We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

In the world of all inclusive, I was so thankful to find this place. The staff were the best. Breakfast was good and the room was very comfortable and very clean. Air conditioning was set to motion sensor which did cause some discomfort at night. Maintenance was able to assist.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2_travel1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    104
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
92
126
40
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We are not into resorts and like to explore rather than stay in one place. The Hyatt place offered everything we needed. Excellent location to restaurants, beach across the road and some of the best surfing locations in los cabos are only 2 minutes away. There is excellent tennis just 2 minutes away also.

The service is top notch and it is obvious they genuinely care about your comfort and convenience.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable, modern and impeccably clean. The internet is without a doubt the best quality (fast/reliable) we have experienced in hotels and we stay in many hotels and work online so it was a requirement.

The amenities were excellent considering it is more of a business hotel with a heated pool, excellent quality fitness room with lots of comfy loungers.

The morning breakfast buffet is perfect, always changing and has something for everyone. Not to mention great coffee.

It is a pleasant, non stuffy comfortable new hotel that carries the Hyatt name really well and we would recommend it to anyone not looking for a big resort.

Room Tip: We had room 573 which has an incredible view of San Jose and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MASGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our family stayed here for just one night but enjoyed it tremendously. It isn't a resort (we knew that) It is conveniently ilocated on a bus route which we took several times to go to the old town. 5 min on a very clean bus and we were in the center of town. The hotel is only 4 months old. Staff were fantastic, very helpful, in fact they explained the bus system to us. Breakfast was included in our room rate. It was buffet style. It offered a nice variety of mexican, european and american options. Beds were very comfortable and the entire hotel was extremely clean. It would be a good business hotel for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedgeredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

One very noisy hotel: above, below, outside and inside

Yes, this hotel has some positive points 1) very inexpensive about $72.40 USD before taxes and $86.15 after taxes and even lower rates can be negotiated 2) Clean rooms 3} good internet service 4) safe in each room, 5) underground parking and 6) high quality cardio equipment in the exercise room but everything else is far below Hyatt standards and this includes India.

With the Hyatt Place San Jose del Cabo being less than a year old one can only assume that the architect/builder was both deaf and blind. Who would build a new hotel only a stone throw away from the major Baja highway, in a strip mall with the largest market in San Jose (Mega) and directly in the take-off and landing pattern of the International Airport (SJD)?

Breakfast buffet ran out of many items the first day and were never replaced. If you like kids sugar infused cereals and stewed chicharon (fried pigs skin) this in the place for you but bring your Crestor and Cardiologist with you.

Going to the beach requires walking down a long storm drainage ditch with a three foot + concrete drop off at the end but yes it is very close to the hotel.

With this said, I give this hotel a one on a ten point scale as the “double pane windows” do little to keep out the noise from the local traffic and make sleeping almost impossible.

Going to the pool ear plugs are a must. The only pool is for small kids (water is only 3 feet 8 inches deep or 1.1 meters) so the little ones can stand up and pee at any spot.

Sleeping is not much better with a central fan in the bathroom that runs 24/7. FORGET trying to sleep with the racket made by the individual room A/C. and don’t even think about a room near the ice machines. If these noises are not enough you will experience a tremor, like a mild earthquake, every time a door closes in the hallway as the walls shake.

Bathroom: Lots of towels but only lukewarm water – never really hot. Shaving is near impossible with the sink so far away from the mirror. Even with 20x20 vision you need binoculars to shave or use the hall mirror like I did. No Hyatt has a configuration like this with a shelf built in behind the sink. Sounds like a small thing but needing a blood donor after each shave is not funny.

The best of part of my stay was the ability to identify a passing Boeing 737/Airbus 319/320, MD-80’s and RJ/corporate jets just by the sounds and visual flight altitudes. Cabo, with only a single runway and just a few miles away makes almost all flights pass directly overhead. The good part is few flights depart after dark but the bad news is the old trucks, busses, cars, police vehicles, some without exhaust systems, pass less than 200 feet from the hotel. The hotel is on a slight incline so you get the added benefit of the noise associated with trucks attempting to shift. You could experience the same sounds in a war zone while getting combat pay.

Don’t expect the General Manager to respond to any of your emails or direct question. All promises and request were never followed up on. Improved rates must be negotiated upon arrival…they must be accustomed to hourly stays. If you are looking for a vacation hotel you can stay in Times Square NYC, open your window, and enjoy the same noise and exhausts without going through customs or immigration. This is a low end “Business Hotel”. No hotel in San Jose del Cabo is closer to the main highway. Do not expect to find this hotel on Google Directions. On Google aerial view just look for the hotel adjacent to Villa Fontaine (restaurant). I live by TripAdvisor and use it almost daily for my frequent business and personal travels (150 days in 2013) for both hotels and restaurants worldwide. Will forward, to corporate Hyatt, email from the hotel documenting how they negotiate rates upon arrival…sounds kind of sleazy to me. Currently at a quiet beach hotel in San Lucas with the sound of waves not planes. Future guests you are warned.

Room Tip: Not facing the main highway might be a little quieter but still noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Suitcase_Man1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is definitely an up-scale hotel, another guest I talked with here said they had stayed at a Hyatt Place in the states and this one is identical.
I have read the other reviews and they give a good idea of what to expect so I thought I would add my two cents.

My stay started out very nice, I found a great promo rate and they even upgraded me to a top 5th floor ocean view room. The hotel sits up a hill a little and is configured in a "L" shape with the front facing in a south-west direction, excellent view looking down the coast line and the cape. Across the street is a large 5 story time share complex so rooms here on the 4th and 5th floor will allow you to see over it, rooms on lower levels may have limited view.

There is a covered spillway across the street between the time share and a unfinished condo complex that leads down to the beach, easy access. It is not a swimming beach, waves of 6FT + break right on shore and it's not a "White Sand" beach but it is very soft brown sand and is very large, both wide and long.

The Hyatt Place is located at the south-west end of the main road of the hotel district, the buses turn around here and stop for a few minutes, very easy to get to El Centro Historical district or anywhere in between. The hotel is also on a corner lot with the other side immediately adjacent to the main highway to Cabo San Lucas or the Airport, this is a very busy and noisy road and can be annoying when at the pool.

The property is well maintained and the outside perimeter and pool area has lots of greenery and flowers in bloom, very attractive look.
There is open air covered parking below the hotel with 24HR security at the card access entry and elevator area.

BUT, Overall I personally found my 7 night solo stay somewhat disappointing. This is my last night as I write this and I have crushed over a dozen ants crawling on the work desk, I noticed the ant issue in the bathroom a few days ago but not as bad as tonight. I also do not think much of the motion sensor activated Air Conditioning, It only works if you are moving in the room. Nothing like waking up in a sweat a couple of times a night and having to wave your arms to get the A/C to come on, or like now working at the desk. It only takes about half an hour without A/C to reach the preset 78 degree's of the thermostat, but the room does cools down quickly though once the A/C is on. The room does have a Black-Out shade on the window to help with the direct heat of the sun during the day but that also kills the view.

I also found the staff to be polite and courteous but not really friendly. I noticed that there maybe somewhat of a double standard for Gringo's and Mexican nationals. When I checked in I was informed 3 times of the great rate I received and was given a last minute "by the way" there is a complimentary breakfast in the morning, later that day I noticed a Mexican family had just checked in and was given a personal tour of the lobby and pool area and escorted to the elevators, which I had some difficulty finding at first.

A few other things that influenced my opinion...
I had a great turkey club sandwich one day then tried a bacon cheeseburger the next, the bacon was not just under cooked but was raw.
The pool area is a designated smoking area but there are no ash trays so the flower pots, dirty dishes and the pool deck get used instead.
Sunday night there were only a few of us gringo's left here, about 8PM it appeared someone had taken over the remote control for the TV and put it into a menu mode and was going through different functions. Afterwords about half of the 50 or so stations no longer worked, they just showed a menu screen, another guest said same thing happened to them. The channels seen in the lobby, Fox News and CNN were the only English speaking channels still working, all of the Spanish stations were unaffected, I really believe it was sabotage directed at us Gringo's staying here, no Sunday night TV in English. This is my opinion and is based on all of my encounters with the staff, the night staff in particular.

Overall this is a great 4 star corporate business class establishment. If you are looking for a suit and tie, professional type accommodation then this is the place but when I come to Cabo to vacation I'm looking for a fun time with a friendly people and this is not it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Super new, clean hotel with nice modern-style furniture. Great complimentary breakfast, especially the omelet which will be made for you :-) But the people really make the difference: such friendly and considerate staff (have to mention Marco from the reception - thanks for all your help). It takes less than five minutes to go to the public beach with free shades and a super friendly lifeguard who even offered us two boogie boards to use.
BTW: Take the public bus from the airport (in front of the parking space of terminal 1) to the Mega Store, from there it's only 2 more minutes by foot. It only costs a $1 per person and is a great way to travel with locals.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 326 which has a beautiful view to the ocean and the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pauljulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just back from a one week stay at the Hyatt Place in San Jose Del Cabo. What a wonderful experience!
The hotel is new and very stylish. The common areas, grounds and rooms are spotlessly clean and well maintained. The location is convenient to transit, the beach and the Mega for snacks and sundries. A 10 peso fare on the Transportes Urbano Y Suburbano bus will whisk you to the historic centre of San Jose in no time.The pool is small but perfect for a dip after a hot day shopping or sightseeing. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is served from 7:00 to 10:00 AM. There are all kinds of hot items, eggs ready made or cooked to your liking, lots of fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurt and juices. Truly a fantastic bargain! You can, and we did, dine in the hotel as well. We also enjoyed Villa Valentina several times for lunch and dinner. A 2 minute walk from the hotel with excellent food and atmosphere.
However, the best thing about this hotel is the staff. Everyone is so helpful and friendly! Big thanks to Astrid, Edgar and ALL the other wonderful crew! They helped us with everything from car rentals to answering all of our questions about the area. I looked forward to their warm smiles and greetings every morning. Management should be very proud of these people!
Hasta la vista y gracias por todos!

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room on the front of the hotel, facing the ocean. Not only a great view, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
3,908 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#7 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
581 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
293 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Los Cabos

Property: Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Address: Paseo Malecon San Jose No. 128, San Jose del Cabo 23406, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HYATT PLACE LOS CABOS...A DIFFERENT PLACE Hyatt Place is strategically located in San Jose del Cabo only minutes away from the Convention Center, golf courses from the most renowned designers worldwide and only a short walk to the beach also walking distance from the historic town center, art district and strip malls.At Hyatt Place you will be received at our Gallery where you will find excellent service from our Gallery Hosts and in this area you will find the reception, restaurant, bar, market and e-room...all of these are unique to Hyatt Place. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel at no charge including of course the rooms, pool area and meeting rooms. As an added feature the e-room and the fitness center are open 24 hours.Each room features Hyatt Grand bed and cozy corner and additionally sofa beds are available in some rooms. Rooms are equipped with a 42" LED HDMI screen, frigo bar, coffeemaker and an independent workstation. All rooms have an exquisite view of the sea of Cortez, the mountains or Campestre golf course.Welcome to Hyatt Place Los Cabos in the Baja California Sur peninsula...a different place!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing