We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular. Exceeded our expectations on every level!!!!”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular. Exceeded our expectations on every level!!!!”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

In a word, Spectacular! Cabo Azul exceeded our expectation on every level. We are experienced travelers who either go simple and rustic or 4 or 5 stars. Nothing really in between interests us. We have been going to Cabo since 1984. For the last 18 years we stayed in out-of-the-way places on the East Cape as we don't like the tourist experience at all. We live hectic, stressful lives in the entertainment industry (LA) and want to get away from it all. However, our special spot closed down and we have been searching for an alternative since. We planned to stay at the Fiesta Americana for the first four days and then try this new place out on the East Cape. Well the 2nd place cancelled our reservation last minute (we were their only reservation!) and decided to close for the holiday. So we were faced with having to find another place last minute. We were going to stay at Punta Pescadero (very remote) and chickened out at the last minute. In the meantime I found "Cabo Azul" on Expedia. I was reading about it and looking at the pictures and the price and wondering "Where's the catch?" I emailed my wife who was on the set of a TV show and said, "Check this place out!." We rolled the dice and booked a room (villa.) We were not happy with Fiesta Americana and on the day we were moving over to Cabo Azul for the second four days of our trip, we decided to drive out to the East Cape on a reconnaissance trip. First we dropped off our bags at Cabo Azul and checked in. It was immediately apparent that the service and staff were far superior to the Fiesta (another story) After a brief sit down orientation we were off. They did mention the time share program but were not pushy and gracefully accepted my statement "We are not interested" We just sold ours and have no interest in getting involved although if you like that sort of thing it sounds like a good program with a points system like the Marriott which gives you more flexibility.

After leaving the Cabo Azul property, we drove up to Los Barriles on the East Cape (right near where we used to stay) and then on up the coast. After a 45 min white knuckle drive on an unimproved dirt road in a small rental car to this out of the way place we were really glad we had changed our reservation. So we returned at the end of the day to Cabo Azul with much anticipation and curiosity to see if the rooms and resort were as nice as the pictures and descriptions. When we got to the room and the bell boy opened the door we both gasped and big smiles spread on our faces. The room was stunning with a full kitchen and granite counters, a huge balcony with substantial, heavy and rustic Spanish influenced furniture throughout and on the balcony. The three panel sliding glass doors leading onto the balcony which encompassed the whole length of the unit telescoped all the way open to give a full indoor/outdoor experience. Never seen that before. Amazingly cool!

We have grown accustomed to the time share experience and love having the kitchen and those extra comforts of home. This was like the best of both worlds, time share convenience with a fancy resort atmosphere. The furniture and appointments were right out of a magazine. We looked out over the pool and pool bar/restaurant and the ocean. It was absolutely picture perfect. The room was very romantic and cozy and the bed very comfortable (a must) with all the lights on dimmers (just like our home in CA) We fell in love with it and were kicking ourselves for not staying here the whole time. We will next time for sure!! The service was outstanding. The staff friendly and attentive. They were so nice and helpful we wanted to tip them every day and we did. The grounds and pools were fantastic. Must be experienced to be believed. We did not utilize the spa but it looks amazing. The quality of the clientele a big step up from Fiesta (sounds snobbish but this can really affect the quality of your vacation.) Not a bunch of tatted up knuckleheads with their baseball caps on backwards. The food and drinks were not overpriced as I expected. We just had a lovely time. We will be back and I never thought I'd say this but our days of rustic East Cape may be over after this place. Just too yummy to pass up. And all for a price that is in my opinion below the value at least in comparison to the other 4 star resorts during Christmas which is when we were there. Perhaps because it's in San Jose Del Cabo and not Cabo San Lucas, but for us that is precisely the reason we love it. If you want the Spring Break experience you can always drive a half hour down to Cabo but for us that's a non starter. Although we do go there for Wal Mart and Costco and the high end beverage shops but that's it although the restaurants at Capella Pedregal are not to be missed.

My only complaint and it's a small one is that on the day we checked out we had a late afternoon flight. We were of course allowed to leave our bags in lock up and use the resort but there is no easy way to shower and change to get ready for travel. They did offer a hospitality suite for this purpose but we never got to use it as it was not ready and we were on a tight schedule. They did allow us to use the spa to shower but it felt awkward and we felt like we were intruding on the paying clientele. But that's more our own paranoia rather than anything the staff did. They were pleasant and accommodating start to finish. A better alternative would be to have built showers in the gym area to make it easier for departing guests to regroup on their way out. But that's the only fault I could find in this place!

If you come to San Jose Del Cabo, make sure you go to Guacamaya's in San Jose Del Cabo for the best tacos and Mexican food. Really fun atmosphere. And also "El Matador" for a unique fine dining experience. Of course Javier's is exceptional and you don't have to go anywhere for exceptional food. All the restaurants at Cabo Azul are excellent and the delicatessen, market and coffee bar are first rate supplying everything you need. It's all right there at Cabo Azul. And no, I didn't get anything for saying all this. I'm not saying there aren't other nice resorts in the greater Cabo area but you can not go wrong with Cabo Azul if you don't need to be in or near Cabo. I mean we have malls at home, why would I need them on vacation? I'm just saying...

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BruceAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    303
    65
    35
    34
See reviews for
503
724
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and I just returned from 4 days at Cabo Azul. We booked our room through the online reservation system and requested a ocean view 1 bedroom. They could not accommodate us the first night in the OV room, but did move us the following night into the OV. It was beautiful. The hotel is immaculate and really beautiful. The rooms are large and furnished comfortably. The beds are super comfortable. We would absolutely return. There are however a couple of cons - not big ones, but things to be aware of:
- The pillows on the beds are really UNCOMFORTABLE. If you can possibly bring your own, do so. We had two different rooms, and in both the pillows were really bad.
- The service from the hotel staff is mediocre. It's not that they are not friendly or accommodating, but they aren't as friendly and accommodating as places that we have stayed previously (we do a lot of traveling and are really big on service).
The pros are many compared to the couple of cons - we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Put in a request for a Full Ocean View. Some of the rooms are partial and located towards the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marpleeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We love Cabo Azul.
We've been there this December and last December with 3 small kids and had a fabulous time. The pool area is amazing and serene and so is the beach (although not swimmable). The kids club has limited work hours (without extra pay) but our girls ran there every day to meet Marisol. The small 'coconut' shells near the pool are perfect to relax and for families.
The suites are spacious and beautiful although poorly lit. Service is wonderful.
However, to our big disappointment, the pool temperature has dropped dramatically between last December and this one - which caused very few people to actually be in the pool more than a few minutes. Everyone gathered in the hot tubs when in last December the pool was filled with people. For us it was a big deal as we came back especially for that. We are all fond of warm water and my kids agreed to get into the pool only on the last day of our stay.
Given that there is not much there to do except the pool - it was very disappointing.
It is true that the weather in Cabo this year is chilly, however I was not satisfied with this excuse, especially on the Christmas week when the $$$ per night was high, I expected more.

Room Tip: We took a garden view suite in the ground floor and it was perfect for easy access to the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 321Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Beautiful, totally serene, and very clean!
Stayed in 2bd suite and loved it!
The interior design, layout of the hotel, and perfect service left me and my family in awe.
Did not use the local spa. For spa services went to Cabo San Lucas Villa del Arco hotel - their Desert Spa was wonderful.
This hotel is not for small kids - it is more for grown ups.
No swimming in the ocean because of ocean tide, but the pool is totally awesome.
With pool like that who needs the ocean?
Will definitely come to Cabo Azul again and again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank virtualtimetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights and 5 days at Cabo Azul in December 2011. The experience could not have been better. Everyone was very pleasant and nice to work with. We attended a tour and we were not high-pressured to buy. It's a beautiful place to stay and the view is amazing. The grounds are kept very clean and tidy. Only downside is the "romantic" lighting in the bathroom. They could use a brighter option.

Avoid using Los Cabos Airport Shuttle. We were charged $12.00 more than our quoted on-line price. We noticed another passenger was complaining about being over-charged as well. The owner, Oswaldo was informed but did not seem to be overly concerned.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ralphie1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Birthday getaway was awesome. The Villas were superb and staff provided exceptional service. Definitely no complaints. Loved this resort and I am already planning my trip back. Can't wait to see you again Cabo Azul.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights to attend our friends wedding on the property. We were wowed by the elegance of the hotel. The pool area is visually stunning. The beach is clean and is large. This is not an all inclusive property and the meals and drinks are a bit pricey. There are two restaurants that serve excellent meals and a pizzeria / ice-cream place as well. The villas all have kitchens and fridges so you can stock it with your own food and drinks either from the store on the property or the Mega, a supermarket down the street.
Service is excellent with turn down service each night. They do get a bit pushy with the time-share sales for my liking by two couples in our party bought shares and seem happy with it.

If you want a relax by the pool vacation, this is a great place. If you're looking for activities, don't stay here. We did not swim in the ocean as there is no lifeguard and the waves and riptides were excessive. There a a gorgeous volleyball court set up on the beach, but nobody shows up at the 11:00am time they set up for people to play. If you go with a large group of friends, you can play at any time but if you're looking to meet others to play, it doesn't happen. The swim aerobics at noon involved a guy showing up with a stereo each day asking people to join him. The odd thing is when only one or two people show up, he leaves. I thought this was kinda rude.

There is free WiFi in the pool area and some of the rooms can access this and some can't depending on the location of your room.

San Jose del Cabo is only a $5 taxi ride away. There are some great restaurants there and it's very safe to walk around both the resort area as well as in town. Cabo San Lucas is a $50 taxi ride (40 min) away. If you plan on going there quite a bit, you may want to stay somewhere closer. This was our first visit to the area and we found it much more "Americanized" than the rest of Mexico. The highway and driving seem very civilized and other than the time share people on the resort, you didn't get harassed much. Overall, this was a great experience and we would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yysguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,611 reviews
17.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
3.0 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
18.0 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Property: Cabo Azul Resort
Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing