We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We traveled to the Hyatt Ziva for a long July 4th weekend with extended family and our experience was wonderful from the second we stepped off the airport shuttle. The entire staff was friendly and attentive, the grounds were clean, the food was varied, delicious, and abundant - something for everyone at so many different venues - buffets, restaurants, snack bars. They do have a dress code for the restaurants so be aware of that. It's fairly loose, but you'll want to know what to bring. We loved Capri, the Italian restaurant and Lotus, the Japanese restaurant and everyone was happy with the buffet. The all-inclusive stay makes everything so easy when you are dealing with different age groups and palates. Our generous sized room was decorated in a comfortable contemporary style with a beautiful, large bathroom and an ocean view. Our traveling companions had a two bedroom premier suite that was like a small apartment - perfect for a family with young or old kids. There are several pools that were kept very clean, plenty of chaise lounges, towels, comfortable fire pit areas for cooler nights, bars, shops, a well appointed gym, activities, etc.

The only negatives:

1) We love swimming in the ocean but couldn't because the current is too strong - dangerously strong. That said, the beach is beautiful.
2) The internet was slow and inconsistent, and every time we left our devices for longer than five minutes we would have to log back into the hotel's wi-fi. Sometimes we could reconnect right away, sometimes it was painfully slow, and sometimes it wouldn't work at all. This is great if you really want to disconnect.
3) There is no business center if you aren't staying in a premier room.

The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because when we go to the beach we like to swim and snorkel but the dangerous surf made that impossible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmac1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks, we truly value your comments and the time you took to write them.

We are happy that you enjoy your time with us and that you enjoyed our pools and the variety in our restaurants. We do not recommend to swim in the ocean for safety reasons. Many thanks to mention all the activities that you enjoyed the most, your kind comments are our best motivation.

We cannot wait to host you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,723
    768
    229
    94
    63
See reviews for
1,176
1,538
54
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned, last night, from 8 days at Hyatt Ziva and felt compelled to write my first review on Trip advisor. Due to flight delays we arrived late at night and were relieved to see a beautiful resort....nicer than we had expected. Check in went very smoothly. We were shown our room by the bellman and again were pleased. It was a longer walk than we would have wanted from the main building but by the morning had decided not to change (although we had been afforded the option). A/C was excellent.Room was large and immaculate with a full ocean view.
Because of our late arrival the bellman walked us to the buffet restaurant and made sure that we were seated even though they were closing. The manager then instructed us to relax and take our time, that he had spoken to the chef to make sure we would have fresh food. A good end to a difficult day of travel.
The outstanding aspect of this resort is the staff....hands down. I'll just name a few.
Jonathan at the front desk always made sure that whatever we needed was taken care of promptly and efficiently and he always greeted us with a smile as though he was genuinely happy to see us (I'm sure not always). He was our "go to" guy and we were never disappointed. We were sorry that he was off duty when we went to say goodbye.
Days at this resort revolve around the pools and if you are not comfortable your vacation will be ruined. Chaise lounges and umbrellas are sometimes scarce due to people reserving them for hours without using them. Thank G-d for Hugo the manager of the pools and beach. He always goes out of his way to make sure you have what you need and I even saw him speaking to a couple whom he noticed had removed our umbrella while we were in the pool (I explained to him that we had agreed that they could use it until we needed it). He was always accessible and did not hide from the guests as some in that position might not be blamed for doing. Hugo, job well done.
Our last night we made a purchase at the jewellery store (Jonathan recommended that we do it at the hotel rather some unknown shop in town) and afterwards I realized there was a small error in the bill. when I returned to the shop it was closed. I explained my dilemma to Fernanda at the front desk and that we were leaving before store opening in the A.M.. She took down all my information and notes on the problem and assured me that she would pass on the information and she was sure that the error would be corrected. Sure enough when arrived home last night there was, already a voice mail from the jewellery store waiting for us.The issue is not yet resolved but I have confidence that it will be. It would appear that Jonathan did give us the right advice.
How does Daniel at the Coral maintain that enthusiasm after so long. He dazzled us.
When my wife mentioned to Ruben at Bon Vivant (in my absence) that I would probably enjoy chocolate ice cream for desert, ignoring my wife's protests, he actually went to another restaurant to get it, talk about "beyond the call of duty"
Also much appreciated was no timeshare...what a relief.
We had read on Trip Advisor that drinks were watered down....not so!!
Also many complaints about WiFi which was of great concern to me. I can say that it was not perfect but we were able to access regularly and fairly easily even in our room so maybe something was done to rectify the problem.
We had turndown service after our first full day which was wonderful. After the beach and showers and relaxing on the bed before dinner the room needs refreshing but sadly it never happened again.
I'm sure had we requested it it would have been done but it would be nice without asking.
The grounds are well manicured.
The staff in general goes out of their way to be friendly and accommodating.
The shows in the evening were fun enough for that type of resort.
Needless to say we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The main building would be recommended especially for seniors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your kind comments and the time you took to write your comments.

We are pleased to know that we create a memorable experience and that you felt like home, your completely satisfaction is our main goal. Many thanks for the time you took to mention the staff that contributed to make your stay more than perfect, your comments are the best motivation.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I along with our 3 year old son spent 5 nights here mid July. We booked through Nikki at Tripguy.com. This is the 2nd trip that we have booked with her and we just love the personal attention she has given us. I definitely count on her expertise for all our travel needs and recommend her to everyone I know!

Resort - The resort is beautiful! There are 3 pools and a kids splash area. My son loved the splash area! The kids area was the only place to get a chair by the pool unless you woke up early and "reserved" your spots at the 2 main pools. The kids area was great except there was not much shade and barely any service. Someone would come by every now and then, but there was no one assigned to the pool area. You would have to leave the area in order to get a drink or something to eat. The service at the main pools were so-so.

Rooms - We had a family suite which included a living area with a trundle, 2 bathrooms, a king bed in the bedroom and a small balcony over looking the main pools. The room was spacious and always cool. It does show signs of age though. The toilet in one of the bathrooms did not flush well. Housekeeping came once a day and did a great job cleaning up. The minibar was only refilled once during our 5 night stay. I would have liked it to be restocked more often, especially the bottled water since it is used to brush our teeth as well as drinking during the hot weather. We ended up getting bottles of water around the resort and from room service every chance we got.

Restaurants - We only ate at the buffet for breakfast. The selection was great but the food was just okay. The cooks at the omelette station are not very good. The service could use some improvement. I love the fact that no reservations are needed for the a la carte restaurants. The Japanese, Spanish and French restaurants were great. The teppanyaki show was great and the chef cooked the meats just right. Carlos at the Spanish restaurant was the best server we encountered! The paella is excellent! The desserts at the French restaurant are to die for! We ate at Hacienda (the steakhouse) for lunch and dinner. Both times, our steaks were charred. My husband use to be a chef and he noticed the flame on the grill is too high and the cooks were leaving the meat directly on the flame too long which resulted in the charring of the steaks. We also ate at the Italian restaurant which was the worst. I liked the appetizer table they had but the service and food were bad. Our server never refilled our drinks until asked several times and the food tasted like butter was poured all over the dishes before they went out. For room service, get the ham sandwich! They also brought warm milk for my son which was greatly appreciated.

Entertainment - There is a kids show at 8:00pm and a main show at 9:00pm every night. The kids show is entertaining. They do dances, songs and get the kids up on stage. The main show varies every night. The Everything show on Sunday nights is horrible! The first part consisted of a very bad game of name that tune that involved people having a bottle of tequilla forced down their throats when they answered wrong...the same bottle traveled from person to person...gross! We left. We did watch Fantasia on Monday night which was pretty good and entertaining for the kids.

Kids Club - I took my son to the kids club every morning after breakfast for about an hour. The actual kid's club is a bit small and could use an update. They had a lot of sand toys but not too many other toys for younger kids. Carla at the kid's club is great! She does arts and crafts and games with the kids. I think my son developed a small crush on her during the time we were there. :-)

Warning - My husband ate something at dinner one night that caused him to have an allergic reaction. It was minor but we were not able to find allergy medicine anywhere. The gift shop did not carry any Benedryl or Claritin...they did have Viagra though =P We called the front desk, concierge and room service with no luck. The concierge and room service basically said they dont have it and good bye. The front desk was much nicer and offered to look around but could not find any either. Luckily, it was just a minor allergy and he was able to sleep it off but I found it a bit ridiculous that there was no allergy medicine available any where at the resort.

As a family resort, I feel that it can add a little more to cater to the young guests and families with young guests. It would have been nice to have a step stool in the family suite for my toddler. We did not except them to have one so we brought our own. As mentioned before, there is not much shade or service by the splash pads and kids pool for parents who want to sit and watch their kids play in the splash area. Many times at the restaurants, the servers did not give my son a place setting or offer him drinks. We had to ask to get him set up every time. They also did not have booster seats (although they do have high chairs). Sometimes it felt like the little guests were being ignored which should not be the case for a family resort.

Overall, we had a great time. The lack of personal service is disappointing but nothing beats swimming all day and enjoying a nice dinner and show at night. It is a great value and beautiful place to stay.

PS: The Wifi sucks!! Unelss you are in certain parts of the lobby or find that one sweet spot in your room....don't count on being connected.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LovesVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Your perceptions with regards to our service help us to continue improving, thank you for taking a moment to share your comments.

We enjoy reading about the services that were comfortable for you, many thanks for your feedback show us the things that we need to correct in order to provide the best experience to all our guests, we will do and effort to please your suggestions. We are happy to learn that you had a great time and that your children enjoyed the water park.

We would be grateful if you give us another opportunity to host you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piscataway, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This location was perfect for couples, family and singles. I enjoyed every aspect of my trip. My family and ate good, great entertainment and the customer service was wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to everyone that's ready to relax and have fun.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a balcony room facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Myriam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for your comments and the time you took to write them.

Our priority is to be attentive to all our guests requirements, providing the best service always with a smile. We are proud to learn that your experience in our Resort was memorable and that you enjoyed our service and facilities.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We spent a week dining and relaxing at the Hyatt Ziva using the all inclusive option. The property was well maintained and lived up to the pictures I saw online before arriving. The food was very good for an all inclusive. We enjoyed ourselves and plan to make a return long weekend getaway. Props to my man Rueben who waited on us in the French restaurant. He was the ultimate professional and gave us fantastic service.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the Ocean View Jr. Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time during your recent stay.

We enjoy providing a wide variety of plates, drinks, facilities and activities for all the family members, everyone will find an option to have a great time. Our staff is always attentive to fulfill your requirements with the best attitude and service, Ruben will receive a mention for his performance.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Booked here to celebrate 2 friends birthday. The resort was beautiful. Food at the buffet restaurants for breakfast and lunch were very good. The a la carte restaurants were excellent, especially the Italian. We spent 4 nights here and we did go off the property for city tours and explorations. If you want to just chill, this place is perfect. Night life is non existent, no place to hear good music and dance, that was a bit of a let down. It was close to downtown San Jose, which allowed me to go for a run through the town. It's far from Cabo San Lucas if you want the night life. However, we made the best of it and had a really good time. I'm would only stay here again if I want to be in bed by 10:00pm ok, 11:00pm. Great for folks with kids not for a younger crowd.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience during your last visit.

Los Cabos is wonderful place with beautiful sceneries and a wide variety of activities to enjoy with your family. In Hyatt Ziva we love to offer all our guest memorable experiences with the best service, many thanks for your comments, they help us to be better every day.

We hope you give us the opportunity to host you in the near future.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was the perfect honeymoon spot, but also I can see why many people bring their families. SUCH amazing food and hospitality. We had an amazing room with a great ocean view. For everything we received, the price was SO good! Everyone who worked at the resort were so friendly (we loved Super Saul!!!). All in all, we will be back again!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

There are no words to express our appreciation for such special review, many thanks for your preference.

Our beautiful and comfortable facilities create unique and romantic atmospheres adequate to celebrate special occasions like your honeymoon, we are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful experience, that you enjoyed the quality and variety of our facilities and the hospitality of our associates specially from Saul.

We are looking forward to host you in the near future.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,710 reviews
11.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
3.2 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,852 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4,131 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Property: Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Address: Paseo Malecon Sn Lote 5, Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23405, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most majestic peninsulas in the world and offering spectacular views of the Sea of Cortes, Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a luxurious all inclusive oasis of sophistication and comfort. This magnificent beachfront resort is minutes from beautiful downtown San Jose del Cabo and features plush accommodations, impressive amenities, impeccable service and is just minutes from the international airport. Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a unique, all inclusive experience that offers a myriad of activities from fine dining options at six a la carte restaurants and two gourmet buffet restaurants, to unique spa treatments, children’s programming and nightly entertainment shows. Enjoy deep-water fishing, scuba diving, world-class golf and many more adventure activities nearby. Or, simply relax and soak up the sun in one of the resort’s five swimming pools and breathtaking beachfront. This luxury resort also features 35,000 square feet of meeting facilities and ideal locations combined with the special touch of event planners who will attend to every last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Barcelo Hotel Los Cabos
Barcelo Resort Los Cabos
The Grand Baja
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing