We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A World Class Stay with a Boutique Feel”
Review of Hotel El Ganzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Ganzo
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our stay at El Ganzo was nothing short of the romantic getaway we were looking for. Beautiful views, delicious food, and amazing live music 3 times during our stay! The staff were all charming and courteous, remembered our first names, likes and dislikes, and were always smiling! The activities were also pretty incredible-- Paddleboarding, the various and wonderful art installations, we even swam with dolphins! The hotel is decked with personality and charm-- from the displayed artwork from their artist-in-residence program to the wonderful El Ganzo live music sessions played on loop on channel 2 from their recording studio downstairs. We'll be back as soon as we get some more time off!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Unlike its promising design concept / theme and geographical locations, this hotel is lacking many important elements and qualities, including, service.

Although every individual who works at this hotel are very kind and good hearted people, yet apparently as staff of a so called luxury hotel (?!) none of them have any management or hospitality experience and/or skills.
The food quality is below average, service is horrible, as you have to literally ask 4 times for every little thing, since they do not have any common sense. if you ask for a cup of coffee, don't expect them to bring it to you at the first time, try 3 more times and may be even walk up to one of them to get their attention, and then you only will get a cup of coffee, but no sugar, no cream or milk, until you ask them again and again... this was every day, for 5 days since we were not able to get our money back.
and since they are out of the main street there're no access to other hotels or restaurant until you take cab for 30 minutes ($30 USD each way).

however, if you don't care about any of the above, you could simply go to the beach and get drunk so you don't feel the pain waisted money and time and let the time pass by till you can get back home.... :-)

Room Tip: please make sure to make necessary arrangements prior to your trip for rides to and from Airport as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank Farda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I just got back from El Ganzo in San Jose del Cabo and we had an incredible time! You're tucked away in a very secluded area that provides privacy and relaxation. Most other hotels in Cabo are over crowded and have more of a nightclub feel... El Ganzo embodies more of an artistic vibe, with it's art filled walls, roof top movie screening and intimate musical performances.

You have the option of hanging out at the roof top pool, 1st floor pool or after a 2min water taxi ride your own private beach with full bar and restaurant.

The staff is incredibly sweet and genuine. Probably one of the best things about the hotel.

We definitely plan on coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I chose the Hotel El Ganzo because it was advertised as non-smoking property. I got the Jacuzzi room with a beautiful view of the old port. Unfortunately I could not enjoy it because the guests next door smoked cigarettes and cigars. I could not sit outside because of the smokers, I was getting intoxicated. They sell cigars in the hotel. Furthermore the restaurants allowed smoking and at the Container there is no indoor seating. Not to mention the smokers at the beach.

Room Tip: All rooms a re great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank maranew2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It's quite rare that any hotel, even the Four Seasons, has perfection in all areas, so let's visit why I am giving this hotel 3.5 stars. Let me break it down.

Food: 2.5/5 The food was OK. I am picky but I know good/fresh food, and this hotel, given it's surroundings (the marina at it's doorstep) and organic farm just a short distance away, could do better. The ceviche tasted a bit old, and some of the other mexican dishes were not up to par to restaurants in the area (i.e. One&Only, Salsita's, Ventanas, Osteria)

Yes, technically the hotel has 4 areas to get food, but 4 restaurants they do not have.These are restaurants that one would not really travel to if they were not staying at the hotel. At most, locals and Cabo visitors will visit for drinks and bites.

Location: 4/5 It is on the Marina so very different than going to Cabo and staying on the beach. Not dissing this at all though! It's peaceful and quiet and secluded- it slows you down, in a good way. The pool (rooftop) is very chic, with cabanas and beds and has a beautiful view. The beach, which is private and accessible via boat, is quiet and you can swim in the ocean water (which, if you know Cabo, is nearly impossible at 98% of the hotels because it is too dangerous).

Like anywhere in Cabo (other than downtown Cabo San Lucas aka, spring break and cruise fest) if you want to go anywhere other than the hotel, you need to take a cab or car. So everyone complaining it's in the "middle of nowhere" stop complaining. If you want action and people and be able to walk everywhere, go to Cabo San Lucas.

Downtown San Jose del Cabo is charming, colorful and authentic. Definitely go to Salsitas and Osteria for dinner. The 'Art Walk' on Thursdays is also a great way to spend your evening. Gallery hopping and wine and margaritas? Yes please!

Accommodation/Hotel Interior: 5/5
Artsy, boutique-y and cool.
It is an open air hotel, meaning there is no AC anywhere but the rooms themselves. Usually that's how many Cabo hotels are, FYI. But it would be nice if there was one area (besides the fitness area and spa) had AC. At least the entrance.

Service: 3/5
The service is OK. A bit slow, but very attentive. In terms of accommodating requests that may not be as big of a deal in other hotels, it is harder at El Ganzo. They will charge you for every little extra thing and they are strict on their rules. It seems they are still getting in the groove of things. Because it's a newer hotel, I can brush some of this aside-but hopefully they can let up on certain things.


Overall: 3.5/5
All and all, if you want a quiet and chill hotel with no kids around and with a cool boutique vibe, then this is a great spot for you. It's unique and chic. Great for young couples.

If you want to be directly on a beach and in a larger style hotel then other hotels in the area (there are plenty despite previous comments below) are any hotels in the Zona Hoteleria, Cabo Azul, or One and Only / Ventanas for luxury.

If you are going to Cabo just to party, then go to Cabo San Lucas.

Room Tip: Alll rooms face the Marina. We had a Jacuzzi room, which was pointless for July (too hot out!) but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FashionFoodFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had our wedding at this Hotel
Highly recommend this Hotel for Stay or events
Hotel staff were attentive and amicable. All of our guests enjoyed their service
Food is amazing, the views are sublime from every angle of the hotel

Room Tip: Amazing Hotel, Excellent service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ferro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose this hotel because of its' great reviews and because it was supposed to be a luxury quiet and peaceful place in a beautiful spot for our babymoon. Well, the spot was beautiful and the hotel has a nice beach and roof top pool. But it happened so that exactly the same week we stayed in it there was a big iranian wedding for more than 100 guests, that had parties for several nights in a row with the biggest party on Saturday night. We didn't have much chance to sleep that night as the party was at the roof top bar and pool just above our room. All our calls to reception didn't make much difference, the wedding guests were much more important for the hotel than us. We believe, it is inappropriate for the hotel to sell rooms for the guests who are not part of the wedding or any other party the hotel hosts without any advance warning. There was no discout for that night either.

The second problem we experienced was the low quality of food and service in all the hotel restaurants except "The Container" restaurant, which is quite far from the hotel itself and you need to take a boat to get there. The boat stops working at 8pm, so if you want to have a dinner there, you'd better go for an early dinner then, otherwise the reception girl suggested us going there by bicycles, which was very kind of her, taking into account that I am pregnant, we didn't know the road and it was dark. All other restaurants are in town and you'll have to pay 12-15 USD each way to get there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Svetlana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El_Ganzo_GM, Manager at Hotel El Ganzo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Svetlana


We thank you very much for your feedback; it is much appreciated, for it gives us the opportunity of reinforcing our weak areas.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay.

In regards to your reservation, we regret that when booking with an online travel agent we are unable to have direct contact with our guest , as it is our sincere wish that all of our guests are as comfortable as possible. However it is always unforeseeable how other guests interact.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and hope that in a near future you will visit us again and give us the opportunity of living up to your expectations.


Sincerely,

Ella Messerli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
1.7 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,823 reviews
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
673 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
4,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Mar Adentro
Mar Adentro
#29 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
168 reviews
8 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
4,438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Ganzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Ganzo

Address: El Tiburon s/n | La Playita, San Jose del Cabo 23403, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £191 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Ganzo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Ganzo is Los Cabos' hippest and most unique luxe boutique hotel, often described as a place of experiences. With its very own Cultural, Art & Musical program, it is a member of 'Preferred Lifestyle' and offers 60 deluxe ocean view rooms, three Master, four Large and two Very Large suites. Expansive views of the Sea of Cortez and Puerto Los Cabos Yacht Marina set the tone. Perfectly situated between the area's natural beauty and modern delights, the property stands at the mouth of Marina Puerto Los Cabos bordered by the fisherman's wharf, and is only a 20-minute drive to the airport or just 5 minutes to the historic town of San José del Cabo and the famous Art Walk. Dining options are multiple on site with the Gachoo Sushi Bar, the Upstairs Bar wrapped around the infinity pool and signature glass Jacuzzi, Ganzo Downstairs Restaurant overlooking the marina, or the private Beach Club Restaurant on our swimmable beach. With a complete spa and golf 5 minutes away at Puerto Los Cabos Golf Course, El Ganzo truly is a unique hotel and experience in Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Ganzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Ganzo Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing