We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time at Cabo Azul - SUBPAR :(” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Foothill Ranch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Second time at Cabo Azul - SUBPAR :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I am an owner at Cabo Azul and was less than impressed our second time there.

Most hotels, especially hotels with a 'Luxury' tag attached, would notify their guests of any construction that may be going on during their visit. Not only were we not notified prior to our arrival, but the hotel was not offering anything to the guests to compensate for 1) no swim up bar 2) no outdoor restaurant 3) listening to jack-hammers, generators and sanding all day, every day.

I was seriously disappointed at the attentiveness of the management staff. I complained, as many guests did, and was refunded a portion of our stay. While I appreciate that, I had to go through three staff members in order to get this out of them. That is absurd. We should have been notified, giving us the opportunity to cancel or reschedule. Our entire trip was compromised due to this inconvenience. I may not return and I may sell my points - Cabo Azul is under new management (Diamond International)...and if this is how they are going to run the show, I'm not sure I want to be a part of it.

In addition to the construction issues, the rooms are just as uncomfortable as they were the first time around, with terrible pillows and hard couches. Come on guys - spring for some throw pillows and new bed pillows already!

I will say, the pool staff is incredible. Manuel, Gregorio and Ikar were the best people we met in Baja. Thank you for making the trip better!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurfBum79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,175
    294
    64
    32
    31
See reviews for
481
699
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
watford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Upfront disclaimer: We knew this was a timeshare/hotel property upfront that was not a surprise. and we had just come from three nights at the Hilton Los cabos. There was construction going on whilst we stayed (new 4 story wedding chapel and renovating the swimup bar) they told us about the swimup bay renovations on checkin.

Check-in: We arrived early as we moved from the Hilton to here and they really got off to a bad start. Check in is around the back of the hotel, in a tiny office. The room wasn't ready which is fine it was around 11am we wouldn't expect it to be. The bellman took our bags and then to the concierge who we thought was going to show us around, the concierge at check-in is a sales guy. He gave us a handful of leaflets and offered us the timeshare tour for discounts. We declined once, then twice, by the third time of saying no it was getting quite old. Then back to the check-in desk, we were told the room would be ready between 2-3 so to come back then, in the meantime to enjoy the pool -- fine by us. We then had to ask how to find the pool, and a second luggage person was grabbed on the way through to guide us. You are required to sign in and out your towels, so at 2:30 we sign our towels back in and head back to the checkin desk. We are given our key, sent to the room next door to grab our luggage and then the front desk guy comes in and says that he made a mistake, that the room won't be ready now until 4, having just been given the key and told to go to our room this is obviously a bit surprising. Bell boy/captain chimes in and says "remember earlier they told you it might not be.." things did not go well here.

Rooms: The rooms really are great. Spacious, good quality, well finished, they are a little darker as other reviews mention but overall the rooms are fantastic.

Pool service: Its really slow. Perhaps they are more used to the swim up bar being open or perhaps just the excellent service at the Hilton had set our expectations high but it was a good long wait to get anything.

Javiers: We were told on checkin that the swimup bar/flore de noche restaurant was closed for renovations but that Javiers, the beach side restaurant was open. It is beach side that is true but you can't actually sit outside (they were renovating that area too). So you're inside, near the beach. The inside is really open, too open, it lacked any atmosphere. Our waiter was far from welcoming, didn't really engage with us, had to be probed for details of the fish of the day and again for how its prepared, my other half had Oso Bucco which tasted like lamb it was not good. As we grabbed someone to pay our check, the music in the background was repeating the first song we heard just 30 minutes earlier when we arrived. A few minutes go by, our check arrives from a third waiter, we didn't see our actual waiter again (never asked us how the food was, or to see if we'd want another drink etc..) so the lack of tip I hope came as no surprise.

All the small details: No 'do not disturb' sign to hang on the door means you will get a knock on your door everyday for us this was around 10am.
The towels at the pool look as if they are the cheapest that can be bought, sad and tattered around the edges.
You have to sign out your towels and are told to bring them back (remember the hotels own website now " Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience")
Checkout time is 10am. With check-in being 4pm that seems a little aggressive. Pay attention when they tell you this upon arrival because if you are late they will charge you $125.

How could it have been made better?
We had a lousy check-in experience. Three ways they could have made up for that. 1. Coming to find us or calling us when the room was ready. 2. Taking our bags to the room ahead of us. 3. Hotels always have the option to provide discounts/credits
The pool area. Why are towels being signed in and out, is there really a huge towel theft problem at a luxury hotel? Perhaps that explains the cheap towels they use. So 1. Stop treating guests like kids and having them sign things in and out 2. upgrade the towels to something that doesn't look half chewed 3. increase the number of people providing pool service
Javiers. It was really bad, they should go eat at a few other hotels.
Construction: The hotel seems to have been open since 2007 but with the reception area and chapel still under construction I don't expect it'll be finished anytime soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alexinwatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Wonderful experience at Cabo Azul. Usually when we vacation we try to explore the surrounding area as much as possible. On this trip however, quite unexpectedly, we hardly left the resort! In fact, the only time we left was to walk down the road to the local supermarket (Mega) to buy food and drink (a nice money saver by the way).

The resort overall is clean and luxurious. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, which was spacious and tastefully decorated. The infinity pools are just incredible and we never tired of the view out toward the ocean. The beach party put on by the resort was also very enjoyable - including the limbo dancing! Staff were all very gracious and accommodating - especially the cleaning personnel.

The main downside was not being able to swim in the ocean ... but when you have infinity pools and a beautiful resort we didn't really mind.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

The resort itself is beautiful and clean. Loved the many pools and relaxation pods were fun. We ate at the outdoor poolside restaurant twice and both meals were outstanding. We stayed in a two-bedroom accommodation, which was gorgeous! The furnishings and décor were upscale and beautiful. The kitchen with modern stainless steel appliances and granite countertops was a dream to cook in. The Mega was a bit of a walk or a cheap taxi ride was a great place to stock up the kitchen. We loved San Jose’s quiet charm and good restaurants; it was also a cheap taxi ride to get there. Getting to San Lucas was a bit expensive but if you plan your visit carefully, it is not a problem. My daughter took advantage of the free Salsa Dance lesions and there was always something to do other than hang by the pools. All of the employees were helpful and courteous. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights at the start of August this year as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa. The villas are very nice, and very large. They have a decent size kitchen, lounge, bedroom (with Jacuzzi bath) and seperate shower room.

We ate in Flore de Noche for lunch most days, they had a decent selection and the food was very nice. The Tacos were especially good. We didnt eat in Javiers as we went out most nights.

The 3 pools look amazing and the swim up bar is amazing. All the employees are very friendly and couldnt do enough for us. The bar men at the swim up bar make excellent cocktails.

The only slight negative was its location. We went to Cabo San Jose and found it to be too quite, so the rest of the time we took a cab to Cabo San Lucas.

Thanks to Cabo Azul for an amazin time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDSWORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This place is insanely nice. They host beach parties, which are great (not trashy like some of the all-inclusives). There are 2 restaurants, both of which are incredible in both quality and ambiance. The rooms are spacious and the pool area looks like you're in a 7 star resort in Thailand. Stay here if you can.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

This is a very nice property. Clean, modern and very luxurious and beautiful. They claim the wedding chapel alone cost $12 Million. The pools are delightful. The food in the main restaurant is delicious. Here are some quick dos and don'ts.

- Do take a shuttle offered by the resort from the airport. There are way too many tricky timeshare sales people waiting at the airport for you.
- Do go to Mega and get things for your fridge.
- If you want free wi-fi, do get the beach chaise close to the tower desk by the pool.

- Don't go to city of San Jose, it's not worth the trip.
- Don't stop inside the airport when you arrive. Ignore whatever they say. I was on a shuttle with a Mexican native. They were able to flat out lie to her and trap her inside. It was unbelievable.
- Don't plan on swimming in the ocean or lying on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jzwy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#7 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,307 reviews
17.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#5 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
3.0 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#2 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Property: Cabo Azul Resort
Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing