We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort - Terrible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort - Terrible Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hyatt Ziva is a beautiful resort that is nicely landscaped and groomed, very clean, and great pools! However....they certainly need to work on their customer service.

The staff seemed quite bitter and almost seemed "put out" when they had to serve us. The chip on their shoulder got old fast! After all we did pay to visit their hotel. The waiters at the pool bar were annoyed with everyone all the time. They made the drinks so sweet they were practically unbearable to drink.

The restaurant food wasn't bad (if u like buffets) and the kids were happy with the choices however the meat was not very good and either was the cream and butter. The teppanyaki grill was great and the fried rice was fantastic!

Another huge issue I had with hyatt Ziva is how the whole place shut down at 8 o'clock and their was NOTHING to do. They do have a show going each night but that gets boring after the first day. A little live music and a dance floor down by the pools would have been nice. Or just anything to liven the place up when the sun goes down.

I would only give this place a 3 star mostly for their bad attitudes and mediocre food.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynners81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the time you took to share your comments, your perceptions with regards to our service help us to continue improving.

Definitely the perceptions that you have from our associates is not the one that we want to provide, I appreciate you bring this matter to my notice and we will take the proper actions to improve the quality and service, our main goal is to exceed all our guests expectations and your feedback help us to achieve it.

We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,417
    690
    209
    85
    62
See reviews for
1,032
1,389
48
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

First time going to Cabo. The Hyatt was a perfect resort all-inclusive resort. The staff was very friendly. Spent a lot of time around the pool. There was always someone asking if you wanted any food or drinks(top alcohol brands )and never pushy. Coco Loco also had some for the best shrimp tacos i have ever had. The rooms were very nice as expected for a top end resort. There is plenty of different restaurants to choose from which is sometimes hard to find at the all-inclusive resorts. Everything from Japanese, French, Italian, Spanish, to a buffet.( some of the Restaurants do have a dress code so be aware) There were plenty of activities to do during the day that got everyone engaged in. Everything from trivia to dance lessons to the Water Aerobics. I took a water aerobics class with Maria. She made the class fun and exciting for everyone. I got partnered with her for some of the demonstrations and she remembered me for the entire time i stayed. (which was very nice and different then other places).

All in all a great resort for family or adults. Just make sure to bring your ones cause you will want to be tipping the servers cause they truly deserve it.

There was only two cons one is that it is about 20 min cab ride from downtown cabo where the nightlife is. And there other was you couldn't go in the ocean because of the rip tides.
But you won't want to leave the resort or pools when your there

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliteleadrr040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the Hyatt Ziva Associates we want to thank you for your kind comments.

We definitely make the all inclusive experience a unique one, all our facilities were created to make you feel comfortable and like home. We appreciate your comments about the service provided by our entertainment staff they are committed to offer all our guests the most enjoyable time.

We are looking forward to host you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Ziva from June 30 – July 4. We’ve vacationed numerous times in / near Cancun having great experiences and thought we would try Cabo since it is closer. We decided on the Hyatt based on positive TripAdvisor reviews about the hotel being family-friendly and having good food, the familiar Hyatt brand was also a plus.

The good:
- The resort was beautiful and clean.
- The room was nice and spacious, with a great bathroom and lots of storage space.
- Housekeeping always did a nice job cleaning and were always very friendly and helpful.
- Service at the dinner restaurants was always top-notch.
- A large variety of dinner options.
- Pool was large and the perfect temperature.
- The resort put on a number activities, but they were never over the top or obnoxiously loud.

The ok:
- The only real option for breakfast and lunch was one buffet. The hours weren’t great (lunch started at 12:30pm, which for people with kids was too late, there was always a line waiting for them to open and they mostly opened around 10min late) and service was completely hit or miss. If you had a good server, service was great. Otherwise, you were completely left alone. We found ourselves getting high chairs, drinks and utensils on many occasions.
- Food was what you would expect from a buffet, usually good, but never great.
- The poolside bar was nice, but poolside drink service was nonexistent.
- One major reason that we settled on the hotel was because it had a splash pad, which my son enjoyed. It’s pretty big and has a small infant pool nearby, but both need some real attention. The splash pad had paint peeling everywhere and would leave paint chips all over my son’s feet and shoes. Also, it wasn’t a soft surface, which left us worried about him slipping and falling on concrete.
- Room service was usually decent, but on one occasion they never brought our order.

The terrible:
- My husband got terrible food poisoning. On the third day of our vacation, my husband woke up feeling sick and spent about 12 hours in the bathroom before going to the emergency doctor on property. He was given two bags of IV fluids and spent over five hours being attended to by the doctor and nurse. That night, he went back and then went back again the following morning. In total, he was sick for over a week. The doctor and nurse were both very nice, but we had to pay for everything ourselves (partially via credit card and partially in cash – which we had to pull out at the hotel ATM and incur crazy fees) before he could leave the doctors office. The doctor said that the food poisoning was most likely from something he ate while at the resort (we hadn’t left at all). We called the front desk to let them know and they brushed it off. I spoke with the manager and he did the same thing. He was rude and said since no one else had complained, that it must have been my husband’s fault and they weren’t responsible. He rattled off a bunch of food safety certificates that clearly mean nothing at this point. Our trip (and the following week) was completely ruined, and the least they could do is actually apologize. We got nothing reimbursed (medical, hotel or otherwise) and the cost of our trip more than doubled.
- We found the whole front desk staff to be going through the motions / rude and there was no communication between employees. During check-in, the employee acted annoyed that we were there. We asked for a late check-out so that my son could take a nap before we left for the airport and he said we could stay in the room until 1:30pm, and to call day-of to see if the time could be extended even longer. We called that morning and they said that we had to be out by noon (with a sick husband and exhausted toddler). I was shocked that after everything, that they least they could do was let us stay in the room as promised, but I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised.

Even without the food poisoning, I would not return to this hotel. The property was fine enough, but we’ve been much nicer resorts and the staff was completely hit or miss, but mostly a miss.

They were big on Trip Advisor reminding us all the time with cards to write reviews, which means this post most likely will get some response. But honestly I’d rather we be treated properly at the resort than on a review site.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KMBC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I want to thank you for your loyalty and preference to Hyatt Resorts.

We are very sorry for the non intentional inconveniences that you experienced during your recent stay and the fact that you could not enjoyed your time as you were planned, as our Manager on Duty explain you we have been certified with CRISTAL check safety first, this certification inspects the optimal handling and preparation from all our food and beverages with the highest hygienic standards, providing tranquility and security to all our guests and associates, during your stay we did not have any food poisoning or similar report from any other guest.

I appreciate you bring this matter to my attention, many thanks for your kind comments with regards our facilities and the service of our associates.

I hope you give us another opportunity to host you with the level of service that you expect form Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Overall, we liked the hotel, amenities, food and staff. The hotel needs to be more specific that there is no swimming in the sea adjacent to the hotel - this caught us by surprise. There should be a computer where guests can print out airline boarding passes without having to pay $1/page. Internet service is very slow and extremely frustrating to use. The staff really makes this hotel a success, great attitudes all around, and very helpful and eager to please. Overall, the ala cart restaurants were very good, in order of what we liked most: Italian, Spanish, and French (good food, but very small portions), Japanese (the teppanyake was a disappointment). We wanted to eat in the Steakhouse, but it was only outdoor seating and given the high temperature and humidity, we didn't try it. The buffets were average, a lot of the food was room temperature or warm at best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We enjoy reading about the activities and services that you liked the most. Thank you for taking a moment to share your comments.

Our staff is always attentive to please all our guests’ requirements with the best attitude and a sincere smile, we truly appreciate your comments with regards our associate’s performance, your kind words are our best motivation and help us to continue improving. We have the best Food and Beverage Team that are in constantly innovating to satisfy all tastes.

Thank you again for the opportunity to host you.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

When we first arrived we were in awe. Lobby, staff and all were so amazing. We only had one problem, when we arrived the room wasn't ready. We paid for a ocean front room with a balcony with 2 beds. They tried to put us in the family/kids area with no balcony. Then tried to put in another room with one bed. That wasn't gonna work. Went back to registration and had to express our deep disappointment and unhappiness with there choice of rooms for us. Then they finally gave us what we had paid for. The key to booking this is to insist on main bldg or bldg 3. The others need to be renovated. Other than that confusion, awesome place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ec1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to host you, many thanks for your comments.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced with the suite, our Front Desk Manager is aware of your comments and the proper actions will be taken to avoid this occur again, since your comfort and enjoyment is our priority we want to exceed all our guest expectations.

I really appreciate your recommendations and kind words to describe our service and facilities, we cannot wait to host you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

It was our first time at the Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos and we absolutely lovedit. We traveled with our two daughters and upgraded to a swim up suite and it was very much worth the upgrade! Loved the hotel. Customer service was excellent! Brian Adrian was amazing and made our stay so much fun! Miss Carla in the Kids Club was just as amazing with our daughters! They asked to go to kids club! Definitely recommend this resort! The rooms were clean, turn down service was consistent and our mini bar was restocked every day! The food was good but some of the restaurants could be improved. The customer service was awesome! Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Swim up room is great! There are two buidlings with swim up rooms. One connects to the adult only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank helenotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Your perceptions with regards to our services help us to keep improving to achieve our main goal, many thanks for taking the time to share your comments.

In Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos you can spend enjoyable and relaxing time with the wide variety of activities that we have and the comfort of our facilities, we appreciate your kind comments about our entertainment team they strive every day to make all our guests very happy.

We will be waiting for you with open arms.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This resort was amazing! Beautiful beaches, fantastic room with a view, excellent food and great service. Loved the spa as well! All of the restaurants we dined at were fantastic. Loved the idea of an all inclusive resort. Didn't have to worry about carrying money around.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room with a view. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our appreciation for your kind comments, your value words helps us to be better every day.

Live the experience of our restaurants, pool and walk through our grounds is something we are sure all our guests will remain for a long time, we are happy to know that you had an excellent time with us.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
16.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#11 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
11.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
5.8 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Property: Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Address: Paseo Malecon Sn Lote 5, Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23405, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most majestic peninsulas in the world and offering spectacular views of the Sea of Cortes, Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a luxurious all inclusive oasis of sophistication and comfort. This magnificent beachfront resort is minutes from beautiful downtown San Jose del Cabo and features plush accommodations, impressive amenities, impeccable service and is just minutes from the international airport. Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a unique, all inclusive experience that offers a myriad of activities from fine dining options at six a la carte restaurants and two gourmet buffet restaurants, to unique spa treatments, children’s programming and nightly entertainment shows. Enjoy deep-water fishing, scuba diving, world-class golf and many more adventure activities nearby. Or, simply relax and soak up the sun in one of the resort’s five swimming pools and breathtaking beachfront. This luxury resort also features 35,000 square feet of meeting facilities and ideal locations combined with the special touch of event planners who will attend to every last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelbag, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Barcelo Hotel Los Cabos
Barcelo Resort Los Cabos
The Grand Baja
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing