We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent view, quiet, convenient, hospitable, romantic”
Review of MariaMar Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MariaMar Suites
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 9 days we were very sad to leave. These apartments are a little oasis up the hill with a breath-taking view of the ocean. The property is very quiet and new and the owners are still working on some of the rooms and live on the premises. There are a dozen rooms there. Ours was small, but tasteful, clean and comfortable, with a king bed facing the ocean and amazing sunrises. They have a nice little pool to relax and some exercise equipment.

If you are going during low season and aren't fit, you will need a car to get up the hill. It is a short walk to a famous surfing beach. For swimming and snorkling, it is a short drive to Palmilla, Santa Maria or Chileno Bay. We took the local bus at the bottom of the hill for half of the vacation and rented for the other half to go to further away beaches. The apts are dog friendly. In general, the property looks like it will only keep improving as the fastidious owners keep working on it. They will give you as much or as little service as you need.

The place is very safe and secluded and they lock the front during the night so you will get a key to the padlock and the owner doggies are always on alert for visitors and don't miss a beat. There is a little safe in the room but we didn't use it. We had a little fridge that was mostly quiet, a microwave and a set of plastic plates. There wasn't a ton of storage in the room, but enough for two people with a week's worth of clothes. The shower was unusually high, which is great for taller people. There was also a little cafe table in room with chairs and free wireless. AC and ceiling fan worked well in the room and there was a rolling blind to keep sun out and for privacy, which is useful because you can see through other people's rooms at times.

Some rooms have kitchens and are very spacious. We liked the intimacy in our room and spent a lot of time in it. There is a flat screen and cable in the rooms. There is also a little convenience store at the bottom of the hill for ice, drinks and homemade lunch. Deckman's, a popular fancy restaurant is also at the bottom of the hill (closed in low season), as is Zippers for burgers. The best nearby place however is La Marea. We ate there many times. The owners can take you to the store for groceries if you need them. There are washers and dryers in every floor.

A lovely place to relax, honeymoon, plan a wedding or work with a view. We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: all rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isminis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel is nearly complete - a few rooms are being finished off - and we just loved it. The couple who own it are really great. They have four wonderful dogs. There was some problem with my credit card but they just held the room anyway - never would have happened in a big chain. Room was delightful - TV, microwave, fridge, nice shower room, safe in the room though it's so secure there no point. There are other types of rooms including a nice apartment type room on the ground floor that would be great with kids. This place needs some skill to get to. Google location is http://goo.gl/maps/cJ3lI and map reference is 23.032549,-109.719044. About 2km on Rt 1 towards Cabo from the big roundabout in San Jose near the Mega supermarket (highly recommended for your food needs) there will be two sloping roads up to the right. Immediately after these roads at a red wall, take the right up the hill for about 1km. This road is about 100m before the river on Rt 1 - take the U turn road at the river if you miss it like we did, and you will have to go all the way back to the roundabout in San Jose as it is divided highway and no other U turn. Up the hill there will be a little roundabout, go left around it and up to the top. You will need first gear! The hotel has a nice small pool that overlooks the coast. Note that it is all steps when you get there as it is on the side of a mountain - not a problem for most people but could be a real issue for someone who is disabled or with a hip-type problem so be warned. You will need a rental car to go to the beach. it is not walking distance unless you are the hiking type and coming back is majorly uphill. This place is so much better than the fancy resorts along the coast or in the trashy town of Cabo St Lucas. The owners promptly respond to emails at info@mariamarsuites.com. Maye is the owner and she is just fantastic. Enjoy!

Room Tip: High up gives fantastic view. Ask owner Maye about rooms that would best suit your family's nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterPakChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have two dogs and often have difficulty finding nice accommodations that allow pets. This one is outstanding for persons with or without pets! Absolutely gorgeous views right next to Costa Azul surf beach. The rooms are contemporary and beautiful. If you want access to a lot of restaurants, a car would be helpful but this is simply an outstanding place to stay at a great price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrPookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pedir habitación de piso alto para apreciar mejor la vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bajavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mayra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Revisar bien el mapa para llegar rapido porque no esta en la carretera principal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Não há problemas de barulho de forma alguma, estão localizados no topo de um local muito alto e todo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcelo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#34 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
97 reviews
1 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#24 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
360 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
361 reviews
1.8 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#25 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,294 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#30 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MariaMar Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MariaMar Suites

Address: Marea Alta 1 Terrazas de Costa Azul, San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £41 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MariaMar Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your MariaMar Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MariaMar Suites Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing