wharf, and is only a 20-minute drive to the airport or just 5 minutes to the historic town of San José del Cabo and the famous Art Walk. Dining options are multiple on site with the Gachoo Sushi Bar, the Upstairs Bar wrapped around the infinity pool and signature glass Jacuzzi, Ganzo Downstairs Restaurant overlooking the marina, or the private Beach Club Restaurant on our swimmable beach. With a complete spa and golf 5 minutes away at Puerto Los Cabos Golf Course, El Ganzo truly is a unique hotel and experience in Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Ganzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Ganzo Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing