We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort but....”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice resort but....”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Getting there: Takes 20 mins from airport to the resort. Take one of the cabs; we took TransCabo and they charged $40 more than what a local cab would have charged.
Once in the resort: We had three tired children with us, but our 'personal concierge' wanted to walk us through his time share pitch. He made it quick and we declined.
Rooms: were nice and spacious...lighting in the 2nd room was horrible though. Not ideal when you have kids.. the master bedroom was great though. The views and sounds of the ocean were nice too.
Pools: were the highlight of the trip...everyone had fun
BUT....on the 3rd day, the water valve in the kitchen broke and started flooding our kitchen. Had to hold it down and got some electric shock from the insinkerator. Called house service; they were quick to arrive and fix the issue. The plumber apologised for the inconvenience and left. I would have expected our personal concierge to at least contact us and make sure we're ok..no such luck...they're only there as glorified sales associates. Very disappointing from that perspective.
I would still recommend the resort for folks with no kids. For families with kids, go with an all-inclusive resort with lots of kids activities.
Also, no internet anywhere except a limited part of the pool (50 yards radius from the hotspot)

Room Tip: No tip...they gave us no choice
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank DummyDeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,240
    303
    67
    40
    36
See reviews for
514
734
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We went for my brothers wedding, it was a huge group of people!!! Cabo Azul staff catered to our every need!!! Thank you for your Patience and understanding!! Thank you for the endless service and smiles!!! We loved it and cant wait to go back but in a smaller group next time lol!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwcjg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We spent a week in the Cabo Azul resort and I have to say it was the nicest family resort we have visited. I have four children - 13 to 4 - and there was something for everyone to do. The grounds are exquisite - extraordinarily well maintained. There are people at work at 5AM sweeping the lawn and tending to the amazing landscaping. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite on the ground floor with a garden view - it was perfect for us. Kids could run out the door and play on the grass and in the hammock. It was a stone's throw to the pool (only thing worth being aware of if you have very young kids). The three-tiered pool is exactly like it looks in the pictures (actually the whole resort is exactly as it looks in the photos.) There are three connecting pools and the top two are actually heated so the water is refreshing but not cold. Bottom pool is cooler. All pools have fabulous padded lounge chairs around them and on site towel service. Poolside waitstaff is also great. Happy hour is 3-5:30 with two for one drinks.

The food in the restaurants is great - this was a surprise as so often the food is bad at resorts. We had great meals at Flor de Noche by the pool. Julio's is also excellent but for the price with small kids may not be worth it. There is a market on the second floor of the resort that has good sandwiches and fresh gelato - a great place to grab a quick bite or dessert after dinner. There is also an internet cafe up there if you want to check something online and don't have access. Don't miss the spa too - great services and really well designed.

The rooms were nice - a little dark would be my only comment. The second bedroom had no windows and only very dim lighting. Decor was beautiful overall though. Kitchen was modern - granite/stainless steel. Nice big couches and huge sliders that open to the lawn in our case or a veranda on upper floors.

There was a push to do the tour for a time share but nothing too terrible compared to other resorts. We have always said no to this but this time we changed our mind mid-week because the place was so nice.

The resort is very convenient to airport - 15-20 minutes max. It is a 2 minute drive to lovely Cabo San Jose which is great to walk around. VERY SAFE AREA. Fun galleries and little shops - not as touristy as Cabo San Lucas. If you like Thai DON'T MISS Baan Thai in San Jose. Amazing food and amazing atmosphere - as odd as it sounds in Mexico their Thai was phenomenal and cooked on grill on outside patio.

If you are looking around and wondering whether this is as nice and family friendly as it looks I sincerely can say don't hesitate.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JennaHarryHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We stayed at this resort between 4/8-4/15. I'm so glad we chose this resort above other one's we've stayed at in the past and we've stayed at some of the best. The service was fantastic the resort was impeccable and the location couldn't have been better. This was our first time staying in SJD and we couldn't have asked for more. What made this one better than the rest was the easy access from the check-in area to our room a simple easy walk without the use of golf carts that many of the resorts in Los Cabos have. Not that that's a bad thing, but it just makes it a little easier to get around. They parked our car and had it ready for us fast and consistent every day. There is a morning cleaning and an evening tidy and turn down. Loved this!!
The rooms had all you need we stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath all with beautiful decor and with a ample kitchen and patio and living areas. Very comfortable beds. Although rooms slightly smaller than what were used to, it still served our purpose so no big deal.
A small complaint that as I've heard from many was the lighting. Yeah, its pretty bad. Although beautiful and romantic and all modern fixtures I guess cause they are energy efficient, none of the fixtures put out enough lighting. They must save a fortune on their electric bill! Still, I gave this resort a perfect review, so must not be enough of a problem.
The pool area is the best I've seen in all of Los Cabos, the endless pools and water features are amazing. The lounge chairs were also the most clean and comfortable I've ever seen. The beach area was beautiful. Pool food and drink service was also fantastic.
Concierge and activities info also was good and my husband used the service a couple of days for outside excursions.
On our last day I explained I needed a late check-out as our flight was leaving later in the afternoon and we wanted to head to the beach. Not a problem they gave us a late check-out and also ave us access to a hospitality room for when we came back from the beach to shower it was the same size room we had and close to the check out area and we were welcome to use anything we needed to get ready for our flight! What resorts have you been to lately that offer this service?? Cabo Azul did!! yeah, pretty amazing and we'll most definitely be back here I think the 3 bedroom penthouse would be a perfect choice for us!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tedandlisa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Very helpful staff, wonderful rooms, nice multi level pools, your own patio. Very relaxing. I could get into details, but I would be here all day. I dont have one single negative thing to say about this place. Writing this just makes me want to go back even more

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayandgabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We are the timeshare owners of this resort and of Monarch Grand Vacations. This is our 5th time to Cabo Azul. I haven't ever written a review, but have read a lot on Trip Advisor. That said, I felt the need to write because every time we have gone to Cabo Azul the experience has been the same-Incredible,amazing and so relaxing! The staff is excellent; always smiling, willing to help with anything. The villas are so comfortable and beautifully decorated. Everything is done with natural elements-wood, stone, leather, cotton, etc. The rooms even smell like leather! The kitchens have high end appliances and all the the utensils and dinnerware you would need. The views from the rooms are amazing if you have ocean view. Even at that, the pool view is great too. The beds are pure comfort. With large beds that you melt into and soft covers.

The pool area is an area for total relaxation. The lounges are large and very comfortable. The pools are at three temperatures-so take your pick. The loungers are also on the beach and invites you to a serene place with the waves crashing and thundering. You can not swim in the ocean, but no need with the beautiful pools.

San Jose Del Cabo is the place to go for great restaurants. Cabo San Lucas is about 22 miles away and an expensive cab ride away. San Jose Del Cabo is a quiet town and authentic Mexican village. If you want partying and nightlife and the regular tourist traps, go to Cabo San Lucas. If you enjoy quiet, quaint, relaxing and not too many people, go to San Jose Del Cabo and Cabo Azul.

Some activities we did was to attend the Beach Bash at the resort on Monday night. What a blast. Happy hour starts at 3:00 every afternoon and you can get 2 for 1 drinks-the Mango Margaritas are really good! We went fishing and caught about 15 Sierra, which is a smaller fish. The big game fish haven't arrived yet. But we saw a grey whale perform for us about 30 minutes with jumping and flipper flapping!! Awesome sight! Other than that we just relaxed in the pool and in the sun. Cabo has perfect weather year around.

We will be back for the 6th time soon!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

This was our fifth trip to Cabo Azul. The first trip was six months after they opened. We have seen the resort grow and improve over this time. We do, however, wish they would finish the front part of the resort! We had a party of four this time. Our villa was a three bedroom grand penthouse. It was the first time in this unit. It was slightly different from the other grandpenthouse that we had stayed in previously. More later. First, we had two different flights into SJD. Our other party had a last minute change in their flight so we had to make some quick calls to the resort to get their travel vochure from the SJD changed. The concierge took care of this within 15 minutes of the call. She emailed them their new vochure and they were on their way. Both parties Made it through the "time-share zoo" at SJD with no problem. Our other party was so thank-ful that we had told them about this. For both parties the transportation was waiting and we got to the resort in a short time. DW and I arrived two hrs before our other party. When we arrived at the resort, we were greeted with familar faces. We checked in and our room was not ready because it was noon and we knew that arriving early that may be the case. So after checking in, the resort stored our luggage until the room was ready. Since we knew we were arriving before our other party, we had plannned to go to Mega and get the groceries out of the way. When we arrived back at the resort the bellhops delivered our groceries up to our villa. They had also delivered our luggage to the villa while we were gone! We got the place set-up and when our other party arrived, the front desk informed us they had arriived. When they arrived in the room, they were impressed. So much space, great views, and ready to relax.

During the week, we took in the Monday night beach party. The Band Azteca was very good, again. Music for our generation! We went out fishing on Wednesday and had a PRICELESS momnent when a grey whale put a show on for us for 30+ minutes. Funny thing was that when the "whale-watching" tours arrived, the grey whale stopped the show. The other days, we just relaxed around the pools and enjoyed the waves and their crashing sounds. We had Javier's fix the fish that we caught on Wednesday. This was the second time, in our trips, that we had them do this. Javier's did a great job in preparing our fish.
Overall, we had a great time again at Cabo Azul. From the minute we arrived, it was amazing that how many of the staff recognized you and call you by your name. We got back home Rested and Relaxed. Trying to find another date to travel to Cabo Azul again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coachr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,732 reviews
17.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
14.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4,073 reviews
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,814 reviews
18.0 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Property: Cabo Azul Resort
Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing