We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort! Exceeded our expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort! Exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We celebrated at the Hyatt Ziva resort for our 30th Wedding Anniversary. It was fabulous. We loved every minute of our experience there. We were greeted by our bellman David. He was superb! So warm and friendly and he even helped me get my sandal glued back together which broke ri shortly right after we arrived. We stayed in 3625--an oceanview premium suite. Our view was gorgeous, our room clean, and a bottle of champagne and cheese and fruit waiting for us when we arrived. It was a very nice touch. We had been up since 3 a.m. traveling, we were exhausted and it was nice to be able to order room service, which was very good. We ate the rest of our dinner meals at Bon Vivant, Lotus, and Cortijo-- all 3 were 5 star restaurants. Food and service were excellent! A tip for Lotus, it is very popular and you have to be there before 6 to get in line if you want the Hibachi experience. I would recommend the Hibachi event if you are already with a large group, we were with 2 separate groups. One group included a gentleman who literally talked "loudly" the entire meal, it distracted from the chef and the meal; In the second group, there were 2 younger children, children are fine; but the parents brought the childrens I-pads to the dinner table and the kids literally played on the i-pads the entire meal, even while they ate. We found this rude and very distracting. In the future, I would opt out of the Hibachi event and eat at a table by ourselves. Breakfast and lunch are buffet style, again the food is very good and the service excellent. Sandra at the excursions desk was very helpful, she arranged our travel for our shuttle to and from the airport. She answered many questions and was very helpful in us deciding how we wanted to spend our week. We opted to rent a car a drive into downtown San Jose del Cabo--very quaint with a beautiful historical church. We attended the service on Sunday morning, it was very nice, but be warned it has no A/C, so it was very warm. Many of the shops unfortunately were closed. We did eat lunch at a restaurant in downtown San Jose, it started with a J, sorry I cannot remember the name, it was excellent! And again the service superb. We did drive to Medano Beach, it was beautiful, we rented jet skis to take a tour of the Arches. Be sure to wear sandals or flip flops, the sand on bare feet is unbearable. The pools at the Resort are all wonderful. We visited both the main pool area and the adult pool. Service by the wait staff is very good. A tip if you have the premium wrist band (band depends on what type of room you have paid for) in any of the bars you have to request the top shelf liquor, they do not automatically give it you based on your wristband. You have to request it. Also an important tip, chairs go very fast at the main pool. If you want a particular type of seating, you have to go down to the pool area by 7 a.m. to get a good spot. The landscaping is gorgeous and all the lighting at night adds such a nice touch. It rained the last day we were there, and for some reason after that, there were no towels???? Not sure if the washer/dryers were broken? My only complaint, I wish we could have had more bottled water in our room. We requested extra large bottles, but we only received one extra one on one day. It is so hot there this time of year, we just could not get enough water. Also another tip, we heard from other guests that the servers make only $7 per day. We watched over and over as guests were receiving 5 star food and service and would leave no tip. I could not believe it. These people go out of their way to make your stay superb. I saw a family of 4 at one of the evening restaurants literally leave a $2 tip. If you were to get a check for one of these meals, you would spend well over a $100. A $2 tip really? I realize it is all inclusive, but people please tip! It is embarrassing to see people not tip and I have to wonder what the wait staff must think. Maid service was excellent and we were served chocolate covered strawberries one night and chocolate truffles on another night when turning in for the night. A very nice touch to end a superb evening. This place was fabulous and we hope to return. Thank you Hyatt Ziva for making our 30th wedding anniversary celebration, a tip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Exceed your expectations is our mission, we are happy that you had a memorable time with us.

All our facilities were created thinking in your comfort and our staff is always attentive to make you feel like home, it is great that you enjoyed all our restaurants and pools. We will make sure the staff that you mention above will receive the recognition that they deserve, we enjoy creating memorable moments.

Once again thank you for your kind comments, we are looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,742
    775
    229
    96
    64
See reviews for
1,191
1,541
55
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo County, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Checking in seemed to be the biggest turn off. Had to wait over an hour than quoted to get our room. Staff was apologetic, but it seemed out of their hands. Not enough staff to accommodate the guests arriving. The second issue to deal with is the pool chairs. If you want a specific spot, you need to get up real early (6:00 am) to reserve your chair. It is first come first serve basis. Other than those items, the vacation was amazing!!! The resort is beautiful and well maintained. Food was excellent in the buffett. The staff made it worth while, Eduardo Gonzalez at the buffet restaurant was awesome. Tip, try to get the same server everyday. We did with Eduardo and his service was excellent. He would have our choice of beverage waiting when we came back with our food. He always had a big smile and eager to please. Great guy. Leonel at the ocean side buffet was great as well. We only ate there a few times. He was always ready to answer questions and made us feel at ease. His knowledge of the area was invaluable. Maria, the activities director was nothing short of amazing. She was everywhere doing everything for the guests. All smiles and energetic from hosting water aerobics, cartoon trivia, handing out towels at the pool or hosting the nightly shows which are well worth the time to see. She was everywhere all the time. An outstanding person, she definitely made it fun. And Carlos the buffet manager!! The man took care of us like family. It was our 20th anniversary and Carlos personally waited on us. He was friendly, remembered our names after the first day. He made sure my wife always had the type of wine she liked. We were always greeted by name and a big hug. These people made the trip something to remember. We totally enjoyed our entire stay thanks to all of them and will return again!! We miss them already.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the Hyatt Ziva associates we want to thank you for your preference and kind comments. We enjoy reading such special review.

Eduardo, Leonel, María and Carlos are very thankful with your comments, they strive every day to give their best and create memorable time to all our guests and we love to pamper them with special details. Your comments are our best motivation.

We will be waiting for you with open arms.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peace River, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Spent a week at this resort from March 8-15 2014. My brother had his wedding here. As far as wedding planning reviews go - my sister in law had a few complaints! But everything else seemed to go great! Food was plentiful and for the most part we could always find something we enjoyed. The view was incredible from our balcony! Our room was on the adults only pool side so it was quite quiet in the mornings, but the resort next door is a "singles only" resort, so was quite loud in the evenings, but you are on holidays and shouldn't be in bed early anyway! The ocean is not swimmable - but most reviews will tell you that. We went to Cabo San Lucas a couple times, short commute and very beautiful! Lots of great shopping, and I recommend a day out on a boat for sight seeing and to see the world famous arch, the marina is cute as well. I would return, but not any time soon. Highly recommend to couples, families and its kid friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to play a part in making your experience as you were planned, thank you for sharing your comments.

Nobody should leave Los Cabos without visit the Arch, definitely an example of the natural beauties that this destination has to offer. We enjoy reading about the great time that you and your family had with us, our main commitment is to create memorable experiences.

We cannot wait to host you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Overall this hotel is good, but it did not live up to Hyatt standards - much more is expected when it is a Hyatt property. The property is beautiful, but the service needs to be much better. No turn down service at night, and the staffing at breakfast in the buffet area is severely short to handle crowds. If you are going to utilize both buffet areas, staff accordingly. You have to repeatedly ask for cream, teaspoons etc. This is fairly basic and should be expected. Also, the process for handling seating at the specialty restaurants needs to be worked on. If you are not there at 6pm, be prepared for long waits as they did not take reservations.

I have to say that the food at this resort is very good. This was our 8th vacation down south and keeping in mind that you are not in Canada/US, the food is indeed good.

The pools are great and the service by the pool is also very good. The drinks are not watered down and there are many top shelf name brands available.

We were there for a wedding and the service offered to the bride and groom left a lot to be desired. When the bride and groom bring a 169 guests to the property, the hotel can surely be more accommodating. There are always issues that arise and this property's reluctance to accommodate would make me think twice about recommending this destination for a wedding.

We were at the Hard Rock Punta Cana last November for another family members wedding and they were extremely accommodating. So in comparison, the Hyatt Ziva falls short. Overall, a good hotel for a family vacation but definitely not for a wedding.

If you are looking for a beach with usable water, this property is not for you as there is no swimming allowed due to the undercurrents.

If you want a nice hotel with good food for a family vacation and want to use the pool, it is quite good. Just don't expect Hyatt standards. Not bad for the cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guest171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the time you took to write your comments, it was a pleasure to host you.

Your perceptions with regards to our service let us know what we are doing correct and what we need to improve, we truly appreciate your suggestions and feedback and we will take the proper actions to continue improving and enhance the quality of our service, we love to serve.

We hope to have another opportunity to offer you the level of service that you expect from Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Bar, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We just have vacation in HYatt Ziva Los Cabos- Mexico.
This is inclusive hotel ocean front.Our room has a pool in the back so our son can jump right in.
The view is beautiful , the food from many restaurant Japanese, French, Italian, Mexican and international buffet all inclusive depend on level you pay.
Many attractions you can order, and many activities in the hotel itself.
For family with kids this is a nice place to have vacation, nice view, affordable price,very gơod friendly staff and only 2 hours fly from Los Angles .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrHuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We have the fortune to be placed in between two seas, this gives us the opportunity every day to witness the beautiful sceneries and it is pleasant to learn that you enjoyed them.

Thank you for your kind comments they help us to continue improving to offer quality service. Creating memorable moments and unique atmospheres to all the family members is our main goal and we love to pamper all our visitors with the friendliest attitude to make them feel like home.

We are looking forward to have you again with us.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwest
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I vacationed with my daughter and two grandkids. First, the lobby & the sight of the large swimming pool all the way out to the ocean is pretty awesome. The foliage & fountains are very pretty. We got a nice 1 bedroom, 2 bath suite with a trundle bed in the living room. The AC was at a constant 22C, nice & cool in both rooms. As for the food, the buffet for breakfast, lunch & dinner was ok, par for the course as buffet food goes in Mexico. Then there was French, Italian, Japanese restaurants with a dress code for the guys, mainly no t-shirts or flip flops. You cannot get in the ocean at this location due to the rough seas & undertows. Keep in mind if you pick this hotel, it is near San Jose Del Cabo, not close to Cabo the party town with all the food & bars. This is the quieter area with not much around to see or go to. The airport is about a 20 minute drive, so that is nice. I am on the fence about whether I would return to this Hyatt Ziva or not.

Room Tip: Do not go to Cabo during the summer months like here in the States. We went the end of July & i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texgal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to host you, your complete satisfaction is our best reward.

Our staff is committed to offer you the best service and make all our guest feel more than welcome, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed all our services and facilities. Many thanks for your kind words, they are the best motivation.

We hope you allow us the opportunity to host you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Wells, California
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We love this Resort!
The Views, the pools, the spa, food, service, the rooms, WE LOVED THE ROOMS!... There are 5 a-la carte, theme restaurants (French, Italian, Japanese, Spanish and Steak house) they are fantastic! This is our 3rd time at this property in three years. We got married here last September and shared this Gem with 120+ of our friends and family and every one of them raved about it. It used to be “Barceló Palace Deluxe" but in November Hyatt bought it and named it "Hyatt Ziva"
We plan to come back here every year to celebrate our anniversary. Everyone here is incredibly friendly, polite and attentive; from the front desk to the bellman, servers, housekeeping, pool attendants hostess…I mean EVERYONE!
Can’t wait to be back!

Room Tip: Ask for building 3 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSotomayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

There are no words to describe our appreciation for your loyalty and preference, many thanks for being part of our Hyatt Ziva Family and keep sharing special moments with us.

We enjoy reading such compliments regarding our services and our staff, many thanks for mentioning them, they strive every day to make feel all our guest like home and specially to the ones that are part of our family.

We will be waiting for you with open arms.

Best regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt ZIva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,714 reviews
11.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
3.2 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,859 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
4,144 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Property: Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Address: Paseo Malecon Sn Lote 5, Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23405, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most majestic peninsulas in the world and offering spectacular views of the Sea of Cortes, Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a luxurious all inclusive oasis of sophistication and comfort. This magnificent beachfront resort is minutes from beautiful downtown San Jose del Cabo and features plush accommodations, impressive amenities, impeccable service and is just minutes from the international airport. Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a unique, all inclusive experience that offers a myriad of activities from fine dining options at six a la carte restaurants and two gourmet buffet restaurants, to unique spa treatments, children’s programming and nightly entertainment shows. Enjoy deep-water fishing, scuba diving, world-class golf and many more adventure activities nearby. Or, simply relax and soak up the sun in one of the resort’s five swimming pools and breathtaking beachfront. This luxury resort also features 35,000 square feet of meeting facilities and ideal locations combined with the special touch of event planners who will attend to every last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Barcelo Hotel Los Cabos
Barcelo Resort Los Cabos
The Grand Baja
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing