We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt Ziva End of June into July”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed there for 5 nights at the end of June. Full disclosure, I am a professional meeting & event planner but I was there for a personal trip. We have visited different areas of Mexico 5-6 times, staying at AI each time. We also traveled to Aruba and DR a few times. We love Mexico and Aruba.

We arrived at about 2 PM, check-in was at 3 PM so weren't able to access our room right away. The actual check-in process was fine not too long. What was missing were suggestions of what to do before we could actually access our room, no mention of restaurants that were open, etc. So, we wandered around found the restaurant that is located on the beach but were told there was a 30 minute wait for lunch so we went back towards the lobby and found the buffet and had a lunch.

Back to the lobby for our room assignment/key. A bit of wait this time around, not enough people to wait on the sudden influx of guests. Oh well. I did notice a small table that held lemonade and cups that we had missed when we were first arrived. This was never pointed out so look for it when you arrive.

Our room was located in the middle building on the right, looking out from the lobby - I can't remember the name. The room was very nice with a bit of an ocean view from our 5th floor balcony. We also had a great view of the Decameron roof and air conditioning units, but we did not feel the need to change, we had what we paid for.

Pools were warm and lovely. Yes, there are a lot of towels on chaises but I think what is confusing is that you don't necessarily have to return your towels once you have finished for the day. You can just leave them and they will be picked up so it makes it seem like every lounge is occupied. We did return our towels each day to help out a little. Yes, the lounges that sit on the water ledges will be gone first especially at the infinity pool. Nature of the beast. Don't sweat it, just relax and enjoy. Side note, the infinity pool is also the activity pool, the best view is also busy, busy, busy.

Restaurants for dinner, we dined at four, the Hacienda Grill which was a buffet. The amount of flies on the food, not good so we did not love our meal there. The service was very good. The Italian, good food, very good service, Japanese, very good sushi but my chicken entree was not edible, all of the chicken was gristle and fat. The service was very good. The French Restaurant was very good, we dined there twice, we liked it so much. The service also very good. Wait times varied but you have the Martini Bar and the lobby bar right there so we relaxed and had a cocktail. I can see how small children would not fare well with the wait. The main buffet is where we had breakfast each day, wonderful selection of items and terrific fresh juices. The Hacienda is also open for lunch. This was my favorite place for this meal, fewer choices than the main buffet but a beach setting! You can opt to have lunch served at your chaise, but I am not a fan of this so we passed.

Drinks, top shelf, you can ask for Grey Goose, it might not be displayed but they do have it. Wonderful perk! The pool bartenders were very creative, Johnathan in particular created two drinks to appeal to our personal preferences, Ivan was very friendly as was Diego.

Our favorite person during breakfast was Wilberth, super friendly and efficient.

The staff in general was friendly, I almost felt there were too few of them at times which really made them hustle.

I did observe one small group while there. They were treated like super VIPs which is what you want when you take a group to a resort.

Things to note, the beach is lovely for a walk, the waves spectacular to watch, definitely can't swim but what a sight! San Jose is very close by, visit if you have time.

Lastly, please tip. We saw very little of this which was disheartening. The staff is working really hard, a few dollars here and there will not be missed by you but it will mean a lot to them.

We would return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your comments and the time you took to write them.

Our main goal is to exceed our guest expectations we are glad that you enjoyed our pools, restaurants, but most of all the service provide by our associates, thank you for the time to mention all of them we will make sure they receive the appropriate recognition.

Your comments and feedback help us to provide better experiences to all our guests. We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,337 - 3,343 of 4,517 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent a week at the Hyatt Ziva in the first week of July. This resort was great for our family of four: rooms were spacious, area was quiet (not for party people), service was outstanding, resort was very well maintained, pools impeccably clean.
The only wrinkle in this otherwise perfect resort would be the wifi: very spotty. Couldn't get reception in our room, but was able to at the main pool, restaurants and lobby. The food was well above your average all inclusive: would highly recommend the Lotus restaurant (Japanese teppanyaki). I would suggest that big groups eat dinner at the a la carte restaurants before 6:30PM to avoid lengthy waits.
I would say the highlight of this resort is their service: simply outstanding. The employees are friendly, helpful and sincere...they truly made us feel pampered and welcome.
If you plan on taking a taxi: $7US will get you to the downtown area of San Jose del Cabo. You could walk there as well, but with the heat, it would be tough and make what is usually 20-25 minutes seem like hours. Mega supermarket across the street, should you require anything the gift shop doesn't sell. It cost about $40US for a one-way cab ride to Cabo San Lucas. Would suggest paying $3US to ride the public bus. There is a shuttle that goes from the hotel to Cabo San Lucas as well: $16US per person, both ways.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hyatt Ziva. Will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: All rooms relatively the same size. Higher floors have better view of the Sea of Cortez. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to host you. We appreciate the time you took to write your comments.

It is great that you enjoy our beautiful pools and facilities. Our restaurants were created to provide all our guests the best experiences, you can enjoy from different tastes in the world in the same place and definitely the Teppanyaki show at the Japanese restaurant is something nobody should miss.

We appreciate your kind words with regards our staff performance, they strive every day to offer the best experience to al our guests. We are looking forward to host you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I waited a few weeks to write a review, to let the sunburn and memories fade, and see what really stuck with me regarding our 10 day stay.
The property is just the right size, not too massive, not too small. Loads of seating areas to congregate or hide away in, loved hanging out at the fire pits at night, even in the heat.
We only ate at the buffets, having a 7-year old, and I would be hard pressed to remember anything I didn't like. The ceviche is fresh and delicious, I'm pretty sure I ate my weight in guac and ceviche. Yum.
Kids were happy with lots of choices, food temps were consistent and I was happy after every meal. Service was efficient and friendly.
We loved the nightly shows, I wish I had learned everyone's names, was happy to meet Fiona, a fellow Brit, she was lovely, along with Carol, Teresa, David and the rest, all so talented! We appreciated them getting the kids/audience to participate. So much fun.
The pool crew kept us in beverages and shade, A++ service.
The high points of our visit was definitely the entertainment crew, Canela, Bryan, Tony, and the others, but Canela in particular. In fact, she and Carla in the Kid's club single-handedly made our visit a 10.
Canela is everywhere, handing out towels, entertaining the kids, mini-disco, singing in the show, running the karaoke, the woman is a machine, and a talented one at that. We were super impressed by her, and emotional when we had to say goodbye. Similarly, Carla made the kids feel welcome, engaged, and they loved her. Happy kids equals happy parents. She was so upbeat and just generally terrific.
The room we were in was 2527, family room, two bath. It has a view of the ocean (lovely) and opened out to the kids side which is really quiet at night. A/C worked perfectly.
We will definitely be back!

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Pdxkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure!! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to make your stay memorable it is great to know that we achieve our main goal to exceed you expectations. We appreciate the time that you took to write your comments.

Thank you for taking the time to enlist part of our staff that are doing a great job and they will receive a mention in our monthly staff meeting.

We are looking forward to have you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva
Managing Director
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great hotel and staff. An excellent trip for the family and for the pocket. Pity about the laborious check in process and the restaurant reservations if you're going in a big group but outside of that a vacation you will thoroughly enjoy!

Room Tip: Get into building Number 3 for the best view and location in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

The principal goal of Hyatt Ziva is to provide the best quality and service to all our guest,
we are proud of receiving comments like yours because this means that we are going
into the correct way .

It was our pleasure to served you.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva
Managing Director
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent 5 days at the Hyatt Ziva in early June 2014. What a great value for an all inclusive. Nice restaurant choices, beautiful and clean pools, close to San Jose if you want to get out of the resort. The room was wonderful and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to host you, thank you for your gentle words. Our privilege location
is one of our advantages, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva
Managing Director
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I decided to take our real honeymoon after two years of marriage and we selected the Hyatt Ziva -- an excellent choice. We had an amazing time, from the moment we checked in with the great services provided by Fernanda at the front desk to the day we left. I have stayed at many all inclusive hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean and the Ziva is truly at the top of my list. Food was very good across the board in all restaurants, services was great by all hotel staff the property is beautiful and we loved our room, comfortable beds, great bath robes, mini fridge stocked daily. I usually do not write reviews but our stay was so great I had to share my experience. The location is just 1 mile from San Jose a great little mexican village with shops and small resturants. The propertly is laid out well lots of people but it never felt crowded. We loved the entire stay!!!

Room Tip: The family room has a small living room and a king size bed. THis was a great room. The rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you, because one of our guest take part of their time to share their
experiences is truly pleasant, we are happy to read them, we really appreciate your comments.
Your comments helps us to keep improving, we are committed to give our guest the best service and quality.

We are looking forward to see you again

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva
Managing Director
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

FIRST understand I am a business traveler who travels weekly and going on a vacation is a true luxury to disconnect from the world. Having traveled the world my expectations are about as high as they can get. They Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is truly way beyond 5 stars! The property is more beautiful than any photo's could ever show! The spa is spectacular! The pools beyond your dreams. The food at the restaurants were absolutely fantastic! We loved the Spanish and the Hacienda steak house it sits directly on the beach viewing the beautiful sea! Jose Castellaanos had my espresso and beverages sat for our breakfast almost before we could sit down. Hugo the incredible pool concierge saw to ever single detail. Claudia Rosas, Marco Portilla and Francisco Silva Meana were nothing less than incredible so say the least and a shout out to David Rincon for his amazing service as well. I wish I could remember ever name of each of the staff to thank them all. We were made to feel like it was truly our home. Beautiful top shelf cocktails and food at every restaurant was delicious. And all the staff made you feel like you were so special and a vip. If you are looking for the ultimate vacation get away in one of the most beautiful parts of the world look no further. I had never done an all inclusive before and they certainly have set the standards for true excellence! We simply can't wait to return to visit our Hyatt Ziva family. Thank your Hyatt for bringing the true dream team together for this property. We miss you all and will be back soon! Don't miss the beautiful fire pits surrounded by water in the evening where you can relax. Cheers to all of our new friends there and don't change a thing!

Room Tip: We liked the main building, but I couldn't imagine there being a bad room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure!! It is pleasant to know that we contributed to make your stay memorable.

We appreciate your comments about our friendly staff, we are happy that you felt more than welcomed during your stay..

We are committed to offer all our guest the best service, our facilities like the Spa that is consider as the best in San Jose del Cabo. We are always attentive to the guest requirements.

Our Food and Beverage team is constantly improving the variety of plates with the best quality and fresh products.

We cannot wait to see you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva
Managing Director
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,822 reviews
3.4 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
672 reviews
3.2 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,427 reviews
5.3 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,021 reviews
6 mi away
Paradisus Los Cabos
Paradisus Los Cabos
#10 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Address: Paseo Malecon Sn Lote 5, Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23405, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £208 - £775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most majestic peninsulas in the world and offering spectacular views of the Sea of Cortes, Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a luxurious all inclusive oasis of sophistication and comfort. This magnificent beachfront resort is minutes from beautiful downtown San Jose del Cabo and features plush accommodations, impressive amenities, impeccable service and is just minutes from the international airport. Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a unique, all inclusive experience that offers a myriad of activities from fine dining options at six a la carte restaurants and two gourmet buffet restaurants, to unique spa treatments, children’s programming and nightly entertainment shows. Enjoy deep-water fishing, scuba diving, world-class golf and many more adventure activities nearby. Or, simply relax and soak up the sun in one of the resort’s five swimming pools and breathtaking beachfront. This luxury resort also features 35,000 square feet of meeting facilities and ideal locations combined with the special touch of event planners who will attend to every last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Barcelo Hotel Los Cabos
Barcelo Resort Los Cabos
The Grand Baja
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing