We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Smaller Hotel With Good Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Montebello, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Smaller Hotel With Good Staff”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located about 25 miles away from Cabo San Lucas and closer to the airport in the quiet town of San Jose Del Cabo. It has a nice view of the beach although swimming is prohibited at all times due to the strong currents. The hotel is considered a bit smaller than the other hotels but what it lacks in size , they sure made it up with good service by the amazing staff and it immediately made a good impression from the day I checked in. The hotel looks cozy and perfect for couples and honeymooners. The room is always clean and nice interiors. The hotel provides nightly entertainment for the guests like karaoke nights , Latin nights and Couples nights. The wifi is decent at most but not free and additional charges apply. The food for the most part is not bad and they try to not repeat menus as much as they can for the 5 day stay I did but at some point some cuisines will be repeated. I always like the fresh fruits that they offer. Again, the staff are attentive to your needs. The hotel also has a spa and gym to burn the fats away from all the food and drinks you indulged :-).
I didn't rent a car and to go to Cabo San Lucas, I learned to ride the public transport and it's a $2 fare one way. Cabo San Lucas is definitely a party place where the Los Arcos can be seen and San Jose Del Cabo is very laid back and culturally inclined.
Overall, this hotel made a really good impression on my first stay in San Jose Del Cabo and for the price, it's definitely worth it and won't mind checking in here again knowing that the staff are eager to make sure your stay in Royal Decameron would leave a lasting memory and comforts while enjoying the sights and sounds of Los Cabos. A special shout out to the front desk staff specially to Roman who made sure this Pinoy was taken care of with exceptional service. Muchos Gracias!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guest_service153, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Decameron Los Cabos, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
On behalf of the Royal Decameron Los Cabos I would like to thank you for your comments. Thank you for choosing us to spend your time in los cabos.

We hope you will choose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    411
    125
    47
    34
See reviews for
207
496
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I can't believe the value we got for the price we paid at this resort. We used two Groupons to get two rooms for our family. As soon as we arrived the valet and bell hops were waiting at the door to help. Before we could even make it to the check in desk a waiter served us welcome drinks which we really needed because in August it was sweltering. Since we were early, the front desk told us we could enjoy lunch in the restaurant until our rooms were ready. By 3pm they had one room ready, the other one took a while longer. They were unable to get us rooms close together but they did give us one with an ocean view. I really appreciate the consideration. We are very likely to return to this resort because of this type of customer service. All of the employees are very courteous and professional. They work very hard. The crew can be seen maintaining the grounds every day. They paint, mow, hang new awnings and rake the zen gardens. The room wasn't as perfect as a Hilton would be - a few cracked floor and shower tiles but it was clean and housekeeping service was excellent. There are daily activities like yoga and water volleyball every day. Every night at 9:30 there is a live show. It's very much like a cruise ship. The Emcee for the show is very enthusiastic and good at getting the crowd involved. The food is good with a lot of variety. You can make a reservation for dinner at the second restaurant which is very upscale. All of the food and alcohol is included in your stay. My favorite part of the resort in the swim up bars at all the pools. I just wish the pools would stay open past 8 pm. They were very polite when they kicked us out of the pool. We loved it here and want to return. Special props to our favorite valet/bell hop Axel. Thanks for the wonderful service.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room if you can. Quiet at night. During the day you can hear the soft music play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyBug1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guest_service153, Public Relations Manager at Royal Decameron Los Cabos, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
On behalf of the Royal Decameron Los Cabos I would like to thank you for your comments. Thank you for choosing us to spend your time in los cabos.

We hope you will choose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

First of all before I traveled to cabo I did my research and i found many horrible reviews for Decameron. I have no clue what past reviewers have been complaining about because Decameron is a great resort!

My husband and i traveled june 2014-August 2014 abd we stayed a week.

We loved everything about this resort! People were greAt and they offered a great service, they never said no to any of our requests and were so friendly.

Overall i had a great stay and would gladly go back!

Give Royal Decameron a chance! (Remember NO SWIMMING IN THE BEACH!)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggiiemaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guest_service153, Public Relations Manager at Royal Decameron Los Cabos, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
On behalf of the Royal Decameron Los Cabos I would like to thank you for your comments. Thank you for choosing us to spend your time in los cabos.

We hope you will choose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked this hotel last minute thru Expedia from Denver. We got a very good deal for a 5 night trip. We were a little worried about the hotel based on some of the recent reviews. It turned out to be a great hotel with good food, service and entertainment. It is geared towards adults and I did not see many kids there. There is no kids club for them and not much for them to do. Most of the activities are for adults during the day.
We arrived late in the afternoon and were checked in very quickly. We had sent a note that we were celebrating our anniversary. They had a bottle of champagne for us in our room. We were on the 3rd floor towards the end and could see the ocean. The room was kind of small with a king bed, a couch, a table and a dresser with the TV and fridge. The bed was VERY hard. The bathroom has a glass door for the toilet/shower area. It is the same door for both. You can close it when you use the toilet and the show is open then you swing it the other way to close the shower. You can see through it when you are in the shower or using the toilet. It was fine for us as a couple but could be awkward for a family. Room was great.
The grounds and pools are nice. There are 3 pools. Two in the main area with a swim up bar between them and one upstairs in the adult area. We stayed in the main area. The pool upstairs was small and probably got very warm during the day. The ones below got warm and they were much bigger. We were always able to find a chair around the pool. There were only a few areas with shade. The main pool area has no shade at all. They should invest in some umbrellas for that area. We were down at the pool by 10 every day and always found shade but the hotel was probably only 40-50% full I would guess. Pools could use some maintenance but very clean. The activities staff did a great job. If you wanted to participate they had activities all day at the pool and evening entertainment in the main plaza area or the disco. They work very hard at keeping you entertained and do an excellent job.
If you are looking for a bar there are plenty- at least 3 open most of the time. There is a lobby bar, main plaza area bar, pool bar, upper pool bar, disco bar and restaurant bar. You could always get a drink. The wine was pretty good and you could get 2 beers on tap. The liquor is not top shelf but you could ask for some of the better brands and it was not a problem.
The food was very good. The buffet is set up for breakfast. There was always cooked to order eggs and they had either french toast and waffles or french toast and pancakes. There was always lots of fresh fruit and other side dishes that changed each day. Even though the buffet was small there were lots of good choices. For lunch you could do the buffet or the restaurant by the pool. The pool restaurant menu is a little limited but very good. For dinner it is the buffet or pool restaurant, which you have to make reservations for in the morning. Never had a problem getting a reservation. Menu is limited but very good.
I am not sure how people can give this hotel such bad ratings. Maybe you get back what you give to people or they are super picky. This is not a 5 star resort. In my opinion you get much more than what you pay for here. Nice resort, good food, good drinks and pleasant staff always willing to help.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guest_service153, Public Relations Manager at Royal Decameron Los Cabos, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the Royal Decameron Los Cabos I would like to thank you for your comments. Thank you for choosing us to spend your time in los cabos.

We hope you will choose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I always use the tripadvisor reviews to help me select a resort for our vacations and I avoid the low rated resorts but I picked the Royal Decameron for this trip because we found a price that could not be beat. In the weeks leading up to our trip, we were concerned with the bad reviews posted about the food but we had no complaints about the food. The staff is very friendly and the grounds are super clean. I didn't mind paying the WiFi service because it was a strong and fast connection and we were able to get a connection all the way down to the beach. The Mini Fridge is stocked with two bottles of water, two sodas and two beers. We asked our housekeeper to stock the fridge with just water and she did it for us.

Don Antonio at the upstairs pool bar was our favorite bartender because he was full of funny stories and he did a great job of making the drinks for us. I am glad that we stayed here because it definitely lived up to our expectations.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 309 and the A/C worked all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordofeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guest_service153, Public Relations Manager at Royal Decameron Los Cabos, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the Royal Decameron Los Cabos I would like to thank you for your comments. Thank you for choosing us to spend your time in los cabos.

We hope you will choose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Decameron 7/26-7/31. This was a last minute trip booked through expedia and for what we paid, we weren't sure what to expect.
We were very happy with our stay. It was very quiet....less than 50% full everyday. Never had to fight for a lounge chair, had no issues getting a reservation at the ala carte restaurant, and no harassing timeshare people!!!
We enjoyed the food and drink...now this is not a 5 star property so expect patron or grey goose for liquor. People complained about bottom shelf alcohol, however, we were able to get Bacardi , Smirnoff, and captain Morgans, pretty standard stuff that most people have in their house!!! Food was always tasty and hot....we never really found anything that we didn't like.
Service was good...some were friendlier than others but we never encountered anyone rude.
Now for our room....we had room 355, nice corner partial ocean view room from the balcony. Our mini bar was stocked with water, beer and soda and replaced each day with whatever we drank. Room was clean, a little small, but worked. Our biggest issue was the bed. We knew it would be hard after reading previous reviews, but not concrete hard. It would be nice if egg crate toppers were offered for those that like a softer
mattress. The pressure in the shower could have been better along with the temperature, but it was fine.
We paid for 2 days of wifi so we could check in with our kids. Spotty, but worked. The wifi at the mcdonalds at the mall across the street worked better.

All in all, for the price we paid, we enjoyed our stay. It's outside the craziness of Cabo, and a $1 bus ride to San Jose, which is more old school mexico.
DO NOT use Los Cabos Airport shuttle for transportation!!!! They picked us up when we arrived, paid them in full, and then they failed to come get us when we were leaving. We ended up having to pay an additional $25 for a cab to the airport so we wouldn't miss our flight.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank COcrazyhouseof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guest_service153, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Decameron Los Cabos, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the Royal Decameron Los Cabos I would like to thank you for your comments. Thank you for choosing us to spend your time in los cabos. As well we would like to thank you for the suggestions you have given us in order to better our services.

We hope you will choose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A smaller, quieter yet still fun resort where it's quick to walk from room to pool to restaurant, etc. and you appreciate friendly staff more than worrying about every luxury detail being over-the-top. We booked this to stay away from the crazy drunkenness of San Lucas and with the idea of a relaxing, short stay and that is what we got. On first glance of the room, I was a little concerned because it showed a tiny bit of wear but that really turned out to be not important. What was great about the resort--the pools, ease of finding chairs/shade or the right place to be, fun activities directors, games and shows, quality of all the staff--really made it a nice stay. Most of the food was tasty, especially the Mexican options though be aware the flavors and spices are very authentic, which is definitely our "cup of tea" but not what everyone might be used to. The Tuesday beach-front on-the-sand dinner was a definite highlight.

The things that are a tiny bit lacking are complimentary in-room coffee (though you do get 2 waters, sodas and beers in your fridge every day), availability and variety of snacks when it's not mealtime, and more variety in a la carte dining. That said, it is a very reasonable, good value price so I think... fair enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guest_service153, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Decameron Los Cabos, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
On behalf of the Royal Decameron Los Cabos I would like to thank you for your comments. Thank you for choosing us to spend your time in los cabos. As well we would like to thank you for the suggestions you have given us in order to better our services.

We hope you will choose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,249 reviews
16.6 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
900 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#19 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
5,579 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
7,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Los Cabos

Property: Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Address: Boulevard Malecon San Jose S/N zona hotelera | San Jose Del Cabo, Baja California Sur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Decameron Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Los Cabos is located in the south of the peninsula of Baja California on the Sea of Cortez just 15 minutes from Los Cabos International Airport (SJD) and 5 minutes from downtown San Jose del Cabo which showcases the best of Mexican tradition, showing peaceful streets covered with trees, galleries, restaurants and boutiques, with its center located a few blocks from the sea, a beautiful Spanish colonial style city hall, among other features that are immersed in Mexican culture . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing