We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place is heaven! (unless you want to get married)”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“this place is heaven! (unless you want to get married)”
Reviewed 26 March 2011

My husband and I traveled with 7 other couples to Cabo Azul for a week's vacation. The resort is fantastic and definitely worthy of 5 stars. We had a 2 bedroom condo with partial ocean view and it was cleaned with towel replacement twice a day - housekeeping will even do dishes and run the dishwasher! The concierges were outstanding, especially Pedro. Both the condo and the resort were spotless at all times, including the pools and restaurants.

We did the time share presentation, but did not buy. They are pushing hard to sell time shares in order to finish construction on the hotel, so the deals are good. We said no several times and the sales pitch lasted longer than the promised 90 minutes, but we did not feel that we were treated any differently after saying no and our incentives for participating were well worth it.

We did not eat at Javier's but had an outstanding breakfast buffet one morning and had pretty good to excellent meals at Flor de Noche - mostly lunches.

Our only complaint was with the Wedding Planner - several messages were left and none were returned. The day of the planned event, the bride was walking to the PUBLIC beach for the ceremony and was stopped and told the wedding could not take place because another bride was getting married (at a different time) at the resort. The ceremony went ahead after much quibbling and then we were not permitted to take any photos on the property even though we were all staying there and the bride and her party were on the beach by then. Several staff we complained to told us that we should have taken pictures anyway, but it was rattling to say the least. We told the front desk and the concierge upon check in that we had a wedding couple with us and no one said anything about the troubles we ran into a couple days later. This is why I put 3 stars for service. There was no reason whatsoever that multiple messages at the US number and the Mexican number were not returned.

Other than that, we had no troubles and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guidob663a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    303
    66
    40
    36
See reviews for
513
734
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey,CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I never write reviews but this place was so exceptional I needed to corroborate what everyone else is saying. I found the hotel online because they were offering a special (only $250/night with full breakfast for what looked like a $500/night suite). We were not disappointed because you can easily pay more for accommodations and services of this quality. Yes,they told us about the time share presentation during check in and we agreed to sign up on our last morning.They offered us $200 off the bill,10% off anything we bought at the hotel,free cab back to the airport and late checkout.They make it hard to not go, but you don't have to go if you don't want to. We found everyone on the staff to be friendly and helpful. The pools were warm and not crowded. I am a beach person and not being able to spend time in the ocean would typically eliminate a place from consideration but because of everything else,it didn't bother me. You can take long walks on the beach and find other places nearby for a dip.The rooms are beautifully decorated with a full kitchen,granite counters,full bath with big Jacuzzi,comfortable beds,quiet AC and a large patio. Javier's had excellent Mexican food,on the pricey side but not outrageous given the quality.We happened to be there during the annual festival of San Jose (the patron saint) so each night in town (15 min walk or $5 cab) there was entertainment -singers,dancers,fireworks-a real local fiesta that was a lot of fun. A real restaurant find is Pier 19. It is casual,inexpensive with delicious seafood.A guitarist played the night we were there. Most of the other restaurants that have been reviewed, while very good,feel like they are for the tourists ie pricey and a little more formal.We plan on taking the rest of our family in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

The resort is fabulous! Its pricey, but the service was amazing, food was great and the rooms are absolutely gourgeous. Attention to detail in everything. Cons: not much to do at night, but listening to the ocean is great too, our BIGGEST con was that the ocean is not swimmable. Its pretty to look at, but the waves are huge and the rip currenst make it very inaccessible. If you dont mind that the hotel is fabulous!

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AElperin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Just got back from a 6 day stay at Cabo Azul. The resort is lovely and very well maintained. The staff was so friendly and so helpful with any requests we had.

We were 4 people in our condo. We were in a two bedroom oceanview. It was very spacious and clean. The only complaint I have is that the lighting in the bathrooms was TERRIBLE! It was even worse than I imagined, based on the reviews of others. Other than that, it was great.

The pool area was very nice and clean. The staff was attentive and so friendly. The food at Flor de Noche was great for lunch. We never did get around to eating at Javier's.

While in San Jose, we had great food. It is a must to eat at Manuel's and El Meson de Angel. The food was fabulous and the service great. I highly recommend them both.

On a side note - arrange transportation from the airport to the resort with the resort. It is $11 per person and a cab ride for 4 is $65. They were waiting for us when we arrived, so we did not have to wait at all.

I have stayed in Cabo San Lucas 3 times. This was our first trip to San Jose Cabo. I much preferred San Jose to Cabo San Lucas. It is quaint and not so commercialized. I thought the beaches were nicer and the overall experience better.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2011

I found this resort on line through Jetsetter.com. They were offering a package deal I could not refuse and the reviews on here were very favorable so I bought the four night stay for me and my husband. The resort is gorgeous, very clean, wonderful and friendly staff and the all suites rooms were great! A small kitchen area with all of the necessities, a nice large balcony and nice decor. The only major bummer was no one had mentioned that you can't swim in their beachfront. Apparently the riptides there are too strong so they advise against it. We were disappointed to hear that as we do like to go in the ocean. BUT, the three tiered pool made up for it! The pool is beautiful and nice and warm. There are plenty of lounge chairs around and the view from it to the ocean is phenomenal. The other downer was we were not impressed with the food at the resort. That was also disappointing. So we took a taxi and went into town one night for a nice meal at El Chilor which came highly recommended by friends.
We opted out of the time share sales pitch. They tried to talk us into it immediately upon check in but we held firm that we were not interested and they never bothered us again.
I would highly recommend this resort for some wonderful R&R in a gorgeous and very clean, updated environment! Don't expect too much from the restaurants as far as food is concerned! But, with a kitchen in your room, you could always cook up your own meal.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TatianaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Great Trip~! This is the first time we have stayed here & we can't wait to go back. I'll make it short. Super Relaxing - Great Location if you just want to have nice dinners & walk around a quiet cool little town. Farmers Market just outside of town every Sat until end of May. We walked to the Grocery store (10 minutes) and took a cab back ($5) and make breakfast each day. We had great dinners every night! Javier's (on Property) 1st night - then 2nd night Morgan's Encore (try & get reservations on the roof top) we had Ahi steak and Mushroom risotto and then 3rd night dinner at 7 Seas (10 minute cab ride from resort) at Cabo surf hotel. The jumbo shrimp in Gorgazola linguini is Amazing. Rooms were Beautiful - everything was perfect. I told my husband one of my favorite things was that EVERY single person who worked here had a giant smile & said "Hola" to you as you walked by. It was a great vibe and we have already booked our next trip here in a few months. Enjoy - Adios!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TDChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

My wife found a great deal so we headed to Cabo Azul Resort for spring break. We didn't realize till we checked in that the great deal came with a price... Timeshare Pressure!! After about 10 minutes of saying "No Thank You", we made it to our room. I have to say we were pleasantly surprised with the villa and the overall resort. The staff, pool, bar, resturants, and work out facility were top notch. Beds were like the Ritz/Four Season... extremely comfortable. Lighting in the villa was poor especially in the bathroom. Although the drinks and food are a little pricey, at least it was good. The incentives for taking the Timeshare Tour got better each day but we passed on it. The location is great since it is walking distance to down town San Jose where there are plenty of great places to eat (Local 8, Tropicana, Morgan's Encore) and shop.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1mansopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,720 reviews
17.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
786 reviews
14.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4,072 reviews
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,814 reviews
18.0 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Property: Cabo Azul Resort
Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing