We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secrets is always great but Puerto los Cabos is over-the-top”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Secrets is always great but Puerto los Cabos is over-the-top”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It had been 10 years since I visited Cabo and didn't really know what to expect in the way of changes. What a great surprise it was to find Secrets Puerto los Cabos, which has just been open since the start of 2014.
Golfers, take note: there are some of the most beautiful golf courses in Mexico and in the WORLD located in Cabo and Secrets Puerto los Cabos is right on one of them. The views from the links can distract your game!
Foodies, whether you enjoy seafood, Mexican, Asian, Italian, American, steakhouse or even a GREAT buffet, you will find all sorts of choices at this resort.
The service is outstanding, the staff are friendly, the property is immaculate, the activity directors are fun without being annoying and there's always something going on.
The only caveat I will make is that this beach(along with many Cabo beaches) is unswayable. You can walk along the water's edge with your feet in the waves but the undertow is extremely dangerous. There are lovely palapas on the beach (as well as bar service on the beach!) so you can relax and take in the view but if you are an ocean swimmer Cabo is not the place for you.

Room Tip: The preferred club rooms are all oceanfront. the only thing between you and the beach is the 15th gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Where2gogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,388
    478
    193
    49
    42
See reviews for
136
1,424
53
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I just love the resort. The facilities, the food, the people... Everything was excellent. You can visit any of the restaurant, only once need reservation. Food was good on all of them. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. Customer service is amazing.

Room Tip: Swim out pool are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in mid-May. Property was impeccably kept. Temps were warm and all of the pools at Secrets were terrific. It was adult-only so we enjoyed that as well...much more quiet and serene. We were surprisingly upgraded to a swim-out room...you had your own little river outside your room with the occasional neighbor floating by....it was very cool.

Room was service above and beyond...and INCLUDED. Actually, everyone who worked there was so pleasant and went out of their way. We tipped them even though it's included in the price. Just seemed "cheap" if we didn't. We had a wonderful view of the gardens and some ocean view. Normally we travel to tropical places to dive, but this time tried a golf vacation. You can swing a few deals with property vendors who are seemingly everywhere and get a cheap round of world-class golf for under $50 in most cases...(if you're willing to 'see' some properties and listen to their spiel) but WELL worth it for awesome golf courses. My traveler tip: While this is an all-inclusive resort, it's nice to get out and see the local civilization...you will pay more here for cab fare than in other parts of Mexico (very high standard of living here--but it benefits all--there is almost nonexistant crime in Los Cabos and Cabo San Lucas) so be prepared for at least $100 round trip to Cabo, and $20 to Los Cabos, which is a cool, artsy town nearby. Very beautiful part of Mexico that I hadn't visited before...will be back to scuba dive, and then another review!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 29er_Luver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This resort was paradise. We went to this resort to celebrate a 50 th birthday, I could have never have planned such a beautiful birthday for my husband. They set a romantic dinner for two on the beach, had a maître de for just us, decorated our hotel room with rose petals, birthday signs, champaign and a cake with my husbands name on it. I would suggest upgrading to the preferred room, it is worth it. Want to feel like a king and queen book your stay here.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the preferred club...book the romantic dining experience and a ocean front room, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel didn't disappoint!!! Top notch EVERYTHING! Rooms and grounds were stunning and stylishly furnished. Restaurants had incredible options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We requested Appleton, Grey Goose or Absolute and got it!!! Anything we requested was "their pleasure"! I could say so much more but I'll attach pics so that you can see for yourself. Oh and let me add....if you're looking to party...stay elsewhere... We wanted a relaxing few days of good food, drinks, and total relaxation and we got it. Now there's a night club on site where you can hear music and have drinks...we visited one night so that's an option if you desire.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The service at the Manatee pool bar was very stressful to say the least. A lot of inconsistencies in the pool rules mainly in regards to "shots" being allowed. We watched other couples order shots and receive them with no issue. However when my partner and I ordered we were told that shots weren't allowed, in fact the servers would stop serving shots when the manager Roman was present, then would resume when he walked away. However when I asked to speak with Karla (the onsite manager) she told us that wasn't the case. Even after speaking with Karla I still had to put up with the horrible service. My order kept getting passed along to other servers, causing me to have wait longer than usual. When my shots finally arrived they were only filled half way. I just gave up going to the bar and had to walk all the way to the swing bar located on the beach in order to get better service. The bar manager, Roman [--] made us feel very uncomfortable by having his staff walk around the bar holding a sign saying they weren't allowed to serve alcohol to intoxicated persons; when clearly we were not intoxicated. We were just extremely frustrated with the service and not to mention we paid for an all-inclusive amenities only to be given a hard time on our preference of beverage.

Secondly, the music that is played at the pool is much like "elevator music or spa music" not a very fun atmosphere. No real pool entertainment that many are used to at other resorts. When we asked about the music we were told that the Serects brand is about relaxation and that's why they play light music at the pool/bar. Overall, the bar staff was very unhelpful and I found that Karla tried to rectify our issues and to make us feel comfortable but it's clear that the Secrets chain is not interested in having a younger crowd (30s) at the Puerto Los Cabos. Again beautiful resort if you are looking to read by the pool and whisper.

Room Tip: get the rooms with a swim up pool :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stushmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It was our honeymoon. We paid for the top package and got just a basic room with a view. We were told we would have upgraded amenities and mini bar. The worst mini bar and in-room amenities I have had at any All inclusive resort we have ever been to. We had to pack up all out things at 10pm on our first night of our honeymoon and change rooms, because the air conditioner wouldn't work. The second rooms worked, but didn't cool down past 75. We had to ask for things that should have just been there. Everyone we talked to were given room upgrades to a swim up without asking, but we were not even offered that. It just seemed like nothing would go right unless you complained, and I hate having to do that. We paid far more than usual because it was our honeymoon and we wanted it to be extra nice and relaxing. We did not get what we paid for. Now worth the cost at all!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOFO1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconciergeSecretsPLC, E concierge at Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort.
Please accept my most sincere apologies, it seems that we were not aware of the meaning of your trip but we are always here to assist you; and since we value our guests; we strive to guarantee a pleasent stay.
We look forward to have a second chance for serving you again. Should you have any additional comments, please be so kind as to contact me directly.

Carlos Pérez
Econcierge
econcierge.seplc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
19.8 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
7,736 reviews
9.8 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,286 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#32 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
6,532 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#20 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Av. De Los Pescadores S/N | Col. La Playita, San Jose del Cabo 23403, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settled in front of the Sea of Cortez, this all-suite ocean front resort offers 500 spacious suites with finely- appointed amenities, full service spa, gourmet a la carte restaurants and elegant bars and lounges. Surrounded by mountains, the Baja desert and two golf courses design by Jack Nicklaus and Greg Norman, guests will enjoy all the Unlimited-Luxury® privileges they deserve. For added luxury, 150 ocean view suites are reserved for Preferred Club with access to additional privileges. This ocean front resort is just 10 minutes from downtown San Jose del Cabo and 30 minutes from the Los Cabos International Airport. Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort – Secluded. Stunning. Splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing