We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets the big things right with some room for improvemetn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We just returned from a 6-night stay at the Hyatt Ziva, and overall, we had a great time. As the title says, the hotel gets the big things right, from the room to the food to the overall facilities. We would definitely come back.

There are definitely areas where the hotel can improve, especially evening activities and some aspects of service and efficiency. The resort was a great value for the rates, though we stayed in the off-season, so the imperfections may stand out more during the much more expensive high season. Again though, on the whole, we loved our trip and would highly recommend the property.

Rooms:
- We had a standard king room that was supposed to have a garden view, but since we were on the 6th floor, we ended up having a fantastic view of the Gulf of California. Definitely try to get a room on the 5th floor or above if you can unless you plan on going back and forth to your room a lot (ie. you have kids and a stroller). The elevators are very small and there are not enough of them, so going up and down can be annoying. The room itself was very large for a standard room and had a great bed. I usually have a hard time sleeping in hotels, but the bed and pillows were very comfortable, which made the trip a lot more relaxing. We also loved the shower and whirlpool tub. We had two minor issues with the room. One was that the batteries powering the lock died and locked us out once, but housekeeping fixed it quickly. The other was that the only settings we could figure out with the air conditioning was very cold or off. Since it was so hot out, we didn't mind full blast AC except when we first woke up, but on cooler days, it could get annoying. We were very happy with the room.

Food: For an all-inclusive, the food was very good. We tried all but the French restaurant for dinner. We liked the Spanish restaurant the best (try the paella). It also was not very crowded. The tepanyaki service was also fun and very good. Just be sure to get there early as it has a huge wait. Even the buffets were good, especially if you went to the stations where they make your food fresh. We liked the smaller buffet next to the beach for lunch. The snack bar by the pool had great shrimp tacos. You do have to plan though if you don't want to go to the restaurants right when they open at 6. You basically need to go down about 45 minutes before you eat and get your name on the waiting list. You can't waltz in at 8 and expect to sit down, especially for the most popular places. It's annoying if you do an excursion and get back late. For breakfast, we usually ordered room service to avoid the buffet lines. They were always on time and the food was good enough, though it won't be piping hot. They did make a mistake on one order, but fixed it within 15 minutes. Drinks were typical watered down all-inclusive style. It was also annoying that sodas were almost always flat. The desserts also were not great, and the resort could really use a dessert and coffee shop.

Facilities: The pools are huge and were very warm. People do 'save' chairs at the main pools with towels first thing in the morning, which is annoying. The adult pool was very quiet and also very large. The grounds were generally very clean. The beach is also very clean, though it's too bad you can't swim there. We didn't use the spa/fitness center, and like another commenter, thought that the kids pool and play area could use a bit of an upgrade (we didn't have kids, but did take a look at it). Internet access was poor, especially in the room. If you need to stay connected, this is not the place.

Activities/atmosphere/service: The resort caters primarily to families and couples and is in the quieter San Jose del Cabo, so it is not a party place. Organized activities are fairly limited. We did enjoy the trivia game. The weather was great and we mostly hung out by the pool, so the limited activities didn't matter much, but it could be pretty boring if you get a rainy day. We also don't like the booze crowd, so the quieter atmosphere was a plus. However, the resort really needs better night activities. The musical shows are only ok. They could use more variety, like comedy, magic, games, etc. There just isn't much to do at night other than hang out at the fire pits.

We found the employees around the resort and in the restaurants very friendly and accommodating. We don't have specific names, but we felt that the employees really wanted to provide a good experience. The only exception was the check in/check out process, which is slow. It was also good that there isn't pressure to tip every single time to get decent service. I did tip, but it was more because I felt people deserved it, not as a requirement. Also, we didn't get the club package and thankfully, this isn't a place where you can only enjoy it with the upgrade. We hope it stays that way.

There are a lot of people at the front desk, but only a few who actually do anything. Also, the concierges were not as friendly as we would have liked. However, when my wife left her cell phone in the lobby when we left for the airport, they were able to find it, put in a cab and get it to us in time. That is great service.

Room Tip: Get a high floor. You should have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for the time you took to write your comments.

Your feedback helps us to know what we are doing correct and what we need to improve, we are aware of your opinion and suggestions and the appropriate actions will be taken, we appreciate your sincere words. We are delighted to learn that you enjoy our facilities but most of all the friendliness and service of our staff.

We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt ZIva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,477 - 3,483 of 4,763 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 or 5 nights over Easter weekend and we enjoyed every second of it! We got the least expensive room with a king size bed. The room was HUGE, it had a nice living area, porch, and the bathroom had a bathtub and separate area of the shower, and another for the toilet. All clean and new.

We were worried about it not being an adults-only hotel. There is actually and adults-only pool, which was where we spent most of our time. It has its own bar and lots of lounge chairs and beds. It was quiet and pleasant.

We were also worried about the quality of the food, and I think that's what makes this hotel stand out from the rest. Most people I know who stay at all-inclusives in Mexico complain about the food. We're food snobs, and we really enjoyed all restaurants, and we went to all.

The service was also really great. Room service was a bit slow (took us 1h to get dinner, but it was midnight), but the service in the restaurant and pool areas were incredible.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MMS135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We will be waiting for you with open arms, we are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful experience.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments, it is great to know that you enjoyed our rooms, pool, the variety of all our restaurants, our entertainment but most of all the service that we provide you. In our property you will find activities and areas for all ages.

We cannot wait to host you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We travel mostly to Europe or Hawaii on our vacations, so we don't usually have the option to stay at an all inclusive. So glad we decided to try it on a four day trip to Cabo. A pleasant experience from beginning to end.

The open air lobby is beautiful, with a great ocean view. The check-in process was was quick. We are platinum members, so we went to the desk on the right and avoided the lines. Kevin checked us in and we decided to upgrade to a swim-up room by the adult pool. Only a 30 minute wait till the room was available. Not bad since we arrived early - around noon. We were given bracelets, so we could enjoy the amenities until our room was ready. Claudia and Marco introduced themselves and made us feel welcome.

The swim-up room was fabulous. It was great being able to hang out in the pool and be so close to our room. There is not a swim-up bar at the adult pool, but servers were continuously walking through the area. Laura at the poolside bar really stood out with her exceptional customer service. We never had a long wait for food or drinks at the pool.

Our favorite restaurants were the Japanese (great tuna roll) - we dined there twice, and the French. We also enjoyed the Hacienda Steakhouse by the beach for lunch. For breakfast, the buffets have a wide variety of choices (the two connect). We really liked the made to order omelets and the green smoothie.

We are looking forward to our next stay at the Hyatt Ziva.

Room Tip: For a quiet stay, get a room by the adult pool. The swim-up rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

There are no words to express our appreciation for your preference and loyalty, many thanks for taking a moment to share your comments.

As a Gold Passport member your feedback is very important for us, we want to create the most memorable moments to all our guest. It is pleasant to learn that you enjoy this beautiful destination and sceneries from our Resort. The Swim Up Suites are the most preferred of our guest because you can walk from your terrace directly to the pool. We are happy that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to host you again with the best service.

Best regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The good:
-Beautiful Resort!
-Air Conditioning in the rooms was the best we've ever had in Mexico.
-Anabel at the adult pool was phenomenal. She was always ready with drinks & a friendly smile before we even had a chance to ask! There isn't a swim-up bar at this pool, but it is MUCH quieter, more relaxing & the service was faster than at the swim-up. The whole staff at the adult pool (but especially Anabel) deserve great kudos.
-The rooms were very nice
-Lotus (Japanese) and the Italian restaurants were our favorite. The French was also good.

Some suggestions:
-The a/c in the specialty restaurants need some work. Especially the Italian.
-The front desk tried to give us a room with a double bed, instead of the king that we booked. He quickly took care of it when we said something, but the other couple that was with us were not quite as lucky. They ended up with 2 doubles pushed together.
-The lack of a reservation process at the restaurants was a bit unusual.

A note on other reviews:
-We were there 5 nights, and experienced no flies on on any food or buffets (even the pool bar)
-We never saw a single issue with chairs or towels. We always got up & to the chairs in the water of the adult pool, but looking around we always saw empty chairs, padded chairs, etc. Sure, the ones in the water were taken first, but that's not surprising.
-They ran out of towels one time. For about 15 min. Then someone brought us some. They also started taking our room number whenever we got towels.
-There seemed to be plenty of umbrellas and shade.

Tips:
The Rancho Tour to Cabo San Lucas, the Arch & Lover's Beach was well worth the $75 each. Our tour guide, Gus was amazing. This was the highlight of our trip. So beautiful.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your preference and the time you took to share your comments.

Your perceptions with regards to our service help us to continue improving, thank you for enlist the things that you enjoyed the most and your suggestions to achieve our goals. We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time with us.

We will be grateful with another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I was extremely disappointed with the level of service especially from the concierge named Marco. we were told we could make reservations at the onsite restaurants through Marco which we did, both times the restaurants had no idea about the reservations though they confirmed them via voicemail left in the room. It was a 50/50 experience with the wait staff during buffet meals - 50% of the time, we had great service but the other 50% was terrible. The wait staff had no motivation to provide good service. The buffet dining room was also full of flies and we refused to sit near the windows because of them. Our room 3460 had a broken lamp, the room was constantly damp due to the air conditioning not seeming to work at optimum conditions. I will never return to this hotel again and as a platinum member of Hyatt passport, I expected much more than I received.

Room Tip: would not recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank skimcobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We truly value your preference and loyalty to Hyatt Hotels, thank you for taking a moment to share your comments.

As a Gold Passport member your comments are very important to achieve our goals, your feedback is very important for us since helps us to know what we are doing right and what we need to improve. I truly regret that we were not able to accomplish your expectations during your last visit. We are aware of the details that you mentioned and we will continue working to avoid these occur again.

We hope to have another opportunity to host you.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our first vacation traveling with two children (ages 3 and 8 months), and I wanted something easy and relaxing. I scoured tripadvisor to pick this resort and am glad I did. The service was excellent! Every day we were welcomed like family to the International buffet. Jose (the manager) was wonderful and Wilberth was our attentive and friendly waiter for many meals. The hostesses were also great, they were so sweet to our kids. The food was really good! The buffet had a lot of tasty choices and the a la carte restaurants were especially good. The French, Japanese and Spanish were our favorites, and we had no problem getting a table since we always had dinner on the early side. There were several bars and it was easy to get a drink. You can even order call brands, which was a pleasant surprise.

The grounds and pools are beautiful and well maintained. The kids splash area needs some work, but I saw staff scraping the ground part, so they may be preparing to resurface it. I had read about the issue of people saving pool chairs on tripadvisor, and it definitely happens. Since we were typically at the pool very early and then late afternoon (due to nap schedules), it wasn't a big problem for us. However, if I was able to hang out at the pool all day, I would have been disappointed that all of the chairs in the water and shaded by palapas were taken by folks that didn't arrive for many hours. I'm thinking management could come up with some kind of system to keep everyone happy. Possibly the chairs in the water could be reserved at the towel stand, in segments of a few hours at the time so more people could get a chance to try them?

Our room was nice and well air conditioned. We booked a double room, but inquired about a family suite upon arrival. The front desk worker was nice enough to offer us one when it became available, and even offered to waive the difference in price. After seeing the layout of the family suite, we decided to stick with the double to be closer to the kids. Though we didn't book an ocean view, we had a very nice view of the ocean and good size balcony. The only improvements could be more sound proofing as we could hear our neighbors opening and closing their door and the upstairs child running back and forth regularly. They stock the mini fridge with water, juice, and a few snacks. We wouldn't have minded more snacks, but if you want to supplement, the shop by the pool sells snacks along with trinkets. We ordered room service a couple times and thought the food was pretty good.

FYI, you can't swim at the beach here due to strong rip tides.

Also, bring a bunch of $1 and $5 bills to tip. Even though the tip is included and you don't have to tip, the staff work really hard and we felt they deserved it. We did $3-5 per meal, $3-5 daily for the maid on the pillow, $1 per drink, and $1s here and there for good service.

Room Tip: We had a 6th floor room in building two, 2614. Though not technically an ocean view room, there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

There are no words to express our appreciation for your kind words.

We are pleased to know that we create a memorable experience and that you felt like home, your completely satisfaction is our main goal. Many thanks for the time you took to enlist all the activities and facilities that you enjoyed the most, your comments are the best motivation.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The check in took 3 hours. We arrived at the hotel at 2:30 and the check in was at 3pm. They made me stand in line 3 times. After the third time I was very upset so they issued me the room keys. I went up to the room and they were still cleaning the room. I had to wait in the lobby over 2 hours with kids. They pretty much ruined that they for me. On the second day, they ran out of mint for rest of our vacation. On the third day, the pool bar run out of ice and lemons. On the fourth day the pool bar ran out of ice again. Me and some of the other guests requested to talk to the manager to get an explanation. A manager name of Hugo came and he was very apologetic. He promised us that they will get more ice in the next 15 minutes. During that whole time he waited with us and served us some premium drinks to keep us satisfied. In about 20 minutes the bar tenders got ice. By the way, they only have 1 bar tender for the entire pool bar. The service is very very slow.
I spoke with one of their head managers a woman named Claudia. She was very fake with her smile and promeses. I was very disappointed to deal with Claudia. I don't know who hired her to run that hotel. She didn't even bother to call after she promised number of times that she will. I think this hotel is over rated.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Arman04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We truly value your comments and the time you took to write them.

Our main goal is to create memorable moments to all our guests, we are very sorry to learn that you experienced some inconveniences during your stay with us. We are aware of all the details that you pointed out and the proper actions will be taken, we want to provide the most comfortable facilities and the best quality. Our Management in every department is very professional and our passion is to serve.

We hope to have another opportunity to host you.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,886 reviews
3.4 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
723 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,669 reviews
6 mi away
Paradisus Los Cabos
Paradisus Los Cabos
#10 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
786 reviews
5.3 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Address: Paseo Malecon Sn Lote 5, Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23405, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £202 - £689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most majestic peninsulas in the world and offering spectacular views of the Sea of Cortes, Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a luxurious all inclusive oasis of sophistication and comfort. This magnificent beachfront resort is minutes from beautiful downtown San Jose del Cabo and features plush accommodations, impressive amenities, impeccable service and is just minutes from the international airport. Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a unique, all inclusive experience that offers a myriad of activities from fine dining options at six a la carte restaurants and two gourmet buffet restaurants, to unique spa treatments, children’s programming and nightly entertainment shows. Enjoy deep-water fishing, scuba diving, world-class golf and many more adventure activities nearby. Or, simply relax and soak up the sun in one of the resort’s five swimming pools and breathtaking beachfront. This luxury resort also features 35,000 square feet of meeting facilities and ideal locations combined with the special touch of event planners who will attend to every last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Barcelo Hotel Los Cabos
Barcelo Resort Los Cabos
The Grand Baja
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing