We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation at Secrets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation at Secrets”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Where do I start? Secrets PLC was my first time to Mexico and it will be VERy hard to beat now. Upon arriving, we were offered cold towels and a glass of champagne during check-in. That in itself was unexpected and pleasant! Our room was a junior suite on the third floor in the second building and it was perfect! Overlooking the adjacent building and you could see the ocean and the beach. The waves were a wonderful view to wake up to. The minibar is free, room service 24/7 is free, à la carte restaurants are free, all bars are free, poolside drinks are free.. What more could you ask for? Whenever I called the front desk or concierge, I was reminded that any request would not be overlooked as ".. This is your paradise, sir."
The room came with A/C, LCD TV, a 'secret' box where you would be able to receive room service should you not want to open your door and also where you would leave dirty dishes, a jacuzzi tub, his & her sinks, a glass enclosed shower, lovely toiletries, and a separate room for the toilet. The minibar has pop, water, and five Coronitas.
The air-conditioned rooms were perfect, the pools are the right temperature, the MANY and FUN activities were great and really at the pleasure of the entertainment staff and the nightly shows were a great spectacle.
One important note is that indeed, this is an adults-only resort. So that means alcohol is everywhere and you do NOT need a wristband. I think you might get one if you upgrade to their "Preferred Club" status, but really, what you get without is more that luxurious.
Drinks are made with top-shelf liquor (Johnnie Walker, Crown Royal, Stolichnaya)and are STRONG! but you won't mind as its all free and all you have to do (Yes you should tip because the Mexicans work very hard to keep you happy) is leave a buck or two every second or third drink.
This resort has an UNSWIMMABLE beach so if you're looking to swim in the ocean or walk along the beach, be prepared to pay for a cab to drive you into town to a portion of the beach that is or DON'T come to Secrets PLC if it is a deal breaker for you. There is a bar and a dock located at the end of the path right before the beach that is very nice.
Recommendations:
- Don't get a swim out room if you want privacy, as most we saw backed out near a pathway and five rooms are connected to one continuous pool, so others do have the ability to swim right outside your sliding door
- Visit ALL restaurants, but special allocates to Portofino (Italian) and Oceana (Seafood) for dining experience. NO reservations are required (Like at some other all inclusives) Food at all restaurants were of what I would expect from a Michelin star restaurant owned by Gordon Ramsey or Wolfgang Puck. Rich, hot food served in just the right amount of portions to savour the taste and not overeat.
- The gift shop available at the resort has prices and merchandise VERY similar to what you would find at locally owned gift shops in nearby San Jose del Cabo so if you don't really want to go into town but want souvenirs, the gift shop can be very valuable.
- TIP! It really shows how much more service workers appreciate your patronage when you tip, as noticed by us when we went back to Portofino two days after our initial visit and we got the same server who remembered our drink orders exactly. You can't beat that kind of service ANYWHERE.We always tipped at least 80 pesos for good service, between 40-60 pesos for okay service... and that was maybe on one occasion.
- Get involved when the entertainment staff hold events like volleyball, water aerobics, or 'Secrets Idol' because they work their butts off trying to keep things upbeat and fun and all they ask is for your involvement
- The gym is very nice and basically but adequately stocked. All equipments is new and the facility is comfortable
- A cab ride into the nearest town (San Jose del Cabo) is about 160 pesos to the tourist strip. To the Walmart in the same town is about 200 pesos and to the Mega about 220 pesos. Use only authorized Cab services
- Rendezvous is a beautiful, classy bar located beside the front desk and makes you feel like you should be wearing your best dress. Tip well here, as the barmen and women know how to make a good cocktail. Live Saxophone and Piano were a very nice touch.
- Liquor at Duty Free at the airport was considerably cheaper than at both Walmart and Mega, but snacks should be bought at the supermarkets and not the airport



Come to Secrets PLC expecting a lot, and leave being even more amazed! We booked our trip through Red Tag Vacations and it was a breeze from booking to landing back home.

Room Tip: Far buildings can have quite a walk to them Do not get swim out, there is little privacy Music fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank michael0771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,494
    497
    205
    50
    45
See reviews for
149
1,529
56
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We had never been to an all inclusive resort. We were a party of four... two couples, ranging in ages of 50-75. Most of the guest were between 20-40, but we did not feel out of place.

The pros: The Resort was immaculate and very attractive. Since it is fairly new, the vegetation needs to grow in. There was plenty of shade and chairs at the pool. The rooms were beautiful, spacious and clean. We upgraded to a swim-out room, which we loved. The other couple we were with upgraded to the ocean view/preferred room. I would say that you do not need to do that to have a great experience. There was really not much more offered to them except the concierge house which offered mediocre food there all day long. The restaurants were all beautiful and diversified. We loved that we did not have to make a reservation, and there was never a wait. Also, we do not like buffets, and most of the restaurants were all seat down, a la carte, which we preferred. The food was better than we expected in both presentation and quality. The décor and views were very nice in the restaurants. The service was hit or miss. As long as you did not request too many special requests off of the norm, it was very good (i.e.. dressing on the side, no ice, etc..). The staff was amazing. Everybody was sooo nice, helpful, professional and fun. We loved the coffee shop that we took advantage of every morning and had our pastry breakfast and coffee. Since the resort is large, anytime you want to go somewhere they will take you in a golf cart, if you would like. We brought $40 in singles to use as tips. While tipping is included, and the staff is not expecting a tip, it seemed appreciated when we offered a tip. They were just so deserving of it.
The Cons: We were very disappointed in the beach. While we knew that we could not swim in the ocean because of the large waves and unsafe conditions, we were looking forward to sitting on the beach and enjoying the ocean. That was impossible because where they set the beach chairs, it was on a very large slant, not flat. It was very uncomfortable to stay in your chair, as you always felt like you were sliding forward. This could have been solved if they shifted the sand to make it flat.
For lunch, it got a little boring, as they only had two buffets (the pool buffet was awful, like a kids buffet with frozen like pizza, hamburgers and velvetta cheese for nachos). This sat out all day. The only place to have lunch (non buffet) was by the pool, and the menu was very small, they needed to add more selections of salads, etc..
The nightly shows were at poor times, like 8pm. We choose to eat dinner everynight at 8pm, so we would miss the shows. I wish they were closer to 10pm so we could have seen them.
We loved the cocktail lounge, to have drinks at before and after dinner, but too bad that they never opened the curtains so we could enjoy the sunset view. It seemed odd to be inside during sunset. The resort is kinda built sideways onto the ocean, so it felt like it was very far away from the center of the resort and a far view from the rooms. Unless you had an ocean front room, I would not consider the view of the ocean very good, it was just too far. The activities were fine, but all of the sports (archery, ping pong, shooting range) was in full sun with no shade provided. It was well over 100 degrees so that made it difficult to participate.

Overall, we were very impressed with this resort, would recommend it and will likely got back to another Secrets resort based on this stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmateu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We went to this area for 2 weeks, staying at Secrets Puerto Los Cabos golf and spa from august 10-17. We rented a car and found it challenging to find, even with a Garmin. The Secrets in the name made the Garmin not find it, but once we did, we loved it. The entertainment team was great all week, especially Daniella and Maria(who just went back to school) ,along with David. Take the bike trip as its gets you off the resort and takes you by swimming with the dolphins and eventually you end at a cactus nursery. The food was great and drinks were very good. Service is at good as we have seen by far!!! We had a great room that gave us a wonderful view of the golf course. This is a brand new resort and is in top shape. We also recommend going into town as its is 10 min max away and very safe and welcoming. Bring US dollars as they want that rather than pesos. We can't wait to come back and now no why Hollywood has fallen in love with the area.

Room Tip: If you want quiet , stay in building 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dumont17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We recently arrived home from a week stay at this new and immaculate Secrets. Our family was very warmly welcomed. We all really enjoyed the fact that the resort was at low capacity. We were able to upgrade to an Oceanview room. The desert (cacti, rock, and sand) landscaping was unique to us. Great experience all around...from the cleanliness, friendliness, service, activities/entertainment, to the drink and food quality. We tried every restaurant, except El Patio. We also ordered room service several times. (FYI-Many flavors of ice cream are available via room service, even though they are not listed on the menu.) Wide variety and everything was delicious. The staff was very accommodating. Some "shout outs" need to be made to: Alfonzo, the cabana boy at the main pool; Ricardo, the bartender at the Barracuda/swing bar by the beach; Javier, a server at the Market Café; and Janpol, a server at the Seaside Restaurant. These people really helped make our family vacation special! Our family enjoyed quality time together playing bean bags, Bocce Ball, "mini-golf" on the putting green, and tennis. We participated in the Black Jack Tournament and the Putting Contest. In our opinion, the Rock Night was the best entertainment. We also helped make up the audience for The Idol Show. Four talented guests actually participated. The Bike Tour (Sundays & Wednesdays only) to the marina area and the botanical gardens was awesome! Highly recommend it. We noted that previous guests had mentioned that the resort is spread out. Please keep in mind that golf cart rides are available. Once during our stay, we got a covered ride to Oceana because it was raining outside. One day our family walked down the beach to the public swimming area; another day we toured and shopped in nearby San Jose. Our only recommendations would be to vary the music at the Barracuda for both the guests and the staff & to find a way to let guests know activities that happen only once a week ahead of time. The daily schedule was available on Channel 5 or you could pick up a printed copy in the main lobby. We were disappointed that Finger Painting was not held more than once during our stay. So if you go, be sure to stick around for that art activity. Everyone's (young/old, male/female) painted tile turned out terrific. In summary, we had a great time and met some wonderful, new Canadian friends. We would certainly recommend that you consider Secrets Puerto when planning your next adults-only get-away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We did not choose this hotel but rather we purched through Cheap Carribean .com an on line SEAS the deal where you would be given one of 3 5star hotels. The only catch was that you were locked in once they chose your hotel.
We were assigned the Secrets Puerto Los Cabos. When I located it on the map I realized it was quite a distance from from Cabo and I really never visited the area.
The trip from the airport was not too long maybe 30 min. As we were getting closer i realized it was a newer area with a beautiful marina, it looked more like a of a country club type of feel. The homes that were built on the hill will just breathtaking (i was told Julia roberts owns one of them).
Driving up to the secrets hotel you could feel how luxourous it was. The large iron gates, the courtyard the grounds absolutely beautiful. The check in was very quick and within 30 minutes we were eating lunch at the poolside restaurant.
Restaurants - We tried each one of them except the mexican and they were all exceptional. The food and the 5star service from teh hotel staff were always impressive. The portions were just right, we actually lost some weight during our stay because the food was so tasty and satisfying that we did not need to stuff ourselves.
The room - We were in buiding 2 on the fifth floor with an absolutely beautiful view of the ocean. Floor 1 through 3 do not have a view as they are blocked by another building. The 1st floor has a swim out pool which is nice but not worth the money. The 2 main pools are so beautiful that you will want to spend most of your time there. The bathroom is huge and i just loved the shower. The bed was comfortable, the air worked so well which is important in such hot weather. The maid did an amazing job cleaning the room and turning down the bed in the evening.
The activities - The activity crew was so friendly and they spoke english pretty well. Pool vollyball was a big hit, the games were so crazy fun. I usually started off with a run on the beach and then took the water aerobics class at noon. The evenings were also filled with activities, there wer professional shows most nights and afterward additional activities at the nightclub. One night they hosted a Secrets Idol competition, my husband participated, it was so much fun.
Excursions - We decided to do our own excursion. They have an AVIS rental on site so we rented the car for a day and drove to Cabo San lucas and tehn onward from there to Todos Santos the famous surfing spot. The roads were new and the people we met along the way were friendly. We stopped at many beaches along the wa it was a beautiful day. The next morning we still had the car so we went to the small town near the hotel, the town of Ouerto Los Cabos. It was a 10 minute drive. The town is so quaint, the art district is beautiful with the coble stone streets.
I would say this was one of my best vacations.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor is recommended in Building #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Another great Secrets resort. Beautiful pools, good food. Beach is nice, but the entrance is sort of hard to get to (down this path, around the corner, under a tunnel). Activities throughout the day. We were in a swim-out suite. It seemed like a cool idea to have a pool steps away from your room, but in reality, you are sharing that pool with your neighbors. The rooms are hard to get to. There is one "bridge" for the building. We (and lots of other guests) ended up walking through the garden and up the hill to the main path. It was awkward but saved about 5 minutes every time we were going to or from our room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlgrrlUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I did Seas the Deal and got Secrets Puerto Los Cabos all inclusive resort. The staff was very warm and friendly. The food was delicious. We wish we could have stayed longer. So many details of this property were immaculate. Such a wonderful and relaxing experience for both of us!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelPS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
19.8 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
895 reviews
9.8 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
7,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#33 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
6,650 reviews
20.3 mi away
Breathless Cabo San Lucas Resort & Spa
Breathless Cabo San Lucas Resort...
#21 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
924 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Av. De Los Pescadores S/N | Col. La Playita, San Jose del Cabo 23403, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#10 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settled in front of the Sea of Cortez, this all-suite ocean front resort offers 500 spacious suites with finely- appointed amenities, full service spa, gourmet a la carte restaurants and elegant bars and lounges. Surrounded by mountains, the Baja desert and two golf courses design by Jack Nicklaus and Greg Norman, guests will enjoy all the Unlimited-Luxury® privileges they deserve. For added luxury, 150 ocean view suites are reserved for Preferred Club with access to additional privileges. This ocean front resort is just 10 minutes from downtown San Jose del Cabo and 30 minutes from the Los Cabos International Airport. Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort – Secluded. Stunning. Splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing