We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sea Grill

The Sea Grill
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Mediterranean, Barbecue, Grill, Pub, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
San Francisco
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

As we get older, the calories seem to matter more than the price. Though admittedly pricey, the calories were worth it. We had suckling pig, yellowtail tostadas, seafood fajitas and sea bass. Big portions. Couldn't decide what was the best dish. Also had a nice dessert sampler. Ambiance was a little dark.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5fortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Flavourful and Plentiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

We dined at Sea Grill for five days, there was a theme menu most of the nights. Service is outstanding, the food is flavourful and plentiful. Menu is both in English and Spanish, there are some innovative items in the menu such as the nachos served in a Molcajete,it won't disappoint but something different from the "American" version, I will encourage you to order it. Since there is a wood-burning grill/oven pizzas are also good my husband and son had the Hawaiian pizza as an appetizer and were quite impressed.

My favourite items on the menu: Molcajete Mar y Tierra (a real treat); Ceviche (to be shared); Shrimp tacos; Tacos al Pastor (shredded pork tacos); and to cool you off while sun tanning ask for a Michelada with Pacifico beer, salud!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaVillaevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort but disappointed in Sea Grill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We went there for my 50th Birthday dinner while staying at the Hilton next door. The resort is truly beautiful, we felt like were in romantic wonderland. Coming down the drive at night with all the fire pits burning is so cool. We were greeted and escorted to the restaurant which was fabulous. But that's about where it ends. Our waiter took our order and then brought us our tab. That's it. Table runner brought us our food and drinks. When he explained the tip is included in the bill I understood why he took no effort in making sure that we had a good dining experience. They never acknowledged it was my birthday even though our concierge let them know and we told them when we arrived. Not to mention I ordered shrimp and steak which was overlooked and buried in way too much sauce. Unfortunately you only turn 50 once and the dinner will be memorable for all the wrong reasons. We thought we'd like to come back stay there but it really left literally a bad taste in our mouths. Can't speak for people actually staying there maybe they are treated better.

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug1SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Gorgeous restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

The restaurant was beautiful, it was at the front of the resort closest to the beach. The menu was varied, I can't really identify how I would categorize the food? The food was very good, but It was a fairly expensive meal despite a fairly inexpensive wine we ordered. It was such a lovely resort I think I would recommend visiting just to check it out! You definitely need a reservation, we stayed close by and tried to stop for a drink and were turned away at the gate. Also worth noting, its not a fun place, definitely quiet and laid back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank soxgirl414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Let me start by saying that the food was atmosphere were amazing! We were not staying at the resort, but came for dinner. The staff could not have been more polite. We knew we were going to have an expensive dinner, and usually have no problem with that. I would say that spending almost $400 on dinner did sting a little bit. Yes, the food and wine were amazing (and the celebrity watching wasn't bad either) but I am not sure we would return due to the inflated prices. There are many high end restaurants in Los Cabo/Cabo San Lucas so I would prefer to return to others first.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica21Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sea Grill also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to The Sea Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing