We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paco and Mari Aniversary trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Tampico, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paco and Mari Aniversary trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The place is plain and simple spectacular!!!!
The views from our suite with the combination of sea, desert and one of the greens are unique and promotes a relaxing atmosphere.
Service is great....everybody makes whatever is necessary to make us feel at home.
Food is very good...particularly in Oceana and Portofino.
Our suite was magnificent...comfortable and with first class amenities....in few words: Couldn´t decide better staying here for our 23rd aniversary

Room Tip: Preferred Club Master Suite on 4th floor building 8 is the best place to stay....quiet, sun all morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PacoLozano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    445
    181
    47
    39
See reviews for
125
1,313
50
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We came here to plan our wedding in secrets and we got really disappointed,the service is the worst in Mexico. We pass 38 hours waiting for the wedding Coordinator and after we met her we never get the information we asked. Be careful with the rooms, we asked for 5 hours and they didnt send someone to clean it. You will find Karla a manager and Mr Torres the general manager who act very kind and will promise you everything but at the end they don't make it. In our case she promised a free night and Alicia the night manager promised the same night and the airport transportation as apology but after making the check out they charge us all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Jacina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Second Secrets trip(Maroma Beach). Grounds were great, will look awesome when the plants/trees grow in. 2 pools with different vibes. Can't go in the ocean which is a bummer, but the sand was almost dirty. Hated it to the point we stayed away. I am normally a huge fan of all-inclusive breakfast but here i wasnt crazy about it (no strawberries at he smoothie bar!?!?) Food was otherwise pretty typical-good to pretty good. Housekeeping we sort of erratic as far as when they came to clean and do turn down, but they did a good job. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were great-layout and decor. We were in building 5 3rd fl. Great view(first building past nthe pools, right on the golf course). Wifi was pretty good. Go out to dinner at the Container @ the marina. 2 thumbs up for this place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank matt01010404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Secrets should remain a secret. The resort is OK, but NOT as described in their own brochure.
We spent a week there March 11 to 18. The resort is overpriced and overrated. We had to fight
upon arrival to get a decent room and, even then, the water in the shower came up to our ankles (despite a maintenance) "repair." The drinks were plentiful and the food was only slightly above average.
You cannot swim in the ocean because of undertows and our hope of a quiet, serene,
pleasurable vacation was ruined by large groups of young adults screaming at the top of their
lungs in pulbic areas. Children would have been less noisy than these convention folks at an
adults only resort.

Best advice - keep it a secret and go somewhere else!

Room Tip: Do not book Preferred Club, which is simply a ruse to get you to pay more for nothing at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kke5555bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

There was not a thing that I would change about Secrets Puerto Los Cabos. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. The hotel is beautiful, the restaurants and food were very good and the service was great. There was always someone smiling and asking if you need anything. The room was nicely appointed with lovely furnishings. The bathroom was incredible with large bottles of products including sunscreen. We had a swim out pool from our patio which I really enjoyed. Although I would not consider the pool private since it was connected to each room on the ground floor- we never saw another person the entire time. The view of the Sea of Cortez was so pretty as was the property in general. We are not really an all inclusive type of traveler since we enjoy experiencing the culture of the destination we are visiting, however this trip gave us a chance to explore the area and still enjoy the amenities that Secrets has to offer. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: 4110 away from the crowds with a pool and view of the Sea of Cortez
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank delaware33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This resort by far was the best that I have stayed at. The location, staff and amenities were all great. You really feel like they all are there to ensure that you are completely happy. The restaurants were very nice and the activities were fun.

Room Tip: I stayed in a ocean view junior suite in the 2nd building on the 4th floor. Views were great and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 6-night stay at this resort a couple of days ago. Our overall opinion of the resort was good.

GROUNDS/LOCATION: Absolutely beautiful setting with the ocean, mountains, golf course and palm trees. For this being a resort that has only been open for a few months, we were impressed with the number of palm trees and brightly colored flowers. The grounds will definitely be more beautiful once everything has time to grow but it is really beautiful now - they did a great job with the landscaping. We really liked the location. It is close to the town of San Jose Del Cabo. It is so charming and nice - in my opinion much better than Cabo San Lucas. They had some beautiful artwork that will blow you away - definitely worth the $15 cab ride each way. There are bathrooms conveniently located throughout the resort.

POOLS/HOT TUBS: There is one big main pool and one smaller pool along with three hot tubs. The pools are kept very clean and the hot tubs are nice and warm. The pools are a bit cold when you first get in but you get used to the temperature quickly. They have a pool concierge that is awesome - that is a really nice touch. We didn't have interaction with them everyday but we walked up looking for some lounge chairs one day and were greeted by the pool concierge (sorry - I can't remember his name) - he put our towels out on the chairs for us complete with a second towel to use as a "pillow".

SERVICE: For the most part the service was very good. We encountered a few problems when the capacity of the resort was high but it wasn't a big deal - I'm sure this is something that will be corrected in the future once they have a little more experience. Everyone at the resort was very nice.

FOOD/DRINKS: The food was just okay. We were not impressed at all. This is an area where they really need to improve. The quality is just not where it should be. We did find a few things that were really good. They had really good potato salad and mexican food options for lunch at the Market Café. They also had amazing mango mouse and mint mousse for lunch also at the Market Café - probably the best dessert I have ever had at a resort in Mexico. I would highly recommend going to Oceana for breakfast. Also, the shrimp at the Seaside Grill was good. Most of the room service we had wasn't very good. My husband said the lasagna was pretty good for room service. The drinks were great - they had top shelf liquors. The drinks are in no way "watered-down" as I have seen in other reviews. If you are not a drinker, I would highly recommend the virgin mojito - regular or frozen - both are lip-smacking good. Unfortunately, I did end up with food poisoning which was a first for me at a resort in Mexico. I ate breakfast at the Market Café. I don't know for sure what made me sick but it was either the fruit or the cream I put in my coffee. Word to the wise - if you start feeling sick, throw up immediately. This will keep your down time to a minimum. I ended up losing about 4 or 5 hours which could have been a couple of days.

ROOMS: The rooms are very nice. We especially enjoyed the shower (it has two shower heads - one regular head that you can adjust up or down and a rain shower) and the big bathtub. Very relaxing. We slept very well - it was quiet and the bed was comfortable. The room has a "secret box" which I think is a great concept. Basically they are supposed to put your room service in the box instead of having to come into the room. Unfortunately, they don't use it - not sure why. We booked a garden view room which was the most inexpensive option. We were amazed at the view we had. Unless you book a swim-up room, it looks like all of the rooms have some type of view of the ocean. We saw whales from our room and from the pool - what an amazing sight! Make sure to bring your binoculars. I was a little disappointed in the housekeeping. I wouldn't say it was bad but it seemed like they just did the bare minimum. Also, they would normally come to do the turn-down service at a bad time - usually around the time you are getting ready for dinner. This needs to be moved back to around 7:00 or 8:00.


ENTERTAINMENT: This was a nice change from what we have experienced at other resorts. They had a nice night on the beach with a fire and live music along with a fire show which we really enjoyed. We also liked the movies by the pool. The only drawback is the time - they start the movie at 7:00 which is when you are typically going to dinner. They need to move the start time back to around 9:00 or 10:00 - that would be perfect. They put out popcorn (which is quite good I might add) and some sodas. Nice touch. This is the first resort we have stayed at in Mexico that had a live band during the day by the pool. I'm talking about a good band - really good. The band was there 3 of the 7 days we were there. We also had fun at the night club.

All in all, we would recommend this resort. There are a few drawbacks but you can get a really good deal since they are have only been open for a few months. The discount we received made up for the few drawbacks we encountered. Once this resort gets all of the kinks worked out, the price is going to be a lot higher. If anyone has any specific questions about the resort, I would be happy to help.

Room Tip: Go with the garden view - you will more the likely get some kind of ocean view without paying the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mexico-Lovers101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
19.8 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
20.7 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#19 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#40 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,559 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,411 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Av. De Los Pescadores S/N | Col. La Playita, San Jose del Cabo 23403, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settled in front of the Sea of Cortez, this all-suite ocean front resort offers 500 spacious suites with finely- appointed amenities, full service spa, gourmet a la carte restaurants and elegant bars and lounges. Surrounded by mountains, the Baja desert and two golf courses design by Jack Nicklaus and Greg Norman, guests will enjoy all the Unlimited-Luxury® privileges they deserve. For added luxury, 150 ocean view suites are reserved for Preferred Club with access to additional privileges. This ocean front resort is just 10 minutes from downtown San Jose del Cabo and 30 minutes from the Los Cabos International Airport. Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort – Secluded. Stunning. Splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing