We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best night of our trip”
Review of La Osteria

La Osteria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Fusion
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best night of our trip”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We come to San Jose multiple times per year and La Osteria is becoming one of my favorite places. The live music on Thursdays and Fridays is wonderful, the ambiance is perfect, and the food...fantastic. The Fundido (like a fondue with menonita cheese and chorizo) and the Diablos (yellow peppers stuffed with grilled shrimp and goat cheese) were amazing!

Looking forward to returning!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pantix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    46
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely location on a quiet historic street”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

After several days of boisterous Cabo, we took the public bus (27 pesos) all the way to San Jose. When we got off the bus a nice man helped us find our way into downtown San Jose. We asked him to recommend a restaurant and he told us he owned two -- one of which was this one. We were charmed by the area and the restaurant and had a delicious dinner al fresco. After dinner, we walked into the square to see the Christmas decorations-- very lovely. Great service and good value. Live guitar music added to the ambience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilmettetraveler1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience, Good Food”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Ate in the street in a very quaint and elegant setting in front of the restaurant. Food was really good and the service also to match. Everything was fresh and well prepared, would go back again if there were not so many other places to try.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Atul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Live music, open air courtyard, glass of sparkling wine...”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stumbled upon this place heading back to our car from dinner following the Art Walk on a Thursday night. We were drawn in by the great band that was playing, and we stayed for a few hours. Great laid-back environment, like I said- amazing live music, and nice cool drinks. The ambiance is just perfect.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dineandwinelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Open-Air Courtyard”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Great place to enjoy wine and tapas. Thursday nights they have live music that is wonderful. The open air courtyard makes even the warmest nights comfortable . Aged stones on the walls, heavy wood tables and casual chic environment make this place "hip and cool". The tapas are really tasty and eye-appealing. Pull up a chair and ENJOY!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthewscasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Osteria also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to La Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing