We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation of our lives!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We were the very FIRST guests to arrive at the resort and really had no clue as to what we were in for. Upon arriving we were greeted by the entire staff, senior management, ownership, a full mariachi band, a slew of photographers, and were handed two pairs of golden scissors to help cut the ribbon. After that, champagne awaited and a very excited front desk staff! I guess it's easy to think the royal treatment might have stopped there, but it didn't. We were escorted to a gorgeous room by the Resident a Manager Salvador Gutierrez, who continued to be at our service for the entire trip. While some of the staff are still being trained, and speak little English, they couldn't have been more gracious and eager to serve.

The resort is gorgeous, and I'm sure will continue to be even more beautiful after all the finishing touches are on and the flowers and vegetation are fully grown and in bloom. The rooms are fantastic with deep soaking tubs, a large double head shower, and variety of pillows to choose from. The "Secrets Box" is a fantastic way to receive early morning, or late night room service, without being disturbed. The pools are beautiful as well, and the views from your room, or the pool are magnificent!

The food: the food is by far the best we've ever experienced at an all-inclusive! Oceana and Portafino, were our two favorites, which is surprising since we typically find the Italian restaurants lacking at other resorts. The sashimi at Himitsu is very good, and the grilled fish filet in garlic butter from the Seaside Grill is delicious! I think we ate it every day at the pool. We caught a Mahi Mahi while deep sea fishing and the chef at Oceana was gracious enough to cook it for us that evening. Again, fantastic! As the previous reviewer mentioned, the top shelf liquor is a bit hit or miss, but we believe (and hope) that will change as things get up to full speed, however, it would not be a reason to not visit this amazing place.

The spa is very nice and definitely worth a visit. The gym is a bit small but even to get the job done. There are yoga and Pilates by the pool, as well as beach/pool volleyball, pool basketball, beach walks, and bike tours, all put on daily by their entertainment team. Speaking of the entertainment team, I literally am having a difficult time finding the words to express how utterly amazing they are! My husband and I were immediately welcomed and embraced by them. Their energy, excitement, hospitality, warm personalities, and smiles were contagious. They touched our hearts like none before; Jesus "banana", Daniella (aka Chuckie), Carla, Robo Cop, Valentina, and the rest of the team (unfortunately the names escape me at the moment) THANK YOU from the bottom of our hearts for treating us like family! You are ALL honorary "Adams Family". You are all a VERY big part of why this place is so very special and will be missed until we return, and return we will! Already thinking about it and we aren't even home yet!

Our deepest appreciation to the management, and entire staff, for a job well done. Can't wait to watch you grow!

Room Tip: We were in building number 8. Fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Adamsfamily520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,375 - 2,381 of 2,599 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived on December 21 after a day long airline delay. Despite the fact we lost a day of our vacation when when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The resort is breathtakingly beautiful. They have only been open for a week and exceeded our expectations on the physical environment and the service. There are a few expected issues happening such as the fire alarms sounding frequently and some power issues with lighting in the bar areas. There are two buildings under construction but we haven't experienced noise issues. The resort is currently only at 10% capacity so the service is highly individualized. The food we have tasted from Oceana, Seaside Grill and room service have been excellent. They are still bringing in various liquors so the variety is somewhat limited. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. As our vacation continues we'll learn more and post an updated review.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
32  Thank 2witravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Since this is a new resort I'll give a little bit of a longer review.

Day one we arrive and everything is perfect. The drive up to the resort was relaxing and we were greeted with champagne and warm towels. Because I was celebrating my college graduation they had put a personalized cake and congratulation balloons in my room. Every staff member we passed had a smile on their face and a greeting on their tongue. I should be giving Puerto Los Cabos Secrets five stars right?
Wrong.
After the first day things went downhill and although I tried to keep a pleasant and happy attitude there is only so much I can overlook.

My issues:

Unlimited Vacation Club - Secrets originally contacted us pre-arrival to warn us of all these vendors trying to sale vacation clubs and time shares but failed to let us know they would try to do the same exact thing! Six hours of being swindled and bamboozled! Seriously! This vacation club thing sounds great at first but when the contract people explain the details and conditions you realize you're paying 14 grand for sad attempt at groupon for vacations!

Food - This is a big one. Because Secrets is an all inclusive resort you want to make sure you're getting some bang for all the money you've spent and food is an important part of that. This resort has six restaurants and if I had one word to sum them up it would be inconsistent. The food was inconsistent - one day it was good, the next day it sucked (same exact menu item btw). Same for the drinks and the service. One day we're treated like queens and waited on hand and foot, the next day we're barked at and not even offered some bread! I'm not going to go into the fact that my mom's lasagna had a giant piece of plastic in the middle of it and the two replacements we had were ice cold...Good Golly Molly.

When it comes to the food, I felt disappointed. I have better Mexican, Italian, and Japanese back home.

I would not be coming back here but I might reccomend Puerto Los Cabos to friends and family but I'd give them some advice:

- only order drinks at the Rendezvous bar

- if your interested in something at the Seaside Grill, order it at the pool-the service is WAY better

- just say no to unlimited vacation club at the getgo and save yourself a lot of time and money

- do the activities inside the club not outside (the pub crawl takes you to some sketchy places)

- avoid portofino (the Italian restaurant)

Stayed: December 2013
10  Thank megan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: No es un hotel cercano al área principal. Si buscas vivir la fiesta de Los cabos puedes pensar en ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peshina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank edegenhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank josealfonsob641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
2.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,852 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,669 reviews
8.4 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,495 reviews
9.8 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
20.3 mi away
Breathless Cabo San Lucas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Av. De Los Pescadores S/N | Col. La Playita, San Jose del Cabo 23403, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £229 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settled in front of the Sea of Cortez, this all-suite ocean front resort offers 500 spacious suites with finely- appointed amenities, full service spa, gourmet a la carte restaurants and elegant bars and lounges. Surrounded by mountains, the Baja desert and two golf courses design by Jack Nicklaus and Greg Norman, guests will enjoy all the Unlimited-Luxury® privileges they deserve. For added luxury, 150 ocean view suites are reserved for Preferred Club with access to additional privileges. This ocean front resort is just 10 minutes from downtown San Jose del Cabo and 30 minutes from the Los Cabos International Airport. Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort – Secluded. Stunning. Splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing