We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing in every way!”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We are on our last night of a 3 night stay here at Cabo Azul. We stayed closer to CSL for the 1st 4 nights of out trip at Hacienda Encantada.

Cabo Azul is just simply amazing! From the lobby, to the rooms, food, beach, access to activities and downtown San Jose, all just perfect!

We had a 1 bedroom, first floor unit that was right next to the pool. Since we had 2 small kids (5 & 3), this made for very easy trips from the pool and back. They also have these pods out at the pool which really made it easy for families, especially if you have any that need naps.

The beach goes on for miles in front of the resort! We are visiting during a slow time, so I can't speak for busy times, but there were times we practically had the beach to ourselves.

The access to activities, food and the stores is also great from this resort. It's a $5 can ride into downtown San Jose (food and shopping options galore!). We walked to the swim with dolphins activity. Just walk out to the beach and there's people doing horse rides on the beach (we paid $40 for 2 horses).

We didn't have that high of expectations for the resort food, but we were pleasantly surprised. The onsite bakery has sandwiches, pizzas, tons of baked goods and gelato. We also ate at the poolside bar/ restaurant quite a few times and enjoys their food. Quite a few restaurant options directly across the street if you want other options but you don't want to go into downtown.

We can't wait out next trip back, love the area and the resort!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
We are delighted that we made your stay in Cabo a memorable one.
All of us eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Cordially,
Jean-Louis and Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,226
    303
    65
    36
    34
See reviews for
503
726
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Cabo Azul is the most amazing place I have stayed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They want you to have a great time there! The General Manager, Jean Louis, went out of his way to make us welcome at Cabo Azul. The Concierge, Leon, was wonderful. He got me a fantastic snorkeling tour to Cabo Polmu where I got to swim with a very large school of jacks and 4 sea lions. Abraham is a poolside attendant who is always on the lookout for your needs. His friendly and happy attitude is contagious. The surf at the beach there is not for swimming , but the beach is great for walking and there are numerous other beaches a short taxi ride away that are very good. It is a 20 minute walk to the town square which I highly recommend. It is safe to walk there at night and the restaurants, art galleries, and the friendly locals make it well worth the walk. You can also walk to the Mega store where you can but beer, wine and food at very reasonable prices. Because we were there during Thanksgiving, I bought a 17 pound turkey and cooked it in our 1-BR suite that looked over the very large pool area and beach.

The housekeeping staff was very efficient, cleaning daily (including fresh towels, linens, etc.) and coming by in the evening for turn-down service. Overall, this is a very quiet and relaxing place to spend your vacation time. La Forchette, across the street, and 2 restaurants downtown, Jasmine and Tropicana, are great places to eat that have reasonable prices.

If you are into art galleries, Benavente Gallery, run by two wonderful sisters, is a great place to visit. It is located about 2 blocks West of the old church. We took the local bus to Cabo San Lucas for a day of parasailing and touring the very busy and noisy "party town". It was fun for one day, but we were happy to get back to the tranquility of Cabo Azul.

The only downside is the expense. Not only was this the best place I have ever stayed, but the most expensive. I plan on coming back in 2 years, however, to relax and enjoy myself again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
I would like to thank you for your compliments.
We are thrilled to read your extraordinary experience with us.
Cordially,
Jean-Louis and Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

So nice, it was hard to believe. Luxury throughout. The rooms, pool, Jacuzzi and overall ambiance are phenomenal! The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 star is because I feel like they nickel and dime you with mandatory service fees. This can add up. $18/ per day to have things that are standard elsewhere like access to the room safe, cleaning, etc. If you eat inside the resort, expect an 18% resort fee in addition to 18% gratuity added regardless of party size, and tax. It adds up quickly. Luckily, there are plenty of great restaurants in walking distance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

From the moment we checked in we felt extremely welcomed and valued as guests. I was travelling with my husband and 9 month old daughter as well as my mom and step-dad. We were in a 2 bedroom villa overlooking the pool and ocean and it was absolutely stunning. The resort was beautiful. They just finished a remodel of the lobby and I was extremely impressed. There are three infinity pools and with the ocean in the background the view was amazing. At night there are fire bowls and torches which create such a romantic setting. The place to have a wedding is at this resort! Go online to see pictures, its even better in real life. The beds in the pools were fun and felt really luxurious. I especially enjoyed talking with Abraham at the pool, he was so personable and always wanting to make sure our stay was amazing. All of the pool attendants went out of their way to say hello and offered to carry our towels to our lounge chairs. We had to call down a couple of times for things like a crib and highchair and it literally took less than 5 minutes each time and after the delivery of the item the phone would ring to ensure we we had received the item and that we were happy. We ate at Flor de Noche, the restaurant by the pool for "Pasta Night" It was $28USD for a glass of red or white wine, a wonderful salad bar, and all you can eat pasta. You picked your ingredients and sauce and the chef cooked it and delivered to your table. Also included were 3 desserts. Definitely worth the money and delicious. Drinks poolside are 2 x1 from 3-5pm (nice and strong unlike at all inclusives), don't forget to ask for your complimentary salsa and chips! On different nights there is a 2x1 special on Gelato and the coconut is to die for. My husband and I had it 4 times during the week.lol. Also ate at Javier's and the view is gorgeous as well as the restaurant itself which is nicely decorated. Soft music around the pool and none of that annoying stuff that happens in Cabo San Lucas. Definitely a quieter vibe which is what we wanted with our small baby. Very very clean resort. This is a wonderful resort in all ways. We recommend it very highly!!!!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnydayz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
I am very pleased to learn that your stay was a special experience, just as you hoped it would be. We love to share our appreciation by offering tailor made attention to detail.
With best personal regards, I remain. Jean Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I received a voucher from Travelzoo for 4 nights $599 in a 1 bedroom villa. The resort itself was pretty nice. Only thing is upon ur arrival they give you a presentation for timeshare. I guess we didn't look like we were buying so we didn't need get approached. They have a Javiers on site which was pretty cool, we had the carne nachos poolside and also ate at the restaurant. Chips & salsa w guacamole is addictive. Overall had a nice trip there but think I would have been happy w 3-4 day stay. It was too relaxing after awhile. I forgot the name of the restaurant, but right across the street from the resort they have excellent food. All their seafood was fresh. Oh btw the market mercado is a bit pricy there is a grocery store within 15 min walk or u can just take a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We are thrilled to read we exceeded your expectations in full.
Cordially,
Jean Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is our second time at this resort. We were 4 adults and 2 children. We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite overlooking the pool area. Everything at the resort is spotless. I observed hand cleaning of the pool furniture and that was just one of the levels of detail. The staff are friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble. 3 large pools cascade down to the beach. Outdoor movies at night were a fun touch. We were there at thanksgiving and there were families, singles and young and older couples all it all blended very well. My only suggestion would be to vary the pool side menu a little.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelslut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
It is a great place to be indulged by our cordial and passionate team members.
Thank you for have given us the opportunity to show our appreciation to you.
Cordially,
Jean-Louis Magron, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort and SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I have visited many resorts in the Los Cabos area, but Cabo Azul is the best in every way. The housekeeping, staff and management are extremely helpful, courteous, and fluent in English. The on-site restaurants are Fabulous.
We especially appreciate the efforts to insure our comfort from the Pool Boys, Eduardo and Miguel at the Flor de Noche, Jonatan, the Front Desk Manager, Leon, Hugo, and Gaby at the Concierge service, Alex, Luis, Alejandro at the Valet station are all super employess.
We were especially pleased to see our old friend Rene' back to manage the Activities.
We have been to this resort at least 12 times and will never to Hawaii again, as it does not have the fabulous weather of Cabo Azul. Also, the closeness to the delightful town of San Jose del Cabo is a huge asset, a one mile walk or $5.00 taxi ride brings you to the charming village with an art district and many choices of wonderful restaurants.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great amenities but the Penthouses our on the upper levels with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 841JulieAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We are delighted that we made your stay in Cabo a memorable one. All of us eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Cordially,
Jean-Louis and Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
17.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
3.0 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
18.0 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Property: Cabo Azul Resort
Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing