We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of Koi Sushi

Koi Sushi
Cuisines: Japanese, Bar
Description: We are a local sushi restaurant and we are very proud of it, fresh local fish from the fishing boat to your mouth.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a local sushi restaurant and we are very proud of it, fresh local fish from the fishing boat to your mouth.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I went to Koi Sushi based on other reviews I read. Walmart strip area didn't seem like a selling point & I couldn't find a menu online, but decided to try anyway. When I arrived it was in the food court area & had 3 or 4 tables in it. Everyone was SO nice, but the menu wasn't wowing me. They allowed my 2 year old niece to bring pizza in, which was extremely nice. They must've sensed we weren't sure what to get on the menu, so they suggested the chef make us his own creations. I HIGHLY recommend doing this! We had 4 rolls, all of which were excellent!!! Nothing like anything I've had before. I don't usually write reviews, but I made it a point to write this as soon as I got back to my hotel room. And it is very reasonably priced. If you're like me & care more about the food & service than the actual ambiance, this is the place to go. And everything was very clean. I will be back! Thank you again to everyone there :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koisj, Owner at Koi Sushi, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Firat of all we are very please you found everythinhg up to your standards.

Next time in San Jose make sure to ask for the terrace we made a huge remodeling in it, with full top roof, music, fans, tv for sports, etc. and we try to make it as enjoyable as possible.

Thank you.

Eduardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    17
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SanJoseDelCabo
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in San José”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great Friendly Service. Quality of Fish and Seafood always fresh. Creativity of Sushi dishes outstanding. They do not add fillers like Cream Cheese to all their rolls, ñor sugery sauces so You cannot Taste The Fish!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wowme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koisj, Owner at Koi Sushi, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you very much for your time to wirte a review from us, is always a pleasure to have you with us and we will be ready for your next visit.

Make sure to ask for the terrace we made a huge remodeling in it, with full top roof, music, fans and we try to make it as enjoyable as possible.

Thank you again.

Eduardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Change of menu”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Wonderful change from the resort menu. The food was fresh and had a wonderful flavor. The option for outdoor dining was a nice touch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koisj, Owner at Koi Sushi, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking this time to write a review about us, everythingh is in our hands to make your stay in San Jose a better experience is our pleasure.

We will be looking forward your next visit and we hope the special rolls from the chef keep up with your standards.

Thank you again.

Eduardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best sushi”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Don't let the location deter you from searching out this sushi restaurant. It's located in a strip mall by a movie theater, quite small but AMAZING sushi. Our waiter Alfredo was excellent and recommended several sushi dishes that were the "chefs special". Fresh, great tasting, and reasonably priced.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank surfchick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koisj, Owner at Koi Sushi, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you very much for your time to write about us, i just talk to Alfredo and this is his first review in trip advisor and he is over the moon about it.

We are really gald that our fresh food is up to your standards and we will be looking forward your next visit.

Eduardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We had read such great reviews about Koi in Cabo, but our concierge told us there are only a handful of tables and no outside seating so we ventured to the location in San Jose. It is not a place to go for atmosphere, but if you want very good sushi for unbelievable prices this is your place! Friday night is the teenage hangout so we got a kick out of watching the 13 year old girls chase after the boys, but if this is not your thing go on a different night. Like the other reviews say you are definitely eating in the middle of a parking lot, but we thought it was great hanging out with the locals and a fun story to tell back at home. If you are feeling adventurous and craving sushi you must try this place. The Anitzi roll, tuna sashimi plate, playboy roll and everything else we had was delicious. A must do experience!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RandRChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koisj, Owner at Koi Sushi, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
What can we say but thank you, it seems the outside area is getting popular jaja, i hope and next time we have tables available in the AC area and you can be more in touch with the chef and try something different, our fresh fish in serranito sashimi (is not spicy if you don't want it that way) are unbelievable and i'm really glad you try it.

Thanks for everything and we hope and can take care of you next time you visit San Jose.

Eduardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koi Sushi also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Koi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing