We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Royal Decameron Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marisol Boutique Hotel(San Jose del Cabo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Real Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mar Adentro(San Jose del Cabo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Royal Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Solaris Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cabo Azul Resort(San Jose del Cabo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,970)
Filter reviews
4,970 results
Traveller rating
3,456
995
297
132
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,456
995
297
132
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoco locofrench restaurantadult poolmartini barcoffee housebon vivantla plazasports bartacosall inclusive resortclub levelmain poolswim up roomlos cabosbeautiful resortkids cluba la carte restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,685 - 3,690 of 4,970 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Ziva from June 30 – July 4. We’ve vacationed numerous times in / near Cancun having great experiences and thought we would try Cabo since it is closer. We decided on the Hyatt based on positive TripAdvisor reviews about the hotel being family-friendly and having good food, the familiar Hyatt brand was also a plus.

The good:
- The resort was beautiful and clean.
- The room was nice and spacious, with a great bathroom and lots of storage space.
- Housekeeping always did a nice job cleaning and were always very friendly and helpful.
- Service at the dinner restaurants was always top-notch.
- A large variety of dinner options.
- Pool was large and the perfect temperature.
- The resort put on a number activities, but they were never over the top or obnoxiously loud.

The ok:
- The only real option for breakfast and lunch was one buffet. The hours weren’t great (lunch started at 12:30pm, which for people with kids was too late, there was always a line waiting for them to open and they mostly opened around 10min late) and service was completely hit or miss. If you had a good server, service was great. Otherwise, you were completely left alone. We found ourselves getting high chairs, drinks and utensils on many occasions.
- Food was what you would expect from a buffet, usually good, but never great.
- The poolside bar was nice, but poolside drink service was nonexistent.
- One major reason that we settled on the hotel was because it had a splash pad, which my son enjoyed. It’s pretty big and has a small infant pool nearby, but both need some real attention. The splash pad had paint peeling everywhere and would leave paint chips all over my son’s feet and shoes. Also, it wasn’t a soft surface, which left us worried about him slipping and falling on concrete.
- Room service was usually decent, but on one occasion they never brought our order.

The terrible:
- My husband got terrible food poisoning. On the third day of our vacation, my husband woke up feeling sick and spent about 12 hours in the bathroom before going to the emergency doctor on property. He was given two bags of IV fluids and spent over five hours being attended to by the doctor and nurse. That night, he went back and then went back again the following morning. In total, he was sick for over a week. The doctor and nurse were both very nice, but we had to pay for everything ourselves (partially via credit card and partially in cash – which we had to pull out at the hotel ATM and incur crazy fees) before he could leave the doctors office. The doctor said that the food poisoning was most likely from something he ate while at the resort (we hadn’t left at all). We called the front desk to let them know and they brushed it off. I spoke with the manager and he did the same thing. He was rude and said since no one else had complained, that it must have been my husband’s fault and they weren’t responsible. He rattled off a bunch of food safety certificates that clearly mean nothing at this point. Our trip (and the following week) was completely ruined, and the least they could do is actually apologize. We got nothing reimbursed (medical, hotel or otherwise) and the cost of our trip more than doubled.
- We found the whole front desk staff to be going through the motions / rude and there was no communication between employees. During check-in, the employee acted annoyed that we were there. We asked for a late check-out so that my son could take a nap before we left for the airport and he said we could stay in the room until 1:30pm, and to call day-of to see if the time could be extended even longer. We called that morning and they said that we had to be out by noon (with a sick husband and exhausted toddler). I was shocked that after everything, that they least they could do was let us stay in the room as promised, but I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised.

Even without the food poisoning, I would not return to this hotel. The property was fine enough, but we’ve been much nicer resorts and the staff was completely hit or miss, but mostly a miss.

They were big on Trip Advisor reminding us all the time with cards to write reviews, which means this post most likely will get some response. But honestly I’d rather we be treated properly at the resort than on a review site.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank KMBC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I want to thank you for your loyalty and preference to Hyatt Resorts.

We are very sorry for the non intentional inconveniences that you experienced during your recent stay and the fact that you could not enjoyed your time as you were planned, as our Manager on Duty explain you we have been certified with CRISTAL check safety first, this certification inspects the optimal handling and preparation from all our food and beverages with the highest hygienic standards, providing tranquility and security to all our guests and associates, during your stay we did not have any food poisoning or similar report from any other guest.

I appreciate you bring this matter to my attention, many thanks for your kind comments with regards our facilities and the service of our associates.

I hope you give us another opportunity to host you with the level of service that you expect form Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Overall, we liked the hotel, amenities, food and staff. The hotel needs to be more specific that there is no swimming in the sea adjacent to the hotel - this caught us by surprise. There should be a computer where guests can print out airline boarding passes without having to pay $1/page. Internet service is very slow and extremely frustrating to use. The staff really makes this hotel a success, great attitudes all around, and very helpful and eager to please. Overall, the ala cart restaurants were very good, in order of what we liked most: Italian, Spanish, and French (good food, but very small portions), Japanese (the teppanyake was a disappointment). We wanted to eat in the Steakhouse, but it was only outdoor seating and given the high temperature and humidity, we didn't try it. The buffets were average, a lot of the food was room temperature or warm at best.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We enjoy reading about the activities and services that you liked the most. Thank you for taking a moment to share your comments.

Our staff is always attentive to please all our guests’ requirements with the best attitude and a sincere smile, we truly appreciate your comments with regards our associate’s performance, your kind words are our best motivation and help us to continue improving. We have the best Food and Beverage Team that are in constantly innovating to satisfy all tastes.

Thank you again for the opportunity to host you.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

When we first arrived we were in awe. Lobby, staff and all were so amazing. We only had one problem, when we arrived the room wasn't ready. We paid for a ocean front room with a balcony with 2 beds. They tried to put us in the family/kids area with no balcony. Then tried to put in another room with one bed. That wasn't gonna work. Went back to registration and had to express our deep disappointment and unhappiness with there choice of rooms for us. Then they finally gave us what we had paid for. The key to booking this is to insist on main bldg or bldg 3. The others need to be renovated. Other than that confusion, awesome place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ec1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to host you, many thanks for your comments.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced with the suite, our Front Desk Manager is aware of your comments and the proper actions will be taken to avoid this occur again, since your comfort and enjoyment is our priority we want to exceed all our guest expectations.

I really appreciate your recommendations and kind words to describe our service and facilities, we cannot wait to host you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It was our first time at the Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos and we absolutely lovedit. We traveled with our two daughters and upgraded to a swim up suite and it was very much worth the upgrade! Loved the hotel. Customer service was excellent! Brian Adrian was amazing and made our stay so much fun! Miss Carla in the Kids Club was just as amazing with our daughters! They asked to go to kids club! Definitely recommend this resort! The rooms were clean, turn down service was consistent and our mini bar was restocked every day! The food was good but some of the restaurants could be improved. The customer service was awesome! Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Swim up room is great! There are two buidlings with swim up rooms. One connects to the adult only pool and the other is better for kids. Doesn't connect to any pool but the main pool is just a few feet away. Waiters still take your order for drinks and snacks even if you stay in that pool. It's sunny in the morning and shady in the afternoon which is great. The pool is heated all day! Loved the hotel!! : )
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank helenotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Your perceptions with regards to our services help us to keep improving to achieve our main goal, many thanks for taking the time to share your comments.

In Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos you can spend enjoyable and relaxing time with the wide variety of activities that we have and the comfort of our facilities, we appreciate your kind comments about our entertainment team they strive every day to make all our guests very happy.

We will be waiting for you with open arms.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This resort was amazing! Beautiful beaches, fantastic room with a view, excellent food and great service. Loved the spa as well! All of the restaurants we dined at were fantastic. Loved the idea of an all inclusive resort. Didn't have to worry about carrying money around.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room with a view. Amazing!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kimberly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our appreciation for your kind comments, your value words helps us to be better every day.

Live the experience of our restaurants, pool and walk through our grounds is something we are sure all our guests will remain for a long time, we are happy to know that you had an excellent time with us.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews