We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected”

San Jose's Estuary and Bird Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo Sightseeing Combo Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A spectacular beach where tourists come to view the sea lions in the month of June.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Though I didn't see too many birds here, I found a lot of solitude. It's quiet, nice and relaxing. Take your camera with you! Spend 1-2 hours just walking here at a slow pace. Maybe sit down for a while, read a book. It's free.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eerdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    170
    79
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great Walk”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a great walk if you have a few hours to spend and it is not to hot.

My wife and I spend a few hours walking the Estuary. It would have been nice if there was more information to read and maybe a map of the Estuary it self.

You will see tons of birds, love seeing the pelicans dive into the water right in front of you.

Parking was not a problem, just drive right down to the end of the road next to the Holiday Inn.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Estuary Walk”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Beautiful walk along a secluded waterway. You would never think you were in San Jose. Shaded walkway where you see many different kinds of waterfowl. We did this walk a few times rather than walk the roadway into San Jose

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodKarma_BadKarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camino
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“turtles laying eggs.....baby turtles heading to the ocean”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

In all the many years I have been to Baja I have never seen the turtles come up on the beach and lay eggs....to the NE or the presidenti hotel is a protected area for the eggs....there is a team of workers with the help of some of the hotels that gather the eggs after a few hours of them being layed....once they start to hatch they are let go. My husband was fishing and here came mother turtule about three feet from him...dug her hole layed her eggs and off she went back into the ocean.....the hotel people maked the stop with sticks and the "turle people" came dug up the eggs and moved them to a safe area...it was awsome to see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Unfortunately heavy rain (10+ inches) caused the estuary to run out to the sea of cortez, so we did not get to see the real thing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank huntleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Jose's Estuary and Bird Sanctuary also viewed

 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to San Jose's Estuary and Bird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing