We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Wonderful Staff”
Review of Hotel El Ganzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Ganzo
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Charming & Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Absolutely lovely little hotel. The staff were wonderful and incredibly helpful. They have bikes you can borrow, a terrific rooftop pool, and great rooms. All in all a perfect end to the trip and a must stay place in SJD.

Room Tip: Definitely try and get the rooms with either the balcony or the hot tubs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    84
    18
    17
    19
See reviews for
32
255
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a excellent 6 night vacation at adults-only El Ganzo. Service was friendly and impeccable, the room was new and beautifully designed, and the marina was peaceful and quiet. The highlight was the roof-top infinity pool and its white canopy daybeds, amazing views, excellent food and service, and adults-only quiet and relaxing pool atmosphere. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdpure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

If you want a honey moon alone, without a lot of people, children incluyes.
El Ganzo, great place to stay some days with your couple, better if is in honeymoon.
Preference visit the place in winter, cause the humidity.
Tourist more american than other country.
Great pool concept and a type of little private beach.
Nice!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Yup! After spending the whoooooole day in their beach club (eating/drinking there, renting all sorts of water activities) and after a pretty fat bill, we were on our way out when my kids decided to take a tour of the upper pool (just to SEE!). We were rudely and abruptly stopped by the hotel manager (so she said) when we were about to take the elevator claiming that no kids were allowed in the hotel!!! That it was not a kid friendly hotel (but maybe pet friendly hotel???) I was a bit surprised by that remark for several reasons: 1- if kids were not welcome, they shouldn't have all the kids bike and beach activities I had rented with them, without a problem 2- why not clarify that before spending several hundred dollars on their bill 3- we decided to go there because they have several adds in the local visitor guides inviting to see the hotel and rent their beach club (as we did) and none of them said "adults only" 4- 15 mins before that,t heir star-intoxicated-resident stumbled almost on top of us with a porn star by his side without a problem, but this frivolous manager has a problem with the mere sight of my kids?!?!? Do I need to say more?? And the place is not even as wonderful as they want it to be…they have to rent out their beach club! Sadly we are in Mexico, since this would never happen in the States without getting sued.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veroagui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El_Ganzo_GM, Manager at Hotel El Ganzo, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hola Veroagui,

Thank You for your review, your feedback is appreciated.
First of all please accept my sincere apologies for your experience and perception, as my intention was never one to appear rude. We are an only adults hotel, and although we do accept children when families bring them to the Beach Club the hotel was not designed with children in mind and can be unsafe in many areas.
We regret that you were not satisfied with your visit and that you reflect this on Mexico in general. Although it is apparent that our hotel was not to your liking, we hope that your future visits to our country will be enjoyable.

Sincerely

Ella Messerli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I recently stayed at Hotel El Ganzo in San Jose del Cabo for four nights over Memorial Day weekend after purchasing from Luxury Link. This was my first time staying in San Jose del Cabo, which is a short 25 minute ride from the SJD airport and 30 minutes north of Cabo San Lucas. Hotel El Ganzo is a 72-room property that was built in 2012 so everything is new and a few things are still being worked out operationally. The property is located in Puerto Los Cabos, with a direct and stunning view of the Sea of Cortez. The area is still fairly undeveloped and some of the roads are still unpaved and there’s definitely an authentic feel to this area that has been lost for years in Cabo to the south. Whereas most Cabo hotels have 90% American guests, Hotel El Ganzo has a mix of 60% American and 35% affluent Mexican and 5% European. Hotel El Ganzo has a strong creative, artistic theme to the property with an on-site music studio to attract recording artists. There is live music and free concerts at El Ganzo almost every night. The property is white, like a canvas, with the intent to have local artists paint the walls and open areas over time, including the rooms. Therefore, it’s a disjointed but interesting look that captures the imagination. The look is whimsical and fun without being silly, it’s chic without being aloof, and it really does inspire a sense of peace, open-mindedness and the feeling of getting away from the day-to-day grind. The guest rooms are comfortable and lush, with high-end bedding, wonderful rain showers, and natural, eco-friendly bath products. The food at the restaurant is excellent as I had the tasting menu with wine pairing one night and was really impressed. Lastly, the service is friendly and attentive but not polished. You don’t feel like you are in a big resort but rather a part of a community. Therefore, adjust service expectations accordingly. If you are looking to get away from it all, enjoy and are inspired by art and music, aren’t looking for a Four Seasons type luxury experience, and don’t mind that the English skills of the staff are a bit limited, then this hotel is definitely worth a shot. I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: All of the first floor rooms have walk-out balconies with hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LuxuryTravelerLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Amazing rooftop pool, nice beach area, wonderful aromatherapy massage at the spa, sweet staff and great decor! Love that it is just for adults and will go back if I can! :) If you want activity there is plenty, but can also chill and relax!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank belmab74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Beautiful and unique views all around the hotel, very nice and cozy atmosphere, wonderful music in the different areas, four delightful restaurants located at very different areas, great architecture full of details, very trendy.

Room Tip: We had a simple room and it was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Fede N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
1.7 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,690 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,741 reviews
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,160 reviews
18.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
0.9 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Ganzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Ganzo

Property: Hotel El Ganzo
Address: El Tiburon s/n, San Jose del Cabo 23403, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Ganzo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Ganzo is Los Cabos' hippest and most unique luxe boutique hotel, often described as a place of experiences. With its very own Cultural, Art & Musical program, it is a member of 'Preferred Lifestyle' and offers 60 deluxe ocean view rooms, three Master, four Large and two Very Large suites. Expansive views of the Sea of Cortez and Puerto Los Cabos Yacht Marina set the tone. Perfectly situated between the area's natural beauty and modern delights, the property stands at the mouth of Marina Puerto Los Cabos bordered by the fisherman's wharf, and is only a 20-minute drive to the airport or just 5 minutes to the historic town of San José del Cabo and the famous Art Walk. Dining options are multiple on site with the Gachoo Sushi Bar, the Upstairs Bar wrapped around the infinity pool and signature glass Jacuzzi, Ganzo Downstairs Restaurant overlooking the marina, or the private Beach Club Restaurant on our swimmable beach. With a complete spa and golf 5 minutes away at Puerto Los Cabos Golf Course, El Ganzo truly is a unique hotel and experience in Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Ganzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Ganzo Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing