We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"El faro de speranza!" The beacon of hope!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
California Desert, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“"El faro de speranza!" The beacon of hope!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a review more about our journey and especially my "curacion" healing process. As we stepped into the Ziva's massive lobby we were like the ship that found the lighthouse's beacon shining on a place of safe harbor! On this this sunny shore we are greeted by our "guardian angel", Ms. Claudia Rojas who asks if our trip was happy and safe. Along with Marco and Kevin we are told of the premium package and that we will be on the seventh floor in building 3. I then explained that up until the last day before our travel we had to wait for my physician's OK before we could take this trip. And you know I was very hesitant to fully take advantage of the restaurants with the food and beverages they provide because of my physical condition. But already I felt the curacion happening and didn't ask for any special meals. This hope of more completeness and wholeness was enveloping me. After us looking out on our balcony of a most cooling room my physical discomfort and started to disappear from my being. We then made our first of many visits to the Premium lounge with its breathtaking views of the pools, lush landscape and blue ocean beneath us. There was Luis, a young but worldly gentleman that possessed a knowledge far beyond his years. That first toast with a most high quality tequila was not adversive for me as I thought it might be and began an adventure that no medicine could accomplish. And that first dinner at the Capri restaurant with its giant Antipasto table brought us 2 now California guys back to our New York Italian roots. There was just something we found here at the Ziva that the staff was like a doting mother that always strove to make you feel better be it through food, beverage or just comforting words. Like Gad from the Beverage services, Emiliano the Chef and Israel who waited on us in the El Cortijo restaurant. They were one of many that made our 25th anniversary something that will be engraved in our hearts for the many days to come. And we also especially remember Claybert, our waiter at La Hacienda restaurant and how his manager, Oscar walked on to the sand to bring us the business card of the Horseback riding owner who rode along with visitors for a sunset ride. Thank you Oscar for helping us make our last night most memorable. And those shows performed with the best of entertainers who came to us in the lobby our last night and said they missed us in the audience that night! Now that's a warmth that is seldom found in such an immense hotel. Finally we could not close this short review without strongly thanking the Ziva's illustrious manager, Mr. Silva of whom I must deem the best physician of both the heart and spirit. We have been to many fine hotels in both the USA, Canada, Mexico and Europe, but the Ziva was like a giant embrace from both its staff and its magnificent setting.

Room Tip: The highest floor available that faces both the beautiful grounds and that blue ocean and its crashi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ulisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

There are no words to describe our appreciation for your kind words and preference, many thanks for being part of our Hyatt Ziva Family.

We enjoy reading such compliments regarding our services and our staff, many thanks for mentioning each one of them, they strive every day to make feel all our guest like home and specially to the ones that are part of our family.

Your comments are the best motivation to keep improving day by day, we are delighted to learn that your time with us was more than perfect and that you had an unforgettable experience.

We will be waiting for you with open arms.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,619
    734
    224
    93
    63
See reviews for
1,112
1,489
52
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is quite nice. I am here with my three kids. we are here not only to celebrate Father's Day but our wedding Anniversary on the 16th as well. when we booked, made triple sure that we will get a decent size balcony as we have little ones, we try to continue to enjoy the fresh air and sun on the balcony while he rests, naps...etc. But when we arrived, fpund out there was a miscommunication and we got a french terrace (super small balcony) instead. Spoke to front desk yesterday and the girl told us, "sorry there was a miscommuNication. well you know in the future, but there is nothing we can do about it. unless you upgrade to a premium, which will be 120/day extra". We already paid a decent amount for this trip, making sure we have a balcony to relax on only to find out our room doesnt have such. To others, may not be a huge deal but to us, it is a big deal making a huge difference to ourvacation. Then she said, "some ppl dont even get a balcony. but if you want, I can upgrade for you for $90/day. since we are here for 10 days, thats $1000! another lady gave me access to another room supposedly that is smaller but has a big bacony according to her. we went to room 2535 and yes, the room is much smaller indeed but the balcony was almost the same size! Sad and disappointed, we stuck to our original room on the 6th floor. Today I tried speaking with the front desk again, this time a different person and he offered to upgrade us to a premium suite for minimum 100/day (wierd about the difference in dollar amount each staff offered), or 200/day for a swim out. So thats over 1000USD or 2000USD! so we are stuck here with no other options as we cant check out early bwcause of the no refund policy so we dont even have an affordable choice to go to another resort. what can we say? our vacation is ruined as unless we fork out another 1000+, we wont be relaxing on any balcony. plus one of the elevators cant go to the sixth floor because the button is broken.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank winwin8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

As we explained to you during your registration the type of room that you received is the one that you booked, a Ziva Family Suite, all the Family Suites have a French Balcony. Our staff provided you information from different options in order to make you feel comfortable, we offered to you three types of suite from different categories , each one with a different cost but none seemed to be adequate to your needs.

We invite you to take a decision if you want to change your into a different suite with a big Balcony, our Front Desk Staff is in the better disposition to help you.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

From the moment we arrived we were taken care of exceptionally well. The staff could not have been nicer, the room was very comfortable and the view gorgeous. We came for a vacation where we just needed to relax and because of the care and attention given here by all, we were able to do so. Our thanks go to all but we would like to especially thank Leonel and Abraham at the breakfast service and Daniel at the Hacienda dinner service. You made us feel good and all was fun, funny and wonderful. Thank you for making our vacation special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMT20003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf all the Hyatt Ziva Associates we want to thank you for taking a moment to share your comments.

We love pamper our guest from the first to the last moment, all they have to do is forget about everything and start to enjoying all the activities and facilities that were created for their comfort.

Many thanks for mentioning Leonel, Abraham and Daniel , they are very thankful with your kind comments, our best motivation is to learn that we create you a memorable experience.

We cannot wait to host you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just got back from my best trip to date and we've had many......our hotel....Ziva was spectacular! Beautiful setting .....everything absolutely everything was first rate.......we were pampered from our arrival until our departure....you didn't have to get out of your chair if you didnt want to .....service was just that great! The resturants were really good too.....my favorite was the steak house over looking the Cote D'azure! Again I repeat service was special! Claybert Brono our server took such care of us all ...this boy is going places ! we tried all the special rest. and loved them all! The buffet was beautiful ....featuring all foods international.....friendly staff to great you at all times.......The rooms were also lovely.....dont think ive ever slept better at a hotel....beds were perfect! Our niece was having her wedding here and thirty people were in our entourage.....everyone was totally pleased with all service! Thank you Hyatt Ziva we will definately be back! Talk is our next family renunion! You cant go wrong here folks......sun daily guaranteed.....impecable service and the friendlyest staff anywhere! x

Room Tip: ask for ocean view....that simple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

The main goal of Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is to create memorable experiences to all our guests, many thanks for sharing your comments
.
It was a pleasure to play a part in making your vacations more than perfect, our staff strives every day to fulfill all our guest requirements, their complete satisfaction is our priority and make them feel like home is our commitment, we are delighted with your kind comments, Claybert is a clearly example that we enjoy to pamper our visitors.

We will be waiting for you and your family with open arms.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights at the hyatt. Hotel is very nice and has many food options for an all inclusive. The martini bar is the nicest bar with a very knowledgeable bartender. The buffet always had a lot of options with an excellent wait staff especially Eduardo Gonzales. You do not need a reservation for the specialty restaurants.
The main downside to hotels in Cabo is the unswimmable beaches. They are red flagged due to the undercurrent. Nice hotel with great employees though!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Cada51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We love reading about the things that you enjoyed the most during your recent visit, many thanks for sharing your comments.

El Mirador Bar is definitely one of the most visited before and after an exquisite dinner in our specialty restaurants, imagine enjoying a relaxation time with a Chocolate Martini. We are delighted to learn that the quality of our food and drinks were satisfactory for your taste.

Many thanks for your kind comments with regard the friendliness of our associates, Eduardo will receive the recognition that he deserve for his great service.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel! The food was exceptional, our swim up pool room was one of the best rooms we have ever had, and the staff was friendly, professional & accommodating. Thank you Caesar for all of your help at the front desk, and Francisco Herrera Reyes for being an excellent server! We look forward to coming back with our kids.

Room Tip: Swim up pool room was amazing and on the other side was the adult pool. Perfect location for a rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaPL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our appreciation for your comments and the time you took to write them.

We are pleased to learn that your vacations were as you planned, our Food and Beverage Team is always innovating our menus and the presentation of our plates, you can enjoy for a variety of tastes from all around the world in our 7 restaurants.

Cesar and Francisco will receive a mention in our monthly staff meeting for his performance and contribution o make your stay more than perfect.

We cannot wait to host you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We just returned less than 10 hours ago. My wife and I had a fantastic time for 5 days and never left the property (other than a short walk along the beach). I will try to give my review in bullet points to keep it as short as possible.
- Arrival - The front desk and other staff were very efficient and cheerful. We felt at home from the minute that we arrived.
- Room - Although no one will have the same opinion of the same room, we thought that the room was very nice. Make sure to ask for an upper floor (above the 4th floor in most cases). We ended up on the second floor which was good for people-watching but the ocean view can be partially blocked by palm trees.
- All Inclusive Plan - This is a truly all inclusive resort. Think of it as a cruise ship that includes food, entertainment, unlimited alcohol (name brand), soda, and other drinks. You really do not need your wallet once you check in. The only time that we spent money was when the wifey wanted some souvenirs to take home. The wine and beer selection is limited though. If you are a lover of fine wine or craft beers, then you will be disappointed.
- Restaurants - Not all restaurants are open every day, but with so many to choose from, it is easy to plan ahead. Check the schedule for restaurants and activities that is available to all guests (the handout is called the "Que' Pasa"). You can choose from buffet style, Mexican, Spanish, Italian, Steak House, Seafood, and French. Two of the restaurants are located to take advantage of the perfect view of the sea. Get there early for your choice of tables. It was absolutely breathtaking at sunset with the full moon.
- Food - Unlike some, I am a little more picky when it comes to quality. I did find that all of the food that was being served was at least a 7 out of 10 and the specialty restaurants and truly an 8 or 9 out of 10 for the dished that we tried. My personal favorite was the Italian dinner. The risotto was perfect! The seafood dinner was very good, but I found that the Mahi Mahi was a little bland for my tastes. The buffet was actually quite good. I was surprised at the selection and the change in variety every day. I know....I know...I can be picky picky picky.... To be honest, when it paradise ALL is good.
- Beach - This area is truly not for beach goers. The beach is perfect for walking (although the sand is rough and not fluffy), but this is in no way a swimming beach. One look and you will see what I mean. The waves are huge, nasty, and very short duration. They form and break within about 10-20 feet. If you did go in, you would think that you had stepped into a washing machine.
- Pools and Grounds - The grounds are probably the greenest and best kept area within dozens of miles. The staff work all day and night cleaning and maintaining them. It was fantastic! The pools are warm and huge. There is plenty of room for all guests and their children. You will not feel crowded in the least.
- Cleanliness and Hospitality - I challenge you to find a cleaner hotel or a more accommodating staff. These people treat you like the king or queen that you are.
- Language Barrier - We do not speak Spanish (Mexican), but you will not need to. Most staff speak enough English to get by, so you should practice the please and thank yous in Spanish before going. Remember that you are a visitor in their country. You need to treat them with the most respect that you can.
- Other Guests - We found that most guests are very friendly and just trying to relax as much as possible. We did see the occasional group of teens and early twenties that thought it was Spring Break, so there were completely out of control. The worse thing is that we also saw people in their 40s and 50s also drinking to the point of falling down. Please people, if you want to drink, just drink to the point of having fun. The alcohol is unlimited. You don't need to be falling down, yelling, or bothering others, in order to have fun.

All in all, I would suggest this resort to anyone young or old. It was a truly wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All buildings had nice rooms, but from my viewpoint, I think that you need to be above the fourth fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ralfeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director de Recepción at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We enjoy reading a special review from your experience in Hyatt Ziva, thank you for taking a moment to write your comments.

Our main goal is to fulfill all our guests’ requirements and create them special and unique memories, it is pleasant to learn that you enjoyed each one of the activities and facilities that were created for your comfort and fun, we appreciate your kind comments with regards the friendliness of our staff.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you with the level of service that you deserve.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,687 reviews
16.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
16.7 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
3.2 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,146 reviews
5.3 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Property: Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Address: Paseo Malecon Sn Lote 5, Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23405, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most majestic peninsulas in the world and offering spectacular views of the Sea of Cortes, Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a luxurious all inclusive oasis of sophistication and comfort. This magnificent beachfront resort is minutes from beautiful downtown San Jose del Cabo and features plush accommodations, impressive amenities, impeccable service and is just minutes from the international airport. Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a unique, all inclusive experience that offers a myriad of activities from fine dining options at six a la carte restaurants and two gourmet buffet restaurants, to unique spa treatments, children’s programming and nightly entertainment shows. Enjoy deep-water fishing, scuba diving, world-class golf and many more adventure activities nearby. Or, simply relax and soak up the sun in one of the resort’s five swimming pools and breathtaking beachfront. This luxury resort also features 35,000 square feet of meeting facilities and ideal locations combined with the special touch of event planners who will attend to every last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Barcelo Hotel Los Cabos
Barcelo Resort Los Cabos
The Grand Baja
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing