We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel El Ganzo
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
US$418
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$409
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
US$680
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$548
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
US$547
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabo Azul Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
US$812
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$725
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
US$455
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One & Only Palmilla(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
US$898
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$878
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
327
97
21
22
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
97
21
22
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolbeach clubrecording studiodrunken sailorart installationssculpture gardenfree bikesterrace roomsushiflora farmshot tubquiet locationnew marinapuerto los cabossan josecevichemain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Where do I start? My husband and I stayed her in mid July 2014. Based on the photos we saw on the hotel's website along with the activities they promoted we were excited to begin our stay. Upon arrival and once we had a chance to check out the hotel, our disappointment began.

Service - Slow and unresponsive. Every time we sat down for a meal at one of the overpriced and over rated restaurants we had to wait for a server, wait for refills, wait for the sugar or cream to arrive after the coffee got cold. Etc.

Restaurants - Lack of variety, bland food, horrible hours. The hotel boasts that it has 3 restaurants. The one on the roof is only open briefly during the day, so any late night or afternoon sushi cravings will have to wait till the next day. The "Downstairs" restaurant along with "The Container" across the way serve almost the same food. The "Downstairs' also closes around 10 p.m. , so don't plan to eat here after a long day. "The Container" is open a bit longer but only till 11p.m. I ordered oatmeal and when it arrived it tasted like warm mush. My husband's egg's were overcooked and almost tasted powdered. For lunch and dinner you are pretty much limited to the local fish catch, a burger (but don't expect cheese, they ran out), or fajitas. As to the bar, don't bring any high expectations. Top shelf here is your "happy hour" swill from a dive bar.

Activities, what activities - We stayed Sunday through Thursday. There was not ONE event during this time period. No live music, no pool party, nothing. The lobby was a quite as a church on a midday afternoon.

Water, expect to pay - As most people know it is not advisable to drink the water in Mexico, so we went to the local market to purchase bottled water. When we attempted to bring in the bottles we were told that the per room limit is 2. The hotel does provide you with a daily allowance of 4 bottles, however they are 8 oz. bottles. So for 2 people, that is 2 glasses of water a day. Want more than that, expect to pay per bottle, plus tip as the hotel does not have a store of any kind so everything must be ordered.

HOT, HOT, HOT - The only place to escape the heat is your room. There is NO air conditioning in the hotel common areas or the restaurants. Even the lobby is HOT. So if you need a respite from the heat, expect to stay in your room.

Room - The only good thing here is the bed, which is very comfortable. The shower head is horrible and uncomfortable. Hot water, not really, its lukewarm. Run out of body wash, use the bar soap, they don't replace the bottle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El_Ganzo_GM, Manager at Hotel El Ganzo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hola Teresa P,

Thank you for your review, your feedback is much appreciated and will help to improve our services.

Timely service in the hotel and in particular in our food and beverage operation is what we strive for , and regret that it was not up to your expectations .

The hotel’s open air design is made so guests can enjoy the beauty of Puerto Los Cabos, the Yacht Marina as well as the natural surroundings. During the summer months which are the warmest historically, guests come to enjoy longer hours at the pool or the beach club, and the very well air conditioned rooms hopefully provided a refreshing retreat for a comfortable nights sleep.

It is a shame you did not find any activities to your liking. Our music program is ample during the second half of the week however our music director maintains playlists daily throughout the hotel to set the tone. Our hotel daily activities include complimentary bikes and private beach club access with full restaurant and bar where there are Paddle boards, surf boards, and canoes are available for guests to rent as well as easy access to the Dolphin Discovery, also Transformational breathing weekly (wed) and Hatha Yoga (tue). Any additional activities can be booked outside the hotel through the concierge.

Once again thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again when we have our music month in the fall . when it would be a pleasure for our concierge to prepare a tailor-made program for you.

Best Regards


Ella Messerli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Beautiful super trendy hotel which you could spend all day relaxing on the rooftop pool.

The food was excellent, the guacamole and tacos were superb.

The beach club with the boat transportation was a nice touch and the paddle boards were super fun.

Only two complaints, one that the hotel is far away from classic downtown, which can be a good thing and a bad thing depending on what your looking for. And that they charge $75 per a person extra for the room even if they cannot offer double beds, which was dissapointing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostInAsiaSince2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was a guest of the hotel from Thursday July 3 through Sunday July 6, 2014. During our stay nearly everyone in our group encountered inconveniences ranging from long wait times (for drinks, food, and checkout) to not being allowed to consume food and drink that we purchased in the public areas of the hotel. Also, you will ascertain below, we were extremely unhappy with the hospitality upon arrival. When my friend’s wife made our reservation over the phone in December (very far in advance in order to receive the group rate for the wedding we were attending) she made it very clear that we needed a room with two beds because four of us were staying in the room. My friend and his wife were first to the hotel and checked in. When my girlfriend and I arrived later that day, we were held at the front desk until my friend came down to sign a voucher for an outrageous additional nightly, per person charge. Although we explained the situation several times, no one seemed to care. At no time during the initial reservation process did anyone mention the egregious charge of $70 plus 29% tax, per person per night for additional occupants. And because this hotel is in the middle of nowhere (you will be shocked at the surrounding area) we had no other alternative but to essentially be extorted for the money by the front desk as otherwise we would not be allowed to access the room. This amounted cost us an additional $550 in expenses we had not planned on. If it was clear that we were going to be charged for having two additional people in the room, the total charges would have been substantially similar to both couples each procuring a separate room. Obviously, reasonable people would have chosen to reserve two rooms instead of one, to secure optimum privacy and comfort, if the cost of doing so was substantially the same as reserving one room. The whole reason for the two couples reserving one room was to save money, which, without remedy, we did not accomplish.

Upon our return home we tried to contact hotel management to explain the issue hoping they would issue a refund for the misunderstanding on their part. Know what the hotel’s general manager they told us? She claimed the reservation was only for two people, AND that because the charge was already processed by their central office they are unable to reverse it. End of Story. CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT? (Again - Why would a newly married couple book a room with two beds, and why did no one mention the additional per person charge (plus 29% tax) when the original reservation was very clearly made for FOUR PEOPLE?) As we were getting nowhere with the hotel we then tried to contact the Preferred Hotel Group which the El Ganzo is a member of to explain the situation and hopefully get some sort of remedy. They did not even bother to return either of the two emails we sent.

I am a very ethical person and am not in the practice of attempting to get a refund on goods and services that are fairly priced and represented as such. However, in this case, I feel very strongly that we were unfairly charged and would have expected the hotel to make things right. They did not, and I thought everyone should be warned about the way business is conducted at this establishment.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
9  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you are searching for a place where you can enjoy wonderful hospitality, excellent service, luxury rooms, a fantastic infinity pool on the roof, and a private sandy beach protected from the main rough waters of the Sea of Cortez, the Hotel El Ganzo is certainly a great find. Swimming in the pool or taking a bath under the starry sky is unforgettable. The boat rides between the hotel, the beach, and the restaurants are pure pleasure. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The food and the drinks are exceptional, and the service is outstanding. Love the artsy waterfall inside the building. The park around the marina with fancy yachts is great for walking or biking. There is a beautiful artwork with paintings and sculptures by a Mexican artist Leonora Carrington along the trail. So many opportunities for taking amazing pictures! Love the place!

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the park, the marina, and the ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HPARFENO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just spend a weekend at El Ganzo and we had a fantastic time. We are already planning our next stay at El Ganzo. We love the pool at the roof top. Great Sushi and friendly service. Can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Room 212 was just perfect for us. Great marina and ocean views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martincabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews